Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.93

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Adding assays is quite easy and being able to program different rules in order to customize our client's experience is extremely important."
  • icon"Orchard Harvest is an easy to use LIS which makes training new users to its functionality much easier than other LIS systems. It is a reliable platform with a high quality interface."
  • icon"It easily integrated with our EHR software. This made it simple to get lab results to the doctors."
  • icon"Orchard has jury-rigged many solutions over the years which can cause problems with stability. It is not uncommon for us to have to restart their LIS server due to hiccups."
  • icon"For example, we choose an accession, there are no results yet, then move on to the next one which is also empty, and then maybe ten below it, there's data to look at."
  • icon"When you have results coming in from different departments as we do, there's no tab that sorts the completed results."

Have you used Orchard Harvest and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Orchard Harvest Reviews

1-14 of 14 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Peggy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

Of the software that I have used or managed, Orchard is by far the most intuitive and comprehensive

Pros

From the start, the trainers, training program and training facility are impressive. As an administrator, you have the ability to customize software to your existing workflow, create your own quality reports and metrics, or have Orchard assist you in creating them. There is a high level of on site support from installation preparation through implementation and go live, and continuity of support post go live with a very responsive remote tech support team ( 24/7) . It was a huge decision, and purchasing Orchard Software and everything that comes with it has been a benefit to our laboratory. We will continue to utilize Orchard products as more extensive options are developed and become available to meet the need or our growing laboratory.

Cons

The result approval process could be a bit more streamlined for cytology, we are currently working with technical support on improving that process.

Andrea

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

LabDAQ for the Clinical Lab

I've used several different LIMS systems throughout my career and this is by far the most flexible of any system I've used.

Pros

Adding assays is quite easy and being able to program different rules in order to customize our client's experience is extremely important.

Cons

Not being able to customize our own reports is a little frustrating. I wasn't the administrator who set this up at this laboratory and now I'm stuck with his design unless we pay more.

Reasons for choosing Orchard Harvest

The initial price point for LabDAQ was much friendlier for the smaller organization.

Reasons for switching to Orchard Harvest

Changed jobs.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

1

January 2018

Harvest is limited in that it shows thousands of samples are pending, yet it can be only hundreds.

Simplicity of tracking patient history and repeated results. It also is linked to another LIS that we use and it's easy to switch back and forth when reviewing information.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it's easy to track repeated samples, see patient history, and edit results.

Cons

At the Certifying level, we blindly go through data until we see a sample that is complete, then assess. When you have results coming in from different departments as we do, there's no tab that sorts the completed results. For example, we choose an accession, there are no results yet, then move on to the next one which is also empty, and then maybe ten below it, there's data to look at. There is an Orders With Results tab but that will only show the results of the accession that are complete, yet often there are still results pending from different departments, so it will not be in that view along with the completed results. It makes our process inefficient and untimely.

Jeff

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

LIS Changes

Up until the last few years, the customer service, product changes/flexibility, pricing was pro-customer. At this point, I believe it time to evaluate other LIS's if the price point no longer supports selecting Orchard and the iews of their employees are no longer pro-customer.

Pros

Since 1997 I have been a strong Orchard advocate. The flexibility it enables us is fantastic. Able to customize most everything. As a lab consultant, I implemented/purchased a number of Orchard LIS's due to it being easy and quick to learn for staff.

Cons

With new ownership I see a major increase in all pricing (interfaces, licenses, service). Invoices are generic with absolutely no details even when repeatedly asked to get it itemized. Old mentality customer service by leaving voicemails with no answers instead of emailing responses. Data mining is weak. Not as good as value that it was when [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] owned the company.

Reasons for choosing Orchard Harvest

Back in 1997, Orchard may have been the only small LIS that had bidirectional interfaces.

Reasons for switching to Orchard Harvest

Previous job. Meditech was much more sophisticated especially with standard reports and data mining, but it was much more expensive too.

SARAH

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

Easy to use!

Fast and accurate patient processing. There are a few preferences I wish you could change, but other than that it works very well.

Pros

It easily integrated with our EHR software. This made it simple to get lab results to the doctors. We are able to print labels, requsitions, patient demographics, ect easily from the patients account. We see hundreds of patients every day, and this system keeps the ball rolling. We are never slowed down by the software. It is easy to see what's going on because the design is clean and simple. It is easy to select the tests that need to be ordered, or have them integrated from the EHR. This system limits human error and allows us to not spend as much time double checking everything. The labels print out cleanly and ready to be put on patient samples.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Functional, but Not Intuitive

Orchard customer support is very responsive and thorough.

Pros

Orchard is able to act as a productive catalyst between multiple EMRs, interfaces, medical practices, hospitals, and so on. When configured correctly, it processes results quickly and keeps an excellent log to provide a full picture of order traffic.

Cons

Orchard has jury-rigged many solutions over the years which can cause problems with stability. It is not uncommon for us to have to restart their LIS server due to hiccups.

Response from Orchard Software

Dear valued customer, Thank you for taking a moment to share your user experience with our suite of products. If possible, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your facility's concerns. Feel free to contact me at (800) 856-1948. Sincerely, Kerry Foster VP of Marketing

Replied August 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2017

I utilize Orchard Harvest LIS in my reference laboratory

Orchard Harvest LIS controls almost every aspect of our daily operatoins. We rely on it to capture, process, and analyze all data coming off of our analyzers every day.

Pros

Orchard Harvest is an easy to use LIS which makes training new users to its functionality much easier than other LIS systems. It is a reliable platform with a high quality interface.

Cons

I wish the logic/rule building ability was a little more robust. Some rules are limited to single condition statements where multiple IF/AND/OR commands would make rule writing much easier. As a result, some logic decisions require multiple rules where other LIS systems might only require one. It's a fairly minor issue, but it does come up occasionally.

Sonia

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

Orchard Review

It is a good LIMS system for sample management and lab tests management.

Pros

It is HIPAA compliant and secure. It can be integrated with major instruments for electronic data transfer.

Cons

Lot of training required for installation.

Reasons for switching to Orchard Harvest

Orchard has more functions that we needed.

Abby

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2017

Overall, it's a good system. Not the best, but good. An improvement over a basic LIS system.

The software saves us a lot of headaches and a lot of different departments are able to utilize this software.

Pros

Most of the commands in the system (at least for the Copia portion) are very intuitive, making it relatively easy to use. Pulling patient reports and searching are very easy.

Cons

What I like least is that there are a lot of pieces that have to be "custom built" for the software, but to me, it would seem that we can't be the only users that would need that function for the software.

Gloria

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Orchad Harvest App Integration

Despite it' s lack of versatility , it helped with minimal and smaller projects specification

Pros

The timer, the stop and continue option which allows you to record and keep track of projects specs

Cons

It was easy to use and intergrade, it helped with budgets for potential clients

Reasons for choosing Orchard Harvest

It was a cheaper option

Chuck

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

Great, they understand the needs of a laboratory.

Flexibility and ease of use for the end user.

Pros

The best part of the software for me would be the ease of writing rules to enable you to configure the software to fit your needs. You can write rule from Order entry, label printing, result evaluation to result approval. It's very flexible. If you need help writing those rules, the support staff is there to assist.

Cons

I would have said turnover in the support staff, but that problem has been resolved.

Sandra

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

I've been an Orchard User for 15 years. Love the ease of use and control that I have.

Pros

Ease of use, multiple ways to perform the same tasks. We use both Harvest and Copia products. The system is designed by Medical Technologists that have actually worked in a lab. They have a totally unique perspective on how things should work.

Cons

Sometimes rule building and report set up can be confusing but the support staff is great is a great help.

Lisa

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

June 2018

Use of this LIS in our setting is less than ideal. It really has not lived up to its expectations.

Pros

The software is pretty easy to use, but it has limited capabilities due to its architecture. Its QC module needs improvement.

Cons

The Harvest LIS does not enable us to pull reports in a manner that we need; it has very little flexibility and customizable solutions.

William

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

Poor quality setup and support.

Pros

This software is flexible and if set up correctly could be very useful. Reporting can be done on multiple different instruments with reports.

Cons

The support staff has very little knowledge of the software itself. The staff who set up the software set it up incorrectly and Orchard will not fix. Regulatory issues abound with the way that the software system was set up in our lab including reporting different results for the same test on the same report.

Showing 1 - 14 of 14 reviews