Knack is cloud-based database management portal software that allows companies to build online databases that can be accessed remotely. Key features include an application builder, customization tools, reporting and analytics, an open API and payment processing.

Knack enables users to build their own workflow solutions or use customizable templates available within the software. It has a variety of templates including a customer portal, job portal, inventory manager, donations manager, customer relationship manager, project manager, events calendar, job listing, product catalog and more. Users can add forms, maps, tables, e-commerce features, calendars and searches to their portal.

Monthly pricing plans are available. Support is offered through email, chat, over the phone, via Skype and through a support portal.



42 Reviews of Knack

Overall rating

4.5 / 5 stars

Showing 1 - 20 of 42 reviews

December 2018

Kevin S. from Badgley Mischka Home

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2018

One of the Best

Pros

Knack is seriously one of the greatest apps that exist out there for those who need to organize their offices. Nowadays, data is produced in such huge amounts that it ca be very difficult to organize. This leads to chaos and lost productivity. Other database apps like Access, OpenOffice and even just SQL are not user friendly and the UI is chaotic. Knack is an easy way to make your own custom database with functionality that expands seemingly daily.

Cons

There's a bit of a learning curve, but I learned it in about a week. Now I've made a CRM/HRM/Project manager all in one with unlimited logins for pennies on the price of a full-suite solution.

November 2018

Bernardo from Atlantis

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

Use carefully, as good as you are

Pros

Its highly customizable and you can adapt it to fit whatever your company needs might be. Be it just a simple data base, a team management software or something else. Its great for large sets of data, but needs you to be smart and data savy.

Cons

Its not always great when using outside the US. The smartphone view is close to impossible to work with.

November 2018

Brett from OutSource Corporate Partners, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

great online database

We have an employee base that covers the United States. Before we used the Knack software we had each person filling out individual Excel spreadsheets. We would then have to manually combine these spreadsheets to get information from the entire sales force. With the Knack software we are able to allow our employees to log the information into the Knack site and we now have access to the full information quickly and easily.

Pros

The Knack software is easy to use to set up forms and pages to collect information online.

Cons

The software can take a little getting used to when you first start out. I would think this is normal for any advanced system like this.

November 2018

Alex from RealEyes Displays, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2018

Flexible, Powerful, Great API, Community Support Lacking

8 / 10 is right where I'm at. They filled a huge need for us, and for that, I'm extremely grateful. One more point can easily be gained by paying attention to the community, which are the fans of their business. The other point can be gained by adding better standard features and design features. It should be noted that I have passed Knack's name to MANY others in my industry, and I really do highly recommend them.

Pros

When I found this software, I nearly jumped for joy. I had been researching no-code database apps for a long time, and this really seemed to fit what we needed it to do. Hats off to Knack for an original-concept.

What's great:
- App building on the backend AND front end. You create your data modules, decide your schema, then decide how it shows up to the users. Set your logins, set the access levels, etc. It's amazing.
- It's extremely easy. Once you get the hang of it, you can make nice looking apps in little time.
- The API is very easy to use and powerful. We us it to build special CMS apps that allow our customers to update content on large interactive touch screens. The data is always reliable.
- The app is responsive, so users can can access public or their private data from mobile devices. It opens up many possibilities for businesses to use this as a CRM, CMS, Accounting, or even a field-service database.
- The in-app support through the chat is great. Staff members are responsive and helpful.

Cons

Take this with a grain of salt. When your whole business runs online like ours, you get used to the idea that no software is ever perfect. There is always something that will grind your gears. Here's some things about Knack that need improvement:
- Community support - my major gripe about Knack is the responsiveness to the community. There are many active users who contribute a lot of great content, ideas, and issues that need solving. Response from Knack in the community is practically non-existent. Even just to say "Good idea, we'll add that to our list"...just let people know they've been heard! Also, in my opinion, there's some very standard features that I can't believe aren't built yet. Sometimes it seems they work on features for a very small niche audience, rather than things that all users can benefit from. (Like drag and drop sorting of records)
- Minimal design freedom on the front end - You can make an app that is extremely functional, but there's not a lot of ways to customize the look and feel of that data for the users. So you may solve some great business issues with Knack, but chances are it won't look super pretty.

September 2018

Chris from Elite Payroll Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2018

Easiest platform for developing a customized work system the code-less way

Knack connects up to so many other 3rd party apps through Zapier that the options are potentially limitless. We've been able to cancel our SalesForce subscription and came up with your own custom CRM using Knack. It's affordable, the support is great and it's feature rich.

Pros

Easy to get up and running on. Quickly map out data elements and connect to layout without having to code Javascript. If you do know Javascript, you can customize the workflow and experience even more.

Cons

There are no additional web themes without paying a developer to customize.

August 2018

Kevin from UK WEEE Recycling

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2018

Useful but full of problems

Pros

Easy to create web-based apps. Can achieve a variety of tasks using 3rd party tools. You can embed your app in your website.

Cons

The interface is slow and limited. Can be quite clunky and frustrating and trying to work out how to achieve something with the help of Zapier. Customer support stinks. No one is ever able to sort any issues and if you make the slightest mistake or accidental you could break the whole app and be needing a backup which they charge , they quote 1-3 hours usually and takes 3-5 working days so not particularly business friendly. Javascript locks up occasionally in the back end and you're either left waiting and nothing happens or nothing happens when you click the save button. Fairly expensive considering how unpolished the software is and how woefully awful their customer support is. The reliance on Knack/Zapier/Webmerge integration doesn't always work seamlessly and learning to implement it yourself can result in duplicate Webmerges which cost a lot of money too.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

July 2018

Great database builder

Pros

The app builder is a great feature of this software. There are a lot of useful options such as searching, various forms and tables. I find it easy to customize although having little background in programming helps but not required. Easy interface after a little bit of use.

Cons

Knack servers can use some updating. Can be slow at times with complex queries which can be frustrating. Knack support tries to address all our concerns, but some issues will take some time to fix. The front end could use some updates also and to have access to change the visuals would be nice

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

The most powerful no/low code database app for non-coders

Pros

- Lives up to the "no code" billing many other platforms tout, but with Knack you can actually build a feature-rich app without coding.
- Zapier integration recently improved, greatly expanding the capabilities of the app
- Out of 10-15 database apps I tried, the learning curve was shorter and support documentation was more useful with Knack
- Easy to implement and strong user security/user roles implementation
- Unlike many business-focused app builders, Knack is designed for many users in structure and in pricing model, so it's the best for customer-facing applications (including ecommerce websites)
- Basic subscription plan includes all the features most will need, unlike many apps that pull 1-2 critical features into their mid-tier and enterprise plans.

Cons

- Pricing plan options are slim, and the base plan is a bit more expensive than others in the similar tier.
- Very difficult to style the app in an attractive manner without a fair amount of CSS and/or Javascript understanding (though the standard design is fine and mobile friendly). Limited options for customization in the dashboard.
- Main troubling issue is with how pages and views get created with every menu and link you add..causing a quickly overwhelming page structure and sitemap. Biggest related caution is that when simply deleting a menu item, you could also be deleting an entire page or detail view without clearly being told that (and no way to recover it).

May 2018

Derek from Tiger Construction, ltd

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2018

Great. Knack did exactly what I wanted.

Pros

It allowed me to easily customize a website to allow multiple users to enter information without having a pay account.

Cons

You have to program yourself. I'm not the most technical person so this takes some time. Only training will help.

April 2018

Holly from Rush Soccer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

Just what I needed

Pros

This is Everything I need from a database & simple interface builder. I took a long time evaluating existing products for my business programs to no avail, and decided I needed custom solutions. As a nonprofit I know we couldn't afford paying someone to do it so I took it upon myself to research options & move forward. Knack was my first intro to "no code" cloud app builder and I love it. I check around every 6 months or so to see what competition is out there, I've yet to find anything I enjoy using quite as much.

Cons

That apps cannot integrate / stay in sync. It's going to take a lot of extra work to integrate all my company's apps, as it is not feasible for all our programs / branches to use one app, and some information needs to be in sync across all apps. I just know by the time I've finally done it, they will have built in the feature / option...

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2018

Wonderful!

Pros

Ability to customize databases; real-time updates; many template options to choose from; customer service is excellent. I've used this several times for an annual holiday website. Our users were so impressed and became repeat donors.

Cons

customer service agent and his staff were very helpful as I extensively redesigned a template to serve our varied needs. I have been very satisfied and think the only confusion I ran into is customized differences between mobile and website versions.

January 2018

harmandeep singh from New York University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

January 2018

Knack it up!

Pros

Super easy to get going (it is the most intuitive interface). Price by number of apps instead of by user works well with our company. Powerful features including, for instance, users logging in by their Google+ or Facebook profile (single sign on). I have not run into any bugs.

Cons

You can't adjust the presentation layer (the website) as much as, say, Caspio. You can change some things like colors and basic layout, but most of the CSS is fixed. Their formulas are very weak. They only allow basic functions, especially for manipulating text. For formulas, I found Airtable to be much better.

November 2017

Bethany from Self-Employed / Real Estate

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2017

Overall quite impressed

Pros

Once you've got everything figured out (specifically linking different objects) it's very easy to use. There are quite a few useful features.

Cons

Sometimes the software is glitchy when it comes to importing .csv documents. Things won't load and then you'll have to restart the whole process.

September 2017

Daniel from Summit Retreats

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

September 2017

Not worth it. There are better solutions out there.

I didn't find it helpful.

Pros

It is relatively easy to use, otherwise I didn't notice anything outstanding, anything what would be worth mentioning here.

Cons

I found it very limiting as it can handle only very basic tasks. I also didn't like that there is no mobile application. The way it displays on mobile device is very clumsy. Customer support is so so.

September 2017

Maxwell from Heyday

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2017

Customizable features for our Spa's client records

Increased communication between staff and clients, accurate record keeping for all clients, and for all staff to access!

Pros

How customizable it is to our ever changing needs as the company grows and changes! We are able to access it on multiple devices at once, and have different log ins for each employee!

Cons

Have experienced software shutdowns that have slowed business, not always able to do what we need, but there is usually a work-around!

August 2017

Lee from IIG

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

August 2017

Absolutely terrible, worst customer service I have experienced

Cons

Absolutely terrible customer service. I signed up, spent 2 days making an app, then the builder completely froze. I tried 5 computers, all different browsers, as soon as you log in it give a spinning gear and freezes. Knack support said it's because I'm using Chrome and that Chrome is bad at handling memory (even though I told them I tried IE, Edge, Safari, on 5 machines). Then today, I spent 3 hours making an app and doing email templates. I go get a drink, come back, it's COMPLETELY GONE. I contact their support, they said their backups failed and they don't have one, and that they confirmed I DID have an app, but that it's no longer there. They said even though I just signed up 2 days ago, they don't do refunds, but that I'm welcome to cancel my service in their portal. I canceled it and filed a chargeback with Visa. Avoid this company, extremely shady.

Response from Knack of Knack

Replied August 2017

Of course when there's any chance of work being lost we take that very seriously and launch a full internal investigation. We had mentioned that a refund was possible but we needed to get more details. This is something we had never seen before and needed to confirm exactly what may have happened. Unfortunately Lee deleted his account before we could complete our investigation and resolve this issue to everyone's satisfaction. This all happened within the span of a few hours.

July 2017

Anonymous

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2017

Amazing support

Pros

Ease of use and user function to arrange data for customers. The support staff have been so supportive I ask them questions all the time and are just really happy to help with sometimes silly questions.

Cons

Could do with a little more customisation to represent data such as tiles and visual tools like a website builder would work great for the visual representation for pages. Though I feel knack could be set to bring on some awesome features later on.

Think knack could also have multiple object records within a list of data connected to the logged in user as big work arounds are needed for this at the moment

July 2017

Anonymous

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2017

Great Low Code Solution

I have been able to build multiple application to help run my business from CRMs to project management solutions. The builder is easy to use and has a lot of features. There is a job board if you need a larger application too. And the pricing model is excellent, much better than some of its competitors.

Pros

Power, capability and ease of use

Cons

Would like more form layout capabilities

June 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

June 2017

Very Disappointed

Pros

Look of the app is very nice. The "Builder" they have come up with is innovative, not your normal database building tool. It takes some getting used to. There are some limitations to it, that other databases don't have.

Cons

Very poor customer support, if you are on the lowest plan. They will not pick up the phone and call you, nor can you call them. They claim a response time of between 24 and 48 hours....not true. I am now having support requests unanswered for 4 days. Their blog and self-help support site are very poor. There is no main office or phone number, they all work from their homes across the US. Apparently, they don't have titles and they think it's funny to post pictures of themselves on their website with funny made up titles in the organization. This organization needs to grow up and get serious. I will terminate my plan with them and ask for a full refund if things don't improve dramatically in the next day or two.

April 2017

Sunny from Paint Savvy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

April 2017

for custom app is worth a look

Very powerful to customize for your specific need It's not that easy to build without strong computer skills I paid for knack to code ours but they no longer do that - they have a list of contractors you can hire to do custom work

Pros

Can be a build a system quite powerful

Cons

Wish would integrate w barcode scanner

Need to invest time to really learn the platform