ShapeNet Software


ShapeNet is a personal trainer and membership management solution that offers scheduling, fitness plans, nutrition management, attendance and client scheduling functionalities within a suite. The product is available for deployment in the cloud and features apps for both iPhone and Android devices.

ShapeNet features class scheduling, which allows client to book sessions with the trainers based on their availability. Trainers can also schedule group sessions based on capacity and slot availability.

ShapeNet includes a trainer dashboard where club and gym managers can track the performance of their trainers based on client results. It also enables users to perform fitness assessments and record client stats such as body weight, BMI, height and age. With periodic assessments, trainers are able to see results and make decisions regarding training and nutrition plans of their clients.



38 Reviews of ShapeNet

Overall rating

4.11 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 38 reviews

May 2017

Bob from T3 Performance

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

Great experience using the system and customer support. Some issues with reports and functions.

Financial data capture, integration of schedule and facility use,trainer and customer data detail for measuring efficiency and productivity.

Pros

System features, data capture and reporting functions are excellent. System downtime is minimal. The financial data and downloads are a great feature excellent.

Cons

Needs better integration of features to allow easier and quicker data input during busy hours.
Too many features require replicating data entry such as; adding subsequent members of the same family requires , setting up rentals and closing multiple stations,closing adding members and closing out classes and members in them requires screen refresh on every attendee,payroll download is confusing. Field names and services do not match between system and system fields, Would like to set our own thank you letter.
Frequently new updates cause problems with current functions. Needs better Beta testing.
Downloading data supposed to go to Excel but instead always defaults to Unicode drives me nuts because I download a lot of reports and have to convert everyone.
Payroll summary picks up field that I don't want and have to reconfigure for every employee. Example the date field is always off by one cell. There is another field that has no purpose at all plus the classes pick up the class itself as if it were a person in attendance.
In the financial data the income categories should show number counts when applied to multiple categories. You can only get number # count data by looking at one category at a time.
When closing stations we should be able to close multiple stations on the matrix versus having to close each one then wait for the screen to update close the next one etc etc ad nausea.
The process of submitting a support ticket could be streamed lined.

May 2017

Jason from Spring Lake Aquatic Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

May 2017

Many times we deal with server issues and a slow system.

Pros

We like the customizable program. It works well for our business purposes. Has many great features, some we use, some we don't

Cons

so many options, can be overwhelming for a new user. Proper training from the begnning of the use of this product would be beneficial.

Response from ShapeNet of ShapeNet

Replied May 2017

We appreciate the feedback Jason. we're very pleased that your are benefiting from our customizable software system. it looks like it is working well for your business. we agree with you when you mentioned that a new user can be overwhelmed because of all the great benefits that are available. we have re-structured our training for new and existing clients, which we feel is more effective. we are getting good feedback from our clients with our new approach. we have resolved the core system performance issues and your system should be running much better now. Larry King Founder and CEO

May 2017

Mike from Body Tech Health & Fitness

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2017

I love shape net fornits functions once you have experience with it.

Allowing our staff to easily read the details and status of each member.

Pros

The checkin is easy and the display is clear for each individual once they are put in the system. The input is fairly easy and there are a lot of functions to use. Each individual to be implemented takes about 3 minutes which is nice.

Cons

The functions are relatively scattered and difficult. Especially the class calendar and scheduling and ease of use for packages purchased and user scheduling. Also, it's difficult to find the website for individuals since there is another ShapeNet company in the search.
It would also be nice if when purchased someone would come on site to show how to use many of the functions, once someone ourchaees the software.

May 2017

Bo from Exercise Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

ShapeNet is the best software for anyone running a personal training business.

It's how I run my business.

Pros

The customization is awesome. I have been able to tailor the system to fit my business. It is also very easy to learn and use.

Cons

The customer service could be a lot better. The system is down or slow a lot more than it should be.

Response from ShapeNet of ShapeNet

Replied May 2017

Hi Bo, We appreciate your kind words about our software system. we have learned alot from your feedback over the years and have applied some of your suggestions and needs to the system. looks like you are benefiting from them since you have opened up new locations successfully. we are upgrading our support and training methods, especially with new clients. we have also taken steps to resolve system performance issues and are confident the system should be running much better now. thank you for your business over the years. Larry King Founder and CEO

May 2017

Jen from Cantrell Wellness Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

ShapeNet transformed the way we do business- it has made us more productive and efficient.

Efficiency, streamlining of tasks, simplified process, automation of what was once long, drawn out processes

Pros

ShapeNet automated and simplified processes for us ranging from billing to sending out customer satisfaction surveys. The client services representatives at ShapeNet work hard to address concerns and handle any issues that arise. With quarterly releases, there are constant improvements to an already great interface, functionality, and reporting.

Cons

The only downside to ShapeNet is that the only way for payment integration is to go through their third-party merchant. Though it provides integration with the system, the customer service for the third-party merchant is no comparison to ShapeNet's stellar team who all express genuine interest in providing business solutions in a professional and efficient manner.

May 2017

Audra from UCHealth Medical Fitness

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

May 2017

An improvement from our old system, but still lacking in some areas.

Pros

It's internet based and accessible from anywhere. This has been a game changer for our department! I can work off-site, which has been wonderful! Customer support is light years better than our old system!

Cons

Appearance needs an update and ease of use is still lacking in some areas. While customer support does get back to us quickly, sometimes the answer is "sorry, there is nothing we can do about that problem." I wish the team would take more initiative on improving their product and listening to the customer's needs.

Response from ShapeNet of ShapeNet

Replied May 2017

We appreciate your feedback !!! It's great that you are taking advantage of our cloud system, which lets you access the system anywhere. We are taking steps to upgrade the system appearance. We have a NEW MEMBER PORTAL UPGRADE that will be available on 5/17/2017. we are also upgrading some reports and introducing more graphs. our support team does provide feedback to us based on your comments and we are taking the steps to continually improve the system.

April 2018

Darren from Sport Central

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

Shapenet has been very helpful in our different requests and customer support.

Pros

The software is user friendly with many different features depending on the needs of the business. We use the software within our gym for our member database, check-ins, payment history, recurring billing and the features allow us to adapt to our specific needs.

Cons

The system works well, not really any complaints. The only issue we have is sometimes the speed of the system, however, this could also be due to internet related issues and not the system.

May 2017

Marisa from Stevenson Fitness

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2017

We enjoy the team - they have always been very helpful. The software has a lot of functionality.

Great value - great functionality - open to feedback and lots of help.

Pros

It has a lot of features that I haven't even begun to explore. I also like that Shape is open to suggestions and very helpful with issues.

Cons

It is not very intuitive and we find it difficult to train new employees. It has a very large learning curve. Some processes are a little cumbersome and could use some quicker shortcuts etc.

May 2017

Jeff from Bee Fit Health Club

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

I wouldn't be able to run my business without Shape

It makes my day to day so much easier.

Pros

The customer support team is amazing. I like that you can do so much with the billing and alal of the different functions that you can do within the software.

Cons

How many steps required to put members into system. Can be complex to train employees as some of the functions are just too complicated to train.

May 2017

Raphael from Ground Control

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

Love the software. Customer support needs help.

Customer tracking.

Pros

Features and the new app. I also like the reports that are available including all the financial reports, democratic reports and the marketing reports.

Cons

I can't call and get a person on the phone. I need to leave a message or put in a ticket. Takes too long.

March 2018

Alexandria from Fit One

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

March 2018

Awesome

Pros

Ease of use, and the customer service is awesome! Every time I reach out to support team... they always help me solve my problem extremely fast!

Cons

Some operations/functions can take too many steps to get to where you're going and could be streamlined

June 2017

ed from World Gym

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2017

Excellent product and a very personable staff.

Pros

Shapenet is always improving the software to needs of user. Customer service is very prompt and thorough on request.

Cons

That Shapenet was not yet in existence when I opened my first gym. If it had been open I would undoubtebly had my 2nd gym open much sooner.

May 2017

Ann from Reps For Life

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

Great customer service. Pro active with there clients.

security,

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to figure out. I learned most of what i know from, playing around with soft ware.

Cons

There are a lot of functions that I haven't had time to learn. So I could be getting more for my business if I spent some time doing webinars,

May 2017

Lisa from Roseville Health & Wellness Center

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2017

ShapeNet software has saved me time while giving me the comfort of knowing memberships and services

Pros

The functionality of syncing services with trainer sessions and payroll all together. Saves time by not using all the excel spreadsheets I use to have in place...

Cons

Corporate account membership billing procedures need attention. When printing invoice for a company with services and monthly dues there is no way to post a partial payment or even print one page bill. The monthly invoice is 20 pages long...

May 2017

Wayne from Rise Health & Fitness

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2017

Very good company that is constantly expanding and improving the product.

Ease of use and easy to generate reports.

Pros

The product is easy to use and a great value. They are constantly working to expand and improve the system.

Cons

Occasional down time can be frustrating with less than satisfactory communication regarding the problem.

December 2017

Ali from Fit One Gym

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

Great

Pros

Every time I work with Lynn w she always helps to solve my issues and usually ends up teaching me something new!

Cons

Some of the operations take too many steps to get to the end result , could be streamlined a little bit.

March 2017

Jennifer from Fitxpress Fitness Centers

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

March 2017

Horrible Experience and BIG mistake (Owner, couldn't care less)

Horrible Experience with this company. I'm shocked that they have any clients with an experience like this. I had elected to use this company for all of our . After not meeting the conversion deadlines, as promised ,we decided to not use their services and gave notice. It should be noted that they promised many features on the software that we required but found at the time of conversion that they were available but in the future. To make a long story short, they continued to bill our companies credit card even after notice was given not to. When we emailed the company's Owner regarding our dissatisfaction regarding the service from Shapenet and the unauthorized payments, he basically replied too bad but we never promised. So we were basically was charged for software which was never converted or even used. I would definitely do my research with software companies before you buy because this was a big mistake. The last software we had was great (Aphellion) and used for almost 20 years. Very disappointed.

Cons

Promises of features that were never installed.

Response from ShapeNet of ShapeNet

Replied March 2017

As the owner of ShapeNet, let me take the time to respond and clarify some points. I'm disappointed you had a bad experience with us, but you did demo the product several times and liked it. for the conversion, we clearly stated that we needed info from your team AND your team needed to verify data before you went live. your team refused to do that. after spending over 2 months on the conversion with minimal help from your team, you wanted your money back. I explained what we all agreed to. We all tried to work with you to provide what you needed. I even suggested a compromise where we would split the money you owed us. Based on your specific needs, we had good solutions for you. we wish you the best moving forward. as a reminder, I kept myself available to work thru any issues you wanted to discuss with me. Larry King - CEO

May 2017

Scott from Westside Fitness - Grand Rapids, MI

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

May 2017

Overall pretty good

The biggest benefit is that it Web-Base and our old system was not, but for the most part I think they all are now.

Pros

Web-based and the functions that are there are for the most part fairly easy to use.
The more you use it, the more valuable it is.

Cons

Doesn't really give me a true picture of my overall profit now or compared to previous years.
HTML emails are difficult
We would like to be able to schedule Tanning minutes

Response from ShapeNet of ShapeNet

Replied May 2017

We appreciate the feedback Scott. we're glad you're benefiting from a cloud/web system. regarding not being able to see financial info compared to different time periods, please look at the Financial Summary Comparison report. you should be able to get the info you need. We are working on an easier solution with the HTML rich emails. we will be pre-loading some ready to use emails. reach out to our support regarding the tanning minutes. our system should be able to manage that for you. Larry King Founder and CEO

May 2017

ali from Fit One

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

May 2017

works well for our business

Pros

it has several features that are useful, and the customer service is great. Great response time on issues.

Cons

can be too many steps to get to a simple task, the knowledge base is out of date and not helpful for several issues- causing you to need to submit another support ticket.

May 2017

Scott from Bodyfit LLC

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

May 2017

It's ok, just not super excited about the over all experience. We've been using it for a long time

Pros

Easy eft and availablity to enter a member into the software. It's also easy to find a membership/ client for pos.

Cons

Lots of glitches. It feels like we see something weekly that is being fixed.(which is good that it's being fixed, but why so often)

Response from ShapeNet of ShapeNet

Replied May 2017

Hi Scott, We appreciate your feedback and thanks for taking my call today. you have been using our system for over 9 years and, as I mentioned to you on the call, there are many new benefits and services we have that can help you. such as the ability for members and non-members to purchase services right from your website. digital agreements and a mobile app. We can discuss all of these ways where we can help your business next week. we value your longtime business with us over the years and are excited about some ways we can immediately help your business !!! Larry King Founder and CEO