All ScreenPal Reviews

1-25 of 87 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2023

Buyer beware!!

User Profile

Kelly

Verified reviewer

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Has all of the essential screen capture/editing features but super easy to use

PROS

Screen-Cast-O-Matic is the easiest screen capture software I've used, and in 20 years as a corporate trainer I've used a lot of them. Capturing the screen is very similar to other software of this type. It's the editing features that make the big difference. I'm able to easily cut, blur, highlight, zoom in, etc. in just seconds. No other screen capture software that I've used is this easy. I also like the video picture in picture feature.

CONS

The only issue I've had with this software is when I got a new computer with a high resolution monitor. The software isn't made to work at high resolution and the interface is very tiny. I have to record, and then relaunch allowing the system to adjust the scaling in order to the editing. I did report this to the company but it doesn't seem to have been fixed yet.

Reason for choosing ScreenPal

It had more video editing features.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

I switched because the price was so much cheaper, but I love the functionality so much better.

User Profile

Tolu

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Easy to use Screen Recorder

I have used Screencast-O-Matic for recording digital product reviews on YouTube and for making short tutorials and it has worked well. What I like the most about it is how it allows me to make edits on the recorded video very easily, making the video look professional.

PROS

Screencast-O-Matic makes it so easy to record any part of your screen and edit your recordings. I use it for recording some of my tutorial videos or making digital product review videos for YouTube. You can record your webcam or external camera, import your own videos or stock videos, audio, add text, shapes, etc and save all your files online. You can also upload to YouTube directly if you chose to.

CONS

Some of the features in the paid version are available for free on other platforms, but if money isn't the issue, then it is worth paying for. Not recommended if you want to stream games.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

I was looking for an alternative that could speed up the video editing process.

Patricia

Online Media, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2024

Often doesn't work right

I didn't use to have problems, but lately it is hit or missive it will work.

PROS

I did love the ease of ScreenPal to do recordings, but it so often freezes and I can't even exit it from my computer. Several times I have uninstalled and reinstalled, but it is just a pain to have to continue to deal with this issue.

CONS

Doesn't want to function on a regular basis.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

I have some other options, but had liked this one better.

Craig

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Great price for more than I need

I've had a great time working with ScreenPal over the past couple of years. I have other software that can screen-capture, but this one is pretty lightweight - fires up quickly and doesn't bog my system down when using it. It does its job well, and includes extra features within the same price point that makes it a great tool in my arsenal.

PROS

The price point is great for what I use/need from ScreenPal. I really just needed screen/video capture for explainers/"how to" videos, and have been really satisfied with that. Over time, I've dug into the other features (like "building"/"storyboarding" videos, recording narration first and stepping through the video capture, etc. These are more than I needed, but included in the price it makes this product a real bargain.

CONS

I personally have a hard time getting the drawing features to work properly for me. Not that they *don't* work, but don't seem intuitive or easy to initiate while I'm screen-capturing.

User Profile

Marco

Verified reviewer

Translation and Localization, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Essential tool for our video production

I'm using SOM to create all our company's screencasts, tutorials and short presentation videos. It's intuitive, fast, and does everything we need (with the above exceptions).

PROS

I especially like the video editor, whose interface is uncommon, but really comfortable to use, different from any other tool I considered. And you have tons of options to create very sophisticated videos.

CONS

Right now, when you overlay an element to your video (such as another video or an image), you don't see its coordinates, so it's difficult to create 2 different videos with elements in the same spot. I'm also missing a quicker way to generate GIF previews in order to share videos via email. And finally, I'd like more options to embed videos to emails, because the current iFrame and oEmbed aren't correctly rendered by Gmail, for instance.

Reason for choosing ScreenPal

Because it's Java based and we can use it on all company's computers, regardless of their OS.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

I'm still using both CloudApp and Loom, but when we need a proper video editor, we only use SOM.

User Profile

Fazl

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Video editing tool for multiple

PROS

The best thing which we liked about this product is that we can work as an organization instead of an individual and we can share our content with our peers and make it password protected.

CONS

needs more improvement towards adding more content in its library for font types, background, interface, audio, and transitions from one slide to another.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

It was licensed for 1 user and it did not have any security or content sharing features.

Mike

Law Enforcement, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

ScrrenPal's takeover of Screen-o-Matic provides promise, but still hasn't delivered.

I'm only able to produce low to mid-level content doe to its klunky operation.

PROS

Web-based tools that help me produce learning content. The price is not ridiculous.

CONS

It is not user-friendly. Too many functions require me to look up a web link to access that function. It doesn't have its own connections to its own features. When a feature is upgraded, there is barely any information about it. There needs to be a robust and friendly Knowlege Base for all features and integrations.

Reason for choosing ScreenPal

I did not make a full switch. There needs to be better training content for ScreenPal, similar to TechSmith's.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

TechSmith provides smooth operation and integration. However, Camtasia and SnagIt are installed applications that are tiresome to apply constant updates to the local pc.

Vendor Response

Hi Mike! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Knowing how we can improve the experience for you and other ScreenPal users is really helpful. We'd love to learn more about how we can improve - if you would be open to sharing more feedback, please reach out to us at marketing@screenpal.com. Thanks!

Replied August 2023

Arik

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

ScreenPal

PROS

Simplicity in basic features. Very user- friendly interface

CONS

1.While recording the video it's difficult to find where to truncate since the time line is very dense. Takes a long time to find.2. No feature of improving sound quality such as equalizer or cutting out noises.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

Simplicity

User Profile

Neel Kamal

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

My go to screen recording software

I'm quite satisfied with the software and it does the job of screen recording very well.

PROS

The intuitive and minimal interface is very good for creating good quality screen recordings with it. It also offers royalty free music and stock images and videos to juice up your productions.

CONS

The editing capabilities are limited. A multi track or multilayer editor will be much helpful.

Reason for choosing ScreenPal

Due to lower cost.

Rev Canon Prof John

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Review of ScreenPal

I have had a very good experience with the system.

PROS

Screen recording and camera as well as editing

CONS

The appearance of the framework has changed a bit comparing to the previous one before the name change.

User Profile

Heidi

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Amped up screen recorder that is still easy to use.

I have used many tools from simple to complex and this tool has all I need, when I need it.

PROS

Screencast-O-Matic has been a welcome addition to my weekly online learning tools. It can be used for giving anyone a direct link to video directions you create to weekly lesson plan coverage. All videos can be edited from items ranging to adding music to blurring out unwanted images on the video. This comes in handy as a staff leader for creating "How-to" videos for our staff. It also is easily integrated with most learning management systems like Schoology and Google classroom for example.

CONS

There are many tools to choose from when editing, which can take a bit to use, but most are not needed, but can be useful when needed.

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

I needed a few more options to edit.

tim

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Love Screenpal

used it for 5+ years and it allows us to quickly create quality content

PROS

ease of use - so easy! we build courses and mini modules for about 5 product lines and client are always blown away by our response time

CONS

not sure maybe more features like AI at some pt

Reasons for switching to ScreenPal

they got acquired and they jacked up price and took away features

User Profile

Eric

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Awesome video editing software

I need to create custom recordings of software functionality for internal and external audiences. Screencast-O-Matic makes it easy to create a quick high quality video with transitions, effects, text, easily edit in and take out content... it's just great.

PROS

It's easy, responsive, and just awesome. I use it nearly every day to record edit and then easily share/post up to my YouTube channel to then distribute to customers and colleagues quality videos.

CONS

Nothing really, it more than meets my needs.

Stephen

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2023

Disappointing

Terrible.

PROS

The application is very buggy and crashes all my pcs.

CONS

I was a user of Screencastomatic (the previous Brand) for 6 years. see below what they wrote next to my profile "You have been a member for 2244 days and have 810 videos and 0 images! Whoa!"In 6 years, Screencastomatic was very reliable. It never caused any issue on any of my computer.Recently they changed the name to Screenpal.Since then, the app keeps crashing my PCs. The app is unusable. It says that I failed to download the latest version but Nothing on my end seems to indicate that.Whomever bought the company screwed it up very fast.All they needed to do was to leave it alone. This is really a case of: If it ain't broke don't fix it.I am curretly looking for another solution.

Eric

Accounting, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Lots of features for a low price

Overall, I've had nothing but positive experiences with this software. The price is affordable if you need the added premium features, but the quality is the same even on the free version!

PROS

You can go from download to recording in only a few minutes--there isn't a complex setup. Recording is quick and easy to do and the ability to store videos locally or online is great. The paid version is very affordable for anyone who needs the added features.

CONS

Some people would say that the lack of built-in editing features is a negative but that's not what you're paying for. Honestly, there really isn't much that I don't like about the program.

Antonio

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

A great tool

I have tried several tools and this is the best considering price, features and ease of use.

PROS

The learning curve is short, intuitive product with many features.

CONS

Sometimes when I upload content to YouTube, the video recording is not of good quality.

Reason for choosing ScreenPal

I have tried several tools and this is the best considering price, features and ease of use.

Suzanne

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Video Editing made Easy!

Excellent customer service and helped me so efficiently with a pricing query.

PROS

They’ve thought about all the features you might require to create great videos. Having the ability to add in music background and high quality photos is great for my content as a yoga teacher.

CONS

I’ve created my own in PowerPoint but I’d love to see Cue Card availability. When I first started using this I got very confused about the uploading video facility so I’d recommend you watch the very helpful tutorials or you record directly into the system.

Purvi

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

One of the best apps for screen recording and capturing the screenshots

PROS

Very easy to install the app and capture videos and screenshots. It allows to edit the videos and provide shareable link. As a QA engineer, I can easily record the videos of the bugs and issues and share it with developers and team members.

CONS

Can be improved further for storing the recordings.

marcos

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Good tool to record your screen

It's a tool I've been using for years to share videos of my screen at work. It's easy to use and fast. Since I bought it the first time it has almost doubled in price, but for now I'm still here.

PROS

Easy to use and very stable. With the subscription you get a repository where you can host your videos and share them easily and quickly.

CONS

Even if you choose the highest quality, the videos you upload to the repository have some loss of quality.

Lindsey

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: