User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(75)

75

4 stars

(31)

31

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Easy installation,High customization,variety of sensors available,very simple interface,easy to use "

  • "Very easy to install and discover devices on the network. Autodiscovery is a breeze! Dashboards are great too."

  • "It is very easy to install and get the devices and sensors set up. "

  • Cons

  • "GUI can be clunky at times, although it has improved greatly over the last few years."

  • "While just a few sensors were not performing well, like the Ping 30 for Cisco 1900 routers, PRTG has constantly released new updates that once applied, these issues are rectified."

  • "The web interface is superb but the desktop client is a bit buggy and no where nearly as good as the web client."

Browse PRTG Network Monitor Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 113 results

April 2016

Florian

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

April 2016

That really made my Day!

First of all: Actually (April 2016) the product is free for up to 100 Sensors! I was searching for an easy solution to monitor the internetconnection of one of my customers from outside. They sporadically experienced strange bandwidth problems and the cable provider didn't solve the problem within months. So while searching for an easy to install and use monitoring (simple ping) solution I found PRTG from Paessler in Nuremberg. I 've heard of it before as the Windows based alternative to Nagios. What can I say: I expected a solid Dice Game and ended up in Las Vegas! Installed withing minutes on a small Celeron machine running Windows 7. This runs the core Server and the Probe. You create Groups within the Windows (or Browserbased) Desktop. Within those Groups you create Devices and Sensors (Ping, HTTP, FTP, NTP, SIP, SMTP, SNMP Switch Traffic, ... and I'd say hundreds of others) at Locations you can define and are shown on a map. A configurable HTTPS allows secure Browser and mobile APP access. I use the one for my Windows phone that shows me my favorite (customer) Sensors directly. Automatically scan your Network (that might create a lot of Devices and Sensors, especially when you are using SNMP ready Switches, but don't worry, just pause them before you run out of your licenses). Monitor Switch Traffic if you wonder how long the Windows 10 updates disturb your other Machines. You can install remote Probes in other networks to monitor them and still collect all data on one central monitoring server. PS: In the end, the cable provider changed the modem after I sent them several times very clear screenshots from PRTG where you could see the 1800 ms echos all three weeks instead of 32 ms the rest of the time.

Pros

Very good structure and overview of your devices and systems load, usage, availability and traffic Easy install and use. No deep knowledge of MIB, RMON, LINUX or SNMP necessary Free for small environments Very Flexible (google 'prtg netatmo' for an impression :) Be aware and informed about uprising problems (Mail, SMS, Mobile) You literally see what your users experience

Cons

Really! I have been thinking, but didn't find that much. Rather ... nothing? OK, one: you need a Windows system. That might be an issue for some.

September 2019

Reski from Jamkrindo

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

PRTG is simplified my work Everyday.

PRTG can do Monitor all systems, devices, traffic and applications of your IT infrastructure. Everything you need, and don't expect more for custom weekly / monthly reports

Pros

This is the Recommended software that I often use to monitor or improve the Information Technology infrastructure. Very easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices. It can detect our problems quickly. We can check all critical Service Application components on the bus :)

Cons

This software does not yet have a weekly custom report for audit needs, so we do a manual retrieval :(

Reasons for Choosing PRTG Network Monitor

Budget, Easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices

Response from Paessler

Replied October 2019

Dear Reski, thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

February 2021

Jack from Murex

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

PRTG is very robust product for network monitoring and alerting

Good software for network and devices monitoring with custom sensors capability and notification.

Pros

Very good features to monitor and probe network devices for uptime and alerts. Ticketing system and Notification system. Overall good product and gives needed visibility.

Cons

Interface could use a refresh to be more modern. Needs some time to get used to managing.

Response from Paessler

Replied March 2021

Dear Jack, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Cheers, Paessler AG

January 2020

Chris from Coastline Technology Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Zero customer support / loyalty

I have been a longtime customer of PRTG 7+ yrs now. I contact them about once a year for little things I run into with the program. This time around they refuse to help, beyond basic email support in the middle of the night. If you want a program that provides support this isn't the product for you. If you are in the US the best you get is email support and they usually only respond while you are sleeping. Don't expect them to go out of the way for you. PRTG has wasted 2+ hrs fighting with me on fixing something their software caused, something they could likely fix in a 5min phone call. After paying them for support all this time I am done with this company, they are a scam!

Pros

Great for monitoring bandwidth usage or finding health problems/over utilization of resources. All using the SNMP protocol.

Cons

Support, they don't provide much beyond an KB article or emails in the middle of the night.

Response from Paessler

Replied October 2020

We're sorry to hear about your frustration and that our support has not lived up to your expectations. We always try to give you the best possible support in case of problems. Kind regards, Paessler AG

January 2021

Zandre from VO Connect

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

PRTG extensive monitoring

PRTG enables it's user to share accurate information with channel partners and provide comprehensive suggestions to solve problems that can sometimes be difficult to pin point root cause.

Pros

This software provides you with the ability to monitor various aspects of devices. It does not just allow you to monitor stability, but rather everything that goes into proving a stable connectivity. Easy to load/manage devices and also very user friendly graphing.

Cons

It is sometimes difficult to specify the limits on alarms and therefor you can face a large number of alarms when in fact it is only one device/service that is having issues.

Response from Paessler

Replied January 2021

Dear Zandre, Thank you for leaving us a review! Feel free and have a look in our knowledge base how to reduce the number of alarms. Cheers, Paessler AG

August 2019

Ivan from Pevec d.d.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

PRTG monitoring software

We are monitoring our complete infrastructure, from network switches and routers, over servers to virtualized infrastructure and storage's.

Pros

Helped us many time with alert so our infrastructure did not go down.

Cons

I would like more vendor specific alerts to be included like Fortinet,

Reasons for Choosing PRTG Network Monitor

Better GUI, more stable application, easy to use and less hardware resources needed. Better probe for automatic search.

Response from Paessler

Replied August 2019

Dear Ivan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Cheers, Paessler AG

November 2020

Jeremiah from Advantage Design Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Great monitoring software

we use this on a daily basis to monitor disk space, memory usage, and cpu load for various servers and machines. the dashboards with clear warnings combined with email notifications give us a clear picture of trouble spots.

Pros

The free version of PRTG network monitor that comes with 100 sensors allows you to do an in-depth analysis of the sensors available, notifications, architecture, monitoring capabilities etc... to determine if it meets your company's needs. The graphical interfaces, intuitive dashboards, and ease of setup and creating templates and inheritance across devices and types allows for easy use and administration.

Cons

it can get expensive the more devices and sensors you continue to add to the platform so use your trial to evaluate wisely how you will implement and for what types of devices. the auto discovery can be nice but also tends to clutter up things.

Response from Paessler

Replied November 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

December 2020

User Profile Picture

Irakli from SOCAR Energy Georgia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Good product

Good solution for monitoring network performance. You can customize dashboard as you need, create sensors which you need and it happens very easy. Everything works without any bugs. Strongly recommend.

Pros

- Very good and intuitive interface. - Possibility of creation of huge amount of sensors. - Has big quantity of features. For example, Syslog, NetFlow. - Possibility of creations very customizable Dashboards.

Cons

- Price per-sensor is quite high - Not all necessary sensors are built in. For example, BGP peering sensors.

Response from Paessler

Replied January 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! We love hearing about how you are using it. We are continuing to develop PRTG and you will be able to use all new sensors in the future without additional licensing costs. Thank you for recommending us! Cheers, Paessler AG

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

prtg usage

We fix the access errors of system devices by seeing them. Thanks to e-mail notifications, we are instantly informed.

Pros

It is software that helps simple monitoring of prtg systems. Prtg is very easy to use and install.

Cons

more attention can be given to visual interfaces. Prtg is not an easy to use software that allows for fine changes.

Response from Paessler

Replied August 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review! We are already looking at improving the web interface. For more details, please have a look at our roadmap: https://www.paessler.com/prtg/roadmap Cheers, Paessler AG

January 2021

Mithila from South Asian Technologies (Pvt) Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Best tool to monitor all network traffics

Monitoring all network traffics in a single console makes the life easier and to understand the network utilization for better optimization for the network.

Pros

Easy intergration with existing systems like servers, switches, routers and firewalls. WAN monitoring is also very helpful in terms of managing QOS for different traffics.

Cons

In administering and troubleshooting documentation is not clear though and hard to understand. Also would like to point out built-in reports are not enough.

Response from Paessler

Replied January 2021

Dear Mithila, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Feel free and have a look at this page to get most out of reports: https://www.paessler.com/manuals/prtg/reports Cheers, Paessler AG

January 2020

David from The Best Connection

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

The software you want monitoring your network

Fantastic, we can proactively monitor connections and equipment, often we are working on fixing it before the end users know it is broken

Pros

Easy to use, reliable, can email or text about alerts, can execute scripts etc. Able to monitor snmp, pings, https and all sorts of things.

Cons

It is licensed by sensor, so you can easily run out of you monitor everything, you'll need to be careful to only monitor what you need to

Reasons for Switching to PRTG Network Monitor

Ease of use

Response from Paessler

Replied January 2020

Dear David, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy that PRTG supports you and your team that well. Cheers, Paessler AG

March 2020

Irfan from Pak Suzuki Motor Co. Ltd

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Network & Bandwidth Monitoring Tool

Good Product to monitor your networks but for huge network its not sufficient, but for normal networks its good to notify and other feature are very good i-e up time, alert system and cluster fail-over solutions , in the last PRTG interface must be need improvments.

Pros

Its a Simple Software to Monitor Network and bandwidth user, application wise. Monitoring & Manage all applications in details statistics in network, Correct Up-time/downtime for devices. *Flexible alerting (different types or Alert are available in this product) Cluster fail-over solution

Cons

Interface is no good and creating huddles in configurations, automatically connection between links is unavailable. Cluster fail-over solution not so good.

Reasons for Choosing PRTG Network Monitor

Pricing licensing

Response from Paessler

Replied March 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

January 2019

Ryan from Citizens Bank Guyana Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

PRTG Feature and Functionality in summary

The application has helped us monitor all types of equipment and proactively resolve issues early.

Pros

This monitoring application has helped us stay on track of what is happening at every corner and for every device on our network, from Storage to network, security and usage statistics and notifications for each, this application has saved us many times in restoring and fixing problems before they get noticed by end users. From our desk and our our phones using the app, we can monitor and get visibility into many device types, including Cisco, Linux, storage systems, Microsoft operating systems just to name a few, with thousands of sensors to choose from. Very powerful and constantly improving.

Cons

While just a few sensors were not performing well, like the Ping 30 for Cisco 1900 routers, PRTG has constantly released new updates that once applied, these issues are rectified.

Response from Paessler

Replied January 2019

Hi Ryan, Thank you for your review! Cheers, Paessler AG

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Know when there's a problem before the end users start calling

We monitor customer routers that we service and their ISP gateways. We can find out rather quickly when a customer goes down, or when a customer is having an issue with just the router, and we do not have to be actively doing it ourselves. We are just notified when there's an issue and jump in and start resolving right it away.

Pros

It tells me when there is a problem without much overhead on my part, and it puts me ahead of the game before end users start notifying me there is a problem. Its a pretty great feeling being able to call the end user up and tell them that you have already detected a problem and that you were actively working on before they have gotten around to notify you there was even an issue.

Cons

It takes some time to set up and configure the software. Its not as intuitive as I'd like it to be, but its entirely manageable. You just need to invest the time to learn it get it working the way you want and then from that point on its a breeze.

Response from Paessler

Replied November 2018

Thank for your review!

May 2018

Mauricio from BATechnology Group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Top five monitor app for IT departments on SMB and corporations 24/7 365 days.

Most of my clients are SMB and need a free option to monitor his IT devices, with a free option it's easier.

Pros

-The free version allows up to 100 sensors to be included on his interface. This feature helps allot of companies IT departments to monitor and compare without limitations. -Easy installation process for core app, available for SNMP devices (almost every tech device has this option). -Add devices for a monitor it's easier than other competitors because its agent less and his auto discover feature make deployment process fast and secure. -Available as web interface with every OS and app for the most important devices (iOS and Android).

Cons

-User guide needs to be adapted for none IT users. -Reports need an experienced partner to customize executive options. -Customer Support it's not the best part of this company, sometimes take days to solve an issue that would take minutes on other monitoring software.

April 2019

Matteo from Binder Groesswang RA GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best monitoring solution I know our there

with PRTG we can relax and react quickly when something goes wrong in our infrastructure. all in all it a great investment!

Pros

This software is quite easy and intuitive to set up and use. We have done the installation on our own and have been since then really happy with it. PRTG scans our infrastructure and notifies immediately when something goes wrong. Whenever we install new systems, we look at PRTG and set some basic sensors for each important service, and we are all set. it's a work of a few minutes, you can get most needs coevered with little effort

Cons

the web based UI is much better now, but could still be improved a bit in the usability. selecting multiple objects is a bit awkward and not intuitive. some sensors are buggy and we have stopped using them. but that's only a very low percentage of the total

Response from Paessler

Replied April 2019

Hi Matteo, Thank you for your review! Cheers, Paessler AG

July 2019

Mark from ArcelorMittal Dofasco

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

PRTG Great but missing some features for scale

For network monitoring, daily use and ad-hoc to solve specific problems this software is perfect - you wont find a better all in one tool that is as easy to use as this tool.

Pros

PRTG has a lot of customization ability and can monitor almost anything with the right know how. From very simple stuff like SNMP to script based monitoring and alerting this software can do anything. The reporting and alerting are great and does the job very weel.

Cons

The scale of the program is not the best at time. Unless you have a full licenses to monitor anything you must be "choosy" as to what you monitor. In addition executing the same monitor over and over is not easy to do "automatically" or via scripting like other tools so it can get cumbersome.

Response from Paessler

Replied July 2019

Dear Mark, thank you for taking the time leaving us a review! Have you heard about our feature request? [https://bit.ly/2ZkfLp1] Cheers, Paessler AG

December 2017

Scott from Pomeroy

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Robust and reliable monitoring solution

This is your one stop shop for a monitoring solution. Best value and most functionality all in one package.

Pros

Very wide variety of sensors for monitoring of various applications from SQL servers to custom scripts to ping to SNMP and WMI. Can be configured in a distributed configuration to spread out the load that the sensors place on a monitoring server or to consolidate WAN traffic between the central host and branch offices. Can be setup in a cluster for ultra high capacity server. Very robust selection of reports available with the ability to create custom reports. Beautiful Android client with push notifications. If you are looking for a monitoring solution this need be your one and only stop.

Cons

Support can be a little slow to respond often taking a day to respond via email. Only Windows hosts can be used as full sensor probes.

April 2019

Jason from Denver Seminary

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

PRTG Rocks!

Overall, PRTG rocks! The customer service is fantastic. It's very configurable and once you learn the basic setup it's easy to set up new systems and services.

Pros

PRTG network monitor works wonderfully. They have a wide range of monitoring elements, from SNMP to SQL Server checks. The software auto updates which is great and I've configured it to send me monthly reports on downtime for certain systems. The general reporting is great and I can keep a lot of uptime history on all my systems and services.

Cons

PRTG takes a little bit to get set up and dialed in to operate efficiently but it's worth the time. If you don't have the parent-child relationships configured correctly it's easy to get bombarded with messages of downtime.

Response from Paessler

Replied April 2019

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review! We love our PRTG fans. Cheers, Paessler AG

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Atahualpa from Telefónica

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Prtg is a software of easy use and allows to monitor and study the traffic of the network.

PRTG is very useful for statistical studies of the behavior of the network, since it keeps historical daily, weekly, monthly and annual, this allows to carry out a detailed and accurate planning, we can also evaluate how a marketing and sales campaign impacts on the links of our network and see if the end customers are making more use of our services.

Pros

It allows configuring any network element, only with IP address, MIB an OID, and we can monitor from electrical signals, CPU indicators, RAM / ROM memory, UpLink traffic parameters, DownLink, pack discards, traffic overflow and loss. as well as the dating of data, with this indicators, our network is monitored 365 days a year. Generally in ISPs it is used as a statistical traffic tool which allows to make growth projections in the links of the network of providers, as well as a guide to evaluate post impact work in the network of the ISP company.

Cons

ls disadvantages of PRTG are few, however we must be aware that it is not a monitoring software in real time, it interrogates the network element every 5 minutes, and there is an additional time so we should not use it as a ractive failure tool.

June 2019

Pedro from YIPI Telecom

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

PRTG it Life!

Basically, PRTG and life! System extremely simple to install and customize, has a very beautiful interface, and most importantly the set of tools that it after boarded and very functional, it is not only with the simple network monitoring, it comes with perpendicular level of the fall of devices, integration of the native sms of the application, alert via email. One of the best things he does and the channel splitting within the sensors that the device has. Now what really is unbelievable in it, and its mapping system that gives 1000 to 0 in its competitors, is ridiculously easy to assemble map is also very simple and practical to customize them for operation. In summary PRTG ends up being more than a simple tool tool.

Pros

Easy installation, extremely low learning curve, highly customizable, best category map editor, simple and clean appearance.

Cons

Really does not have many cons ... Its only disadvantage and not having support for running on linux.

Response from Paessler

Replied July 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! Cheers, Paessler AG

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Felipe from CORPOELEC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Excellent tool to monitor and classify the bandwidth of the network.

I use PRTG on a daily basis in the company, which has helped me to quickly and easily verify the behavior of the network and that I can view it from anywhere via the web.

Pros

* I can know what applications are causing high traffic. * I like the simplicity of its interface, which allows me to configure the monitoring sensors, as well as create reports of bandwidth usage for each one. * The web interface with the I can give access to the visualization of the graphics and tables to the other members of my telecommunications team.

Cons

PRTG is a software that I use daily and continuously in my work as a network analyst and I have not been inconvenienced, just keep improving it every day. The only thing I can suggest is that they launch a native version for Linux systems.

July 2020

User Profile Picture

Umair Ali from Pak Suzuki Motor Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

All in one NMS

it is a great tool for monitoring your infrastructure and the support is also great. the only issue is when you need to migrate the server to a new machine. it is difficult and error prone.

Pros

it has support for all monitoring protocols. it has builtin templates for most commonly used devices. it has a tree like structure in which devices can be arranged and connected to each other in a hierarchy. the magic map feature is a great option to view entire network at a glance.

Cons

the free version has very less number of nodes supported and it should be increased. it does not support netflow with juniper srx devices. migrating a server to a new system or VM is very complex and lengthy.

Response from Paessler

Replied August 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review! In the free version there are 100 sensors available. It has the full functionality of the commercial version. Feel free and get in contact with our support@paessler.com team for further assistance. Cheers, Paessler AG

July 2019

Ian from Delta Data

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Versatile Tool for Network Monitoring

Overall, this is a very good tool that has all the functionality of some of the more expensive products without the inflated price tag. I would definitely recommend that any Network Administrator looking for a good monitoring tool give this a try before purchasing something that costs twice as much.

Pros

I like the variety of alerting features as well as the visualizations available in the dashboard. You can easily produce executive level graphs to analyze trends across your network devices. The ability to customize which processes on each device to monitor makes this tool even more handy.

Cons

While this is an overall excellent product, it can be a little bit clunky to get setup. Also, until you get the alerting tuned right where you want it, it can be a little bit noisy as far as generating emails go.

Response from Paessler

Replied July 2019

Dear Ian, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! Cheers, Paessler AG

September 2018

William from Claymont City Schools

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

PRTG Saves the Day

Overall, PRTG has helped save our schools district a lot of potential downtime when we didn't even know that there was an issue. If you need a network monitor, I suggest PRTG.

Pros

This software makes it very easy to determine if any node is down on our network. It also has TONS of additional features to monitor bandwidth usage, CPU usage, memory usage, etc., on each node selected if desired. It makes it very simple to know when a server, switch, or wireless AP is down in a matter of seconds with it's email push feature.

Cons

This software is quite difficult to grasp. Since it has SO many features, it also has tons of options to set, but can be picked up by an IT admin in a couple hours if time and effort is put forth.

Response from Paessler

Replied September 2018

Hi William, Thank you for your review of PRTG! Our blog is a great way to stay on top of various monitoring topics and the latest features of PRTG. https://blog.paessler.com/ Cheers, Greg Ross

September 2018

Donovan from MMSA

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Best network monitor availalbe

PRTG Network Monitor has helped me keep tabs on a large network of offices. It is certainly good value for money and very accurate. I love being able to see at glance what is happening on my network and still have the ability to drill down in to the most smallest of detail.

Pros

The setup of the monitor is very easy, allowing you to customise the deployment and scanning options. There are so many different sensors available you will be certain to find the one you need.

Cons

It can be overwhelming to see all of the sensors when you do an auto-scan, you just need to realise that you probably don't need to monitor them all and it's better to rather pick and choose the ones that most relevant to your need.

Response from Paessler

Replied September 2018

Thanks for your review Donovan! Cheers, Paessler AG

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Jesus from Blue Squares Creative, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Free network monitoring for small businesses with 10-20 servers.

Free network monitoring on a Windows server.

Pros

I love the fact it's Windows based and has easy setup features. The biggest pro is the free 100 sensors. If you're running a small business with 10-20 servers, this is the perfect solution to get them monitored for free. We found it to be extremely reliable for this particular use and upgrades were a breeze.

Cons

Once you're out of the 100 sensor free version, the cost jumps into the thousands. So if you're expecting to grow much more, then keep that cost in mind. Also, the software installs far too many sensors per server when using the "auto discovery" feature. It's best to manually setup sensors as needed.

October 2018

Jonathan from Aloglobal Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Excellent tool to monitor almost any technological component

It is an excellent tool, we have managed to solve many incidents on time, we see the graphs in real time how the network and its components are working. The most important we protect the most important asset of the company "The information" applying the corrective to the first alerts.

Pros

I can monitor the components of the network in real time, one of the most important points is that the alarms that are sent by mail are personalized, you can locate the threshold you want to send and as often as required. We have monitors of all the components and in seconds we know which is alarmed, and we can solve the problem before it becomes serious and stop the operations.

Cons

Change the design of the emails is a bit complex, you had to use an external tool to improve the presentation of the emails.

Response from Paessler

Replied October 2018

Thank you for your review! Cheers Paessler AG

July 2019

Steven from First Nations Home Finance Corp

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Long-time PRTG User

I use this daily to monitor uptime of all servers and critical workstations. I also use WMI sensors when I need more than just uptime information. SQL sensors have also proven to be very useful.

Pros

Love the variety of sensors available for various platforms. Email and in-browser alerts are extremely useful.

Cons

GUI can be clunky at times, although it has improved greatly over the last few years.

Reasons for Choosing PRTG Network Monitor

The free trial (up to 100 sensors) got me hooked. Once you get started and see what is possible, you'll want to expand beyond the trial limit.

Response from Paessler

Replied July 2019

Dear Steven, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Cheers, Paessler AG

November 2016

Eitan from LiveU

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Solves our monitoring needs

We manage lots of machines with PRTG, it helps us focus on the important stuff that's going on. Covers divers needs.

Pros

It's easy to use without getting too technical when you start of, and lets you ramp up and dig deeper as you go. Covers lots of different scenarios, good visualizations, good performance, good features are getting added as we go.

Cons

Windows based, and sometimes it's awkward to manage lots of linux machines with it - especially when the monitoring requires scripts to run on the remote machines.

March 2019

Joel from Faith Technology Group, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Your Network Roadmap

PRTG Network Monitor will help you easily identify network issues, you will finally know and understand what's going on in the background as you manage your network infrastructure.

Pros

PRTG offers a wealth of information about your network. This software will monitor every aspect of your IT infrastructure. Everything you wanted to know about your network is now available to you, including a few things you may not have thought of.

Cons

There is so much information available, learning your way around the interface can be a bit daunting until you're up to speed.

Response from Paessler

Replied April 2019

Hi Joel, Thank you for your review! We love our PRTG fans. Cheers, Greg

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

A fantastic network monitoring tool, that is easy to deploy and scale at a reasonable price.

Pros

PRTG network monitoring is fairly straight forward to configure and even easier to deploy sensors for monitoring components., unlike some other competing products. The reporting and dashboards are comprehensive visually, without being too overloaded with information. Support is very good.

Cons

It is easy to overload the probes, which caused it to shoot out multiple alert messages for different sensors. Had to scale out my deployment, which I had not planned for.

Response from Paessler

Replied August 2018

Thank you for your review! Remote probes were designed with the type of scenario you mentioned, allowing you to scale a larger deployment.

April 2019

Matt from Miss Hal's School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A lifesaver for our IT department!

PRTG helps our IT department keep an eye on all of the devices connected to our network. We have about 1000 sensors set up that alert us when devices go offline, when toner is low in our printers, if a device is running too hot, if CPU or memory utilization spikes, etc. There is almost nothing that PRTG can't monitor. The notifications are great too. They can go be emails, text messages, or batch files that are launched. I can't imagine not having PRTG.

Pros

Helps us keep tabs on all of our network equipment.

Cons

I don't have any cons to report. We've had a great overall experience for many years.

Response from Paessler

Replied April 2019

Hi Matt, Thank you for your review! Cheers, Paessler AG

April 2018

Luis from Kyowaamerica corporation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Paessler PRTG Network monitor

Great software overall.

Pros

It can monitor many if not all of your network devices, such as firewall, printers, access points, along with software status running on pretty much all hardware, such as real time statistics, can create html maps to embed onto your intranet pages such as with Sharepoint, it also has a great built in reporting interface along with email notifications.

Cons

It can take some time to setup sensors the first time, also some of these sensors can be quite complex, requiring the user to call tech support for a viable solution for the expected outcome.

July 2019

Sam from Tax Defense Network

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

PRTG - Great Monitoring tool

Network Monitoring is a vital tool for any SysAdmin who needs to have their sights on the heartbeat of their infrastructure and PRTG meets that need. Cost effective as you can purchase the number of sensors you need, and fairly priced.

Pros

Ease of use, upgrade process, support, forums, number of sensors, types of sensors, maps and ability to share public, sensor customization, notifications

Cons

Some sensors are complex making them hard to implement

Response from Paessler

Replied July 2019

Dear Sam, thank you for leaving us this review! The team here at Paessler is thrilled to hear such good feedback! Cheers, Paessler AG

October 2019

Jim from Bluestem Brands

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

PRTG Network Monitoring

Pros

This app was very simple to install and configure. Installation and configuration was very intuitive, as well as the user interface. Also the ability to monitor and setup alerts based upon geographical location makes the app easier to define and monitor

Cons

The GUI provides a tremendous amount of info, perhaps too much on an individual screen, which can make it overwhelming on occassion

Response from Paessler

Replied January 2020

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. Cheers, Paessler AG

July 2018

jesus from Telefonica venezolana

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Good monitoring tool

is a good monitoring tool using the SNMP protocol

Pros

It is a good tool that helps you to have monitored all the elements of your network, regardless of the distributor or network layer in which you are. it helps you not only monitor the team's status but also the performance of it

Cons

despite being a good tool if you have the license, you can not have more than 100 sensors. they give you scale functions in each sensor that can help you and at the same time confuse you or you lose appreciation of what you really want to see

February 2018

Dustin from Elk Grove Park District

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Best Network Monitoring tool out there

Our previous product (Solar-you-know-what) was a beast to configure and keep up and running. PRTG took away a lot of the maintenance and got us straight down to data. Custom sensors have also helped us out on a few devices that are really specialized and specific to our operations.

Pros

- Clean interface - Lightweight/no agents required on endpoints - Maps feature is super customizable; map rotation lets you set up a NOC-like screen

Cons

Paessler recently changed the pricing structure; the old system was a little bit more budget friendly and in my opinion easier to manage.

March 2020

Tom from CDW UK

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Good alternative to SolarWinds NPM

Have been implementing this for many orgs. All have seen benefits from it.

Pros

Very easy to install and discover devices on the network. Autodiscovery is a breeze! Dashboards are great too.

Cons

It's important to manage authentication in a way which is logical. It can become a bit fiddly to manage multiple access accounts.

Response from Paessler

Replied March 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

September 2020

Gopal from eureka Outsourcing Solution

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Very Good Software for Network Engineer

Pros

As a Network Engineer this is Great Software for to monitor and Control IP Packet trafic. I am CCNP (R&S) Certified. My daily work in my company to monitor IP traffic flow & Bandwidth usage. This software is very easy to understand and provide almost everything to Network engineer needed.

Cons

IP Traffic Flow control management & Bandwidth management.

Response from Paessler

Replied October 2020

Dear Gopal, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Cheers, Paessler AG

August 2020

Mohammad from NXS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

A mid tier monitoring solution

Product was good but customer support is not on prompt.

Pros

This one is easy to deploy, not as tough as zabbix, but you have to pay a price for that. Monitoring is good using the mibs, you may monitor switches, firewalls, load balancers, storages, servers and even ACI but LEAF and Spine should be added as individual devices.

Cons

Customer support was taking huge time to respond.

Reasons for Choosing PRTG Network Monitor

SolarWinds is way expensive.

Response from Paessler

Replied October 2020

Dear Mohammad, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sorry to hear that you had to wait a long time for an answer from our support. We always try to answer requests as soon as possible. Cheers, Paessler AG

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Is a tool that allows me to monitor my network easily and on a single screen

It helps me to monitorin my network, the traficc, bandwidth. I have the information that I need from my network quickly and easily ! By now i have set up 16 sensors.

Pros

Provides important information at first sight, Real Time Traficc and bandwidth. It allows me to act quickly when the network falls (DOWN, No response)

Cons

So far the only inconvenience I have had is to create access for different users, by now we all use a web link but without autentication

Response from Paessler

Replied July 2018

Thank you for your review! It sounds like you need some help with the authentication and administrative options. Please contact presales@paessler.com to work with one of our engineers on your question.

August 2019

Moamar from Central Tv & Internet Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Moamarz PRTG Review

Pros

It is very easy to install and get the devices and sensors set up.

Cons

From time to time found that if the software loses connection to a device, after the connection is re-established the sensor do not automatically start generate data again.

Response from Paessler

Replied August 2019

Dear Moamar, thank you very much for your review! Did you reach out to our presales@paessler.com team or support@paessler.com team regarding your cons? Cheers, Paessler AG

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

PRTG is a great network monitoring tool.

Overall, I would highly recommend every Network Admin/Engineer to at least try PRTG. Your get a free 30 day trial with unlimited sensors and then 100 sensors after that.

Pros

PRTG makes it easy to discover and add SNMP devices. I really like the ability to create maps of sensors to visually see your network

Cons

I don't have any real cons for PRTG. most sensors and notifications are tuneable.

Response from Paessler

Replied October 2018

Thank you for your review and have a wonderful day! Cheers Paessler AG

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Keep your eyes on your network

Pros

This application can span your entire network and hardware equipment. There are about 1000 different sensors that you can configure and apply. Needless to say, the feature set is rich for fine tuning what you want to monitor and how you want to be notified in the event of an outage, system failure, etc. Setup is super easy and you can customize your own sensor sets by creating different profiles.

Cons

Having tons of sensors is really nice to have, but the auto-discover feature is a bit intense, as it will scan your entire network picking up everything and every sensor it can find for that device. It's best to avoid that auto-discovery and know ahead of time which devices you want to monitor and create profiles with only the sensors you want. Then you can manually add your own devices and save some time.

Response from Paessler

Replied April 2019

Thank you for your review. You are right that auto discovery can be a bit overwhelming. There is an install option to disable the initial auto discovery. https://kb.paessler.com/en/topic/10403-how-can-i-turn-off-auto-discovery Cheers, Paessler AG

May 2017

Dominique from CITO

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Great network monitoring for half the price

We save a lot of money using PRTG because they are very affordable compared to other monitoring tools out there and they are still considered enterprise level software

Pros

Has most features those big enterprise software have such as solar winds at half the price. You pay for the amount of sensors you use and not devices

Cons

The web interface is superb but the desktop client is a bit buggy and no where nearly as good as the web client.

January 2019

Ajay from Safet Codes Council

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

PRTG Network Monitor

Great tool for performance monitoring, large and small organizations.

Pros

Simple easy to use UI Free version works well in smaller environment Very robust and east to configure

Cons

Initial configuration for first time user may be a little confusing. Pricing is also on the high end

Response from Paessler

Replied July 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Cheers, Paessler AG

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Monitoring our whole IT infrastructure with PRTG. Never miss another incident and act proactively.

Pros

Ease of use. Notifications and history. Auto discovery of sensors with templates. Recommended sensors by the software based on the device. Great range of sensors.

Cons

Maps are not trivial to be created. Could get a better looking theme. Not clever enough to pickup repetitive notifications

Response from Paessler

Replied August 2018

Thank you for your review and the feedback regarding maps. Cheers, Paessler AG

May 2018

Peter from Publishing Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

A must have tool for your network

Pros

This saves me a lot of heartache by understanding the health of all the devices on our network. It has saved us countless times from having any downtime by alerting us to potential problems before they become real issues.

Cons

You need to be able to tune out the email alerts which will take some time as it is very noisy with sending a lot of email.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Good monitoring tool

Pros

It has a large variety of sensors and probes. Most common hardware and software are covered by the out of the box solution.

Cons

They have done a lot of work on the interface, but it can still have a high learning curve on how to set up devices and notifications.

Response from Paessler

Replied April 2019

Thank you for your review! Cheers, Paessler AG

Displaying 1 - 50 of 113 reviews