All Readdle PDF Expert Reviews

1-25 of 59 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Abhishek

Biotechnology, 5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2022

Readdle PDF Expert makes editing PDFs easy!

User Profile

Eusebio

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

The best PDF editor in MacOS

It is one of the programs, along with the web browser, that I use the most. Reading, signing, editing PDFs... it does it fast and well. Without complications.

PROS

After suffering with Adobe programs for years, finding PDF Expert was the best thing in years. It really has it all. Simplicity, speed and features you would expect in more expensive programs.

CONS

The subscription craze. I don't agree with them, but I understand that behind such a program there is a lot of work and equipment to maintain.

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

For its characteristics and speed. It makes Adobe look ridiculous.

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Fantastic Mac-only alternative to Adobe Acrobat Pro

I have been using Readdle PDF Expert for many years now to make light changes to PDFs (changing some text, deleting certain elements) as well as adding annotations to PDFs. It is extremely easy to use at a great price. I highly, highly recommend it for the vast majority of PDF editing needs.

PROS

Readdle PDF Expert is a fairly powerful PDF editor and creator. It has most of the features you'll need from a PDF editor, such as merging PDF documents, deleting pages from a PDF, annotations, signature support, the ability to delete certain PDF elements, and even the ability to edit existing PDF text. In addition, it has a very clean and straight forward interface that is very easy to learn and understand. It offers both subscription pricing (at $12.49/month or $50/year) as well as a fantastic perpetual standalone license option at $99 (that price does not include major program updates though).

CONS

PDF Expert isn't quite as powerful as Adobe Acrobat Pro DC and perhaps more importantly (for some) it is a Mac-only app.

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

Acrobat Pro DC has gotten incredibly expensive at $15/month. If you only need to edit PDFs occasionally, Adobe's solution is simply not worth the price. Readdle PDF Expert may not offer all the features of Acrobat DC Pro, but for the vast majority of needs, PDF Expert gets the job done.

Julie

Government Relations, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2024

Awful customer service

PROS

I've been a loyal user of PDF Expert for several years now, and have found the functionality good for Mac. Unfortunately, my recent experiences with their customer support have left me deeply disappointed.

CONS

One of the most frustrating aspects of dealing with PDF Expert's support team is their communication process. Rather than addressing issues promptly and efficiently, they rely solely on email correspondence, which often leads to prolonged resolution times. Instead of gathering all necessary information upfront, they ask a series of questions over multiple emails, dragging out the process unnecessarily. Their support team places a significant burden on customers by requesting detailed information and requiring video recordings to diagnose problems effectively. This level of demand is unreasonable and impractical for many users, ultimately hindering rather than assisting in problem resolution. In my most recent encounter, I've been experiencing difficulties downloading the app and encountered issues with corrupted files. Despite reaching out for assistance, I've been waiting for six days without a satisfactory resolution in sight. The lack of phone or screen share support further exacerbates the situation, leaving customers feeling stranded and unsupported. Adding insult to injury, PDF Expert lacks a mechanism for providing refunds, further limiting options for dissatisfied customers. In conclusion, do not invest in PDF Expert. Despite its functional capabilities, the lackluster customer support and cumbersome resolution process overshadow any benefits the app may offer. Save your money and avoid the frustration of dealing with a support team that seems more interested in prolonging your inconvenience than resolving your issues.

User Profile

Aaron

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Better control and markup of PDFs

I like this product a lot, I switched from Adobe, it seems to be a better value.

PROS

I like how it works seamlessly across many devices, including my phone, tablet, and desktop. All changes are reflected across all devices. Works great with a pen!

CONS

Sometimes hard to navigate files, finding files can be a bit difficult. The UX for file browsing is not super intuitive.

Reason for choosing Readdle PDF Expert

PDF Expert is a better value, and the UX for markup is bettter.

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

PDF Expert is a better value, and the UX for markup is bettter.

Stefan

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Great PDF APP

We record audiobooks and have several directors working with texts in several different studios on iPads. iAnnotate was proving a disaster, basically because it was so hard to find documents and sync them quickly. PDF expert is very good for our business.

PROS

Ease of use. Ease of locating files. It's simple to create new pdfs from exitsing files; easy to extract pages and rearrange them. Good and easy synching with Dropbox and Google Drive.

CONS

Navigation (wish it had more ways to navigate through large pdfs.) Simpler and clearer bookmark functions.It's the ONLY thing I miss from iAnnotate. wish it has a progress bar through the document.

Reason for choosing Readdle PDF Expert

Easiest to navigate for basically non-tech-y employees.

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

We record audiobooks and have several directors working with texts in several different studios on iPads. iAnnotate was proving a disaster, basically because it was so hard to find documents and sync them quickly. PDF expert is very good for our business.

User Profile

Gabrielle

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Great For Basic PDF Needs

Overall, I've had a great experience using PDF Expert. If you're someone who deals with PDF documents a lot, then it's worth looking into this app. If you're someone who just needs to view a PDF or quickly fill out a PDF form, this app is great for that too because it's free and easy to use. If you're looking for more features, like converting documents to PDFs or editing PDF documents, then you'll need to be ready to pay for a pretty expensive pro upgrade.

PROS

If you need an app or service that makes dealing with PDFs easy, this is the service for you. This is my go-to for anything PDF related, especially when it comes to turning web pages into easily readable PDF documents. This service also offers easy to use PDF form filling, reading, and merging features.

CONS

If you want pro features, converting documents to PDFs and signing documents, then you're looking at a very expensive upgrade. More than it's worth, in my opinion. However, if you're alright with just utilizing this app on your mobile device(s), then it's a great value because it's free!

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

I found Adobe's software complicated to use and very restrictive (unless I wanted to pay money just to use their services). I also thought that the form filling options for Adobe's services don't work well at all.

Eva

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

PDF Expert is almost ideal.

I was hoping that PDF Expert would be my affordable solution to Adobe high prices. However, unfortunately, I really need to make fillable PDF forms. This is the one capability that was lacking with PDF Expert. So although using it is easy and good in quality, it does not offer a particular functionality that is very important to me and my work.

PROS

Good price point. It is compatible with Mac. It offers good functionality and an easy to use interface.

CONS

The only con, which prevented me from keeping the software is that you cannot make fillable PDFs/forms. It is still not a capability.

Reason for choosing Readdle PDF Expert

I didn't but it was a close 2nd to PDFelement.

User Profile

Sasha-Shae

Verified reviewer

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Excellent PDF Reader and Editor

Overall, the experience using PDF Expert has been great, I also really like that they have mobile apps that you can sync your files across devices, and there seems to be pretty good implementation of features, hopefully they will make it a full PDF editor including form creation and editing capabilities!

PROS

Very easy software to use, opens PDF files quickly and allows for the typical annotations (highlights, add text, delete a page, etc)

CONS

The main and only con I can think of is that the form editing capabilities is limited - you cannot create signature boxes or an editable form, if this later gets updated to include creating forms in our PDFs then this will truly be a winning 5-star PDF tool

User Profile

Shirley "Sokes"

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

On the go PDF Productivity at it’s best

This app has allowed me to practically never print paper contracts. I can sign and execute a contract with a client and then email it directly from my iPad. This app is a productivity must have and an indispensable tool.

PROS

Being able to edit, merge, annotate and sign PDFs on the go with this app on my iPad Pro is an incredible asset for productivity on the go. Full page views, being able to edit and execute, merge or delete pages and email completed PDFs without being on a desktop is incredible.

CONS

The UI can seem a bit tricky or messy to navigate until you get your bearings and get used to it. However for the most part, it’s intuitive. For the price, it would be great to have all features unlock across all devices (iPhone and iPad).

User Profile

Dennis

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Perfect Solution for Us

Cost aside - this is a great tool for us. Our entire sales team uses this on a daily basis.

PROS

This is a great tool for filling out and sending proposals / agreements to our customers.

CONS

We just had to upgrade to the 'pro' version for an annual subscription to keep the tools we used to get for free.

Logan

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Functionality with PDF Expert

PDF Expert's range of features is truly impressive, allowing us to edit, annotate, sign, and merge PDFs with remarkable ease. The software's intuitive interface makes these tasks quick and straightforward, no matter the complexity of the document. This level of functionality has saved us considerable time and effort, increasing our productivity.But what really sets PDF Expert apart for us is its seamless integration with our existing systems. Whether we're working on a desktop or on the go with a mobile device, PDF Expert has proved its compatibility time and time again. It's this seamless synchronization that enables us to collaborate effectively, keeping our projects moving forward regardless of where we are.

PROS

In short, PDF Expert does exactly what we need it to do, and it does it exceptionally well. It's a reliable, robust tool that has become indispensable to our team. We wholeheartedly recommend PDF Expert to any organization looking for a versatile and efficient PDF management solution. 5 out of 5 stars from us.

CONS

While PDF Expert is an incredibly powerful and feature-rich tool, it's important to note that it may come with a slightly longer learning curve than some other, more basic PDF applications. The extensive array of functionalities that it provides, although beneficial, can take some time to fully understand and master.

Dory

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

The PDF Editing Software that Mac Preview Should Have Been

I searched long and hard for software that would allow me to write on pdf files. I needed it because I have students hand in their scanned homework in pdf files. PDF Expert allows me to hand mark their homework with a graphics tablet. Over time I have discovered that PDF Expert has many other well implemented useful features. I highly recommend it as a complete pdf document solution.

PROS

I used to love Mac Preview for dealing with pdf files, but over the last number of years it has seemingly been abandoned. PDF Expert has taken up the mantle and does what Mac Preview used to do, and sometimes more. For instance, PDF Expert allows me to hand-write on pdf files, something that is basically impossible on Mac Preview. It also reliably selects columns of text, which is something that Mac Preview used to do. One of my favorite features from Preview, which is "new from clipboard" is now perfectly implemented in PDF Expert. It allows me to select a figure or graph on, for instance, an academic paper, and make a full proper vector based pdf file with only the graph. I can then insert that pdf into other documents. I can also cut out selected portions of a document and paste and drag them around. I can copy and paste entire pages from other documents into existing pdf documents.

CONS

When pdf Expert opens a new document, I think it uses the zoom setting from the last opened document, which can be disorienting. Mac Preview always opens documents with the same initial zoom setting.

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

Mac Preview would not allow the addition of hand-written notes.

User Profile

Christian

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Très bon logiciel de traitement des fichiers PDF

Mon expérience globale est très positive, car j'ai pu travailler sur des fichier PDF très facilement à un coût tout à fait raisonnable, PDF Expert est une alternative très compétitive à d'autre logiciels très onéreux.Je l'utilise souvent dans le cadre de mon travail mais aussi pour moi personnellement.

PROS

Ce que j'apprécie le plus dans PDF Expert, c'est sa simplicité d'utilisation et ses nombreuses options d'utilisation, tous ses outils de modification, d'optimisation et de conversion. J'apprécie également son ergonomie et son parfait intègrement dans l'interface Mac Os d'Apple, car on peut directement importer une photo (ou scan) depuis son iPhone via le menu Fichier -> Importer depuis l'iPhone....La sécurité avec l'option "Mot de passe";

CONS

La fonction "Partager pour signature serait la bienvenue, ainsi que la fonction de création de formulaire.

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

J'utilise PDF Expert pour la qualité de son interface, des ses outils, et également pour son prix abordable.

Drew

Furniture, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2020

Almost Perfect

Overall my experience has been good. I used PDF Expert for years on my iPad and in the past year purchased the Mac version since my version of Adobe Acrobat was no longer supported.

PROS

PDF Expert covers most of the bases. It allows you to easily edit and create pdf files. You can also create a signature for signing documents digitally.

CONS

The only feature I miss from Adobe Acrobat is the ability to create forms. If PDF Expert had that function it would have everything I need.

Reason for choosing Readdle PDF Expert

Price

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

My older version of Adobe Acrobat was no longer being supported and ceased to work.

Scott

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Like the Industry Leader, Just Cheaper and Easier to Use

PROS

Great PDF product with correspondent mobile apps. May not have all the bells and whistles of the market leader, but it has the necessary tools.

CONS

If I had a complaint, it would be that the custom stamp tool doesn't allow for multi-line text.

Reasons for switching to Readdle PDF Expert

Price

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Readdle PDF Expert: Il tuo esperto per la gestione dei PDF

La mia esperienza con Readdle PDF Expert è stata molto positiva. Ho apprezzato l'interfaccia intuitiva e le funzionalità di modifica avanzate che mi hanno permesso di lavorare sui miei documenti PDF in modo rapido ed efficiente. La sincronizzazione con i servizi cloud ha reso semplice la condivisione dei file e la collaborazione con i miei colleghi.

PROS

Readdle PDF Expert offre un'esperienza utente intuitiva e piacevole, rendendo semplice la gestione dei documenti PDF. Le sue funzionalità di modifica avanzate, come l'aggiunta di annotazioni, la firma digitale e la modifica del testo, permettono di lavorare sui documenti in modo efficiente e accurato. La funzione di sincronizzazione con i principali servizi cloud, come Dropbox e Google Drive, facilita inoltre la condivisione e la collaborazione sui file.

CONS

Nonostante Readdle PDF Expert sia un ottimo strumento, alcune funzionalità avanzate, come la conversione di documenti in altri formati o l'OCR (riconoscimento ottico dei caratteri), potrebbero essere migliorate o implementate per offrire un servizio ancora più completo. Inoltre, il prezzo potrebbe risultare un po' elevato per gli utenti che cercano soluzioni gratuite o a basso costo.

Waleed

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2018

Another PDF editor

a good rather best PDF editor for the iOS but way less capable than desktop softwares and even very poor reader for PDF books.

PROS

This is one of the many PDF softwares available for iOS and mac but one of the few “editors” for iPAD/iOS. The good news is, it does what it says and perhaps the most capable one for the iPAD. it is also comaptible seamlessly with documents (by readle) so that once you buy PDF expert, its features are automatically enabled in the documents app. it is also fast and stable enough 10 usds (In my country) is a price so much justified for the features.

CONS

no free version no trial. pay to use. color accuracy is sometimes horrible. (again wish i could send screenshot but) a simple nice light blue color may appear horrible dark blue like (imagine the header of a window on Windows 98) but the search feature is slower than Adobe reader and documents by readle and the scrolling is not as smooth as on adobe either( which i could upload short video of what i mean)

User Profile

Dustin

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Best PDF annotator for iOS and macOS

PROS

PDF Expert works very well on both macOS and iOS. I use it on both of these OS's every day. The pen functionality of my iPad Pro works very well with PDF Expert. I am able to write, highlight, comment, etc. on the PDF's as I am able to on paper. Functionality to add a PDF page, remove a page, or merge PDF's is great.

CONS

Functionality to convert a PDF to Word (or other document type) would be nice. Whenever I need to convert a document to Word, or make a scanned document searchable, I have to use Adobe Acrobat DC. It'd be nice being able to use a single PDF software for these purposes.

Paul

Legal Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY