All EssentialPIM Reviews

1-25 of 40 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Nothing else in its class

PROS

I started using a Palm Pilot back when they were first released by US Robotics, and I used Palm PDAs up through the TX. When I finally switched to an Android phone -- which I use far more as a PDA than a phone -- I was disappointed to be unable to find an app similar to iAmbic Agendus, which combined calendar, addressbook, notes, and to-do list functionality _and_ synced with a companion Windows application ... until I found EssentialPIM. It's exactly what I was looking for.

CONS

Nothing, really. It's updated frequently, each time fixing glitches and adding functionality. Tech support is responsive.

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

Again, at the time, I couldn't find anything that had all of the functionality

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

Palm PDAs became obsolete.

Patrick

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

A solid alternative to Outlook

It keeps my work and email organised and also allows me to keep detailed notes.

PROS

It goes beyond what outlook offers and at a better price.

CONS

The mobile app tends to be buggy, at least with my devices

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

Although free Thunderbird was buggy making using it more of a pain.

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

Outlook was too expensive.

Ian Carlo

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Essential PIM review

Words cannot describe how Essential PIM made my life easier, from Managing emails, notes, passwords, contacts, everything. This on top of how the Devs handle support stuff like bugs, and how they cater to the needs of their users.

PROS

I like EPIMs customizability and ease of use in general.. How this single application does everything I need. Store attachments, inter link the different modules, how flexible the Email Modules' Message Rules is that even when handling multiple accounts all at once (I have setup 12 different active email accounts in EPIM), messages from any or all accounts are segregated, filtered, and managed properly

CONS

Having used EPIM since v3.74 (used to pay annually, then changed to lifetime), Most if not all cons I had in earlier versions had since been fixed and significantly improved.

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

Essential PIM is basically an ALL IN ONE awesome tool.

Paul

Broadcast Media, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

Good but Still Needs Constant Attention

Well after all these years I'm still using it because it's the answer to most of my problems... But I never feel like I can fully rely on it... There's always surprises that catch me off guard and cost me business

PROS

All the calendar management that it provides and promises is exactly when I need to manage my workflow

CONS

There are still a few design issues that are counterintuitive... And some failsafe calendar management protections that are missing... And periodic syncing catastrophes

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

Wanted a desktop version of Google Calendar with more functionality... And it seemed to offer better options than Outlook

Heiko

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

A great and reliable personal management tool

I have tried many tools before using EssentialPIM and I have yet to find an application that even comes close to the core functions. Above all, I love the local synchronization of my data via WLAN with my various devices. I have been using the PRO version with multiple lifetime license for many years and have never had any major problems with the modules I use. The application also constantly saves backups, which fortunately I have only needed once so far, due to a user error. To this day, EssentialPIM is an important, constant and above all, reliable companion in my everyday life.

PROS

- excellent and stable applications for Windows and Android (iOS version not used so far) - easy-to-use and reliable synchronization via WLAN - my data belongs to me, no cloud constraint - regular software updates - very user-friendly price policy (I have purchased several lifetime licenses and I think the price is absolutely fair) - dark mode support

CONS

- no macOS client so far - the Windows client looks a little old-fashioned in terms of UI/UX functionality but is still absolutely useful

Yacoub

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

EXTREMELY USEFUL ORGANIZER

very useful for organizing ideas, data, research. well divided out, ability to use different colors.

PROS

easy to learn, easy to set up. very fast when searching for information

CONS

it would be useful to have multiple columns in the notes section. that is multiple columns for each note

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

EPIM continues to update their product, it already has more features. EPIM customer support response is excellent

Tami

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

excellent for complicated notes

Excellent

PROS

Quick to access on the desktop or online; Editing allows complex notes: colors, fonts, many ways to keep complex content organized

CONS

Intrusive popups whenever opened for the first time (three or four items have to be clicked before starting)

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

Needed cleaner, faster, simpler interface so editing can happen quickly

Daniel

Accounting, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2023

Windows and Android use

Over the years that I've had it I think it's a great program especially the help you receive if you have a problem. Always fast with their replys to my questions.

PROS

The all in one funtionality of EssentialPIM.

CONS

Not being able to add change a funtion that I don't use. Like I use Passwords to enter my Home Inventory. Would like to add an icon on left just for that or something else.

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

Haven't made the switch. MobiDB has all the functions and features I need. I use both programs.

Donna

Events Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Everything together - calendar, tasks, contacts, appointments, notes

I needed to have several different email templates that I could easily send to different types of leads, and then be able to manage the contacts. There is a lot I need to remember about my contacts, and the fact that I can add my own custom fields to the contacts made this exponentially easier to do. I've owned this product for a few years, and at the beginning it was having some issues with syncing to my phone, but over time, of course, it's grown and gotten better at everything. And the price was outstanding, making it a very good buy.

PROS

I was struggling to manage my various appointments with potential and booked clients, but EssentialPIM solved all the problems and some I didn't even know I had. I was able to easily communicate with leads, manage appointments, and make sure I didn't miss any important events. Missing a wedding when you're the one who is performing the ceremony would be a pretty big problem, so I needed to be able to depend on my software. But the reason I most love it is because I can add custom fields to my contacts which I desperately needed.

CONS

The worst part is simply the setup, not because the software makes it difficult though. It's just a process that you'd have to go through with any other software of this type. Just be prepared to do a little learning and a bit of setup to make sure it's all synced to everything and you have it all working your way.

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

It had absolutely everything I needed, especially the ability to add custom fields to contacts, all in one place, at a really low price.

Rene

Retail, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Easy all-in Personal Information Manager

When i start my working day, EssentialPIM starts on my computer. It stays open the entire workday, and i use it for everything beside my invoice program. When i shut EPIM down, it still receives all incoming email and displays them next time i open the program.It really is a digital personal assistant on which i rely very much in my daily business operations. Never let me down for a single moment.

PROS

No matter how small or large your business is, EssentialPIM fits like a glove around your daily business. Email, calendar, passwords, appointments, alerts, and notes: you have everything in one program.Settings are easy to do, and the program works with the user, not the other way around.Easy for a single user, or with a database in the cloud, for many users.Updates are frequent, multi-language interface.

CONS

There are no minuses for this program. Just buy the PRO-version for life, and you are set for life.A small investment with very large positive impact and it will set you and your business up in no time, and as your business grows, EssentialPIM grows with you.

Davide

Chemicals, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Buon software per la pianificazione delle attività

Ho utilizzato il software per stabilire per un team aziendale delle scadenze periodiche e non che andavano rispettate regolarmente. Senza l'utilizzo di una funzione calendario vi era il rischio di dimenticare o lasciare indietro appuntamenti.

PROS

EssentialPIM è un software molto semplice da utilizzare, è possibile esportare i calendari, rubrica ed altre informazioni in diversi formati, tra cui html, ed è sincronizzabile con altri sistemi. Semplice l'installazione e l'interfaccia altamente intuitiva. Ottima la funzione di ripetizione degli eventi, anche fino a data di termine impostata, utile per pianificazioni a lungo termine

CONS

Le funzionalità nella versione freeware sono limitate, è necessario aggiornamento alla versione pro per un software completo.

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

Zapier prevede un abbonamento mensile, mentre EssentialPIM è acquistabile solo una volta. Utilizzando il software per un tempo indefinito ho optato per l'acquisto. Microsoft Outlook ha una gestione del calendario semplice ma non ha le stesse funzioni di essentialPIM, per cui ho trovato il software di Astonsoft più completo.

Mike

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Helps Organize Multiple Jobs

Outstanding! I usually use a program for a year or two, get bored and then find something else. I've been using EPIM since version 5 or 6 and have no plans on changing my PIM program.

PROS

The thing that I like the most about EssentialPIM is that so many of the functions are thoughfully integrated into the software. For instance, when I look at my task lists in a table view and I notice that I didn't add a category to a task, I can click in the Category filed and select one while still in table view. I don't have to open the actual task, edit it and then save it again. It doesn't sound like a big deal but it is appreciated. There are so many instances of conveniences like that throughout the software!

CONS

The only suggestion for improvement that I can think of is, it would be great if the user databases were smaller so it took less time to upload and download. That's the only reason I don't use EPIM for my email; I don't want the database to get to be too big! With that said, I'n not a programmer and couldn't even begin to tell you how to reduce the database size.

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

Functionality and price!

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

Anytime was a cute and easy to use program, but it didn't have the features and functionality that EPIM has.

MAIDER

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Valioso investimento.

É um aplicativo que me auxiliar em organizar a vida pessoal e profissional de uma forma muito dinâmica.

PROS

Sincronia de senhas, tarefas e versatilidade multi plataforma.

CONS

Sincronia de contatos com o gmail por criar varias categorias em ingles.

David

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

My experience with EssentialPIM

I chose this software after a thorough review of everything offered on the market and I am convinced that I made a good selection. Customer service is taken very responsibly and the constant updates indicate a serious commitment to keep up to date and continuously improve the product.

PROS

I liked everything about EssentialPIM as a complete organization and management program. I recently had the opportunity to use it as a kind of personal assistant in the task of renewing all the complex documentation of a company to qualify for Accreditation. Without the possibility of ordering so much information within the tree structure with its links to the cloud or to the hard drive that the Notes Module provides, I would not have made it.

CONS

I don't get the impression that something is wrong.

Gregory

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Satisfied user.

PROS

EssentialPIM offered an interface close to the one I have used for nearly 30 years with an integration to a portable device that offers a comprehensive synchronization package. I make extensive use of linking related entries which makes finding what needs to be found much easier.

CONS

It does not have a quote of the day feature, that I came to enjoy with the Franklin Planner. I still have the Franklin Planner software installed, so I can restart the module for the current day quote if desired.

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

After reviewing personal information manager product reviews periodically, EssentialPIM offered an interface that worked in an intuitive manner.

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

I'm using EssentialPIM as a replacement for the Franklin Planner system that I used from 1990-2020. EssentialPIM put my planning capacity back as a portable option after the Franklin Planner abandoned the Palm Pilot/MSAccess interface.

Rick

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

EPIM Is my go to app

PROS

Everything in one application. Easy to use and the ability to sync with phone. Auto backups of the database. Not a day goes by where I don't use either the Windows app or the Android app. The low cost option for Lifetime support & upgrades. The support team release several updates a year with improvements & new features.

CONS

No tables support in the Android app. I would love to have a relational database module solely because I use another app for that.

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

Evernote price structure changed (almost doubled) for a yearly subscription. I was in search of another application for notes when I found EPIM. Not only did I get a great app for notes but also a great password manager. I own the product with lifetime upgrades which saves me money on monthly/yearly subscriptions.

William

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Its Called "Essential" for a reason

PROS

This application is the "Swiss Army Knife" of all Personal Information Managers. I have had them all over the past years and this software covers all the bases. It is the best solution on the market at the best price point.

CONS

I wish you could run multiple calendars and have them with color coded tabs.

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

I need to use the Desktop version of my PDA and sync with my handheld and EPIM allowed me to do that. I also found EPIM easier to use overall and the lifetime license just made sense. It gave me the freedom to use what ever Mobil Device I wanted and still have the functionality of EPIM

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

With the evolvement of the smartphone it was easy to just add the EPIM app to it.

Mike

Photography, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

EssentialPIM: your one stop shop to taking back control of your contacts and calendar

Great support for an intuitive product that is consistently developed. A model software house

PROS

Love the portable version I can have on a USB stick, which then syncs with my calendar and ensures that I have a single central consistent set of information. In this era of remote websites, its wonderful to be able to take back control and know that it is safe

CONS

Mult-calendar support which I think is coming in a release shortly. This will allow me to bring my CalDAV and google calendars together

Reason for choosing EssentialPIM

Outlook, thuderbird, google services

Reasons for switching to EssentialPIM

A slick interface that combines all the essential elements in one package and can sync. Gloriously tames a complex world

Mike

Insurance, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: