All Apryse PDF SDK Reviews

1-18 of 18 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kyle

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Apryse makes it easy for small product companies to deliver professional features

PROS

As a one person product team I was able to implement Apryse in a matter of days and offer a whole new set of features to our customers

CONS

Earlier on the documentation left me wanting more, but it has improved over the years.

Pablo

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Leader in the industry

I consider it as a leader in the industry.

PROS

Quite comprehensive product based on the company development with no dependencies -as far as I know- with open source libraries.

CONS

Moving from one version to another is not that smooth process. The product is rather expensive.

Reason for choosing Apryse PDF SDK

At the time of first implementing, there was no other solid alternative for commercial use.

João

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2023

Go-to market failure, product failed to meet requirements and no refund

Sales team communicated that we could test the Webviewer module for free as it is open source, but having access to test the digital signature module we needed to subscribe the add-on. We were pressured in time and we agreed to pay in advance to have access to the feature. Wrongly were we aware that we could test the whole suite of add-ons for free using the trial key.After 6500$ invested in PDFTRON, their product simply didn’t work as advertised, leaving us empty handed and a whole mess to cleanup up in our product.I could stop here, but things got worse afterwards. We were extremely frustrated with this situation. Missing our go-live target was a strong blow to the team that had a major job to implement everything from scratch properly.So we reached out to PDFTRON to get our money back. We got barriers upon barriers, calls after calls, departments after departments and the same message “This issue is in management hands and I cannot do anything about it.”.Another module we requested was PDF/A conversion. After testing with many different files, we found one situation were the conversion failed. So we could not rely on it.For reference, we started implementation on September 12, 2022. Our go-live target was October 20, 2022. On November 30, 2022, we decided to give up on PDFTRON. On January 30, 2023 we are still waiting for a proper response and our money back.

PROS

Having a suite of products around PDF covers all our needs. Even though it didn’t work for us.

CONS

Our relationship was painful from the start.We were announced that our use case for digital signatures was pretty common and would be a 2 week integration effort.Those 2 weeks turned into more than a month!Working around PDFTRON Webviewer to customize behavior is almost impossible.We tried, unsuccessfully, manipulating the interface to implement a similar experience you get when signing in Docusign for example.If the UI is painful to work with, using the digital signature APIs a whole set of problems.Our requirement for digital signatures was to sign the document hash externally, through multiple providers, and use PDFTRON to complete the signing process.Well, after trying 3!! Different methods from their SDKs (Webviewer client side, Nodejs server side and Java server side) we always got different errors during API calls.We reported all this issues to their support and got into video calls with the product tech team as well. They got to see the errors first hand and could not reproduce. Please consider this fact as well: the time to answer a ticket was more than a week!! We had to pressure their team to get an answer and to this day no solution was presented. In the end we gave up.Pricing transparency is a big con in PDFTRON. Everything is an add-on, requiring specific licensing terms and contracts.

Reason for choosing Apryse PDF SDK

The native webviewer was the main decision. PDPFTRON seemed the most complete suite of SDKs. We then realised it didn't work as they advertised and decided to implement everything our own.

Steve

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Enterprise level functionality but still easy to use

The pre-sales technical support was excellent and made it really fast and easy to spin up a POC .

PROS

PDFTron was by far the most feature rich product offering we looked at. Also the fact that they don't just wrap another open source rendering engine like PDFium gave us confidence they had built their product from the ground up and had total control.

CONS

The price tag was on the higher end compared to other alternatives but for enterprise software I think its worth it for all the features they offer. They were also flexible during pricing talks to find a comfortable landing spot that worked for both parties.

Reason for choosing Apryse PDF SDK

It came down to the ownership of the rendering engine and ease of use of the API.

Reasons for switching to Apryse PDF SDK

Had a few different PDF related offerings integrated in the app. Some were open source and others were paid products. We were looking to consolidate to a single product that offered some expanded functionality we were looking to grow into using.

Rick

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Easy To Use, Difficult to Customize

Great then frustrating. Great in that we were able to implement and tweak easily with your support team's help.Frustrating with certain "gotches" like client adding text to the DOCX file and seeing footers moved to next page. I have not been able to overcome that issue as yet.

PROS

Quick and easy implementation on a new project

CONS

I made use of a ready-made pdftodocx.exe from your downloads. It works well except for some things. I need to make use of the full SDK in order to take advantage of the latest developments as you are not providing a ready-made pdftodocx.exe any longer.

Reason for choosing Apryse PDF SDK

You provided a ready-made, easy to plug-and-play pdftodocx.exe that met the needs of our new project. We generate customized report using eRDPro from Actuate (Opentext) then convert them to PDF and then convert the PDFs to DOCX files and remove the PDF, all within the report.

Alessandro

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

Cannot install my perpetual license

Cannot move license to a new server if I dont buy a new license. This is the reply from the service: " Hi [SENSITIVE CONTENT] , Sorry, we can't help you any further here without a current license subscription. " I sent them a screen shot with an error indicating that the switched of the license activator server!

PROS

It was the first pdf converter. Now I found cheaper but FASTER alternatives

CONS

Really disappinted about how pdftron is treating old Activepdf license buyers. I have a perpetual license that no longer activates because of not-working service from them. Contacted the support: they asked me to buy a support contract, that is sold only with a new license. They think I need support, but I only need to move the license to a new server. Online activation return "there was an error parsing the returned data".

Reason for choosing Apryse PDF SDK

Non lo preferisco piu'

Bryan

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

XFA Solution

We were facing an issue with over a million XFA PDFs in our imaging system. These weren't your normal XFA documents, they were very unique in how they were created. We talked with various vendors. All of them advised that we couldn't automate the flattening of these documents. PDFTron didn't back away from the challenge. Correy and Johnna did an outstanding job of working with us to come up with a solution utilizing the PDFTron products. I am very impressed with the tenacity at which they approached the challenge. I would strongly recommended PDFTron and the people behind the products!

PROS

Expertise in working with PDFs and Customer Support

CONS

Haven't found any at this point in our project

Alex

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

The best solution for PDFs on the web

PROS

PDFTron's Webviewer is a fantastic tool for working with PDFs in a web browser. The support and documentation is great, and the SDK is very flexible to fit many different use cases.

CONS

The cost of PDFTron is high. The importance to our business justifies the cost, but it was definitely a hurdle for us when comparing this product to other PDF web solutions.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Best PDF SDK in the market

All good so far. Much better than competitors

PROS

Updates, Customer support, Technical Support

CONS

Nothing, I am struggling to find out something negative

Reasons for switching to Apryse PDF SDK

This is a better SDK than the previous one, much better customer support and well documented

User Profile

Anil

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Best PDF Editing SDK

So far, updates, customer service, and technical support have all been satisfactory. Much better than the competition.

PROS

PDFTron is an excellent application for working with PDFs. The SDK was simple to integrate into our program, and we have now extended it out to our application. Overall, it's an excellent product.

CONS

It is difficult to configure and integrate the SDK with our software product. The documentation is also out of current, thus embedding takes time.

Nathaniel

Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Product Enhancement Review

Overall it's a great product and you have excellent customer support. I just need some better transparency and clarity on the pricing and inclusion of our current license.

PROS

The SDK was easy to incorporate into our software and we've rolled out to our application

CONS

The biggest gap is pricing transparency. It's confusing to understand what is included, what we have access to within our account, etc.

Alex

Legal Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Great software, but still some work to be done.

PROS

PDFtron is a great company to work with. When we started using them there were many features that were missing, however they have continually worked with us to improve the product and make it a better product suite.

CONS

Occasionally support can be lacking and the developers are left to struggle through it themselves.

Ashish

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

PDFTron Doc Conversion

PROS

ease of use; easy interface; new features

CONS

Not many issues with the software to mention.

Christopher

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

PDFTron SDK Review

PROS

The vast featureset of the PDFTron SDK makes it a valuable PDF management and document creation tool for any company.

CONS

Bugs do crop up from time to time. Sometimes pretty detrimental ones that should have probably been seen in QA testing. It can take a while for them to eventually get fixed.

Reason for choosing Apryse PDF SDK

Large featureset, single dll, redistributable licensing

Shikha

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Vinnovation review 1/31

Easy to use Vastness of the product is amazing. Still exploring new featured that are being offered and we could use in our project.

PROS

Ease of use & support provided by PDFtron team.

CONS

Nothing, till now everything seems amazing.

Alan

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Very good!

I really like PDFTron

PROS

It's pretty, easy to setup and the tecnical support is very good

CONS

The documentation was not up to date, we need more examples and maybe some project examples would be helpful

Theo

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Super easy integration

PROS

it was very easy to integrate it in our cloud-solution

CONS

I can't remember that there was something compliacted

User Profile

Samridhi

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY