All Lighthouse Studio Reviews

1-25 of 155 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Safaa

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

SSI Web review

PROS

easy of use any one can use it even with no programming experience

CONS

copy & paste not working don't have GPS locations don't have to upload photos or videos

Allan

Market Research, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

My Review

Love using the tool. Makes my life easier.

PROS

Great product. Covers all the bases. Really easy to use. Easy to set up Designs. Easy to do any type of analysis for Total Sample.

CONS

No way to produce results by subgroups. Would like to be able to save the results from the iterations.

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

Just overall a better product. Easier to use. Better support. Run by the people who developed and expanded this approach

Jill

Market Research, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2020

MaxDiff great, CBC limited

PROS

MaxDiff software is easy to use, flexible. I like the TURF feature.

CONS

CBC designs and modeling options are limited. Support is spotty when have more complex choice questions.

Reasons for switching to Lighthouse Studio

Ease of use. Design support. Support staff. Training and webinars.

Andrew

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Powerful, thoughtful, and easy to use

PROS

I have saved so much time with Sawtooth because it's programming platform and analysis capabilities are so powerful. Many pain points using DIY survey platforms are gone now that I am using Lighthouse more frequently. Many times it feels like the software has read my mind by providing easy solutions and options to fit my needs. At first I thought the software was going to difficult to use because it doesn't look as snazzy and modern as some other platforms, but it is very user-friendly.

CONS

No cons so far. I'm still learning the software though and will be using it for more clients moving forward.

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

We are actually using SurveyGizmo and Lighthouse Studio, but I chose Lighthouse over Qualtrics because it was more affordable, more powerful, and I trusted Sawtooth more than Qualtrics. Anytime I deal with Qualtrics I feel like they are just out to make money. It's like going to a car dealership or mechanic. Sawtooth seems to genuinely care about me as a user and helping me do my best work.

Vijay

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2020

Great could be greater

PROS

More user friendly than others to run design and optimizing outputs

CONS

Software glitches and would be great if outputs can be customized (zero centered utilities)

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

Most recommended for specific needs (product conjoint)

Reasons for switching to Lighthouse Studio

More user friendly, able to have people without much programming expertise to make do with analysis.

Andrea

Human Resources, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Excellent software for conjoint and maxdiff

PROS

The support is outstanding. Excellent online forums -- 90% of my questions were already asked and answered by someone else. When I couldn't find an answer to my question there, I'd email or call Sawtooth and have a detailed, helpful answer practically immediately.

CONS

Nothing. I really enjoy everything about this product.

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

The support, and the ability to create much more complex models with sawtooth.

Paul

Market Research, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Why Lighthouse Studio should be in your consideration set

I have been using the Lighthouse Studio since 2006. It has steadily grown in that time with more and more features / improvement included constantly across the journey. The Sawtooth Software team listen to their clients. They encourage you to voice your opinion. They regularly seek out your feedback for the good of their products. They really do get it right.

PROS

It contains all the standard survey question types and many of the more complex / customised question types that other software includes. It has the ability to add customised features / programming via HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Perl, etc. As with any software you become familiar with, it is easy to navigate your way around the menus and features within. The Sawtooth Software support is world class. It consists of a vibrant online forum and a generous and friendly help desk direct from Sawtooth Software themselves. I rely heavily on their ongoing support.

CONS

I guess self interest kicks in here. There are a couple of features I would love to see included such as a bulk emailer, carousels (programmed by Sawtooth Software rather than me) and file uploading within a survey.

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

Lighthouse Studio was reasonably priced for small-medium-large users (it catered for all shapes and sizes). I also heard their support tools (e.g. forum, help desk, etc.) was outstanding, and from experience, this became fact.

Reasons for switching to Lighthouse Studio

Surveycraft catered for CATI, CAPI, CADE and scanning projects. It did not have the ability to cover web surveys. My colleague and I reviewed a number of other software options at the time (such as Plenari, Dimensions, Confirmit, etc.) but found these to be too expensive and lacked ongoing support.

Steve

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

With you for the long run

Lighthouse, although we don't fully utilize every feature, is exactly what we needed to accomplish the MaxDiff tasks for both our research teams and clients. If you're not sure how do do something, call them. I can almost guarantee they have the exact something you need and will definitely help you through everything. They are among the smartest in the industry and know the ins and outs of everything they give us the ability to accomplish. So even if you get everything set up, but just don't fully understand the results, they can easily help with that as well. If you're on the fence, I would highly recommend this side as the greener one.

PROS

I have used Sawtooth Software since their first days of Ci2 back in the 90s. I've used their interviewing software (CATI/CAPI), went with to Ci3 and then Sensus as they entered the Web space. Their software has always been on point, giving you all of the features needed for a complete market research system. Since the early days, I have morphed to different systems with different companies, but have come back to Lighthouse for its ability to help run MaxDiff designs. We set everything up in Sawtooth, transfer the design to our interviewing software, import it back to Lighthouse, run the scores and upload it to the online analyzer. Our teams, and even some clients really love the ease of the online analyzer that also includes TURF analysis side-by-side with the MaxDiff analysis.

CONS

They have SO many choices for researchers, sometimes it can be difficult to know which is best for you, but if you tell them what you are trying to do, they'll get you to the exact product/service/logic you need.

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

It was the best solution for our needs and it doesn't hurt to have a 30 year history with using the company's software. With the wealth of knowledge they have, and have shared with the industry, this is not just a software company. They are a partner in research.

User Profile

chum

Verified reviewer

Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2020

Lighthouse Studio Survey

PROS

Form and Tools of survey design are easy to use.

CONS

Some tools are missing like tool for create GPS, Voice record and Take photo during survey. These tools should include.

User Profile

Aastha

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

LightHouse Studio Review - 2020

PROS

Very flexible, Supports Conjoint scripting and design.

CONS

Drag and Drop functionalities like Decipher/Qualtrics

Megan

Market Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

The Gold Standard for Choice Based Research

We use Lighthouse Studio for 100% of our projects because of it's flexibility and power. I can program anything my clients can come up and trust that the conjoint modules are the vetted and correct. Not to mention, if I ever have an issue, the Customer Support team is always there to help answer my questions.

PROS

Sawtooth Software is the most powerful choice based survey and analysis tool that exists today. I can easily create a conjoint or maxdiff exercise along with programming non-conjoint questions. Not to mention, I can completely customize my designs or survey as needed. Our business uses Sawtooth Software as the sole programming software for our research needs. We also leverage Sawtooth's incredible customer support hotline and their online user forum when we have tricky questions and need help. The support team is amazing!

CONS

The desktop software may look a little dated, but its power and capabilities overcome this!

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

There is no question that Lighthouse Studio is the absolute best conjoint analysis survey and analysis tool. Other vendors/products were not even considered.

Mark

Market Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

The Best Software Package For Conjoint and Maxdiff Data Collection and Analysis

Sawtooth Software delivers a high-end, user friendly, robust software package, high level support personnel and access to them, when the need is there, that allows our business to service our customer's needs in their market research. We are fortunate to be able to present to our clients the latest research techniques and solutions with Sawtooth Software's Lighthouse Studio.

PROS

The ability to build custom studies in conjoint analysis and maximum difference scaling for our client's market research needs for data collection and comprehensive analysis. I have been using this software for a very long time. I am excited for each new release of more advanced function, the integration of new techniques, and new data analysis I've have the opportunity to provide our clients. And besides the software, I am always impressed by their superb support. They care about the problem and their users.

CONS

I love the software. I love the support. I love the expertise exhibited by the developers and support personal.

Markus

Market Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Powerful application with special special needs to achieve your goal

We do custom made conjoints, not the usual conjoints, always with special needs. :o) I always use JavaScript and Perl for this task.

PROS

It is very easy to setup simple surveys. The integrated conjoint estimation is quick to learn and easy to use. Good documentation and I always find hints in the forum.

CONS

Some variables (i.e. CurrentTask) are not available, if you setup a custom made CBC. You always have to to a workaround. If you write code, you always have to remind what piece of code is in which part of the program. It´s easy to loose oversight. Randomization of design is not available in Conjoints. If you setup a study on 8 computers at the same time, they all start from the beginning of the design. => Workaround: Using different designs for every computer. Multilanguage isn´t really supported. Again, a workaround with lists is necessary. Otherwise you have to setup a survey for every language.

Amber

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Sawtooth Software is top notch

We have been using Sawtooth Software for many years and intend to continue using it for many years to come.

PROS

Our company utilizes Sawtooth Software for many different uses and we are always pleased with the robust options for customizing for our various needs. When we need the software to do something that isn't available out of the box, the Sawtooth team has helped us find ways to accomplish what we need the software to do for us.

CONS

Sawtooth has many sophisticated options and it tries to bridge the gap between the deeply technical capabilities and making the software easy to use, but sometimes the learning curve can be steep.

Reason for choosing Lighthouse Studio

Sawtooth Software has a wide range of capabilities, including very complex streaming.

Prashanth

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Powerful Tool, steep learning curve

We program surveys to gather market insights for our clients.

PROS

Hands down sawtooth is the most powerful tool for survey programming out there. While more competitors are not incorporating some of the advanced functionalities into their platforms, sawtooth is still well ahead on most aspects.

CONS

There is a steep learning curve. You need to be pretty comfortable with a lot is scripting etc in order to unlock the full potential of it. So definitely not the go to tool for a novice or a very simple survey.

Julie

Market Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Easy to use Survey Softwar

Overall it's been easy to work with, and the proactive development and bug squashing is great.

PROS

Ease of data output. The robust data output options make it easy to pull data for multiple reports and client needs from the same data set at the same time. The ability to recode the data responses by question makes using the same response list between questions painless, even in situations when the same response text has different codes across different questions.

CONS

Grid rows can't be named. There are times when some questions need to be presented in a grid format, but the only thing the questions have in common are their responses, and the names for these variables have to be changed in another software package, as there is no way to change these labels within the grid.

Reasons for switching to Lighthouse Studio

Cost and Customer Support

Jay

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Great overall product with unbeatable customer service!

PROS

I like that it is relatively easy to use and customizable for enhanced use. There are a lot of add-on customized scripts available for use as well.

CONS

There are some features that are not available out of the box that I've seen in other similar software. It would be nice to have it offer everything it's competitors do.

Reasons for switching to Lighthouse Studio

Much more user friendly with conjoint programming available.

Scott

Consumer Goods, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT