All Open DevOps Reviews

1-25 of 272 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Gokul

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Atlassian JIRA Software Review

My Overall experience in JIRA is 3 years at this point and we started using it from the Year 2016. This is used in an project called recovery with the count of 25 developers from India/USA/Canada and several business end users on the same. The stiry was easily created and went thruough several phases till deployment. I would say JIRA ease my works in managing the stories since I am the PO for whole board and connecting developers/business end users for moving the stories and completing the same.

PROS

Basically there are lot of likes about this software: 1. Clear Tracking of what is going on in the project along with version needs to be deployed. 2. Ability to Use Kanban, Scrum and other Agile methodologies in JIRA Software. 3. Ability to flag the stories which is in impediment which will show to everyone on when it was started and when it was impended. 4. Easily keep tracking of Backlog for future works and deployments that needs to be made. 5. Ability to bulk update the stories for certain categories like version, points or any others. 6. Easy in terms of reporting to generate using JQL (JIRA query language).

CONS

Some of the cons in JIRA are: 1. Some times it was ended with deadlock leads to slowness. This happens when certain users running the report across the JIRA. 2. Security is less since we can see any ones board and get to know the statuses across the enterprise. 3. JIRA is costly since it per user licenses and whole organisation have to pay according to the usages.

Piotr

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Everyday task management for everyone.

As a tester, I am using Jira daily. My main activities are creating/updating bug tickets, updating task statuses, arrange and planning my future work. Jira is a great tool, on a basic level, it is intuitive to use. A huge amount of functionalities that are built in and integrated make work much more efficient. Bug and task tracking are easy and quick. Everyone with access can check what is the progress or the latest updates on a selected topic. Customization of features is amazing, Jira admin can adapt almost everything to the company's needs. If anything is not clear, customer service is happy to help and assist with all queries. In case the existing functionalities are not enough, it is a possibility to install external plugins from the shop that can extend capabilities. On the other hand, Jira can be problematic. It is a huge software with a large number of modules that can interfere with each other. Especially if modified by an inexperienced admin, e.g. a small change in a workflow can affect all projects that are in the company. It is vital to know what are you doing as an admin. Also, if users need new functionality, it can be reported in the Jira forum, which is tracking similar requests - unfortunately, a lot of them are there for years without updates, despite users constantly asking about that. I assume this may be because of the software itself, but explanations would be nice. All in all, it is an amazing piece of code despite the high price and minor problems!

PROS

A great number of functionalities. On the basic level is intuitive. Vast possibilities for adaptation and customization. Rather easy to integrate with other apps. A huge number of plugins. Customer service - in terms of personal help to do something

CONS

Some features are limited (e.g. filtering) Customer service - in terms of requests to add new/change existing functionalities. Rather high price

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

Jira has a lot more functionalities, support, and possibilities for customization. In my opinion, it is much better than Redmine in every aspect (except the pricing).

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

Getting used to Jira

My use in Jira as a quality assurance officer is to manage, create, and follow up on Jiras to help developers with their work, the basic requirements for a good project management software are there however actual usability functions that allow you to make your work easier are not found. Everything feels slow and laggy and the search just breaks your heart since you can never find what you are looking for unless you know the Exact keyword or Jira number.

PROS

Jira helps you gather all the information about your development progress in one place. You can create different types of issues like To-DO, bugs ,tasks and epics. You are able to circle through different boards depending on your project which opens up the door for supporting a good number of projects while on the same web app. There are many helpful features to each "Jira" you open in order to identify its importance, priority and who is responsible for tracking and solving that "Jira".

CONS

The cons are down to accessibility, ease of use, and readability. Many features that should be automatically found such as easier Advanced filter access when searching, or viewing boards more easier, ability to click save instead of saving automatically which send unnecessary notifications to users. Cannot place notifications on specific projects when new jiras are created.

Carla

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Jira is Great for Development, but only Good for Creative

A great way to track deadlines between silos and especially developers.

PROS

Jira is out of the box free, and it's amazing because it works with everything by the same company. It also allows for easy organization of projects and silos, which intersect with each other. You can easily hand off tasks and allow people to collaborate.

CONS

Jira has a very development based angle, so if you're trying to manage a hybrid team, it works well. But if your team is marketing heavy, it's very anti-user friendly unless a person has familiarity with code or databases. It's just sparse and less user friendly.

Reason for choosing Open DevOps

It had nice integrations like Trello and was easy to share between developers AND marketers.

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

Wanted more customization

Boris

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Best way to track time and tasks

I have used Jira in a few projects and every time it proved to be a reliable and productive solution. Mostly we use Jira to keep track of our developer's time in the Kanban board. It is a great tool that allows the developers to actually show us how hard they work and what tasks they tackled. Jira has increased productivity in all projects I used it in.

PROS

Tracking tasks is a time consuming effort, and one that is easy to forget. Luckily, there is Jira. Jira lets you track your tasks and time spent on them without encroaching on your day. It is easy to set up (once you know what you are doing), easy to use, and a delight to look at. It provides the time tracking and issue tracking tools that any serious project requires.

CONS

It is hard to set up the first time. You need to know which functions you need and which you should remove. But once you set it up and know how it works, it is a treat to work with it.

Reason for choosing Open DevOps

Mostly because it seemed more customizable of the two.

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

Trello is a nice idea organization board, but for true time tracking and issue tracking we needed Jira.

Edwin

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2022

Great innovated tracking tool

All our users/developers having no bad experience provide us and quickly access of what we need to do.

PROS

This jira web application has a lot of features to manage or agile projects from small teams to big teams from more than 20 people. Great connection with other applications like confluence.

CONS

Sometime it can be very slow when a lot of users using this portal. Or when there is a bug in a new version of jira when we cannot save or update tickets can be very annoying in a production project. Make sure that the update doesn’t brake anything.

Reason for choosing Open DevOps

Provide a lot of features and grateful for corporate companies like banks.

Roshni

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Maintain your workflow according to your priorities

The scrums boards are a delight to the heart while beginning each day of work. Work of software developers has become easy. Workloads can be fitted in a scrum board to manage the tasks effectively. It gives a view to keep a check on the completeness of individual work.

PROS

Sprint planning is easy and very helpful. Productivity is enhanced many folds after using this. Team work becomes stronger Easy to convey things between a team Easy to track team member's work Team performance becomes efficient Integration with tools makes the tasks efficient to process Product road map made easier than ever Used by software developers of Expedia

CONS

Certain limitations are:- In the beginning it is difficult to get used to it. Collaboration feature is missing It is basically made for software developers. A little expensive In the beginning managing tasks can be a challenge

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

Jira makes the work more productive and clear vision.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

next level project management tool

Good tool for project managers and developers/analysts. Meets all modern requirements of a project management tool.

PROS

self explaining, a lot of ways to customize to meet your requirements in the project. Not only useful for project managers, but also for developers/analysts.

CONS

I have seen several instances and the tool seems to work a bit slow overall. Also when multiple users work on the same item simultaniously there are issues sometimes. Dark theme is totally missing.

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

Sharepoint was custom and effort to keep it up to date was too big.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Best tool for Project & Product management

Very useful , easy to use and track and monitor project management activities

PROS

We used Jira every day for development and Product management for creating, assigning and updating tickets ,user stories and tasks.

CONS

Though it's A very useful and easy to use and riched with features but scrum methodology I think Azure devops board is far better in sprint management

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

Since our product was in production so jira was more suitable option in Agile Kanban Project Management

User Profile

Gabriel

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Expensive but extremely effective for project management

In a few words JIRA is a task tracking software that makes life easier when working on a project. Once the initial setup is in place (easy to do for common scenarios ) all is left for an administrator is to manage the list of projects and user accounts. Note that parts of the process (e.g.: customizing workflows) need to be done up-front, since this will become more complex once one or more projects are configured and in-use As for usability, it is one of the best tracking systems I've ever used: as a developer/QA you can easily update the status of your work in a user-friendly way. As a manager, you can always get the overview you need by just opening a screen or a report (most of what you need is in place by default) What's best about it is that as long as it is installed on-premises, it can be used as a central point of information for everyone involved with a project. The fact that it can be integrated with other common software industry tools adds further benefit from this. In the end, I should probably add that I've been using all kinds of bug tracking systems for about 15 years (starting with ancient tools like redmine going through PivotalTracker or VersionOne or JIRA) and almost all of them were either missing features that I deemed important or "spartan" usage/layouts that constraint the usage. JIRA just provides everything that's needed in completing a project out-of-the-box (whether it's Agile, Waterfall or Kanban or whatnot)

PROS

- Overviews & quick access to information - Possibility to integrate with most commonly used systems (it integrates with pretty much all mainstream tools, nut just the ones from Atlassian) - you can integrate it even with continuous integration tools or test management tools (e.g. TestRails) - Security control (everything is fine grained, tools to configure fine-grain access are already integrated - Comes out of the box with the most common work scenarios (client onside/offsite, development only/development + product management, etc) - Reporting (easy to extract the things that matter (whether this is worked hours or development velocity) - Version management (easy to manage what features are grouped in a release, or what fixtures were done for which version) - Workflows can be customized to match just about any real-life usage scenario - Allows for both on-premises (self-hosted) installation and cloud usage. - Configurable dashboards

CONS

- Pricing - it is prohibitively expensive for small companies, although they are making steps to minimize this with the new pricing models (e.g.: a few years ago they started allowing up to 5 accounts per project and unlimited projects, for a fixed yearly fee).

Simon

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Very productive

Working on jira is very easy, and makes all the work organized, I like to use it because it keeps track for everything, every ticket and comment and changes.

PROS

When I started using Jira, it was the first time I was in an Agile environment, it was perfect, the best features are the backlog, how to track tickets, and how to manage sprints, also the relations tickets is also important because sometimes tickets are dependent from other tickets which Jira makes it clear and visible.

CONS

Free tier lacks a lot of featuers, and some small teams don't need a big plan

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

The new project was on Jira not Devops (not my choice)

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

I have used Jira both as part of a team of developers and also as a Project Manager managing a team.

Jira helped us to more easily manage multiple teams of software developers and gather feedback from end users for several large applications that we were developing which were at various stages of completion and usability. We were able to use our available resources in a much more optimal and seamless manner, which helped us to complete projects and resolve issues more quickly, easily track the status of specific tasks across multiple projects/teams and monitor productivity at various levels. Ultimately, this allowed us to both reduce development costs and complete our projects more quickly which in-turn increased our business revenue.

PROS

Jira is a very powerful tool for managing teams of software developers working on one, or even multiple projects simultaneously. It is very robust and feature-rich, with features such as setting up/managing individual tasks, coordinating development efforts across tasks/developers to maximize team productivity, managing/tracking issues & bugs, gathering feedback from non-technical users via Jira user stories and managing project backlogs. There in also embedded support for Scrum & Kanban boards, although I haven't personally worked with those features. The custom workflows allow users to setup and manage their projects & teams according to the needs of their business and their preferred software development framework and management style. Jira is a very comprehensive, all-in-one tool for managing smaller teams of only a few people, all the way up to very large teams of 100+ stakeholders.

CONS

Given the robust features and functions that Jira supports, there's a lot of depth and breadth to the software, so it can be somewhat complex and confusing to newer users, especially those who haven't worked much with project management tools previously. For project managers who are leading multiple teams simultaneously, things can get a bit overwhelming because the email notifications and project alerts can quickly start to become excessive, and there's no way to consolidate notifications across projects/teams.

Morgan

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Jira is a great intro to agile

I have used other project management software before and Jira is very simple and clean. It looks modern which is a big benefit that it has going for it.

PROS

I like that Jira is very easy to use and intuitive for the most part. It is easy to set up and explain the features and functions on a basic level. Within the week, even tech illiterate people could use it well.

CONS

Some of the terms (“story points”) etc seem superfluous. There are a lot of functions in Jira that are nice but aren’t necessary.

Gaurav

Automotive, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Developer friendly best agile management tool

We have been using Atlassian Jira and other Atlassian products in our project for more than 3 years now. Its been a pillar for us to track overall project journey, right from tracking small subtasks to huge milestones. This tool is best for scrum master to have a single screen shared during scrum calls and thats enough. This tool is been used here as a multi-purpose tool for agile development, project management, collaboration, issue/bug tracking, backlogs and development tracking. So I would say this is one of my favourite tool while working in this DevOps culture and I would definitely recommend to have this tool in each project lifecycle.

PROS

1. Supports Issue tracking, task management, project management and collaboration. 2. Easy to create user stories, divide into sub tasks, track the progress of the tasks, label, categorize and prioritise tasks and we can get a complete picture of project goals. 3. Supports different reporting such as burn down/up charts, velocity charts, estimation, etc. 4. Out of the box many integrations, including atlassian confluence and bitbucket integration. 5. Highly customisable dashboards and supports sprints and kanban boards. 6. Task notifications and linking of tasks to other dependent tasks.

CONS

1. Sometimes it takes very long time to refresh/load the board. 2. Quite a learning curve since lot of features and sometimes becomes complex for new users. So initially its kind of time consuming to put efforts in learning the tool. 3. Sometimes get unknown token error and then we have to reload a page.

Wassim

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Great product for managing software projects

It is been amazing and it helped us to get more organized during the development lifecycle of our products. Also, it could be very powerful on the automation side by adding a few add-one from the market place.

PROS

It is very flexible and customizable which makes it easy to manage every different kind of software projects whatever the size of the product is.

CONS

The flexibility of the system comes at the cost of usability, so it is a little more complex to use the advanced feature of the system like their query language

Kajetan

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Extremerely rich management ecosystem.

Jira helps to track work not only at a team level, but also at a company level. It helps to show dependencies between task, projects and long term plans. At first sight, the abundance of features might seems daunting, but Jira is a tool definitely worth investing time into as it quickly turns into might weapon in hands of experienced user.

PROS

Jira is an extremely rich management ecosystem with dozens of features, which seems to applicable to almost any company or team.

CONS

Because of the abundance of features, Jira definitely has a steep learning curve. Not only finding or configuring new options might challenging, but even the basic interface requires some time to get used to. Especially for people, who don't have previous experience.

Jamie

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Took a little to get used to, but seems like a powerful issue tracker

I like JIRA a lot more than our old issue tracker, Trac. It's faster, and has a much cleaner, up-to-date UI. With the way our team leads and administrators created issue workflows, there's a lot of steps for the developer to do before a task is completed, which can be annoying, but keeps the devs honest and forces us to write down all the necessary info.

PROS

Jira has a clean, updated interface with powerful issue tracking features for managers, team leads, and developers. Features I like the most are the advanced issue search, integration with Confluence, easy navigation, quickly create new tickets and build sub-tasks, epics, etc. out of them. Our management and team leads like all the labels, components, and other content management features of the tools. If used correctly by developers, JIRA makes it easy to trace-down issues, and understand decisions made in the code. You can notify other users of issues with easy "@username" in the comments.

CONS

Formatting text can be a little tricky. Kanban boards don't come for free for all users. Sometimes it's slow in updating tickets (granted that could be our server it's hosted on...).

Reasons for switching to Open DevOps

JIRA is newer, easier to use and read, and more industry-standard than Trac.

Parth

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Customizable Platform To Speed Up The Develop And Deploy The Application

The complete development process can be managed with a variety of features and tools, from source code management to deployment and monitoring. Interaction with a variety of external tools and services to increase its flexibility and capabilities. It is a strong and customizable platform that provides a number of tools and services to support DevOps procedures.

PROS

It has a customizable architecture that supports a variety of procedures for development and deployment. The software development lifecycle is automated at various phases, enhancing teamwork between the development and operations teams. It provides a useful and effective technique for developing, delivering, and overseeing cloud-based applications.

CONS

When there are many users using this portal, it could be very slow. For some more complicated tasks, it can be challenging to use. It can be necessary for team members to take pricey training courses and learn new abilities.

Victor

Verified reviewer

Think Tanks, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: