All Monograph Reviews

1-25 of 229 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Daniel

Design, 2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2024

Monograph Review: A Software that Allows you to Work Efficiently!

User Profile

Lea

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Beautiful and Transparent Firm and Project Management Tool

We've been able to solve our issue of having tons of data in different places, unable to reconcile them - assignments, pipeline/backlog, time tracking, budgets, etc. We tried to build something ourselves with the tools we had until we found Monograph, who does it perfectly, and understands what it takes to do architectural projects. The staff is incredible, and the expanded focus they've placed on building a community of practice operations nerds is SO valuable. From the product to the people to the community, they're incredible.

PROS

Monograph is so beautifully designed that my team of architects enjoy looking at an analyzing data now. We love how past, current, and future fee and staffing projections are married together to give us a clear picture of our firm's profitability and staff and project needs. Our firm owners can see high level firm health info, our project managers can see how they're performing on their projects, and our staff can see exactly what they should be working and reporting on. I also appreciate that it's a newer platform that's constantly putting out new updates, features, and functionality.

CONS

We understand that it takes time to build a great product and some things are going to be missing or slightly off as the platform improves. There are some minor annoyances with reporting functions, exporting features, and how resources are assigned work, but we get around it for now. Accurately tracking overhead time and PTO could use major improvement. I'd love to see different user types for guests and/or independent contractors - it's too high of a price point to invite part time 1099 contract staff to use it, but would be very convenient if they could track time directly against our projects on Monograph. I'd also like to see more app integrations.

Reason for choosing Monograph

Past experience w/ Deltek is clunky. I like supporting startups and love what Monograph is doing overall as a company. I'd like to support them in building the best platform for architectural practice ops management.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We've added these items to our request board for the team to review for future enhancements. We'd be happy to set up a call with our customer experience team to learn more about your needs!

Replied May 2022

Erik

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

We love Monograph and use it daily to track time, schedule and budget

Great! So very helpful and easy for my small architecture firm to implement and my staff to use. It keeps everyone abreast of each projects schedule, budget and expenses. The schedule Gannt Chart graphic is awesome. Readily shows our progress, our expenditures and milestones.

PROS

So easy right out of the box for our architecture firm. All the phases, schedules and budgets are prepopulated, just a little editing is needed and you're on your way. It's nice to see Monograph taking our comments and pumping up new and improved features on a regular basis.

CONS

Invariably, our accountants need to use Quickbooks. Which is forcing us to still have QBO. The interface and synchronization between Monograph and QBO is lacking. For one, the invoice numbers get lost and have to be manually checked and plugged into QBO after the fact. A real pain if not done right away. Also, the connection to Quickbooks is lost ever day, which I almost always don't notice until I am at the end of an invoice and have to back out, force the connection and then go back into the invoice to send to QBO. Would be nice to have the connection constant or be able to update it straight from an invoice when we would send data to QBO. Also, if QBO doesn't have the client or project, it won't send the invoice data. Which is less than helpful. Lots of manual back data needed to push a new client, invoice to QBO. Way too much.

Reason for choosing Monograph

Out of the box ease of use. Graphic visualization of a project budget and schedule. Ability to readily and easily edit data, both past and present.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

Quickbooks is not set up for an architecture office with clients with multiple projects, or phases of mixed fee types (hourly & fixed). BQE Core is so very robust and works great for an architecture office. But it is so very difficult to navigate and adjust data, timesheets, schedules. When I last used Core pre-pandemic, schedule visualization and revision was non-existent. Perhaps they have improved upon that, but Monograph makes it so visible and easy to adjust.

steven

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

First impressions....

The benefits are wonderful and I'm really really excited about the program. All of our employees can immediately see the benefit of integrating time management/hours spent on a project with general project management, milestones, and tasks.

PROS

The most impactful part of Monograph has been the project schedule and forecasting. Seeing what we have under contract and seeing the duration of those projects is going to greatly help manage our team and properly set expectations for our clients. I also really love the milestones and task application where we can assign things for people to do and then have a dialog about those things within each project and make sure they have been completed.

CONS

The biggest thing we would like to see change is how project fees are structured. At the moment, it is best set up for fixed fee projects, but all of our contracts are set up with three different fee types: hourly- not to exceed, hourly with no cap, and fixed. It would be helpful to have some customization to the fee structure that can then get assigned to the different phases. For the projects themselves, I would like to see the tasks and milestones be more present on the project overview page and when you navigate to the individual phase of a project, I would like to see the milestones and tasks that are in that phase and be able to add more within that page rather than have to navigate to a separate page that does not show me the gantt chart/schedule. I'm not sure how the expenses tracking feature would really work for us and currently don't see using it. None of our employees generate expenses. Any expenses for a project mostly come in the form of reimbursables (consultants, printing, permitting fees, etc.). A dream down the road would be some integration with Slack that sends a notification to individuals or channels dedicated to that project to notify them of assigned tasks, deadline reminders, etc.

Reason for choosing Monograph

It seems as though Monograph was developed specifically for our industry and the nuances for how we have to structure and track time and billing.

Joe

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Great tool for Architects

We really like Monograph and have full confidence that the monograph team will continue to build this software and refine to become and indispensable tool for us.

PROS

Consolidating multiple software to a single one. Purpose built for the A&E industry with work flow to match. The team is responsive and reachable. The team continues to build the software.

CONS

Not fully built out for multiple service companies. Software is still a little clunky and feels somewhat startup. They have check all the features boxes but not implemented in the best way possible yet. We have seen improvements along the way but are missing a development schedule for feature requests.

Reason for choosing Monograph

Consolidated features. Better workflow for our industry. Better looking software.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

Software not purpose built, hard to get a hold of the team or get feature implemented. fragmented software platforms

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Day in a life of small practice

A very positive experience

PROS

Very accessible and easy to use. The minimal learning curve meant we could have staff up to speed in a week of implementation.

CONS

The cost and the payment options are perhaps the most limiting aspects. As a software geared towards smaller firms, I would have expected a variety of payment options - especially annual subscriptions. Otherwise the price is on the higher side of similar on the market

Reason for choosing Monograph

ease of use, customer service

Reasons for switching to Monograph

does not customise well, poorly fit for smaller firms

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy using Monograph.

Replied May 2022

Rome

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Best Software for Architecture and Design firms out there!

PROS

The reports of profitability, time management, and utilization rate are game-changing in the software.

CONS

They are always improving the software. I wish we could do some purchase orders for products and materials we sell for projects.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

It fit better with our business model and Houzz Pro does not integrate with Quickbooks properly.

Angie

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Easy and fun to use

Within a couple hours, we were hooked. Easy to use and customer service is there if you have any questions and quick to answer.

PROS

how easy it is to use / project management / reports

CONS

implementing data from quickbooks and onboarding takes time but it's worth it

Kyle

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Senior Manager

Monograph is the most comprehensive a cost effective project management tool that we've found. It's infancies are tolerable unlike most of the more well known PM tools we've tried.

PROS

Monograph does a good job managing project scheduling and how it relates for deliverables and billing.

CONS

Monograph falls short in the day to day tasks, actual invoicing and real life management of a project. Sharing timelines with a client is basic and more information could be provide.

Reason for choosing Monograph

Monograph checked the most boxes and was affordable/

Reasons for switching to Monograph

Monday didn't have enough capabilities, Buildertrend was terrible, MS Project wasn't user friendly.

Daniel

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Monograph Review

PROS

I enjoy everything that Monograph has to offer; however, what I enjoy the most is the milestone management. This has been a game-changer for our office. We have a distinctive dashboard display of all milestones that need to be completed that week. I can customize these and change them when needed. Plus, this is a great visualizer for our clients to understand their project timeline better.

CONS

I'm honestly enjoying everything with Monograph.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

Houzz Pro did not provide us with the robust software options as Monograph does.

Andrea

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Easy to Use Project Overview tool

PROS

The time tracking feature billed against the project at a billable rate. This makes the time/money connection and helps plan efforts.

CONS

The task creation. I just prefer something more flexible

User Profile

matthew

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Great start, but needs some work.

Overall, we have been very happy with the implementation of Monograph and the improvements they have been making. We look forward to continuing to use Monograph to help us have a better understanding of our status on all our projects.

PROS

Monograph is great for getting a quick overview of projects and team assignments. The development team has been making significant improvements even in the short time we have been using it. Planning projects is straight foward and the tracking time and money against budgets is super helpful.

CONS

The task management needs a lot of work still. It is clunky and not very user friendly. There is also no easy way to budget for expenses on a project that are not tied directly to an employee's time.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

There were a couple of key reasons we make the switch from Stuidometry. Primarily was the inability within Studiometry to track time against a fixed fee. Secondarily, getting the information we wanted out of studiometry was not intuitive and was corrupted by the work around we came up with for the reason above.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback! We've added these items to our request board for the team to review for future enhancements.

Replied July 2021

Kate

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

A solid software with responsive dev team

PROS

Intuitive and easy to use, very responsive development team that incorporates requests quickly.

CONS

Rapid updates to the software make it hard to keep projects tidy, as protocols for invoices can change mid-project. You can't customize the look of your invoice almost at all.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

Easy to use, integrates with existing systems, has an interface our team actually uses.

Tristan

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great Project Management Tool for Architecture

PROS

Simple and intuitive user interface with great customer service.

CONS

Could use a better search functionality.

Marcella

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Not quite perfect but a huge step up nonetheless

Overall, I would say that my team is pretty happy with everything Monograph has done for us so far. Keep in mind, we're only a month into use. It's taken about 3 weeks to move most of our past data into the software and that's partially due to being a smaller team during a slow period before the next wave of work hits. I'm nitpicking in the cons because this software is genuinely just that close to covering all of the basis our firm needs as far as project management goes and, once they address those issues, this will absolutely save you time and headache in figuring out how well a project's timeline is doing.

PROS

After we reached a point in needing software to manage our several projects, this was absolutely what we need to help keep track of allotting time fairly. Being able to plan your week out in advance, see your timeline and budget, and what hours your teammates are assigned all in once place is a crucial asset for a growing business.

CONS

UI still has a lot of kinks that need to be worked out as well as a few features that many businesses would have a need for. An example of UI is how the time is logged as hourly instead of WHEN you worked (like 3pm-4:30pm in a meeting). Another example is that the time tracking interface on the sidebar can be finicky (such as sometimes the time entries you've created for the day will randomly go missing but reappear when you refresh the page.) Biggest feature missing is while this app is tailor made for managing projects, there's no designated space for Office Management time tracking (such as office meetings, maintenance, marketing, things that can't be charged towards a client). We were told this was a common request that they were working on, but that in the mean time, retrofitting a "project" into office management was the current best practice. Having tasks be somehow integrating into time tracking (such as, associating the hours logged to a task that was assigned) would be incredibly helpful.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

While the previous product was easy to use and great at creating tasks, it was clear it was a general platform for businesses rather than architecture businesses, and we needed something that could tell us where our hours were being assigned.

David

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

A super user-friendly, functional, time and project management option for Architects

We're honestly just getting started, but the company seems very approachable and open to building in features as required. I like the flexibility and nimbleness that they're offering. It's an EASY to understand interface as well.. and that's just the BEST.

PROS

I was really looking for a time tracking and project management tool for our Architects and PM's to be able to actively see how their hours are tracking against contract budgets. Every month, we were using exported xls spreadsheets to review time already spent - and every month, I'd notice that we'd be coming up short on projects. Their "money gantt" feature allows all employees to see how they're tracking on project's profitability in real-time. It's a great tool for both employees and employers to keep everyone on track.

CONS

It's young... meaning that some of the features are still being implemented and developed. However, that's not necessarily a bad thing. New features are coming fast. Integration of customer feedback seems to happen quickly.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

We've been using Deltek for many years - but never fully realized the PM or tracking potential. The interface was just too complicated for the PM's to actively use. We decided to switch to Unanet and were probably 75% into the product set up when it became obvious that it was nothing more than a CLONE of Deltek. They say its code architecture is completely rebuilt from scratch - but the UI is essentially a stripped-down copy of Deltek. Clearly, the developers came out of Deltek and that's all they know. Monograph is completely different. While it's lacking some of the integrated accounting functionality, it's user interface is so easy to use that we feel that it's actually going to be used to everyone's advantage

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind feedback! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy using Monograph.

Replied July 2021

Dawn

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

We like Monograph

The Monograph team is incredibly receptive to feedback and is truly interested in helping their clients succeed.

PROS

This software is fairly easy to implement and use. We appreciate that it allows us to track time for jobs. The Gantt charts are very helpful to planning our work.

CONS

The invoicing feature needs a lot of improvement. It would be nice to be able to see how much you're likely to be able to invoice each month, based on the contracts and the hours spent on each job. It would also be nice if the invoicing feature could total the amount invoiced as you create invoices. I understand that there are some updates planned soon that should address these issues, though.

Reasons for switching to Monograph

We were frustrated with the lack of support we received from the Squava team. They actually told us that they had clients with much bigger firms and they'd cater their updates to them. We were small fry for them and they made that clear to us whenever we had complaints or suggestions.

Vendor Response

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying Monograph! We're currently in the process of enhancing our Invoicing. You'll be notified within your dashboard once the updates have been released! You can also stay in the loop on updates by visiting monograph.canny.io/changelog

Replied July 2021

Ana

Architecture & Planning, 201-500 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Innovative and made by architects for architects

It has a lot of potential but it competes in the market with free tools that do some of the same things.

PROS

I discovered this software at an AIA conference and brought my conversations about it back home to my office. It was so cool to me how it was organized, with different ways of organizing your work and projecting time planned in different ways. It’s a pretty robust planning tool. The fact that it allows you to track dollars, as well as manage weekly work planning and requests , is pretty