User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(19)

19

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "What I like about this product is that is very good when managing long projects. The follow up is easy and Reports are easy to analyze."

  • "Visually appealing and easy to use. Software out of the box is always a plus."

  • "I like that updates are automatically applied and scheduled during non-business hours after our db is backed up and I don't need to ever lift a finger"

  • Cons

  • "No cons. Maybe at the begging it is not so easy to use. You may need to look for some tutorials. For the rest very good tool"

  • "The scoring system within the software can be customized but it is not intuitive. Setting up the software to fit your purpose is a one time challenge, but once set up, it is a very powerful software."

  • "Cant see any cons - as I feel the cost is reasonable"

Browse Project & Portfolio Management Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -22 of 28 results

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Increases Quality of Schedules

Pros

This software works best in conjunction with a scheduling software such as Oracle Primavera. It allows us to measure based on industry best practices the quality of schedules.

Cons

Some of the stats given out of the box does not give a good indication of schedule quality. Will need to tweak to fit your organizational needs. May be cumbersome and can take some time to set up correctly.

November 2019

Joseph from Ameren

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Acumen Fuse Is Awesome

It is great to handle our scheduling needs.

Pros

The flexibility, customization, and function of the software is top notch. It serves al of our purposes and is so much better than Oracle's versions of the software.

Cons

None. I have no complaints at all. Keep being awesome.

Reasons for Choosing Project & Portfolio Management

My management did a trial and I loved it and pushed for it and it is slowly being adopted across the corporation.

November 2019

David from L3Harris

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2019

PM Compass Concerns

PM Compass is unreliable and time consuming. Very poor product. Please improve.

Pros

My division uses Cobra, PM Compass, and wInsight. I like that these software tools provide the required earned value and cost data and reports necessary for the business.

Cons

PM Compass is unreliable, un-user friendly, hard to navigate, poor graphic user interface, and poor reporting tool. It makes providing reliable and accurate data to our organization very difficult. I have been asked by other companies if I would recommend this product to them and I emphatically tell them to look elsewhere. Please improve PM Compass. Thank you

June 2018

Jason from ULTIMOUS Business Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

aka GCS Premier with T&E

As a GovCon system's consultant, I've used/fixed/implemented/transitioned from this system numerous times. It was the accounting solution I recommended to all of my clients looking to be DCAA Compliant. I am sad it's no longer being sold/offered from Deltek.

Pros

I loved most things about this system. It was incredibly simple to implement. The interface was simplified so it became very easy to train new users. Projects and the JSR reports delivered enough information to manage programs/contracts. If setup correctly, it was the ultimate in getting your GovCon accounting system approved by the DCAA.

Cons

Unfortunately, the support for this product is supposedly going away. They're moving everyone to a lite/compartmentalized à la carte version of Costpoint now. This system was expensive but affordable in the sense that your average clerk/bookkeeper could be taught how to use it. Costpoint isn't for the faint at heart! :)

October 2018

NATHAN from Www.northcentralholdings.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Projeqtor Open source Project Management Platform

I love this platform for projects that require intense tracking of deliverables and project accounting. Project Libra also has a paid cloud version. I would highly recommend this to new firms that are between 1-20 people managing projects.

Pros

Let me start by saying this is clearly the most robust project management platform on the market that falls under open source code. This platform allows you to do project accounting, deliverable tracking, change management tracking, team allocations, time accounting, and crm functions. Being a professional project manager I love the robustness of this platform. All labels are customizable (be careful not to re label something unintentionally). Project Libra does offer paid setup Updates seem to be often even as open source

Cons

The paid setup is incredibly expensive The user interface feels "clunky" and "old" the icons and labels feel like they are straight out of windows 3.1 Open source license prevents companies from charging to sell this software however a means to monetize could be in hosting or supporting on prem deployments (license loophole) Security becomes an issue for the deployment team to handle

November 2019

Richard from BAe Systems Air Sector

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Cobra: A powerful tool

Cobra is going to be used with PM Compass as part of our plan for teams to enter ETC data that is going to be used in Contract Reviews.

Pros

Been using Cobra with OPP for 20 years. We currently use OPP 3.4 and Cobra 5.1 but are due to upgrade to latest versions any time now. Cobra is an extremely powerful tool that contains all the data that you need in PM. The trick is getting management buy in of what it’s telling them.

Cons

Restoring backups takes ages. The tool could do with a refresh with the architecture.

November 2019

Tyler from L3Harris

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Deltek tools mostly work just need lots of consultants

Haven’t used other software to really compare besides MPM.

Pros

Helps get EV effort done and Cobra has a good user interface.

Cons

PM Compass user interface is not very good and clunky to navigate. Have issues getting WADs to work in PM compass when using Microsoft project.

November 2019

Kathleen from Smithsonian

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Cobra for EVM and proposal pricing

Pricing, reporting for research/ space flight instrumentation

Pros

Really great at EVM metrics and pricing baseline/ forecast at WP

Cons

Client server—should web app by now. Process log should be more intelligent and include more specifics

Reasons for Choosing Project & Portfolio Management

Industry standard

November 2019

Rose from Bae Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

I love Deltek

We use both Cobra and Winsight for Budget and EV. We like the functionality of the products to support project execution.

Pros

Cobra is used for budget and scheduling

Cons

Ease of use for users!

November 2019

Beverly from ADC LTD NM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Ease of Used

Pros

Easy to use, accepted software, training

Cons

not much, it works great. Thank you for asking.

November 2016

Terry from Penn State University - ARL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

PPM has a lot of functionality, but a time investment is needed to master it.

Our organization purchased Open Plan and COBRA over 8 years ago. However, we didn't really know much about either application before doing so. The Deltek consultants were very helpful in helping us get each one set up and ready for use. The problem was we didn't start using them on a regular basis or commit resources to them full time, so our knowledge base and expertise didn't evolve. Open Plan proved to be more robust than we needed at the time and we stopped using it. COBRA is used for only specific projects, mainly EVM related, and has provided us some nice benefits. But we still don't have a good handle on all of the functionality, which is holding us back a little. My suggestion is to invest time and resources to these products to get a better ROI.

Pros

Cobra reports are created as Excel files. Easy budget re-calculation, budget import.

Cons

The integration wizard is a little quirky.

February 2017

Nicole from Intrinsik Architecture, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

If you're ready...

This software is truly an asset to any company who is willing to put the time, money and resources (human) behind utilizing it to its fullest potential. If you are not ready to completely switch over to this program (leave all other software behind), then do not make the jump!

Pros

If everyone is one board to learn this program, you are in for a real treat.

Cons

Very hard to become proficient at unless you read all online, free resources, and then pay a lot of money to learn the next layer of information at workshops, followed by paying more money for the private consultation to answer follow-up, in-depth questions pertaining to your firms' standard practice.

December 2015

Mallori from Orbital Engineering, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

December 2015

Deltek First takes a lot off the IT dept and gives it to administrator

Pros

The updates get implemented automatically without the need to upgrade on-site servers, and the customer service is always very prompt.

Cons

Most times you have to start with the lowest level of help desk before getting bumped up to someone that actually knows what they are doing. It would be nice to have 1 or even a few experts that were assigned to you so you could build a relationship and skip on some of the frustration of having a novice send you something they copied and pasted out of a manual.

November 2016

Kristen from CAE USA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2016

Cobra 8 Release

The latest version of Cobra has many new features that we have been waiting for, we look forward to the future version releases to see what else is in store.

February 2017

Connie from Group2 Architecture Interior Design Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Great for project management

The information available for managing projects is great. There are a lot of new features coming on board that will make this much more user-friendly.

May 2018

yoganandh from Sterling Software Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Project Management software is to manage tasks

Pros

It can be used to track the project, Easy to handle, different projects can be managed at portfolio level.

Cons

Since we find few difficulties in updating each and everything and on pulling out a report for analysis purpose.

October 2018

Jennifer from Universiti Teknologi Brunei

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Project Management

Basically users in the organisation are not as well-versed in PM terminology and for that reason, they tend to fall back on using other software.

Pros

Its an extremely instinctive tool to use and aligned very close to project management terminology.

Cons

Cant see any cons - as I feel the cost is reasonable

November 2016

Melody from Finance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Cobra

Cobra is a good earned value system. Great for meeting the government reporting requirements and for managing cost/schedule on projects.

Pros

Easy to use, V8 looks like MS products latest versions, multiple ways a user can get to what they need. Excellent tool for earned value management.

Cons

Not a lot, upgrades sometimes create new issues and have to wait for a patch/fix to come out.

August 2015

David from NCTCOG

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2015

Great for small business.

Pros

Visually appealing and easy to use. Software out of the box is always a plus.

Cons

Nothing specific I like least about the product or vendor.

November 2016

Keith from Orbital ATK

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Open Plan, PMC and Acumen review.

I have been using open plan for about four years and PMC and Acumen more recently. I like how all of these tools (including Cobra) work with each and have found them to be user friendly.

Pros

Accuracy and integration with Cobra to calculate EV.

Cons

Unforgiving at times - greater use of undo function would be nice.

November 2016

Sean from chenega

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Cloud ERP

Deltek First is a great idea and platform whose time has come.

Pros

Reduced IT overhead cost and up to date patches.

Cons

You have no direct access to the raw data so interfaces for third party feeds are nixed.

November 2015

Nicole from Cabrera Services Inc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2015

SaaS Client - enjoying the server maintenance freedom

Pros

I like that updates are automatically applied and scheduled during non-business hours after our db is backed up and I don't need to ever lift a finger

Cons

There isn't anything I don't like at this point. Works well.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Good tool to assist in schedule development

Pros

This software (Acumen Fuse) allows users to employ industry best practices when developing schedules. Seemless integration with other industry scheduling software to provide users with results targeting quality of schedules.

Cons

The scoring system within the software can be customized but it is not intuitive. Setting up the software to fit your purpose is a one time challenge, but once set up, it is a very powerful software.

November 2016

Colleen from Leidos

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Super Support

Dan Zosh is always available to answer questions and provides expert advise! Have used wInsight for many years and Dan is always there to help me when we have any issues. Currently we are working towards a enterprise wInsight database. There are many new structures and unique programs that must have special considerations.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Needs to coexist better with Deltek Vision

managing an overwhelming amount of project e-mails and documents on our server

Pros

It is great for project management. Makes archiving of project e-mails a breeze

Cons

It is not very user friendly. Also we are one of the first SAAS users and the interface between PIM and Vision is not good

August 2018

Ana from EPIC Consultant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Excellent for projects

Pros

What I like about this product is that is very good when managing long projects. The follow up is easy and Reports are easy to analyze.

Cons

No cons. Maybe at the begging it is not so easy to use. You may need to look for some tutorials. For the rest very good tool

July 2019

James from Noise Barriers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Great tool for the future

Pros

Allows the user ultimate control in the process

Cons

Can be a bit overwhelming to launch the system

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Deltek Project & Portfolio Management Review

It helps a lot in managing business projects and keeps one organised. Thumbs up!

Pros

One can customise to suit one's needs. One can schedule people with no hassle and it gives good reports.

Cons

The server can be slow. One also needs time to learn how to use it. Not much to complain about.