All ICANotes Reviews

1-25 of 98 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Deborah

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

AN EMR DESIGNED SPECIFICALLY FOR BEHAVIORAL HEALTH THAT DOES EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO PRACTICE.

We have been using the ICANotes program for 4 yrs. The customer service has been exceptional and courteous. They offer webinars and training for all aspects of the program and include tutorials on their website which is great when hiring new staff. ICANotes has assisted us with issues and accommodated our needs when modifications/adjustments were requested to suit our practice needs. The team at ICANotes has responded and implemented several options we suggested to improve our service delivery to clients. In addition, ICANotes has added many features to the program to meet the growing demands in the field of behavioral health. I love the fact this EMR was created by Dr. Richard Morgenstern, a psychiatrist. This program was specifically designed for behavioral health and not a modified version or altered from a medical model template. It is also a plus that one of the offices of ICANotes is within 30 min from our agency. Their staff was available to visit us and provide support when we opened in 2012. I have seen this company grow rapidly in 4yrs. since using this program which as benefited us in our growth as well. I gave ICANotes for every category primarily because it is well deserved for their hard work in keeping up with integration and the ever changing guidelines with coding, billing, and documentation etc., in behavioral health, which has made my life so much easier with running my business. However, the I gave for the value of money is a double edged sword.....And in no way do I want this to reflect as a negative connotation to the program. The rating is not entirely due to the cost of ICANotes program but also includes regulation guidelines set forth by many Insurance providers. The reimbursement rates set by insurance providers are not increasing at a rate they should be to providing services in behavioral health field. An increase in rates would tremendously help offset the additional costs accrued for agency's to remain in compliance with state, federal and local regulations thus, allowing agencies to add additional features that could really benefit service delivery. **Just an idea.......maybe to see some type of incentive programs offered to exist ICANotes customers who are growing and continue to add clinicians and features to their ICANotes program. That would be great. All in all, this is a phenomenal program, and I would highly recommend it to all behavioral health clinicians and practices.

PROS

The program does everything we need. All tasks can be completed with the features encompassed in the program.

CONS

Minor issues...... 1- I find the appointment book is extremely slow. I was told it would improve several months back but, the staff reports this most often and is the most reported issue that becomes time-consuming for staff scheduling and is frustrating for clients waiting on the phone. 2- Populating the Treatment Plan - when completing a follow-up treatment plan it populates every treatment plan into the new one created. This becomes costly if you have a client for 3 years + Ex. A treatment plan every 6 months for 3 years and an average of 4-5 pages per plan x 6 treatment plans printed for a client, the last treatment plan cumulates to 30 pages. It doesn't allow the plan to start over with a fresh slate for a new treatment plan without including the old ones as well. (Unless I haven't figured it out, which may be the case) :)

Michael

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Yes to Icanotes

I have been using Icanotes since 2012 and do not regret the decision to go with Icanotes. I had researched numerous EHR's and found this one to be most affordable and customizable. There have been little problems along the way, but support has been right on top of correcting any problems. It also is a do it all EHR, including progress notes, billing, patient portal, etc. I highly recommend it.

PROS

It is easy to learn to use. First day I used it, I was able to keep up with notes throughout day. E prescribing is integrated with Dr. First which makes for easy record keeping and taking care of renewals. Icanotes is also customizable by creating buttons which will insert appropriate language where needed.

CONS

Initially, there were some quirky things about navigating , which have since been corrected.

Vendor Response

Hi Michael, thank you so much for your feedback and thank you for being a long-term customer! We really appreciate the review and we're looking forward to serving you in the future.

Replied September 2018

Brett

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2021

A horribly misrepresented product

Regrettably I was sold a bill of goods. ePrescribe functionality with DrFirst was only partial of what the standalone DrFirst product offers, the integration with my existing credit card software was promised but after integration was useless and I reverted back to my old system anyway. Customer service was always available and helpful, but at the end I was charged for 2 months of access for using the program for just 2 weeks. They would not refund the 2nd month of charges because they do not refund for cancelations as a policy.

PROS

- the customer service was within the product and relatively immediate in response. This is helpful as you will need them a lot.

CONS

- ICANotes is noticeably slower relative to other EMRs and other computer programs. - There are places where you can get stuck and can't move. For example, creating a patient chart that does not have all the required information gives you an error message. - The actual look of ICANotes is grainy and unclear. It is a difficult program to look at throughout the day. - Scrolling is too fast. The windows of text are small and highlighting and scrolling through text within the text boxes is too rapid and you easily overshoot your selection. - copy/paste functionality is a deal breaker. There is an app-specific clipboard you must use as an intermediary. - the inability to easily refer to prior notes during a session. In the middle of a session, it is difficult to answer questions such as, "did we talk about sleep hygiene last time?" All the entries are kept together. - updating different areas of the medical chart can only happen through certain notes. I had one patient during a regular session tell me that she was recently diagnosed with a new medical condition. I had to start a new "complete assessment note" for that solitary piece of information for it to populate the medical history section, but then return to the progress note to finish out the session. - the active problem list is terribly difficult to manipulate and can only be done through cumbersome treatment plans. - there is a separate website just to upload documents to the chart. - no patient communication log

Reason for choosing ICANotes

ICANotes integration with my current credit card software. Which turned out not to be what was promised.

Reasons for switching to ICANotes

I wanted the DrFirst integration as well as the integration to my existing credit card software. Both integrations were just a fraction of the original sand-alone products.

Paul

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Best EHR for the mental health professional!

I believe ICANotes represents the best value in EHR for the small two medium-sized mental health practice. No other system offered is as well tailored to providing the type of medical charts kept by mental health professionals. The vast majority of EHR systems on the market were designed for standard medical practices geared towards labs/procedures/meds and are ill-suited to the needs of the mental health professional.

PROS

Built from the ground up for psychiatry needs, and quite customizable. Allows the quick creation of patients notes without the need for much typing. Integrates EHR with billing and calendaring to provide a complete solution for individual providers or small to medium practices.

CONS

Visual interface is dated, some tasks take many clicks to accomplish. However, both of these are being worked on by the company.

Evelyn

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2012

Software blessing!

Since I am an individual in private practice, I cannot speak for how well this works for groups. Yet, I can tell you it is a Godsend for myself and my billing agent, who is also registered on my account and can simply look at the appointment schedule for the week, see who came in, and go do the billing for those sessions. We no longer have to make time to meet, dragging along files and flash drives. I love that it takes only 5-20 (max) minutes to document anything, from initial evalutation to routine follow-up sessions. I certainly do recommend this software for any therapist who would enjoy appropriate documentation without reinventing complete notes from scratch after each session. At professional meetings I share with colleagues routinely about this software. My mentor, now retired, exclaimed (while sitting at my side, observing the ease and speed of utilization), "Where was THIS when I was in practice?!?"

PROS

I shopped for months to find an affordable and adequate program to assist me with keeping my documentation up to date. When I found ICANotes I was very pleasantly surprised to find it has exceeded my initial expecations. Once I got caught up with documentation, I found it takes only minutes to document after each session, adding the individual's unique comments and my observations easily to the appropriate sections allowed in the format. So easy to edit, save and print. I am a very grateful therapist!

CONS

Since I am one who does not enjoy reading manuals, I was happy to learn from videos provided by ICANotes. However, I would have preferred to have just "explored" the software and figured it out, I did sit through a few hours of video training to discover how to do what I needed to do. (I must admit I am happy to have those videos available for swift research, when needed.)

Michael

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

One the best EHRs I have ever used including the "big names".

Simply the best customer service of any company I have had the pleasure of working with. Throughout the whole company everyone is constantly working to accomplish some not so simple things (well as I see anyway) and this is to work for the providers to meet all the requirements of federal, state and private insurance sources while accomplishing meaningful use standards to get the provider paid appropriately for the level of services medically needed at all levels of Mental Health Service. Some companies just talk, not this one. They are always there when I need them and I have been with them for 4 years. Now I am just one provider but so far as I can see this company ICA NOTES could handle all you needs no matter how large. Michael Southern Board Certified Psychiatric APRN Garden City, Kansas. elementsofchangemsouthern@gmail.com.

PROS

So many things but the biggest pro for me as an individual provider is not having to type and still reach the highest medically correct billing. The ability to auto post payments from the clearinghouse right into ICA Notes is worth gold to me.

CONS

The only con to this program is it does yet have the ability to let customers self schedule or reschedule but I think this may be in the works.

Linda

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

ICANotes works for me

PROS

I can breeze through the progress notes and intersperse information of the current session. Notes are comprehensive which allows me to feel secure of proving medically necessary treatment. Support is very good in all areas, such as sales, technical support, and one-one training. It did take me some time to really learn the software. I really need to learn more in order to better utilize the software.

CONS

I was disappointment there wasn't a website that could be integrated, and there was no telehealth software. Although, I understand Icanotes will soon be adding telehealth as a feature very soon.

Kayla

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

Great product overall!

Our office began using this software 3 years ago when we first opened and ICANotes has been great ever since. The support team is excellent and they are always updating to make new features and improve user experience. If ever there were questions, they were quick to answer all of them. Impressed with the software. It was easy to use for everyone from new employees to seasoned veterans, young and aged. :) Only improvement I would make is to the calendar, but I know they are working on that. :) Great product, highly recommend.

PROS

Ease of note completion, preset prompts and questions for notes and assessments, e-prescribing, support team

CONS

Calendar, not compatible for medical services

Arom

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

From a medical director’s point of view I like this system

I’ve been using the system for over 10 years. I do strongly prefer it to systems that are not specific to mental health. It definitely helps me train clinicians that I hire and bring into our system.

PROS

The ease-of-use and it is very helpful to have the checkbox symptom. I like the ability to do electronics prescribing. The system of clicking buttons to insert text helps speed documentation.

CONS

Sometimes glitchy. At times it will slow down. These issues are not unique to this program and I have experience been with multiple other electronic medical record’s. P

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2022

Very Disappointing

My experience was poor at best. In order to make it work for me I had to create tons of buttons. Additionally there were, what I would consider, hidden/extra costs that made the whole package seem sub par. We are switching to Kareo.

PROS

They are very flexible and able to fit with our state's high level of requirements.

CONS

The program is a mess. There are so many buttons. Documenting services is like finding your way through a maze. And you need to be prepared for the system to randomly go down A LOT. Additionally the system looks like Windows 95, which is humorous and also a little sad. The training required took about a week and our GM had to create step by step procedures for everyone, which they should have provided.

Lynda

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

Death by 1000 clicks!

Lately I have been calling them every day for IT support and although it says I am first in line, nobody answers the phone. I also try to live chat at the same time and they will take over my computer run a "test" and say everything is fine. If it is so fine, why as soon as I resume use do the same problems occur?

PROS

When it works, it has good features that make charting faster and easier.

CONS

It has issues 5 out of 5 days a week. It is impossible to go directly to the chart room so that starts the day off totally wrong since that is where you are most likely to go to get your patient chart. Then when you can get the chart it decides when you can actually document in the chart . I wait a long time for a blue ring to stop going round and round and I also wait a really long time for something that says a find is in progress and processing inquiry. I get a coffee cup with steam several times a day as well and I have no idea what that icon means. Does mean, your patient will wait while you go get a coffee of coffee and we get this software working?

Jillian

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2017

Slightly satisfied.

We would appreciate a patient portal or mobile capabilities (i.e. tablets, smart phones, etc).

PROS

We appreciate the versatility with creating initial assessment or progress notes (i.e. tabs, buttons, etc.).

CONS

We have had consistent troubles getting claims correctly prepped. Information will be dropped or added incorrectly. Current example with ticket #: 104307

Michael

Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2016

ICANotes Review

I have mixed views regarding ICANotes. The company sent out a representative to address agency-specific needs and did not follow-up regarding this meeting. In fact, an employee of the organization is no longer, and issues are still unresolved.

PROS

Ease of use, access to customer service via online chat.

CONS

Changes are often overlooked or non-significant.

Celso

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2012

Used in Large Inpatient Setting: > Than 10 Years

Highest recommendation. No reservations. I am an "early user" and have been using ICANotes for over ten years.

PROS

Button driven narrative note is fast, easy and secure. Supports multitude of symptoms + adult and child population. Program scores and delivers valid E/M code specific to inpatient (and outpatient) setting. Can pull up any note 24/7 from any computer anywhere in the world with internet connection. Progress note can be constructed in two minutes. Supports practice management services. Easy access to live customer support via phone or internal email. Tablet friendly. Program is designed to support various practitioners Including: psychiatrists, psychologists, therapists, nursing, social workers, dietary, pastoral counselors and supports basic medical H & P. Can download demo from this site: www.icanotes.com Not required to sign a contract. Very reasonable priced. Software buttons are clinically relevant and program is easy to learn. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

CONS

There are no cons. ICANotes is a "must have" for any behavioral health practioner, outpatient or inpatient.

Carl

Mental Health Care

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2015

Best thing I've done to improve my practice.

PROS

It has quick and accurate session notes. Many standard statements are pre-programmed onto buttons, and there are many customization options. The company has a real focus on customer service. They do a great job of advising customers if there are any performance or other problems. Customer communication is outstanding. I have increased my productivity by as much as two sessions per day in the time I save using this product.

CONS

Nothing. The product is easy to use, the interface is intuitive, and the support is outstanding.

Kiki

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

Innovative, fast, and professsional way to create notes, treatment plans, and assessments

Despite internet delays, ICA Notes are professional looking documents that can be customized. It is also economic. It helps to practice on a fake client to learn the system but once you do (it took me about 10 times and trust me, I'm not computer savy). I can now do a progress note in about 3 minutes. Plus, there is no paperwork to worrry about losing.

PROS

I like how professional my documentation looks. I also like that I can add my personal touch and that I can there are screenings available to keep track of my client's progress.

John

Mental Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

Clearly written with the working psychiatrist in mind.

Support staff are always courteous, well informed, and thorough.

PROS

Provides confirmation that each office note is meeting criteria for CPT coding. Extremely helpful and supportive on-line help.

CONS

Slow to boot up, small font on screen. Inability of patients to select their appointments from your schedule

Shannon

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Great EHR System

The transition from my previous EHR System was very easy. Customer Support have been amazing and always available to assist if there are any problems. There are many tutorials available for needed to assist in becoming familiar with the software features and navigation. I am very satisfied with the EHR and happy that I transitioned to ICANotes.

PROS

I have actually recommended ICANotres to 3 colleagues since transitioning to your EHR system. I love it, increase productivity, and easy navigation. Support Team is wonderful.

CONS

I have very satisfied with this EHR and have no concerns or issues identified.

Reasons for switching to ICANotes

Increase productivity and customization options.