What are Rally users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Rally software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.27

26 Reviews

5
10
4
13
3
2
2
1
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It's a great way to communicate company wide, easy to create user stories and breaking them down into tasks, the latest UI upgrade was a big improvment."
  • icon"My team has recently transitioned to Agile and we've been using Rally to help us manage our projects and we love it."
  • icon"Rally allows my team to create user stories, each with several tasks that can be tracked and updated. It helps to estimate timelines and offers a line of sight into each team member's progress."
  • icon"It is really expensive and hard to customize fields for sub-projects that are different than the parent projects."
  • icon"It does not work well with Internet Explorer browser."
  • icon"The user interface can be confusing, especially when first getting acquainted with the software."

Jump to:

Browse all Rally Reviews

  • Have you used Rally and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 26 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 26 reviews

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

December 2021

Great for Agile Environment

User Profile

Kathy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Best Agile Tracking Tool

Rally is a great collaborative tool for the whole agile team to use easily and track sprints efficiently. It works really well with other MS products as well for export/import.

Pros

Rally is the best tool I've used for agile development tracking. The UI is the clearest and the layout is the most intuitive I've seen on the market. It's so easy to display all defects or all stories, tasks, etc. I love the export functions and how simply one can customize own reports.

Cons

It is really expensive and hard to customize fields for sub-projects that are different than the parent projects.

Reasons for switching to Rally

Part of the company still uses Rally but most are transitioning to Jira because it's cheaper.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Ca Agile Central - Central for Agile methodologies

We work on development project, We get the work from business in the form of User stories. The user stories and broken down in to Defects and assigned to developers to work. CA agile is tailor made for projects which follow agile methodologies, it has planned set of rules and guidelines that helps. Monitoring and report creation process is simplified. it takes times to get used to the tool, once we are good with the process, it is very easy tool to use. Go for it!

Pros

1. Software is build around agile methodologies , best suited for projects using agile. 2. Easy to use, assign the unit of work to a respective team and resource 3. Tailor made for projects which involves a lot of teams within it. 4. Monitoring,Status of work can be easily determined. 5. Dashboards and reports are inbuilt and can be customized. 6. Separate process for sprint planning tabs are available. 7. Different stages of work flow like Backlog, analysis,development, test readiness and test execution and their count along with customization are really helpful. 8. Integrates well with CICD pipeline tools like Jenkins and Sonar Qube etc.

Cons

1. Very few fields options are available. We were using ALM before moving on Agile central, all the fields in ALM was not mapped to CA agile. It was difficult to map the fields since it has very less field options. 2. Customization and Report creation during the initial phase was very difficult. 3. Need to depend on the Scrum master to make process changes. 4. Iniital setup of the process was difficult and transition of people from water fall to Agile using CA Agile was challenging.

Sureshkumar

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Rally - Best Agile project management Software

Overall experience has been nothing short of great. It is the best software that I have used.

Pros

Rally GUI is so easy to use and seamless. It is the best software to track the user stories and update comments on it.

Cons

There is nothing to not like about this software. Everything about it is good.

Tal

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Agile methodology in the cloud

I get things done using rally, took some time to get used to it, but it delivers the Agile way.

Pros

It's a great way to communicate company wide, easy to create user stories and breaking them down into tasks, the latest UI upgrade was a big improvment.

Cons

Gets laggy sometimes, can't see attached images properly once there is more than one image, mostly small quirks, all in all it's a good product.

Janak

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Rally Is not yet mature

Pros

The project tracking with features, user stories and tasks are great.

Cons

You can get lost sometimes when you are navigating through things.

Sachin

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

A useful tool for Agile Project Management

I am highly satisfied with Rally. It has helped team plan, groom, execute and track deliverables efficiently. Unwanted documentation is greatly reduced now.

Pros

* Web based an intuitive * Supports Scrum, Kanban, Scrumban and other agile frameworks * Scalable enough to support multiple teams and portfolios * Backlog creation, Iteration planning, Release Planning, Story creation, Milestone definition, Feature and Initiative (epic) creation, and captures many useful fields that help reduce the elaborate documentation requirements. * Story dependencies can be tracked easily. * Discussion tab allows capture useful discussions/ data and helps collaboration on story, feature or initiative. * Parent - Child relationship can be established between stories * Multiple reports can be generated that helps team measure performance and productivity. * Iteration board, Kanban board provide realtime view of team progress.

Cons

* It does not work well with Internet Explorer browser. * License cost is high as compared to other tools like JIRA

Jerry

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2016

Agile in the cloud

Pros

It is intuitive to create stories, break down to tasks and assign them to the team. The reporting features are very useful for executive summary in my monthly report. Easy to track the progress. It truly has the agile aspects build in for software development environment. The customizable dashboard allows you to track multiple projects and display the most important graphics on one screen.

Cons

The QA process is a little bit difficult to use. Since we are using a separate bug reporting system, it doesn't really integrate with it. The process of creating test cases and report defects are way too complicated for our environment. Overall, I don't have too much complaints against Rally.

Mary

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Great agile tool!

We use the charts and graphs to show management our progress for every iteration.

Pros

Really helps to manage user stories and planning for iterations. Managing back logs is this tool is helpful, so items are not missed or ignored.

Cons

Learning the tool took a while, training could be better.

Kevin

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Powerful Agile Tool

Pros

Allows customizable views, as in Kanban, for any needed software development methodology.

Cons

Very expensive software in which utilizing all of the features is definitely a challenge for management.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Nice tool but still missing key items

Pros

Its helping breaking all the User stories into many items and assigned it to the relevant team and putting also the effort , then easily you can extract report

Cons

main item that it doesn't show plan vs actual so it doesnt say anything if you are at 70% than compare to what? reports should be easily change from private to public

Deborah

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Rally for Agile Project Management and Portfolio Management

Rally has expanded their functionality since Computer Associates purchased Rally . I like the alignment with the Scaled Agile framework. Allowing the roll up of stories to features and capabilities to align with value stream has been instrumental in educating our executive leadership team and prioritizing our portfolio

Pros

Integration and customization support allow us to interface with our internal applications

Cons

Continue to expand the portfolio and program management roll up and reporting features

Ben

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2017

Rally works, but they need to stop constantly updating the UI, which is overly complex

Pros

Tasks link to stories, stories link to features, ways to track everything. Allows you to provide a good amount of detail within the stories and acceptance criteria

Cons

too much effort to link stories to features, too hard to see the details on the features if they are similarly named. task creation and advancing is easy, but the page layout of stories is now convoluted and confusing

Sudhakar

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Agile Management Tool

This is user friendly application and any one new to agile methodology can learn the agile using this tool so fast.

Pros

This tool is easy to access and faster in response. GUI is very simple and anyone can understand the functionalities easily

Cons

The application is often down and needs lot of maintenance window as it is down at least two weeks once

AFZAL

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Great for Agile!

I've had a great experience with using Rally for Agile and it also has functionality for Kanban which I love.

Pros

My team has recently transitioned to Agile and we've been using Rally to help us manage our projects and we love it!

Cons

I am still learning how to use all the features and while it's great, I wish the tool was more intuitive.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

User Stories/ Tasks Review

Good product to use with multiple work management features.

Pros

- good tool to track day to day work and team's workload.

Cons

- Tasks doesn't reflects under individuals workflow if the main user story is assigned on different user's name - Teamboard is one of the example for the above.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Best Agile Management Tool

Pros

Following are best features : User story management Burn down/burn up chart Velocity calculation Easy Reporting Agile life cycle management Distributed team management using KANBAN methodology

Cons

I feel this is a best tool which really can’t be debated

Jayasimha

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2016

Rally Review

Pros

Ease of use to manage Agile development process. Easily Manage User Stories, track task progress

Cons

Currently we manage bugs/issues in a separate software tool. We tried managing bugs through this software, din't like how bugs were converted to a User Story, rather than a task under a Story

User Profile

Sharique

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Rally - Premier Project Management Software for Distributed Agile Teams

Great software for modern engineering practices. Very much essential for complex program and project maangement

Pros

It enables you to execute distributed agile and scaled agile frameworks. Removes all the clutter and makes the whole process very streamlined. Data and Dashboards are available very quickly

Cons

Training and online documentation can have some improvements

Dave

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Heavyweight Agile tool

Pros

It can do nearly anything an agile team needs to manage process and organization of work

Cons

The UI is very bland and could really use some UX improvements

Ogechi

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Good project management tool

My org implemented rally to increase efficiency and collaboration across projects, and so far it has been a good experience. It does take more time than what I'm accustomed to enter all the stories and tasks, however my manager finds the tracking capabilities very useful. It has helped encourage an agile mindset within my team.

Pros

Rally allows my team to create user stories, each with several tasks that can be tracked and updated. It helps to estimate timelines and offers a line of sight into each team member's progress.

Cons

The user interface can be confusing, especially when first getting acquainted with the software. I would appreciate a more stream-lined, intuitive interface.

Yuwen

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2016

Rally review

Pros

show progress chart, define projects and tasks, total team progress

Cons

easiness of update status, not update automatically to-do time,

Mark

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

very clean/simple but powerful interface

Pros

We use rally to manage our agile projects. The options in the tool allow us to easily manage our user stories and track changes all the way up to production. We switched from another product, and found that rally had many more options and much more flexibility. The user interface is clean and intuitive, and flexible enough for our site to add our specific customizations

Cons

I have not found any cons yet, and am satisfied with the product.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Rally for Bugs

Our company has used it for some time, it is the standard for our engineering teams when reviewing firmware updates/bugs.

Pros

Easy to use, I got access and was able to use it without any training. It seems to be very intuitive when you have access set up correctly.

Cons

When projects/products/programs are created but not populated there is no information presented. Others have to authorize access as well.

User Profile

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Needs improvement

I have been using this for a couple months on a critical side project.

Pros

IT is a ticket management software it does that well but thats about all it gets done well. It has many issuse.

Cons

My biggest complaint is that is is overly complicated and buggy. It constantly times you out and returns you to the home page rather than were you left off.

Showing 1 - 25 of 26 reviews
Rally

Rally

4.27/5 out of 26 reviews
PriceDemo