What are Jamf Pro users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Jamf Pro software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.67

490 Reviews

5
338
4
141
3
9
2
0
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The ability to monitor, deploy and manage macs in an easy way, realy easy to use, very reliable, good community."
  • icon"I have used Jamf tools for the computer as well, and they all work great, support is always helpful and easy to reach when need help."
  • icon"Jamf Pro allows me to easily and seamlessly empower my teachers to be masters of their classroom -- employing the appropriate restrictions and management tools when they feel necessary."
  • icon"Configuration profiles are a mess, but it’s being worked on."
  • icon"Apparently the problem has been addressed in the next release."
  • icon"This is understandable, but we don't receive a followup on when to update. This is more of an annoyance than a con."

Jump to:

Browse all Jamf Pro Reviews

  • Have you used Jamf Pro and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 489 reviews

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

the best MDM for Apple devices

using to manage multiple iPads at multiple locations and keep software up to date

Pros

Works seamlessly with Apple devices and software, easy to deploy, easy to manage multiple devices in multiple locations.

Cons

a little difficult to learn, if you've never used an MDM before, but it's not too bad once you get it set up

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

price, better integration with Apple devices

Doug

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

If you use Macs in your organization Jamf Pro is the right tool

Our staff have limited computer skills and often get themselves in trouble (phishing, malware, etc). Jamf Pro allows us to protect them from their mistakes. We do not give Admin access but do provide most software they might want in Self Service. We can also take care of the updates and installs for them so they just use what they need.

Pros

The way it integrates with Apple systems like DEP and VPP make it a truly unique product. Apple has created a secure "walled garden" for their hardware. Jamf is the only tool of its kind that has access into this walled garden. Being able to buy a Mac from our custom Apple store, ship it to a user, and have them set it up with Jamf...all without IT ever needing to touch the device...is amazing. It can do just about anything else you need it to: install software, block software, update software, set security settins, remote lock, remote wipe, notify users of important events, and of course much more through Self Service.

Cons

It is a very robust tool, but you need to know how to use it. Many of the best features you do need to set up and build out. That can require some scripting or other technical details, or some administrative steps to work out with Apple and your local business representative. However, it is all very possible and you will get there.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

We did not compare, Jamf Pro is one of a kind with its level of integration into the Apple world.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

Jamf Pro is Mac only and far better than any of the other PC first RMM tools.

Jessica

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2022

Powerful...when you know how to leverage it

JAMF is essential for the management of Apple devices. I recommend a strong onboarding plan before you begin using it.

Pros

I love the ability to remotely manage our iPads and MacBooks. It has been a game change when provide app support for our teachers and students. They have extensive self service videos and trainings as well as a community of other users.

Cons

JAMF is not an intutive program. There are many clicks that often be confusing or one overrides another. This can be due to my lack of knowledge and onboarding to the program. While the resources are plentiful, they are broken down into small manageable parts, but if you don't know where to start you end up lost in a maze of resources.

Mike

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Terrible User Experience - Would Not Recommend to Admins and Companies

I think our admins use it as a user administration tool for corporate security, but it's super inefficient and highly frustrating to use. It actually makes my work processes super inefficient, because i'm constantly batting weird errors and frustrating password resets.

Pros

Nothing. The software is meant to be a sort of user management software for companies, but the user experience is one of the worst I have experienced in my life.

Cons

The running processes bog down your work machine and the security reset protocol (at least for my organization) is very frustrating. It doesn't work, our passwords need to be reset every 90 days, and we're supposed to get a notification to do this, but it doesn't happen, so every 90 days, I physically go to see our internal IT department. In addition, the process runs constantly, so it drains your battery.

Mirko

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Beste Produkt womit ich bisher gearbeitet habe

Mit jamf ist Zero Touch Deployment kein Traum mehr und in Corona Zeiten eine starke Erleichterung und Zeitersparnis.

Pros

Endlich können wir die Apple-Endgeräte professionell betreuen. Die Community ist der Wahnsinn und ich habe in den letzten 12 Monaten sehr viel gelernt.

Cons

Die Übersetzungen von Englischen ins Deutsche hauen nicht immer hin. Das ist vor allem beim jamf 100 Course aufgefallen.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

jamf hat den besten Eindruck gemacht, auch wenn es ziemlich teuer ist. Aber die Investition hat sich gelohnt!

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

Suche nach MDM und einem Tool was für Apple Produkte geegneit ist.

Andrew

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Best Management Software on the Market!

Pros

This software allows you to manage several computers as well as iPads from it's friendly user interface. We've implemented it successfully in our schools (over 20 locations) and it is a tremendous help. We've been able to use this software to deploy programs and applications without having to hand install them on multiple computers/iPads..it's a HUGE time saver.

Cons

There really isn't too much to not like about this software. Their support team is friendly/knowledgeable, they stand by their product, and it is easy to use.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

Filewave's interface made it difficult to manage the computers without having to do a model update every time something needed to be modified or changed. JAMF made it easy for us to manage devices in our purview without having to go through model updates.

Michael

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

JAMF puts the flow in device management workflows.

Jamf is an indispensable tool for device management. It puts the flow in the workflow and makes large scale deployments manageable by a small staff with various skill sets.

Pros

Jamf provides me the ability to amplify my efforts of making task ready machines, where ever, and whenever needed.

Cons

I'd like a GUI option to replicate the actual device screen so I can have teachers manage devices in real-time to maximize contact time.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

Saw JAMF and was sold on its value. It was a love at first sight experience.

Paul

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Super Management Tool

Pros

Das Bereitstellen neuer Systeme und die anschließende Wartung ist einfach super einfach.

Cons

Ich wünsche mir, dass der Jamf App Catalog verbessert wird. Aktuell fühlt sich das noch sehr nach Beta an.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

Jamf ist für Apple Produkte gemacht, Intune ist auf macOS adaptiert worden

Adrian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Der Standard im Apple Device Management

Pros

Die flexibilität und der ausgezeichnete Support

Cons

Teilweise schleichen sich wieder Fehler ein, die schon mal behoben wurden.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

Die vorherige Lösung war nicht optimal für die Verwendung von Apple Geräten zugeschnitten und sehr unflexibel.

John

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Lots of Features if you use them

JAMF Pro is great but can be a huge learning curve for the entry level IT departments within organizations. But AMAZING when it comes to all the features that it has.

Pros

JAMF Pro is packed with tons of amazing features that larger organizations can benefit from where some of there competitors lack in offerings

Cons

JAMF Pro is a beast of a platform which is great for larger organizations but for can be a bit difficult for smaller orgs. The everyday type tools seem to be deep into the platform to get to vs being easily accessible.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

I ended up switching from JAMF to Kandji because we just didn't use all the features and couldn't justify the cost of it.

Chris

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Best Apple device management platform in existance

While no company is perfect, JAMF has really gone out of their way to take care of us as both customers and admins. I'm in education so they're not making any money off is (given the high level of support everyone receives). There are no tiers of service, no packages for support, and no BS. You will be treated and supported very well. JAMFs training options are also the best I've ever attended. I have yet to try the virtual trainings though.

Pros

Day 1 support of all Apple releases, full roadmap compatibility with Apple, and dedication to the integration of Apple products at the enterprise level. It has allowed me the flexibility and capacity to provide a truly world class user experience without the world class investment and effort.

Cons

It certainly could have better remote support features. It HAS remote support, but really only on the local network. Mind you, I don't really need additional remote support capacity, but it would be nice.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

Radmind was a tripwire system. We stopped support labs that needed to be wiped and instead empowered our users on their own devices. As for FileWave... while they offered a lot of "bullet points" the delivery was slow and tedius. Also, absolutely no 0 day support for Apple, at least back then.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

This was a LONG time ago. The biggest reason was that we needed to change to a BYOD strategy and wanted the flexibility to incorporate a wider array of Apple technologies. This was about 8 years ago. Our trust in JAMF was well founded as they've retained their position as best solution for Apple device management.

Jason

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support, really listen to customers!

I could not do my job without this software. We are very limited in staff, time and money. Without Jamf Pro, we would not be able to effectively manage the fleet of iPads, MacBooks, iMacs and Apple TVs we have.

Pros

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support, really listens to customers! Pros: Jamf has been doing this the longest when it comes to Mac and iOS device management. They are a relatively small, yet growing company with Midwest values, that really cares about helping organizations succeed with Apple. They stand behind their product and their support is phenomenal! They are passionate about giving back to the communities they are based in (Chippewa Valley, Minneapolis, and offices around the world). They put on the worlds largest user conference for Apple IT admins and they have the largest user help knowledge base, jamfnation.com. They also provide same day or prior support of major OS and iOS releases. They are constantly refining the product and adding new features to it. If you have an issue, Jamf support will bend over backwards to help you, even if you're not a paying customer. They care that much about you and the product. Also, the soon to be released version 10 will bring many needed changes to the UI.

Cons

Jamf Pro is not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for. For instance it allows me to manage 6k+ iPads and over 2200 Macs, iMacs and Apple TVs with a very small staff. The money we pay for the solution is more than made up in the ability to manage all of these devices successfully and with a limited staff. That being said, like all software, Jamf Pro has issues. Sometimes these can be major issues. However, Jamf is quick to throw dedicated support at these issues and works hard to fix them. As mentioned above, they are growing for sure and there will be some growing pains along with this growth. The update to the UI cannot come fast enough. Would like to actually be able to pull usable metrics and reports from the product. The logging errors could use more of an update or hotlinks to resolutions (feature request maybe?), but this is more for on-prem hosting. Overall though, it's a great product with a great company and team behind it!

Donna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Jamf Pro & A Catholic Elementary School

Prior to beginning use of Jamf, I managed our student iPads via Apple Configurator. The process was painstaking, frustrating, time consuming and often, unsuccessful requiring many calls to Apple Help. Students and teachers were inconvenienced and lost valuable educational time waiting for devices to update. Jamf has streamlined our ability to dynamically update devices without needing to take them from students. During recent distance learning, I was able to reliably push out new apps to students from my home. Despite having only a modest understanding of technology, I am able to complete most Jamf management activities without Help desk assistance.

Pros

Jamf Pro enables us to setup student devices to conform to our educational needs and to help assure students have a safe, reliable, relatable experience using iPad technology. Once your initial setup is complete, making changes is relatively easy, even for someone with a very modest technical background. When JAMF help is needed, it is readily available and reliably correct.

Cons

My biggest "complaint" is that when setting up classes it is necessary to individually add or delete students from each class. It takes a lot of time each summer to update all the classes.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

We looked at several other products in a casual way but were fairly sold on JAMF based on the experience of other schools in the area and the recommendation of our Apple rep.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

We were updating our entire inventory of student devices and recognized that Apple Configurator, while a free product, did not meet our device management needs.

Steven

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

JAMF PRO - You cannot manage mac's effectively any other way.

Through JAMF Pro we are utilizing zero touch deployment, cross domain authentication to our fleet through Nomad Login (JAMF Connect), deployment of applications to our iOS devices utilizing Apple VPP and its integration with the JAMF Pro platform. We are able to easily manage the deployment of patches using Patch Management and more. There is no better way to manage a mac outside of JAMF.

Pros

As a user of JAMF PRO since the days when it was called Casper, I can safely say that this product is a constant evolution of itself and as it pertains to Apple hardware, software, admin and user needs. Considering the product is on a zero day release schedule always means we are ready to manage devices and workstations upon the latest release of an OS build. It has allowed use to customize our deployment packages, settings and enrollment styles. Having the ability for zero touch enrollment and deployment of systems is without a doubt the most influential feature of our JAMF Pro installation. Getting machines up and ready is a breeze with JAMF Pro, long term management is even easier.

Cons

JAMF rarely has anything we dislike. Over the years their menus have evolved for the better. The user interface has improved drastically. i would say as they grow, to continue to keep the product suite obtainable by educational users. Products which havent recently released such as Jamf Protect are a bit cost prohibitive, it would be nice if they were bundled into the Jamf Pro suite.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

They seemed like band aids, JAMF was the real deal.

Andrey

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Gold Standard for Apple MDM

Pros

Jamf Pro allows my team to manage our fleet for macOS, iPadOS, and iOS devices effectively. It builds on the groundwork laid by Apple, but executes it in a much more useful manner. The tool allows our users to be self-sufficient when it comes to application updates and installations because we are able to present a SelfService application with IT-approved and packaged software. We're able to use JamfPro to conduct audits on logged on users and time frames whe necessary. Enrolling new devices is seamless when paired with Apple School Manager (education) or Apple Business Manager (enterprise) and the Device Enrollment Program (DEP). Cloud hosted is the way to go with any MDM, allowing devices to reach out to the server anywhere from the Internet.

Cons

The amount of work to deploy and make the product useful is a bit overwhelming. The company is constantly in a process of moving from their legacy Casper platform to the newer JamfPro platform, all while acquiring new components and rebranding them (JamfNow). Applications that were used to interact with the server are being retired, but not all at the same time, so there is a bit of confusion here. Also, I wish there was an easier and less time-consuming way of standing this up, as well as some pre-built tools.

Mike

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Pretty good management system for Macs. Don't even consider LANDesk.

Because it is a MDM solution that actually works, with reliable uptime and easy maintenance requirements, I am the hero for having pushed for JAMFPro.

Pros

Fairly easy to figure out what it takes to make it work if you are of average intelligence for this sort of thing. In my case, it was difficult, until I figured it out. Patch management was the priority for us and it turns you have to be a little creative in trying to get the information extracted from the Macs (depending on the application) in order to determine if it needs to be patched. In another words, it's not as turnkey as much as I was led to believe. Support at JAMFNation is fantastic. Those folks have tackled most of the problems and that's where I located the scripts and other nuances required to make it work. No other resource like it. Newbies and super rockstars all contribute to make things work. JAMF staff also helpful. Make sure you contribute too!

Cons

For me personally, the required Jumpstart training you need to purchase didn't work so well. Did not know enough about what I was doing to ask intelligent questions. After the training, fighting the learning curve began. There are no step-by-step procedures (or friendly user manual) to help a newbie get the system up and running. Mind you I say this as a complete novice and not a very smart one at that.

Eddie

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Jamf Pro Use In To Manage School Devices

One big aspect of JAMF that we love and it is not software related, is their Tech Customer Service. Over the last 6 or 7 years, we have never had a bad call with JAMF's customer service. Every time we call their support or chat with them, we receive exceptional support. Even if we have a big problem, they stay on top of it and follow up until it is resolved.

Pros

The ease of use for users to have the ability to update or install software, at the click of the button. We love using Self Service, this allows us to install or update software and drivers without the user needing to bring the device to us. Jamf Pro also gives us control of what gets installed on devices and what settings get pushed automatically. You have the ability to create groups of devices and get as granular as you want with groups.

Cons

Not really a "Con", but it would be great if the reporting was a little bit easier to get. You can download several different reports, but I think JAMF still has room for improving their reporting.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

JAMF seemed to have the most experienced with Mac products. Since we are a Mac school, that was a big plus. JAMF also had the features that we needed at the time. We also checked with other schools that were using it and they gave us excellent reviews of the software.

Jonathanwilson

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Jamf @ UCLA Library

Our Macs were largely unmanaged before Jamf, and now we have a good handle on everything and are able to provide a level of support that was impossible before. It's allowed us to not worry (as much) about what device people choose to use for work. It's also allowed flexibility when purchasing new devices for different purposes. If it's made by Apple, we know we can handle it.

Pros

The completeness of features - just about anything you can do with an Apple device, you can do with Jamf. I don't have to worry about not being able to do something, including on the day new software is released.

Cons

The learning curve is high - I would be struggling if I hadn't taken the Jamf training courses (200 and 300). I struggle to explain concepts to employees that haven't taken the training, even when they've taken the Jamf 100. Sort of related is the support for legacy features/systems - it can be hard to tell what is relevant, such as when you type 'sudo jamf help' - there is a lot there that you'd never use.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

It was clear that Jamf was the frontrunner, and I was lucky in that no one forced me to create a detailed product comparison. They understood the need and didn't have a problem with Jamf. If they did have a problem, I'm sure it would have been with price.

Arthur

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Best in Class

Excellent IT tools. The community Jamf have created around their products is second to none. Jamf Pro has helped my career immensely.

Pros

Jamf Pro is far and away the best product I have used to manage Apple computers in an enterprise environment. Its easy to use, the learning curve is short. Jamf Pro is reliable and powerful. There's a reason it has become the industry standard for Apple device management. Support from Jamf and from the Jamf Nation community is second to none. I know if I have a problem I can turn to Jamf Support or Jamf Nation for help finding a solution.

Cons

I would like to see a more customizable, dynamic GUI. I would like to be able to dynamically drag around items in the Dashboard. Clicking on items to remove them from view in the Dashboard would also be very helpful for cleanup and organization. I would also like to see better effort in improving Patch Management.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

Ivanti took over the LANrev product third hand. I had used the product as Absolute Manage & HEAT LANrev and the product had deprecated significantly.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

LANrev has switched hands from developers many times. The support and documentation are poor or non-existent.

Alan

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Great Mac management software

Overall the experience has been extremely positive and I would definitely recommend Jamf, they are the best in the business. My only negative would be that they sometimes seem more interested in implementing new features than addressing known issues.

Pros

Jamf Pro is a very powerful tool with a rich feature set. There is a learning curve but the training available is excellent, providing you are in a region it is available. We manage a global fleet of Macs and use a hosted cloud instance which allows us to install software, perform updates and just generally manage our Macs no matter where our users are. The Self Service app gives our users the ability to install software when it suits them or run fixes to known issues without having to contact IT.

Cons

Support can be a bit slow at times, as we have a hosted instance when we call support we are often told we have to wait for someone from the cloud team to take a look and get back to us. Also since updating to v10 we have had performance issues because of a product issue which could be resolved by throwing more resources at the server but as we do not host it we do not have the control to do that. Apparently the problem has been addressed in the next release.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Solid iPad and Mac OS management platform

We are using Jamf to deploy iPads user and device-based in a school setting. While, it can be tricky keeping those two deployments separated, the platform makes it easy and intuitive with the layout.

Pros

Jamf is a solid platform with an intuitive interface for managing your Mac and iOS devices. We use it for device and user-based app implementation and it is a smooth roll-out every time. They have a great support team to ensure that your Jamf instance is what you need it to be for your environment. The JNUC, user conference, is also a blast to attend.

Cons

What I have found is occasionally, there is an issue we will find that has no solution, or we change what we are doing in a way that it becomes a non-issue before it gets solved. There have been 4 occasions in 9 years. 2 went away as mysteriously as they came. 1 became a non-issue when we changed our workflow. The last one I am still working through, which is where the wonderful support people come in.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

Mosyle still required a lot of touching of devices for setup and application deployment, whereas Jamf has a "zero-touch" method that requires very little action on the part of our very small (2 person) IT department.

Nolan

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Feature rich MDM with excellent support

We're happy with Jamf Pro because we feel confident that we can manage our fleet of machines with more reliability and take advantage of additional features offered by this MDM. We are using Jamf Pro Cloud and the upgrades are automatic. We have cut support time and cost in half due to not having to constantly upgrade and maintain an on-prem solution.

Pros

Jamf Pro delivers software, configurations, and restrictions with accuracy and reliability.

Cons

There are some counter-intuitive processes that might seem redundant or additional steps. Jamf Pro has many features and many ways to configure delivery.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

We chose Jamf Pro as our platform because of the balance of features and cost that outweighed the others. Jamf's reputation also had a lot to do with our decision.

Reasons for switching to Jamf Pro

We moved to Jamf Pro to take advantage of the reliability of the industry standard for Apple. The issues with our previous MDM kept adding up and we were troubleshooting MDM issues on a monthly basis. Our hope is that Jamf Pro proves reliable for years to come.

Craig

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Good Product, Good Experience

The ability to manage a fleet of MacOS and iOS devices.

Pros

Jamf Pro works really well for managing a fleet of MacOS and iOS devices. The management console is easy to navigate and the feature set is clear. The ability to segregate administrators by using Sites is a nice feature for us. Integration with Apple's services is quite good and easy to maintain. We split our infrastructure across multiple hosts (database on one machine, a management point is on one host, the managed devices on another) is key for us. Also nice that the infrastructure runs on multiple OSes, we run ours on RHEL.

Cons

The issue was related to communication and to bug checking during an update. One update broke access to Active Directory based security groups. This broke many of our workflows for distributed administrators. Customer support was good for initial triage, but follow-up communication was poor. The issue was fixed in two later updates but we were not told that the issue was fixed. We thought it had been fixed but we had to call Jamf and explicitly ask for confirmation. Would have been nice if Jamf had proactively followed up on a support case to let us know the problem was resolved.

Adam

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Great MDM with lots of feature, but you have to hunt for a lot of it in JAMF Nation

Overall, I enjoy JAMF and am very familiar with it and taught myself how to manage the macOS environment because JAMF has many great features

Pros

Basic functionality works great and has many powerful features

Cons

Many things that JAMF can do can only be done due to fellow JAMF admins providing scripts they have created themselves within JAMF Nation (which is an open source free blog site that JAMF manages). It is great but it is also sometimes a bit frustrating to have to dig into how to do this and that and that it is not just built in somehow.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

JAMF was purchased before I started at my current role. I would have picked Kandji if it were around at the time.

Philip

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

World Class Product- Gold Standard for Mac Management

Extremely please with the product, the features, the support and the cost. I would definitely recommend to anyone who was planning to invest in a Mac management tool.

Pros

When we were evaluating management tools for our environment, we quickly came to the conclusion that there was not a one size fits all solution. Once we realized that, every other institution we contacted asked if we had looked at Jamf yet. Once we started looking at the product, the ease of use, the feature set, and the features that allowed us to customize the end user experience, we knew that this was the only product we could use. Jamf customer support has been great from the initial install, transition to cloud, upgrades and general support questions.

Cons

Local server upgrades. During the time we had our own on site server, we performed upgrade. Most of the time they went OK, but it was a complicated process with many pitfalls, and seemed, on some occasions, to require a fair amount of pure wizardry. This is was generated most of my support calls with Jamf.

Reasons for choosing Jamf Pro

Gold standard, focused on macOS, cost.

Showing 1 - 25 of 489 reviews
Jamf Pro

Jamf Pro

4.67/5 out of 490 reviews
Visit Website