All Avast Small Office Protection Reviews

1-25 of 37 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Nikolaos

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Great security tool

Work from home makes company more vulnerable to outside threats. Users access company content from their phones, PCs, laptops and maybe unauthorised devices. Having such a great tool for protections is really a life saver.

PROS

A very easy to use tool, secure, reliable and above all it does not slow down your PC while running, not even while scanning. It is cheaper that most of the competitors and lets you know literally for every bit of potential threat it has found.

CONS

Nothing negative to talk about apart from the fact that there is no option for subscription on less that 10 licenses. Apart from that nothing else. Everything is perfect.

Reasons for switching to Avast Small Office Protection

The past solution slowed down overall PC performance.

Jacob

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Avast the pirate on a search for malware!

It really frees time for me to help other clients by using the protection features that are enabled by the software it enables users to be a little bit more “free” with there employees or co workers without having to constantly service there product due to a threat to the operating system or something that hinders usage

PROS

That benefit that once the system identifies a virus or Trojan whatever it may be it locks said “nasty” inside a chest where it deactivated all function for the program and protects the computer from any damage the item may cause

CONS

Sometimes it may block software installation however I’m usually the kind of guy that uses the good protection of the software to be able to use sketchy downwloads… in other words even if you install this of grandpas “leisure” computer you won’t have to worry about him having a visit from your grandson to clear it out for him

Reason for choosing Avast Small Office Protection

Due to the simplicity of the product and the benefits it provides to the user including an easier way of understanding exactly what the computer finds when it indemnified a foreign entity

ALAN

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2021

Avast review

Had a free version for years without problems. Paid version - refer above.

PROS

Easy to use/set up etc. Good interface.

CONS

Turns itself off almost daily requiring restarting. Requires to be started manually every morning.

Vendor Response

Hi Alan, Thank you for your feedback! Avast Small Office Protection turning itself off is not expected behavior. This can sometimes happen though when other antivirus programs are installed alongside Avast Small Office Protection. In this scenario, we recommend to uninstall all antivirus programs besides Avast Small Office Protection for the best protection. Restarts are only required after a software version update for Avast Small Office Protection. Please contact our support team if further assistance is needed. The link to our contact form can be found here: https://www.avast.com/en-us/business/support

Replied March 2021

Krystal

Consumer Goods, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Inexpensive with good protection.

It's come in handy over the years and I would recommend this to any business owner or for private use.

PROS

Avast is easy to use and gives you insight on what websites are trying to gain access to your computer. I've used them for personal and business use and they have worked great!

CONS

Some of the information on the dashboard canbe hard to understand unless you're more on the tech side of things.

Reasons for switching to Avast Small Office Protection

I needed to lower costs but still protect my computer and Avast has delivered on that.

Matthew

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Unobtrusive

PROS

Does what it says on the box and doesn't bother us with too many spurious messages

CONS

Funny you should ask... just this morning, on booting up my Mac reminded me that Avast may be incompatible with future Mac OS releases. It would inspire confidence if a patch made that go away.

Reason for choosing Avast Small Office Protection

good review, price and internal staff comments

Reasons for switching to Avast Small Office Protection

Hiccup with trying to change the licensing led me to a review of alternatives.

Vendor Response

Hi Matthew, Thank you for your feedback! Please reference this article for the prompt you are receiving: https://kb.support.business.avast.com/GetPublicArticle?title=System-Extension-Blocked-Messages-MacOS

Replied March 2021

Jesus

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Very reliable

I'm using Avast on all my customers and recommending it as I think it is a very powerful and easy to manage tool.

PROS

I like the boot time scan is one of my favorite tools avast has, and it is very easy to use.

CONS

It can take long on some safe apps to mark them as safe.

Reason for choosing Avast Small Office Protection

For the ease of use and friendly tools it has.

Vendor Response

Hi Jesus, Thank you for your feedback! "We need more information to better be able to assist with this concern. Please contact our technical support team so that we may further troubleshoot this issue. We are here to help. The link to contact our support team can be found here: https://www.avast.com/en-us/business/support"

Replied March 2021

Erika

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

So Goof-Proof It's Just Amazing

Largely fantastic

PROS

Super easy to apply to all units in the office & was also super easy to get rolling on the laptops that travel with the practice owner and myself.

CONS

Sometimes it forgets that you have put off a restart request for greater than 1 hour

Reasons for switching to Avast Small Office Protection

Webroot is clunky & it doesn't pair well with our CRM, nor other necessary programs for daily practice management

Vendor Response

Hi Erika, thank you for your feedback. Please contact our technical support team so that we may further troubleshoot this issue. We are here to help. The link to contact our support team can be found here: https://www.avast.com/en-us/business/support

Replied March 2021

Yasceine

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Avast Review

Very good

PROS

it is an efficient Anti-virus software, very light on PC, does not not reserve a big portion of the RAM.

CONS

the built-in virus and worms list should be bigger to continually accommodate the new viruses.

Reason for choosing Avast Small Office Protection

Free, efficient, and light

Reasons for switching to Avast Small Office Protection

It was not functioning well. it causes slowness to PC.

Rob

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Good protection, good value, so-so deployment

Overall, we're happy with the product and consider it a good value for our small office.

PROS

Since installing Avast we have had zero downtime. Avast regularly catches virus attempts and quarantines them.

CONS

Our package includes 10 computers, but my account page doesn't tell how many of these subscriptions are in use. As the administrator, it would be helpful to know that staff have installed the software and how many licenses remain. Because we are working from home during the pandemic, this is not something I can physically check.

Vendor Response

Hi Rob, Thank you for your feedback. You can log into my.avast.com to see how many keys have been used per license in their account. They must use the email address they used to purchase SOP. If you need further help please contact our support. We are here to help: https://www.avast.com/en-us/business/support

Replied March 2021

Elvis

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Very good software

Overall the reatime protection is reliable and notifies you on any activities that are suspicious.

PROS

Generally easy to integrate or apply to multiple devices on my network of computers. Real time protection is reliable.

CONS

Can block some files that are safe and takes time to clear them sometimes.

Joe

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Good protection for my endpoints

A capable anti-virus protection for macOS.

PROS

It was the most affordable anti-virus protection for small businesses that I have found.

CONS

I wish they had other installable mediums beside the dmg format for my macOS endpoints. It would be nice if the installable file was also available in the pkg format so I can easily deploy it through Microsoft Intune. Avast needs to work on their billing admin portal it is too confusing!

Reason for choosing Avast Small Office Protection

Price.

Vendor Response

Hi Joe, Thank you for your suggestions. To formally submit a new idea to our developers, please click the "+ Submit idea" button at the top right of our product board page here: https://portal.productboard.com/afb/1-avast-business-hub/tabs/1-roadmap/submit-idea.

Replied March 2021

Evan

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Easy to use protection that doesn't eat up resources

PROS

Easy to use and stays in the background. Have not had an issue with it yet.

CONS

Not easy to set up secondary computers without the initial email. Dashboard for administrator would be helpful.

Reasons for switching to Avast Small Office Protection

Norton ate up too many resources

Justin

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Nice antivirus

PROS

Easy to use. Good options. Reliability.

CONS

It wasn't as smooth to continue subscription. I had to uninstall and then install again.

Reason for choosing Avast Small Office Protection

It was recommended by our IT person.

Dennis

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

My experience with Avast

My overall experience was marginal at best. I do not believe it to be an install and forget product, it required my attention more than I expected.

PROS

I purchased Avast to keep my work computer safe. I use that computer for invoicing and daily emails.

CONS

I found the system to be easy enough to install, but I had issues with security while using it. My information stored on the computer and in emails still found its way into other hands. It also did not play nice with some of my operating systems causing me major irritations on more than one occasion. I could never be sure it had me covered from the latest threats.

Achille

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Récommandation

A part ça rien d'autre. Tout est parfait et je pense qu'il faudrait se pencher sur le cas des pays où le taux de bancarisation est faible et j'aurais préféré qu'il agisse dans l'ombre et fasse le retour.

PROS

Il est simple d'utilisation, sécurisé, fiable et surtout il ne ralentit pas votre PC en cours d'exécution, pas même lors de la numérisation. Il est moins cher que la plupart des concurrents et vous permet de savoir littéralement pour chaque élément de menace potentielle qu'il a trouvé.

CONS

Rien de négatif à signaler à part le fait qu'il n'y a pas d'option de souscription sur moins de 10 licences aussi les affiches de rappel ou d'alerte qui sont beaucoup récurrentes.

Stéphane

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Make its job

PROS

I am pleased with this product since I have installed it. It's running in continue and I didn't have virus since. The interface is easy to understand, well organized by categories and powerful.

CONS

Maybe some options should be free but it's remaining a very good set of protection.

Slawomir

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2021

Problems with activation in Windows

Problems with a activation of the soft! It has to be reinstalled:-/

PROS

Use in background. Protection. Scan of mails and disk.

CONS

New soft - re-new activation is problematic and always cause the problems.

Keyur

Machinery, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Mid-priced Robust ransomware attack detection software

Our devices have been quite secure with the avast small office protection at very inexpensive cost, with multiple device detection. To-go software

PROS

Real time protection against ransomware attacks Good customer service Multiple device coverage

CONS

Although it does detect most of the spams, it does lag sometiemes too. Pop-ups can also be avoided

Mark

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY