All Trail Blazer Campaign Manager Reviews

1-25 of 28 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Chris

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed June 2015

You guys rock! No nonsense powerful software and great support = You guys rock!

While the interface has a steeper learning curve some other programs, it allows for much more customization and analysis than the other programs I have played with. The support staff (Kevin) is lightning fast to respond to any issue or question. I have been using Trailblazer for almost a year now, and can't imagine switching to another database.

Ed

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

A Useful and Effective Automated Solution for Political Committees

Trail Blazer was a HUGE step up from running our committee on Excel, Word, and email.

PROS

As Treasurer of our committee, I use all of the financial functions as well as the campaign finance reporting function. Trail Blazer makes my job easier and more efficient.

CONS

Being a geezer, the lack of ability to increase font size presents challenges at times.

Reason for choosing Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

Not Applicable

Reasons for switching to Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

Primarily for the SQL Server database at first. We wanted to generate analytics to make door knocking more efficient. As we have gained experience, we use more and more functionality.

Vendor Response

Ed, thank you so much for the review. We really enjoy working with you and your organization. As always, please lean on our team if you need anything, or if you have a product upgrade request. Our development team is always interested in customer feedback, which drives future enhancements.

Replied August 2022

Anne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Trail Blazer has filled a need for us.

We are able to keep up with donor/grant makers, and adopters and engage them for fundraising purposes. The ability to sell tickets to events or raffles is also nice. I'm pretty sure there's much more I could be doing with this software...just haven't had the time to really dig in further and figure that out.

PROS

I have enjoyed the email campaign feature. The pricing has been appropriate for our organization for the most part.

CONS

I wish it was windows based and more user-friendly. It seems 'clunky' compared to other databases I've utilized in other organizations.

Reason for choosing Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

I was not involved in the decision...however, I'm sure pricing was a big factor.

Daniel

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Candidacy

Excellent. Outstanding support, ease of use, functionality speed to target accurately the market of constituent voters.

PROS

Exceptional support and ability to speed to market data functionality affording at finger tips market voter information strategic to our campaign.

CONS

Not a direct to TB but rather only con is my entry into the campaign and start with TB I should have started sooner.

Reason for choosing Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

Functionality. Comprehensiveness of data management. Time to market. Price.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Daniel! We would be happy to assist on your future endeavors.

Replied April 2024

Kelly

Political Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Essential to adequately track your Fundraising

PROS

Trail Blazer is a user-friendly and straightforward way to track and report all information essential to fundraising - donors / contact info, contributions, pledges, events, and communications. Donors: Easily track contact information, contribution history, log notes, Household information and a MULTITUDE of other areas. Interfaces with our state's voter database to easily import voter data on the spot. Contributions: Simple data entry feature to assign contributions to a committee / client, dates, amounts, with notes / reminder pop ups if a donor is nearing his limits. Pledges: Tracking, with ways to send communication reminders though the system as follow-up. Events: Creation of events, logging of contribution, record of interfacing with a donor for responses / notes. Communications: Ways to create and send mass or individual emails with email tracking. Additionally, the customer service is second to none. I can email or call at any time of the day and the team is ALWAYS able to help me. They are always open to creating new features to make things work even better!

CONS

Email interface takes some time to get used to. Connecting through a Remote Desktop (on a Mac) sometimes presents challenges.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Kelly! We really enjoy working with you and your team. If you ever need help with building email templates, campaigns, or anything else, please call or email our tech support team. We can either perform a remote session with you, or schedule a live one-on-one training session that can be recorded.

Replied August 2022

John

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Satisfied long term user

We use 2 licenses because state law requires that we full separate the nonprofit entity from the PAC so essentially we are running 2 entities in it. We are pleased with the fact that for our users it operates pretty much the same.

PROS

We selected it about 10 years ago and have been very pleased with it for membership management for the nonprofit as well as getting a 2nd license to run a segregated state level PAC. One of the things I like the most is the level of customer support we receive and ongoing training.

CONS

There are very few cons about the product. It is being expanded to handle more and more membership unique issues for our nonprofit which takes time but we remain pleased with the product.

Reasons for switching to Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

More features including direct integration with payment systems and event systems

Vendor Response

Thanks, John! We really enjoy working with you and your organization. Don't hesitate to reach out if there are new features that you need help with, or if you have a development request that we can pass along to our development team.

Replied September 2022

Bex

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Trail Blazer: The Good, The Bad, the Ugly

As our donor database, Trail Blazer is reliable. It is reliable in that it gets the job done, but requires a lot of extra time and effort to execute simple functions, as the names and systems for organizing data logically are often pretty hard to understand. While there is amazing customer support and plentiful resources on their website, I wish it were a more user friendly platform so I didn't have to rely so heavily on their support staff. That being said, because the support staff is so accessible, I'm mostly okay with this system, and am grateful for all the staff who have assisted me over the years.

PROS

What I love most about Trail Blazer is the amazing customer service they offer. I call their support staff about once a week for help and they are always incredibly friendly, patient and helpful. Also, it is a very powerful software with many options for managing our data.

CONS

The user interface is clunky, there are a lot of unintuitive formulas. It is a very powerful software but I find it quite hard to use.

Anthony

Political Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Trail Blazer Campaign Manager Review

PROS

The software does exactly what I need it to do—store large amounts of distinct voter information in an easy-to-use interface for a fraction of what other software products will cost. The customer service and tech support are also top-notch!

CONS

Tasks can get very repetitive and time-consuming, especially when dealing with multiple campaigns, hundreds of volunteers, and millions of voters. The ability to clone lists or streamline repetitive tasks, like revoking admin rights following a campaign cycle, would be tremendously helpful.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Anthony! Your feedback is very helpful. If you are able to send any of these requests to our support email address, that would be helpful so that we can relay them to the Development Team. Here is how to revoke and Admin's account after they no longer need access: https://www.trailblz.com/kb/?action=view&kb=153&cat=0&qq=revoke Don't hesitate to call in if you need a hand with this.

Replied September 2022

Beverly

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Canadian mayoral campaign experience

We needed to manage voter information by starting with the voter database provided by the city and then adding emails and phone numbers along with other information such as lawn sign requests. We had lots of lists with emails and phone numbers which meant we had duplicates. however, when we choose to send mass emails the system is able to ignore the duplicates.

PROS

customer support in the early days and throughout has been amazing. the knowledge base is very extensive and very thorough and includes with pictures). I have used client management systems and systems for managing data and this is much more user friendly and intuitive. The "tabs" are all in the "right place" and I like that I can configure the attributes and values. Although there are several videos to get you started, I am able to provide 30 min of training to other users for their specific tasks with the system and new users are good to go.

CONS

somewhat complex for people who have few skills in managing information and since within our campaign we are using all volunteers, some people are afraid to try it.

Reason for choosing Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

Trail Blazer provided the functionality we needed and was less expensive than the other products with similar functionality.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Beverly! Our support team is always here to help as you dive deeper into the tools and begin using new features. Best of luck with the race!

Replied September 2022

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2018

Bare bones, but affordable

PROS

The price, it's a fraction of other CRMs. The support generally is very good as well

CONS

It's not very intuitive to use, time-consuming, and does not sync with Constant Contact or other major e-mail service.

Brad

Government Relations, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Someone to talk to

FANTASTIC. They are a great team and I'm happy with their service and their commitment to help your campaign succeed.

PROS

Trailblazer's technical support is above and beyond all competitive standards. Guess what, you can talk to a live human being, who knows what the heck they are doing and can fix a problem or point you in the right direction. Good luck talking to someone at NGP or NationBuilder. By far tech support is the best!

CONS

It is a little challenging when first starting, but the team at Trailblazer are patient and available to answer any questions you may have.

Reason for choosing Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

Better fit for the campaign

Reasons for switching to Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

Tech support.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Brad! We really enjoy working with you and your clients. Our tech support team is happy to help as you dive further into different parts of the application.

Replied August 2022

Janet

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Excellent investment!

I loved working with it.

PROS

Financial, donor management, and marketing are all in one place. It's a valuable tool.

CONS

Not really any cons. Learning to use the system seemed overwhelming but the training videos were helpful and the step-by-step instructions.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Janet! We really enjoy working with you. Please lean on our team if you need help with any part of the system. There's a lot you can learn, and we are always happy to schedule some live training, or you can call into tech support for a remote session.

Replied September 2022

Bryan

Political Organization, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2020

Has a lot of potential - support was awesome

It was good. While we had issues with the UI and using the application support team was awesome and we were able to use the product.

PROS

The technical support team was awesome. The product was not easy to use, very Visual Basic old windows MDI window format. The technical team was patient and very helpful in getting us to navigate around.

CONS

The UI was old fashion Windows 3.x, 95 style that was not web compliant. The over feel was clunky but navigatable. It required a remote desktop for non-Windows users. Was missing several key features, like customizing map output and I could not find a good API layer to develop our own maps and other features.

Reason for choosing Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

It had the functionality that we wanted. We did not like the UI, but the demo made it look more presentable than it really was.

Bhreagh

Political Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

A Practical and Detailed System with Great Customer Support

Excellent overall experience.

PROS

This company has excellent customer support, the database functions as promised at a reasonable cost, and the system rarely has any issues that cannot be fixed by staff. Easy onboarding into the system by support staff, makes learning the software easy.

CONS

Limited integrations with third party systems, such as callhub, and others that NationBuilder and other systems use.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Bhreagh! We enjoy working with you and your team. We will pass on your request for an integration with CallHub. Please let us know if you have other upgrade requests as you continue learning more about our tools.

Replied September 2022

Les

Political Organization, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Great software for campaigns

After nearly 30 years of political campaign management, I have worked with many software programs. Trail Blazer is exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend for your next campaign.

PROS

The software is easy to use and is very customizable to the campaign. The strongest attribute is the excellent customer and technical support provided.

CONS

We have not found any significant problem with the software for our campaigns that hasn't been resolved with the help of their tech support.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Les! We really enjoy working with you. As always, please lean on our team if there are any questions on using the software, or if there are feature requests that you would like us to pass on to the development team.

Replied September 2022

Toni

Political Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

All you need

PROS

The software has so many different ways to use the data entered. There are multiple sort choices for your needs.

CONS

At first, I though the software was intimidating. There is so much to learn.

Cindy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Absolutely Amazing Support Team!

I transitioned to my current position in the midst of the global pandemic - which was not ideal. Trailblazer has been the ONLY company that I work with that provided immediate, consistent, and friendly training support and admin support. I've worked with several databases in my roles with various non-profit organizations, and the team at Trail Blazer is far superior . Kudos!

PROS

The software is user friendly and understandable.

CONS

I haven't had any negative experiences so far.

Reason for choosing Trail Blazer Campaign Manager

Unknown. This product was in place at the time I assumed my role.

Rita

Oil & Energy, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT