User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(10)

10

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse OpenShift Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -30 of 20 results

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Praveen Kumar from Successive Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Openshift: Best tool and software to manage the containers.

We are very happy with the Openshift and features that they offer to the container application deployment and security.

Pros

It's very easy to manage the container applications and issues related to them like container image scanning and the securities related to them before the production deployment.

Cons

Not much resource is available in the market who are expert in the container application security in market.

Reasons for Choosing OpenShift

Openshift is very powerful and effective product from Red Hat. Red Hat created the c groups and namespace, they are expert in the containerised application software and they offered an incredible support when it comes to OpenShift and container security.

Reasons for Switching to OpenShift

Apache Mesos was not very powerful in managing the up-growing of number of containers in the organisation.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Marco from NTT DATA Italia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Starting a new era in software architecture

Pros

Easy to use, full of useful feature. It make easy and valuable migration to innovative achitecture based on containerized approach. You can use a community edition (Openshift Origin) or chose the RED HAT edition. Based on Kubernetes. Fully integrated with many other useful tool for monitoring and manager the full software cycle, until the deploy.

Cons

Documentation is still poor. Not so fast in receive support from community. Security aspect need to be better debeate.

November 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

openshift through the eyes of a machine learning engineer

In general, I have not used kubernetes through the user interface and it can be said that it provides a lot of ease of use. But the bugs that I had experienced from time to time were quite annoying and it was quite bad that there was no solution.

Pros

I've used gcp, eks and aks before. When I compared them by looking at them, it was very useful that I could load and edit yamls on a user interface of its own.

Cons

Since it uses old versions of kubernetes, you may encounter interesting bugs.

November 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2021

Openshift - had to leave for Linode due to the forced and abrupt move from Openshift v2 to v3

It was an excellent product, Red Hat's management and treatment of users is the problem.

Pros

Openshift v2 was an excellent product that I couldn't fault at all, in fact I really really liked it. The problem came when Red Hat wanted everyone to move from v2 to v3 and gave very short notice and a very short timeline. Version 3 was completely different, based on containers.

Cons

As stated above, the real problem with Openshift is the way Red Hat forced everyone to move from v2 to v3 in a ridiculously short time. Documentation for migration was useless, I tried to migrate using it - it all failed. I could not trust Red Hat again after that experience, so I moved to Linode and have never looked back.

December 2021

Alihan from Turkcell Technology

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Boost my development speed

Pros

Container orchestration platforms overall increased my development speed and agility. However Openshift can be considered as premium class of the sector of orchestration platform providers. Its unique developer experience and ease of use differentiates itself from other platforms.

Cons

Actually I liked it all about the software

January 2021

User Profile Picture

Naveen from capgemini

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Best Environment for deploying applications

Easy to deploy and manage the applications in Redhat Openshift container

Pros

I am using Redhat Openshift container since 1 1/2 years and i really loved since deploying and monitoring the application is very easy when compare to deploying the application in traditional app servers like Tomcat

Cons

Pricing for enterprise is bit costly when compare with Amazon web services (AWS).Also engaging Redhat support team to troubleshoot the issue is very difficult

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Marcelo from Loupen Tecnologia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

OpenShift Is A Good PaaS Platform

Pros

One of the best PaaS platforms that I've used. I've sent an Java application there and I had a best experience. It works with Java, Ruby and more. Eclipse extension works very well with OpenShift. But the free plan have some limitations. And the OpenShift is very good if you're learning about Java containers and how it works.

Cons

Free plan is not too good and it has some limitations.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Muhammed Emin from Turkish Airlines

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Great business solution for cloud deployments

Happy to use such an abstractive layer on top of Kubernetes and use cloud deployment strategies with less hassle.

Pros

It is great to have Kubernetes functionality with a professional support and frequent updates. Multitenancy at best.

Cons

It sometimes can be very difficult to debug and manage. Deployment changes can be tricky that you spent hours to resolve.

November 2021

Burak from Turkcell

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Easy to use, recommended

Pros

It is a system that is easy to use, capable of changing capacity in case of need, or even automatically.

Cons

We are having problems with GPU sharing.

December 2021

Yusuf from Turkcell

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Great for horizontal scaling

Pros

Ease of deployment and management of Kubernetes cluster. Very comfortable service and route management.

Cons

Not having a gpu scheduling option for machine learning models.

November 2021

Yusuf from Turkcell

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Openshift review

Pros

easy to use, clear, well organized menus, scalable

Cons

I am not sure what is missing. I didnt encountered any problem

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Perfect Container Orchestrator

It solved our use case of transitioning from monolith to microservices.

Pros

If you have microservices use case and have following questions like How to scale my services? How to monitor my services? How manage deployment? How to make services resilient to failures? Answer to all the above questions is Openshift. As it eases the pain of development and there is solution available to a known services deployment issue already. Integration of our existing services was smoothly done.

Cons

We didn't face any major issue while implementing or changing our deployment strategy for microservices. However as a developer I think there are many parts that one needs to understand to get going. But I don't think that as an issue. All tools have some learning curve and Openshift is no different.

Reasons for Choosing OpenShift

It is backed by Redhat. We already have Redhat Products everywhere in our organization so it was a natural choice. Not just that even comparing with similar tools it provides more and same features.

Reasons for Switching to OpenShift

It takes quite a bit of effort to setup spring cloud and we wanted to come out of that zone. Openshift by default provides all the features and more we were using with Spring cloud.

July 2021

Vikas from Citi

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Openshift - move from legacy to cloud and kubernetis

Pros

ease of Deployment ease for monitoring the logs build management Config validation

Cons

Monitoring is poor logs are not accesible directly for real time , only first n number of lines are visible

January 2016

Ankit from Cognizant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2016

OpenShift - Best platform for developers

I have been using OpenShift for more than 2 years now. I have seen lot of improvements in Openshift and it's getting better and better. The most important thing is that it provides a lifetime free account which can be used as a hands on over OpenShift. Most important, you can attach your own domain to your application, even on free account. Openshift works using gears and cartridges. It has now lots of cartridges available and you can also create new custom cartridge.

Pros

1. Free lifetime account with 3 small gears. 2. You can add multiple cartridges in a single gear. 3. attach your own domain to your application, even on free account. 4. Support deploy on git push

Cons

1. You can sudo login to your gear, but you can always contact customer care they will handle such situation.

January 2020

Jorge from Carrilho Engineering

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

OpenShif opened Kubernetes to the masses

Openshift made it possible for us to setup a complete docker orchestration solution in an effortless way, including an amazing CI/CD pipeline which basically automates everything.

Pros

* Very simple to setup and configure * Friendly user interface * Great dashboards * Broad set of integrations * Large collection of guides and tutorials

Cons

* Monitoring could be improved * Troubleshooting can be tricky, as it's not always easy to find out exactly what's going wrong

Reasons for Choosing OpenShift

OpenShift is a lot easier to setup, adapt, operate and monitor than plain Kubernetes.

December 2019

Nikola from Mentormate

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

It's fancy

OpenShift is great - the UI is awesome it works like a charm.

Pros

It's fancy, it's modern, it supports many languages it has automatic scaling, compatible with Kubernetes and easily migrates to other OS

Cons

Nothing really, I am curious why people prefer Kubernetes rather than Openshift. I found Openshift easier to work with.

December 2020

Mehran from IBM Canada

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great Managed solution for container management

For a company that wants to modernize its legacy software, this is one of the best options.

Pros

It provides a complete suite for software containerization. At the same time, it is based on open-source Kubernetes.

Cons

I did not find it easy to integrate other third-party tools in the open shift. It is good as long as you stay in the toolset.

January 2019

mohamed from Vodafone

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great to automate the provisioning and the management for your containers

Pros

it's very effective when be used with openstack for managing our infrastructure, and it provides great services like monitoring containers, and databases

Cons

It's not easy to deal with, and for some issues the vendor takes long time to get it resolved, so it will be great if the user interface enhanced with more help options.

October 2015

Lars from Thetis Apps

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2015

May 2019

Emanuele from CSI

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Java EE engine on cloud

I used OpenShift to test how easy could be to move a Java EE application to the cloud

Pros

I had to do little changes to code, just for data persistence to db, globally the migration was very easy

Cons

A little con was the need to learn about rhc tool