All Macabacus Reviews

1-25 of 78 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Michael

Entertainment, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Essential Plug-in for Financial Analysis

Excellent experience, couldn't do my job without it

PROS

Macabacus has several powerful features that make your life much easier. Features include automatically formatting cells to indicate hard-codes, vs formulas vs links to other sheets/workbooks. More advanced capabilities include tracing dependents and precedents across multiple sheets or workbooks with automated highlighting and drill-down features. Powerpoint features are also very helpful including advanced alignment/sizing functions. Very easy to install and use.

CONS

Macabacus can be buggy at times. You have to be careful when performing certain actions as it can slow down/crash your workbook if you give it too much to do. There should be an option to catch Macabacus before doing a very large operation that will take a long time. Additionally, it can be a pain to upgrade Macabacus when new versions are released as it requires administrator rights and needs to be manually installed, does not automatically deploy via software center or other administrator tools as far as I am aware.

Miranda

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Macabacus is the most time efficient, helpful Excel add-in

PROS

I find the integration with Excel, the customization tools for modelling and formatting and the ease of use to be exceptional. The customizable shortcuts have saved me loads of time and I find it to be a critical tool for all of my Excel usage.

CONS

It takes some time to set up and reorder customization of cycles and shortcuts to be most consistent with what I'm used to. It also had to be replicated on second and third desktops (as opposed to carrying over my customization and preferences with a sign on function).

Edward

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Review of Macabacus

PROS

Macabacus has extremely comprehensive Excel functions (Tracing dependents, 'super' search, keyboard shortcuts) and in PPT is just as helpful (Copying format, shape sizes, aligning sizes, importing pictures from Excel)

CONS

I find Macabacus slower in large workbooks, especially relative to other Excel plugins, which render it sometimes almost unusable and frustrating

Lars

Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

need more turbo sharps and more adv. charts

its great, but would like to see more turbo sharps and more adv. charts, since the pre-defined options would save alot of time trying to get/make the right illustration

PROS

easy to use, with good ways of test QA and QC

CONS

i would love to see more turbo sharps and more adv. charts. and maybe a simple way to make your own sharps and charts (fit for purpose), that can be shared/saved (e.g decision trees, Box and Whisker Plot, CSAT Score Bar Chart, Funnel Chart, Overlapping Bar Chart, Radial Bar Chart, Sankey Diagram, Slope Chart, Sunburst Chart,

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Thoughts Around Macabacus After 2 Years of Use

My overall experience has been great and Macabacus has improved my productivity.

PROS

For powerpoint, I utilize the formatting shortcuts daily and find it to be the most useful tool. For excel, I mainly use macabacus for precedent and dependent tracking. However, there are other good tools such as shortcuts for formatting.

CONS

The interaction between powerpoint and excel through Macabacus can be unreliable and I believe the excel functionalities via Macabacus can be advertised better and have clearer use cases.

Idan

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Extremely helpful for navigating between office

PROS

Live presentation linking to .ppt from .xlsx and formula tracing are unrivaled features in the market

CONS

Occasionally plug-in simply disappears and needs to be restarted

Danny

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

I can never go back…

Love it. I can’t use excel without it.

PROS

The features of Macabacus became second nature and I can honestly say - I’ll never go back the time before Macabacus came along. Huge fan of this product and they keep improving every day. Highly recommend.

CONS

I think you could expand upon the chart templates and improve their ease of use. I’d love to see the ability to populate a form word or ppt document from an excel table.

Arthur

Investment Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

No complaints!

PROS

Similar to factset shortcuts and the user interface is intuititive

CONS

Sometimes it will suddenly not become available and needs to be reinstalled

Reasons for switching to Macabacus

Factset was not offered my my company

Will

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Excellent Visualization Tool

PROS

I use Macabacus visualizations throughout my board presentations and for other charts and analyses. It is far easier to use than the native Office presentation functionality, and allows for the easy creation of impactful & persuasive visuals.

CONS

Sometimes Macabacus feels clunky to use when working in Excel and Powerpoint.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Financial Modeling Comment

Macabacus is amazing when you learn how to use it, however the learning process is long and sometimes too difficult to junior people. I'll recommend to give some video tutorials to begineer and new users.

PROS

quick formulas such as CAGR, common errors detections, charts template,

CONS

How to standardize slide on templates, how to quickly link textboxes on ppt and excel

Sia

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

great tool for excel

PROS

I love all the advanced modeling tools, keyboard shortcuts, making analysis more efficient

CONS

The learning curve. There are so many functions I know I'm not using and I wish there were more efficient ways to know and learn and master them, and incorporate them into my daily work

zariq

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Macabacus Review

PROS

Tracing formula function is amazing, and th e simplicity to use it the formula. Based on other competitors using the functions are easy

CONS

at times when the files are huge using Macabacus could delay the speed and at times the model will hang.

Jp

Investment Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Necessary

Easy and simple to use. Helps me on a daily basis.

PROS

Easy and simple to use. Helps me on a daily basis.

CONS

Have not had any issues. I have heard of colleagues sometimes having trouble with plug-in disappearing.

Benjamin

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Great product

Great! Asloi great human team. Garrett Burchett is great support for us

PROS

It makes my life easier in Excel an PPT. Specially with comands that are faster than going through excel. Also good charting and chart update futures

CONS

Maybe more client training. I suspect i am not using multiple useful functions

Reason for choosing Macabacus

I like it better and bette pricing

Juan

Logistics and Supply Chain, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Macabacus

PROS

For tracing dependents and precedents is great and for importing charts to PPT

CONS

Very frequent updates where I have to close all Office windows

Ni

Investment Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Great software with lots of functionality

PROS

Lots of helpful functionalities that substantially increases efficiency. Allows for many keyboard shortcut customizations including autocolouring, tracing, number formatting, etc.

CONS

There were difficulties with billing/integration with enterprise accounts and personal accounts.

Mark

Investment Management, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Time saver!

PROS

It’s saved me hundreds of hours over the years!

CONS

When a macro fails, you will very likely lose your file. Good luck.

Jake

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

reivew

great