All Recurly Reviews

1-25 of 56 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mike

Computer Software, 51 - 200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed March 2022

The cornerstone to smooth SaaS billing

User Profile

Jack

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Incredible Support

We've used Recurly to power our billing for over 5 years now and it's fully integrated into our systems and processes. We're big fans of the ease of use and bigger fans of the phenomenal support.

PROS

While the features and ease of use are great, I'm most impressed with their customer service and ability to answer each question my team or I have quickly and thoroughly.

CONS

No major cons I can think of. We're trying to integrate GoCardless and it's been a little clunky, but I don't think that's at the fault of Recurly.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly - and thrilled that customer services has been helpful. We love celebrating with our customers. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, please let us know.

Replied February 2023

Mark

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

A must for emerging subscription-based business model

Recurly is packed with features. It's not the cheapest one in the market but it fulfills our need. There are some features we wish would be an add-on which will save us some dollars because we don't use it. The customer support is important to us and they are responsive and knowledgeable. There is a little learning curve when rolling this out to new hires.

PROS

Besides integrating well with our existing tools. We are fond of Recurly because we can accommodate a wider reach of customers beyond month-to-month plans. The subscriptions can be customized the way we like it (think annual plans, prepaid plans, every other month, every three month-type of billing.) The invoicing feature allows our sales team to close deals without asking for upfront credit card information. Once accounts have been set up, we can always provide a specific link so customers can pay by themselves reducing the amount of people seeing their cards thus building trust.

CONS

When processing a refund, it generates another invoice with a different invoice number. I think it would be better if the actual invoice will be updated to say "fully refunded/partially refunded" instead of creating another one. For security reasons, the software times out over a period of inactivity. When 2-step verification is enabled, it will always ask for it when you re-login...just a minor annoyance.

Reason for choosing Recurly

Stripe doesn't have a recurring feature and their invoicing solution isn't as user-friendly as Recurly.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide, enabling the full subscriber lifecycle. We especially love celebrating with our customers as they grow. Congratulations. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, beyond what you've listed above, please let us know!

Replied February 2023

Poohan

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2020

Disappointing customer support

PROS

decent interface. good integration functionality although this breaks every so often.

CONS

Customer service was disappointing at best. Charged us thousands of dollars for collecting on a single bill. We flagged this to them multiple times but got passed around 5 different customer support people and eventually told us that they wouldn't entertain our request. We have been a customer of theirs for over three years and its so disappointing to feel ripped off this way.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to express your concern. It appears we've fallen short. This isn't acceptable to us. Recurly provides a subscription management platform for 2200+ businesses, and we welcome every opportunity to improve. Please reach out to support@recurly.com should you still need assistance.

Replied February 2023

Edgardo

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Recurly Covers all your billing needs

Recurly has the best subscription billing service that I have worked with (I have used several). Their costs are fair and as mentioned previously, the freedom I have to set up everything the way I want to based on my needs is the reason why we will continue to use this service.

PROS

What I like the most about Recurly is the versatility, I have many options to send customized discounts, codes, create plans, edit renewals dates, process manual payments, send invoices, set up alerts, customize invoices and provide credits.

CONS

If I can say anything that I don't like is that sometimes a pop-up comes up for support and gets in the way of me working when I'm not looking to contact support. I understand the platform is just letting me know I can contact support for any issues and how but for experience users that know how to do this already, it can just be a little annoying.

Reasons for switching to Recurly

The features were very limited on the previous option and the interface it's much more confusing to use.

Vendor Response

Thank you! We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, beyond the pop-up notifications, please let us know.

Replied February 2023

Eric

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Recurly is the most user friendly subscription UI on the market

Recurly is the best solution for companies with a handful of products to scale. If you are using the admin UI to do billing like I am it is a very clear tool to implement and use day-to-day.

PROS

I love the flexibility in setting up subscriptions: future start, bill forward, automatic, % or $ discounts. Recurly makes it easy and does exception handling well.

CONS

Slow to roll out new features. Sometimes you set up multiple subscriptions to fire out at the same time, but they will send separately. For some reason Recurly only let's you choose the HOUR (in UTC) that a subscription occurs at, but Recurly sometimes changes the MINUTE. Very frustrating as an admin to manage that somewhat confusing anomaly.

Reason for choosing Recurly

Price at current scale was more economical.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide, enabling the full subscriber lifecycle. And we especially love celebrating with our customers as they grow. Congratulations. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, please let us know!

Replied February 2023

Heather

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Billing made easy!

Overall, Recurly is a very helpful and organizational software for billing and purchase concerns.

PROS

I particularly liked the transaction feature, where you can check the status and errors of the card on file or before it gets saved in the system. It gives you precise information about the error you are encountering and a suggested solution. Also, it has a lot of other features like the card update tab, activities, and the list of orders/invoices.

CONS

What I like least is the automatic log-out feature if you're idled for more than 15 minutes, the software's security system. It's not a big deal but it gets inconvenient sometimes.

Vendor Response

We appreciate that you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide, enabling the full subscriber lifecycle; and we especially love celebrating with our customers as they grow. Congratulations. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, please let us know!

Replied February 2023

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Recurly is a good choice for online subscription billing and management

Overall, Recurly is an easy to use subscription billing and management tool. From a support representative perspective, it allows me to service my customers and provide information without assistance from the Finance team for general billing inquiries or issues. I recommend this software for recurring subscription products/services.

PROS

Recurly is simple to use and configure. As a support representative, it is easy to review customer billing information, subscription(s), and coupons or discounts as well as make changes as needed. I like that there are hosted account and billing management pages that can be provided to allow a customer to update their information without having to login.

CONS

As a non-admin user, I am restricted to some of the data I need to support my customers such as the ability to view add-on products and reports detailing which products were sold and to whom. Perhaps this is merely a configuration my company has decided to enact versus default access based on user type.

Vendor Response

Sounds like Recurly is working for you. We love celebrating with our customers. Thanks for letting us know!

Replied February 2023

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

No hassles

In the end we left them. I reached out to their Customer Success manager to get a good deal on the Enterprise plan. They didn't pick up my signal that I was also looking at other systems. They didn't seem interested to keep us as a customer, so we left.

PROS

I liked that the system was solid in it's performance. It simply always worked and we never had complaints from customers on invoices and payments.

CONS

It took a long time before they made direct debit available.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly and disappointed you've left our platform. It appears we fell short. Recurly provides a subscription management platform for 2200+ businesses, and we welcome every opportunity to improve. Please reach out to support@recurly.com should we be able to assist in the future. We wish you well.

Replied January 2023

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

I would fully recommend

PROS

First of all- support. I really like how helpful the guys are, would be lost without them. I don't have a comparison to other programs, but I feel that Recurly covers all (or at least most) of our needs. I really like the design and user-friendly interface.

CONS

I wish there would be more customization in terms of reporting. Also, I feel like it is not very intuitive. I'm missing some tooltips that would guide me through the software which such business impact. Alright, there is Help section and FAQ, but it takes a while to find required information.

Vendor Response

Thank you! We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, beyond what's listed above, please let us know. You might also check the documentation to see how reporting features have improved.

Replied February 2023

Sundeep

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Recurly - We love it

PROS

Recurly makes it easy for us to manage subscriptions and manage billing. There is absolutely no complication involved.

CONS

Setting up Recurly needs little technical assistance without which it becomes little difficult. However this is a great platform

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide and especially love celebrating with our customers. Congratulations. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, please let us know!

Replied February 2023

Casimir

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Recurly reduces churn and makes it so I don't have to think about my billing system

Everything to do with billing

PROS

Definitely the churn reduction features and knowing that a team of experts are worrying about the details instead of me

CONS

Sometimes I feel that they are focusing too much on enterprise and not on the little guy. Having said that, they still have a kickass set of features for the little guy.

Reason for choosing Recurly

Because it was obviously the best

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide and continue to innovate. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, please let us know.

Replied February 2023

Alexis

Consumer Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

The top solution for recurring billing.

We take the privacy of our clients' personal information seriously, and our billing procedure is meticulous. Recurly has excellent settings/configurations that let users just access the information they require and limit access to the information they do not. Recurly has significantly improved how we handle billing.

PROS

It's incredibly easy to use once you know how! In essence, getting all the information I need only requires one or two clicks on my part. It's also a huge plus that the records are time and date stamped because it makes it simpler for me to search up the data I need to access for payments and billing concerns.

CONS

Recurly's need for us to generate new passwords every sometime is the one thing I really dislike about it. The rest is flawless.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide, enabling the full subscriber lifecycle. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, above what you've indicated above, please let us know!

Replied March 2023

Mike

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2019

The cornerstone to smooth SaaS billing

There are other good billing systems out there but Recurly offers the best feature set for our business model, billing process, and client base. It is the best for a subscription-based model.

PROS

Our billing process is sensitive and we take our client's information privacy very seriously. Recurly offers great settings/configurations to give people access to the information they need and restrict access to what they don't. Our billing process is smoother by far because of Recurly.

CONS

We have a lot of exceptions in our billing process and Recurly isn't as good at handling these client-by-client exceptions as we would like.

Vendor Response

Thank you! We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide, constantly innovating. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, beyond what's listed above, please let us know. You might check our documentation to see how exception features have improved.

Replied February 2023

Yolandie

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

You can always rely on Recurly

Recurly's dunning system is incredible and retrieves a lot of our revenue which could have been lost if not for the dunning system. Invoicing is made easy and general setup of pricing, coupons, etc are very easy to follow.

PROS

The software is very easy to use and you have access to numerous reports just with the click of a button. Their support is also excellent. I have never had an issue that couldn't be resolved in record time. The dunning feature is absolutely a brilliant tool.

CONS

It would be nice if you can refund transactions that are older than 6 months, but at this stage we are only able to refund transactions younger than 6 months.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. We work with customers worldwide and love celebrating with our customers. Glad you're liking the dunning features. If there's something we can do to improve your experience, please let us know.

Replied February 2023

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Not great, but the best reoccurring billing platform.

PROS

- Most advanced tool in the space. - Ability to customize checkouts with reculry.js - lots of flexibility in ways to use the platform

CONS

- Wish the exported reports were betting (can't see how many days left in an ending subscrtiption in export -- so can't follow up with them. Can only see number of remaining occurences but if you offer monthly and annual for example you have to custom segment that information) - Wish the analytics were better (better insight into plan peformance, churn by plan etc.) - Better email targeting (currently not able to target endings trials unless the plan has a trial, not if they use a trial coupon -- lots of small issues like this across the platform.) - The emails sent from recurly servers end up in spam often for our customers.

Drake

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

“You will never go wrong with Recurly”

Though Recurly is kind of expensive but I would say it’s worth it!! I would highly recommend this tool if you are planning to have a subscription based services.

PROS

It’s a user friendly tool, and it is very easy to navigate. Recurly has saved me many times especially in locating our member’s invoices and charges where I am no longer ask for help with our team leads beacuse the information provided are clear and concise.

CONS

There were times that we experienced delays when processing a refunds and it was not reflecting real time.

Vendor Response

We work with customers worldwide, and we especially love celebrating with our customers as they grow. Congratulations. We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly.

Replied March 2023

Chris

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Pretty much all you need.

Easy to track what was invoiced and if an item line is recurring.

PROS

Easy to set up, easy for customers to update their billing information and review invoices, and its automatic revenue recoveries.

CONS

Would be nice of they could include "usernames" in their data spreadsheet so it's easy for me to navigate and filter. The usernames are available, but apparently is not used for data.

Reason for choosing Recurly

Chargebee is overseas, therefore it could be a security problem and time-zone for customer service issues.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you've taken the time to share your experience with Recurly. If there's something we can do to improve your experience beyond what's listed above, please let us know.

Replied February 2023

User Profile

Camila

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY