All ABBYY FineReader PDF Reviews

1-25 of 385 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kevin

Law Practice, 51 - 200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed March 2021

Great product

User Profile

Ije

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Best PDF Editor in the market

Excellent! I'm a satisfied customer, and the customer service people have always attended to me promptly

PROS

1. I use abbyFine Reader to convert pdf, scanned documents, and photographic documents with text into the text of other formats or ebook formats of my choice (.epub, .azw3. .rtf, Word, Wordperfect, Html, Microsoft Word, editable pdf, etc.). AbbyFine Reader 15 is the only software to convert ebooks by recognizing pictures or tables and recognizing the layout in the source document as much as possible. 2. I use AbbyFineReader-15 and the version before to clean out unwanted text from a document. I mean, cut out unnecessary information I do not want to appear in my documents, or ebook or text conversion, or when I produce audios from the outputs 3. FineReader 15, as I have tested side by side with other pdf editors, can compare two documents of different formats of up to 5,000 – 10,000 pages or even more without asking you to reduce them into smaller chunks. 4. I have found AbbyFineReaderPDF-15 and the versions before the current version very useful for repairing photocopied items, cropping documents, and repairing mixed photographic and text pdf files with unassailable OCR capabilities. 5. I can search, insert, and delete blocks of text from pdf files. 6. Price-wise, this software is an investment, a must-have for organizations and individuals who handle documents of different formats, for people in academics, and people who move content from PDF to other multimedia formats.

CONS

So far so good, BUT add new functionalities, like (1) audio capabilities, (2) converting pdf to Publisher, (3) Improving ebook conversion

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

1. wanted something that can convert picture/scan to ebook 2. needed something to clean out unwanted text from documents or pictures 3. needed a heavy-duty software, not just in name but in performance 4. the price is right for me, subscription is not right for me

Roger

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

As a writer and teacher, ABBYY FineReader PDF made my job much easier.

I compiled instructional material from various sources, formattedl it to suit the needs of my publication, adjusted to fit if scanned, sharpened if needed, rearranged, and edited it--all with this one bit of software. In editing my own documents, I could add in printed and typewritten documents (The OCR is the best I have ever used.) and thereby use material made by obsolete technology, of which I have quite a supply,.

PROS

I was able to convert docs to pdf (and vice-versa), scan, correct the scan's position and sharpness, perform OCR when wanted, add and rearrange pages, and edit pdfs with one set of integrated software, essentially with one program.

CONS

My use of the software has been somewhat more limited than what one might find in a large corporate business office, but there is nothing about the software that I don't like.

Reason for choosing ABBYY FineReader PDF

One, because ABBYY FineReader already included functions that I had to go to other software to obtain before, such as scanning software. Two, ABBYY was a superior product. Three, (and I discovered this when I mistakenly ordered the wrong product for the school at which I was teaching at the time) ABBYY FineReader customer service is exceptional.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Because ABBYY FineReader did it all and did it better, for less money in the long run.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2022

slow

PROS

convertying pdf to excel. pretty good, but not perfect

CONS

way to slow to open pdf file. in converting to pdf and save file, it does not take the file name and put into title. you have do do this manually. the tital is what is displayed at top of screen when pdf opened, not the file name.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

adobe increased the price too much and switched to monthly subscription service.

DIMITRIOS

Public Policy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Excellent use of Abby FineReader Ver 16

excelent experience. I am using this programme more than 15 years.

PROS

Very fast transforming of the different types of documents

CONS

everything was working very well and vert fast

Erick

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Hands down the best PDF editor available for MS Windows

PROS

So easy to use, install and deploy in our organization

CONS

licensing is a little cumbersome. on company workgroups, licensing issues such as the same license installed on more systems that allowed, should include some kind of report usage (license number, ip address, netbios machine name)

Reason for choosing ABBYY FineReader PDF

Price, performance with over 100-page documents and ease of use. No bloatware included.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Price, performance with over 100-page documents and ease of use. No bloatware included.

Helen

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Abbyy FineReader - Simply the best!

Excellent! Although I have Adobe on my laptop, I never use it anymore!

PROS

It's easy to use, and has all the features and functionality that I need. I like the user interface quite a bit. It's so user-friendly - not surprising with how intuitive the functionality is.

CONS

Actually, I can't think of a single thing I don't like, or like less, about this software. It's so user friendly, and such a great value for the price!

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Abbyy is more reasonably priced. I was so pleased to see that the functionality is much better, even at a lower price.

Vendor Response

Dear Helen, Thank you for sharing your positive experience of working with FineReader PDF. Best Regards, ABBYY FineReader Team

Replied November 2020

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2023

A very good Solution that could be The Best

I believe this is, in the end, a very good solution, it makes a lot of things very well, but it has to be improved to be the very best in-class. Also, I used to get in touch with Support and I have to say it is a very-full-quality Customer Support, well prepared and kind.

PROS

Easy of usage, processing batch files, a lot of different output format, standard OCR capabilities, and opening to OCR custom training

CONS

Output to Excel (tables are really not fully detected, even text within cells, with a lot of work to do in the end) and Word (every text appear converted in annoying frames, difficult to remove or manage at all) mostly have to be really improved to be the best. OCR must be improved very much. You have bad result if you want to recognize document in Greek (most part of diacritics are not well detected) and, with Hebrew, is literally a worst situation (you have not vowels and all diacritics). If you try to do by yourself, using custom OCR training, it's a very long journey and you don't even get a good result, and many times it's even not so clear if you are using your custom training set or not and even is really not clear why you cannot use one only feature to perform "verify" and "ocr training" in one only function/feature/action.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Pricing and features (Adobe is not able to multiple make OCR recognitions in different languages at the same time).

Michael

Religious Institutions, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Great OCR!

Overall, I have had a good relationship with the software. I upgraded to a newer version to get the ability to OCR Old German Script. While not as accurate as English, it still does probably 99% accuracy on a clean page.

PROS

ABBYY is simply the best OCR software that I have tried, overall. The broad range of languages and the ability to straighten up crooked lines is very amazing. I have put some very poor quality page images through and ABBYY did excellent work of making something out of them. No miracles, of course, but very good.

CONS

A few times I have had the software lock up while doing a big OCR job (like an 800-page book). Also, I do not like having to do subscription service; I prefer buying the software outright because I am not a high volume user.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

ABBYY's OCR is simply better than Acrobat, hands down. But for general PDF editing, Acrobat has many more options than ABBYY.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Best of the Best

There are many PDF files that have different way of aligning the Prices of their Catalogs. ABBYY was the closest vs others application to aligned them in a proper way and less editing. Saving us time and process.

PROS

Just how easy it is to convert PDF files to Excel.

CONS

We didn't have any issues. Everything was there what we normally need it.

Reason for choosing ABBYY FineReader PDF

The reason is sometimes when converting from PDF to Excel, there are some files that have errors and after the converting it just doesn't look good and was missing a lot of good information. I remember I spend a whole day looking for the best PDF Converter. I tried about 10 different Free Trials and tested them on the PDF that I knew it had errors and wanted to see which one will do the best job to converted. So the winner was Abby vs the others. Extremely Happy with end results and is a big Help using it.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Just to convert a file from PDF to Excel it will put you in a waiting time and it was just time consuming and time is what we do not have.

Ivelina

Translation and Localization, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

My favourite program

PROS

Convenient, easy to work with, excellent quality.

CONS

Cannot do all formats with the same quality.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Because of the quality and final results (not as satisfying)

Sidiki

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

ABBYY FineReader PDF: The must-have scanning and OCR software for increased productivity

ABBYY FineReader PDF is a high-performance scanning and OCR software that offers great features for managing and editing PDF documents. Despite the high cost and some limitations in terms of editing features and media compatibility, it remains an ideal solution for professionals and individuals who need a reliable and easy-to-use scanning and OCR tool.The benefits of ABBYY FineReader PDF include superior scan quality, powerful OCR features, ease of use, cross-platform compatibility, and the ability to convert PDFs to other formats. Besides, the software also has many editing features to customize the documents.However, disadvantages include high cost, slow scanning time for large documents, limitations in editing features and media compatibility, as well as the need to have some experience and technical knowledge to take full advantage of software.Ultimately, if you're looking for premium scanning and OCR software with advanced editing features, ABBYY FineReader PDF is a great choice. However, if you have specific media compatibility needs and are on a budget, you may need to consider other options on the market.

PROS

ABBYY FineReader PDF is a high-performance, easy-to-use scanning and OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software. Here are some of its key benefits:Superior scanning quality: ABBYY FineReader PDF software is equipped with state-of-the-art scanning technology that allows you to scan documents with superior quality, especially for images and texts.Powerful OCR features: ABBYY FineReader PDF is able to recognize characters very accurately, which makes it possible to turn scanned documents into editable documents. It supports many languages, including Asian languages.Ease of use: The software is user-friendly and easy to use. It offers an intuitive interface that allows scanning and editing documents with just a few clicks. It also comes with plenty of editing tools to customize documents.Converting PDF to other formats: ABBYY FineReader PDF allows converting PDF to other formats such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint and others. This feature is very useful for editing PDF documents.Cross-platform compatibility: The software is compatible with Windows, macOS and Linux, which makes it very versatile.In summary, ABBYY FineReader PDF is a very powerful and comprehensive software for scanning, OCR and editing documents. Its ease of use and scanning quality make it an ideal choice for professionals and individuals.

CONS

Although ABBYY FineReader PDF is a very capable scanning and OCR software, there are also some disadvantages to consider:High cost: The price of ABBYY FineReader PDF is relatively high compared to other similar software in the market. This can be a drawback for people looking for a lower cost solution.Slow scan time: High scan quality can slow down the scanning process, especially for large documents. This can cause delays and longer wait times for users.Limitations in editing features: Although ABBYY FineReader PDF offers editing tools to customize documents, it may lack some advanced features, which may be disappointing for some users.Limitations in media file compatibility: The software does not support all types of media files, which can be a drawback for users who need to work with media files in addition to PDF files.Need for technical knowledge: Although the software is user-friendly, users must have some experience and technical knowledge to take advantage of all its features.In summary, ABBYY FineReader PDF is a powerful software for scanning and OCR, but it can be negated and have limitations in some editing features and compatibility with multimedia files. Users also need to have some experience and technical knowledge to use the software.

Isam

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

ABBYY FineReader PDF Review

This software is great and the experience with it has been great too. This software is saving my time and effort.

PROS

I like this software because it offers an integrated features in one package, it offers the converting capability to Excel, word, or Text, OCR with accurate results, and PDF viewer and editor. This software has all features that related to PDF so you don't need to use any third parties and this will save your money.

CONS

I don't have any dislikes about ABBYY FineReader PDF but I this they should work on the OCR outputs and make it more accurate. Also, I wish they could add more PDF editing features.

Charles

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Highs and lows

I have two programs that index my entire hard disk, so it is key to have recognized text in all my saved files. I've tried all the other OCR-capable programs, and this is the best.

PROS

It does a great deal, and has super OCR. And the printer function allows you to add printed output to another pdf file, either at the beginning or end of the recipient file.

CONS

I have to reinstall it many times per week, often after the computer is put to sleep. Also, the print to pdf accessory seems usually -- but not always -- to print without keeping the text layer, so it has to be recognized again.

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Better OCR, no annual charge.

Alex

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Most versatile OCR software

I use Abby for a number of purposes, however where it is most useful to me is to convert financial data for analysis in Microsoft Excel for further analysis.

PROS

One of the most useful aspects of Abbyy Finereader, especially when compared to other OCR software is the level of control offered to the user. This enables poor quality scans as an example to be cleaned up and optimized for recognition. It is easy to edit pages collectively or individually to compensate for distortions and even deal with water marks and poor quality images. The accuracy is phenomenal and ability to use dictionaries or customize your own increases recognition capacity. Abbyy Fine Reader has greatly improved over the years and i expect great things from them in the future as technology evolves.

CONS

I do have a wish list: A setting to have ability to ignore pages during recognition. The ability to ignore a column within a table. A way to verify text in a chosen sequence such as down then up and or select areas to ignore.

User Profile

Alvaro

Verified reviewer

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Scan, OCR, Edit!

Powerful OCR software for both PC and Mac! Works offline, and can do the job in batches hassle-free.

PROS

I've been using Abbyy Finereader for about a decade now (since I stumbled upon it with a friend who digitized a lot of his readings). Abbyy is a powerful OCR software! I say powerful, because it captures nearly everything you throw at it, JPG, PDF... and if you're lucky, even handwritten notes are captures (often as image, but sometimes as text too!). It allows to import directly to Microsoft word for text editing. It even mimics the original scanned document in terms of the page layout and text sizes. Very useful for digitizing your existing documents (which you do not have a digital copy of). Heck, you can even scan and OCR an entire book! (copyrights apply, of course). Another good thing for me.... I can use if offline! Modern OCR apps require you to go online (which I cannot always be given the nature of my work and travels).

CONS

Now there are many other alternatives to using ABBYY as an OCR software, and most come as a free service (e.g., Google, Dropbox). It is even made easier now due to the proliferation of mobile phones. Scan a document via mobile phone, then use the online services for OCR, all for free now.

Robert

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Excellent for translations and improved accuracy over the previous versions.

This was a tremendous help in translating a document written in a German typeface from the 1800s. I trained the software to read this archaic font and then was able to copy and paste the text of the document into an on line translator to find what it said. I am a long time user of Fine Reader 8 and the recent updates of the program had not been any more accurate than version 8 until this one, Version 15. I bought the newest version to obtain improved accuracy of character recognition and document formatting.

PROS

Its accuracy; it is an improvement over the previous version. I owned version 8 and would periodically try newer versions as they were offered, but the accuracy wasn't any better than that of version 8 despite what the advertising said. Version 15 was noticeably more accurate for the types of documents I OCR. I like that you can buy it as an owned program and not as a subscription. There's a music OCR program I like, but because it's a subscription, I won't buy it. I like having quick access to diacritical marks and symbols in this version.

CONS

I had been a user of version 8 for many years. The layout of the program was different and I still sometimes struggle to find a function that I want to do. I dislike having to double click on a page image on the left side to get it to display in the OCR windows. In version 8 I just had to click on the image once to change pages. I miss having the text name of functions written below icons. Verification should be just to the right of Recognize rather than on the far right. The flow is currently wrong: it should be recognize, verify, save.

Thomas

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Abbyy Finereader has become a daily tool in my workplace

Abbyy has allowed us to turn what used to be a very manual task into a simple copy paste method, meaning we can do far more work every day then we were capable of before.

PROS

The program has an intuitive interface and is consistent and capable when it comes to PDF editing and excel table extractions

CONS

I wish the document combining took less steps

Angele

Human Resources, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Fantastic product

Fantastic! I was reluctant to switch but now I recommend it to everyone.

PROS

Great value for the money. It does everything I need and more. Streamlined and easy to use

CONS

There is a slight delay when you select options that took getting used to, but it doesn’t impact useability

Reason for choosing ABBYY FineReader PDF

Price for equal functionality

Reasons for switching to ABBYY FineReader PDF

Price

Victoria

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: