All PRTG Network Monitor Reviews

1-25 of 192 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jhon

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

PRTG makes diagnostic work easier

In the process of network management it is possible to encounter complex situations that are not noticeable to the naked eye which makes conventional systems not easily detected but cause significant operational havoc, for similar cases it is necessary to have tools to support the support team capable of seeing what is not easily detectable and PRTG is one of those reliable tools and high capacity monitoring and detection of anomalies, this coupled with a professional IT team ensures a network of high capacity and stability for end users.

PROS

Our level 1 support work is to timely detect those technical events that affect the network infrastructure and which are reflected in the reports created by users, some of these events went unnoticed to our sight because in the measurements (ping, traces) made to some of the strategic equipment provided results within the normal range, This demanded a lot of time in the detection of failures negatively affecting the SLA, when the pilot was made with PRTG and after several adjustments to the thresholds we were able to timely detect the variations which were not visible before, allowing us to recognize the beginning of a massive event; PRTG has very useful sensors that provide accurate metrics and with the help of protocols such as SNMP it is possible to communicate with remote equipment which facilitates our task.

CONS

I have been using the tool for several years and I can say that there is always something to learn from PRTG, the learning curve to get the most out of it is notorious, although we have had staff who have experience using it which is an important support in our work, however, there is ample information where some doubts are clarified in measurements or implementation of remote probes and the configuration of thresholds.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your positive feedback on PRTG's ability to timely detect technical events and improve network infrastructure monitoring. We understand there may be a learning curve, but we're committed to providing support and addressing any doubts you have. Furthermore, we value your continued use of PRTG and encourage you to reach out to our support team for assistance. Your Paessler Team

Replied June 2023

Vladimir

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

prtg monitoring

More than 5 years. monitoring (ISP infrastructure, Enterprise clients infrastructure)

PROS

Intuitive management interface. Ease to integrate to your environment

CONS

Price. But if you compare to other monitoring services, it is normal

Reason for choosing PRTG Network Monitor

Most of products has same features, but I have got plenty experience to use the PRTG

Reasons for switching to PRTG Network Monitor

When you have enough experience and you know how to monitor different services and network device it`s will be easy to migrate to PRTG (according intuitive interface)

Vendor Response

Dear Vladimir, We're happy that you're happy! Thanks for leaving us a review! Have you already tried the new user interface? You can now use it in production environments. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2023

Chris

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Zero customer support / loyalty

I have been a longtime customer of PRTG 7+ yrs now. I contact them about once a year for little things I run into with the program. This time around they refuse to help, beyond basic email support in the middle of the night. If you want a program that provides support this isn't the product for you. If you are in the US the best you get is email support and they usually only respond while you are sleeping. Don't expect them to go out of the way for you. PRTG has wasted 2+ hrs fighting with me on fixing something their software caused, something they could likely fix in a 5min phone call. After paying them for support all this time I am done with this company, they are a scam!

PROS

Great for monitoring bandwidth usage or finding health problems/over utilization of resources. All using the SNMP protocol.

CONS

Support, they don't provide much beyond an KB article or emails in the middle of the night.

Vendor Response

We're sorry to hear about your frustration and that our support has not lived up to your expectations. We always try to give you the best possible support in case of problems. Kind regards, Paessler AG

Replied October 2020

Reski

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

PRTG is simplified my work Everyday.

PRTG can do Monitor all systems, devices, traffic and applications of your IT infrastructure. Everything you need, and don't expect more for custom weekly / monthly reports

PROS

This is the Recommended software that I often use to monitor or improve the Information Technology infrastructure. Very easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices. It can detect our problems quickly. We can check all critical Service Application components on the bus :)

CONS

This software does not yet have a weekly custom report for audit needs, so we do a manual retrieval :(

Reason for choosing PRTG Network Monitor

Budget, Easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices

Vendor Response

Dear Reski, thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied October 2019

Ivan

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

PRTG monitoring software

We are monitoring our complete infrastructure, from network switches and routers, over servers to virtualized infrastructure and storage's.

PROS

Helped us many time with alert so our infrastructure did not go down.

CONS

I would like more vendor specific alerts to be included like Fortinet,

Reason for choosing PRTG Network Monitor

Better GUI, more stable application, easy to use and less hardware resources needed. Better probe for automatic search.

Vendor Response

Dear Ivan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied August 2019

Joshua

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

I Find PRTG as the defacto standard in multi platform System Monitoring

PROS

Ease of use, Web based, highly customizable if needed.

CONS

The only quirk I have is it is still not available in Linux (though a linux is probe is development I prefer the whole system on a linux environment)

Reason for choosing PRTG Network Monitor

I find the web interface of PRTG to be more accessible and straightforward.

Vendor Response

Dear Joshua, Thank you taking the time to leave us this review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied March 2022

Greg

Food Production, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

PRTG Network Monitor

PROS

Easy to deploy, start out with a free tier to get to know the product and the data it can provide.

CONS

Importing MIBs for odd products and getting the right scales kb vs MB is sometimes a chore. Their support is great to help out.

Reasons for switching to PRTG Network Monitor

Parent company used PRTG and it had more features at the time.

Vendor Response

Dear Greg, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied July 2022

User Profile

Gideon

Verified reviewer

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

PRTG Network Monitor

PROS

Comprehensive Monitoring Features: PRTG Network Monitor includes a variety of monitoring features, such as bandwidth monitoring, device health monitoring, server monitoring, application monitoring, and more. It supports a number of protocols and technologies, enabling businesses to keep an eye on many facets of their network infrastructure and gain visibility into its performance, availability, and resource usage.Alerting and Notifications: PRTG Network Monitor offers customizable alerting and notification features to promptly inform IT teams about critical network events or performance issues. It supports various alerting methods such as email notifications, SMS, push notifications, and more. Users can define thresholds and conditions to trigger alerts and ensure timely response to network incidents.

CONS

Interface Customization Limitations: While PRTG Network Monitor provides customizable dashboards and reports, some users may find limitations in terms of design flexibility and customization options. Users with specific visual preferences or those requiring highly tailored reports may find the available customization options somewhat limited.

Vendor Response

Dear Gideon, Thank you for highlighting the comprehensive monitoring features and customizable alerting capabilities of PRTG. We designed our system to provide businesses with extensive visibility into their network infrastructure and enable timely responses to critical network events. We appreciate your feedback! Your Paessler Team

Replied June 2023

Adam

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Highly Customizable and Very Capable Systems Monitor.

Saved our bacon numerous times. Was able to monitor just about everything I could throw at it. Very satisfied with the performance and options of the product.

PROS

The plethora of ways and systems to monitor. Built in support for Windows Active Directory, DNS, SQL Server and more. So many aspects to monitor - SSL Certificates, Running Services, individual SQL tables.With SNMP, you can add anything that supports that protocol. I Added Printer toner levels.Integrates out of the box with Active Directory, for single sign on purposes. Fine grained security options. An API to easily add new systems.The free version is full featured, limiting only the amount of sensors (100) you can run.Built in Integration with other well known systems like Meraki, and Sophos.

CONS

It's a great product that does what it does every well. Nothing really comes to mind. Perhaps too much customization.

Vendor Response

Dear Adam, Thank you for your positive review! We're glad to hear that PRTG is a valuable tool for you, offering a wide range of monitoring capabilities and seamless integration with various systems. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that PRTG is helping you save the day. If you ever have any suggestions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us. Your Paessler Team

Replied November 2023

Jose

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Monitoring servers and network

100% satisfied with it

PROS

Very easy to setup and to add servers to the main dashboard. The alert setup process was extremely easy and the different rules of when an issue needs escalation or has been resolved is a plus.Can see trends of issues which can help diagnosing problems.

CONS

None, love it so far. We have less than 100 sensors, so we are using the free version. We couldn't ask for something better to use instead.Although deprecated sensors can sometimes be time consuming to replace, it is greatly appreciated they keep things up to date!

Vendor Response

Dear Jose, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that the setup process, alert configuration, and issue trend analysis were all easy and helpful for you. We appreciate your review and look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations. Your Paessler Team

Replied June 2023

Mohamed

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

One of the most powerful infrastructure monitoring software

A good experience and I recommend using it, as it is one of the most powerful network monitoring software, but the free version must be tried to ensure that it works in a manner commensurate with the network and the work environment.

PROS

The large number of monitoring operations on the servers and the availability of options to monitor and clarify cloud services in detail It is an integrated control panel and you can control the number of seconds and services of the machine And it divides them for you into categories such as the machines that are hosted on the ESXI and puts them in a separate group and so on. The interface is excellent, clear and fast, unlike some other programs It is characterized by its work on the local server without the need for a separate machine.

CONS

A little slow in the hardware check process Guidance messages cover some important buttons, which prevents them from being noticed. Some errors are not clear, such as when I ask to monitor the Memory and Hardisk, the error is not clear if it is in the Port or the Authentication process or even the Firewall, so I hope to detail the errors to facilitate their solution. There is no monitoring of Ping in the form of a list and the form of a tree, it is difficult to monitor all devices on one page.

Reasons for switching to PRTG Network Monitor

Because it suits our work environment more, but I would not say that it is better.

Vendor Response

Dear Mohamed, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Have a look at our support section on our homepage. Here you will find many useful tips and tricks to help you get the most out of PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied June 2022

Irfan

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Network & Bandwidth Monitoring Tool

Good Product to monitor your networks but for huge network its not sufficient, but for normal networks its good to notify and other feature are very good i-e up time, alert system and cluster fail-over solutions , in the last PRTG interface must be need improvments.

PROS

Its a Simple Software to Monitor Network and bandwidth user, application wise. Monitoring & Manage all applications in details statistics in network, Correct Up-time/downtime for devices. *Flexible alerting (different types or Alert are available in this product) Cluster fail-over solution

CONS

Interface is no good and creating huddles in configurations, automatically connection between links is unavailable. Cluster fail-over solution not so good.

Reason for choosing PRTG Network Monitor

Pricing licensing

Vendor Response

Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied March 2020

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Know when there's a problem before the end users start calling

We monitor customer routers that we service and their ISP gateways. We can find out rather quickly when a customer goes down, or when a customer is having an issue with just the router, and we do not have to be actively doing it ourselves. We are just notified when there's an issue and jump in and start resolving right it away.

PROS

It tells me when there is a problem without much overhead on my part, and it puts me ahead of the game before end users start notifying me there is a problem. Its a pretty great feeling being able to call the end user up and tell them that you have already detected a problem and that you were actively working on before they have gotten around to notify you there was even an issue.

CONS

It takes some time to set up and configure the software. Its not as intuitive as I'd like it to be, but its entirely manageable. You just need to invest the time to learn it get it working the way you want and then from that point on its a breeze.

Vendor Response

Thank for your review!

Replied November 2018

John

Packaging and Containers, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Easy to use network monitor program

I love this tool because it is so easy to setup. Very user friendly and free license with 100 nodes.

PROS

This is a very easy software to implement. It also provide 100 nodes for free license. You can implement it within 30 minutes.

CONS

The free license is limited to 100 nodes.

Reason for choosing PRTG Network Monitor

PRTG is easier to use

Reasons for switching to PRTG Network Monitor

I like to try different product

Vendor Response

Dear John, Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied June 2022

Esben

Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Very good product for live monitoring

Gives us what we need for live monitoring

PROS

Pretty fast to get started with. Has alot of monitoring options. Good value

CONS

Some of the setup is a bit tricky. The unusual traffic monitoring is not really useful.

Reason for choosing PRTG Network Monitor

More value for money

Vendor Response

Dear Esben, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied May 2022

Mark

Mining & Metals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

PRTG Great but missing some features for scale

For network monitoring, daily use and ad-hoc to solve specific problems this software is perfect - you wont find a better all in one tool that is as easy to use as this tool.

PROS

PRTG has a lot of customization ability and can monitor almost anything with the right know how. From very simple stuff like SNMP to script based monitoring and alerting this software can do anything. The reporting and alerting are great and does the job very weel.

CONS

The scale of the program is not the best at time. Unless you have a full licenses to monitor anything you must be "choosy" as to what you monitor. In addition executing the same monitor over and over is not easy to do "automatically" or via scripting like other tools so it can get cumbersome.

Vendor Response

Dear Mark, thank you for taking the time leaving us a review! Have you heard about our feature request? [https://bit.ly/2ZkfLp1] Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied July 2019

Jason

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

PRTG Rocks!

Overall, PRTG rocks! The customer service is fantastic. It's very configurable and once you learn the basic setup it's easy to set up new systems and services.

PROS

PRTG network monitor works wonderfully. They have a wide range of monitoring elements, from SNMP to SQL Server checks. The software auto updates which is great and I've configured it to send me monthly reports on downtime for certain systems. The general reporting is great and I can keep a lot of uptime history on all my systems and services.

CONS

PRTG takes a little bit to get set up and dialed in to operate efficiently but it's worth the time. If you don't have the parent-child relationships configured correctly it's easy to get bombarded with messages of downtime.

Vendor Response

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review! We love our PRTG fans. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied April 2019

Paul

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: