All Celtx Reviews

1-22 of 22 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Osarumwense

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

A Screenwriting Softwre For Everyone!

Celtx has really helped me to execute a lot of project. It is very easy to use. If you are a beginner screenwriter, i'd recommend you use Celtx. You don't have to worry about formatting, it handles that for you. As a professional screenwriter, Celtx is your sure bet.

PROS

The fact that I am able to collaborate with other Writers to work on the same project is one thing I love most about Celtx. With its cloud feature, it is impossible to lost a file as all works are automatically saved to the cloud. The tips on the blog section is another feature of Celtx i love so much. Those tips help you overcome "Writer's Block". The software is pretty simple to navigate and use. It is available for both PC and Mobile Phone users.

CONS

I really don't have anything negative about Celtx. But they should integrate "TITLE PAGE" feature in the mobile version. Unlike the PC version, mobile phone version don't allow writing "Title Page" in your screenplay.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the love, Osarumwense! We'll be sure to pass along your feedback on adding Title Page functionality to our mobile apps. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us if you have any more feedback you'd like to chat on, please feel free to reach out to our Support Team at support@celtx.com anytime.

Replied June 2021

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

So do you wanna write?

Overall, the Celtx program is awesome. Not only does it help me work as a team and manage the production aspects of my scripts and staging. It also has a very organized and easy to use interface. The production tools are absolutely fantastic.

PROS

It doesn't matter if you are a student, an amateur, or a teacher. This program, used even by great screenwriters, is excellent. Celtx helps you to correctly divide the sequences, to space the dialogues, to easily indicate the entrance of the characters, the general objective is that you concentrate on the creativity, and the program takes care of the formatting. Scripts can be shared from within the program to harmonize teamwork, and can also be sent in text (.txt) or pdf format via e-mail. The texts remain stored in the cloud, which makes it great for possible loss of physical devices.

CONS

There are not many cons to this program. Perhaps the most significant one is the price, but this depends on who you are and by this I mean: if what you are looking for is a casual immersion into the world of film writing (among others) perhaps it is not the best option, at least I would take it as an unprofitable investment. Taking into account that its costs range from twenty to thirty dollars. But out of that and some small "bugs" in its mobile version. This program is great, not for nothing it is chosen.

Reason for choosing Celtx

Celtx is a product that has been user-friendly from the start. It is an affordable price considering the profitability I give it at a professional level.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the love! So glad to hear that you're enjoying the Script Editor and production management tools. If you have any further feedback you'd like to share with us, our Support Team would love to hear from you. You can reach out to them any time at support@celtx.com.

Replied July 2021

James

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2022

Final Draft seems better

The people I have talked to are nice but are to expensive and charge way to much.

PROS

The flow of writing is easier then most for a new comer it would be easier with the free version,

CONS

I am a small studio starting off to make shows and the charged me about $2000 for a years access with 5 seats for collaboration and we couldn’t afford to keep it and lost some of our scripts in the downgrade. Final draft is cheaper and you buy the license for $200 and don’t need to buy anything else unless you want to upgrade

Reason for choosing Celtx

I always used celtx and loved how easy it was to write and format but since we had pro we had nothing but troubles

Vendor Response

Hi James, thanks for taking the time to write a review. If you'd like to chat further about your experience with Celtx Pro, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at support@celtx.com. We'd love to hear any and all feedback you'd like to send our way.

Replied February 2022

Juan

Verified reviewer

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Ideas to Script

Writing scripts, especially when collaborating with other teammates, makes things easier and faster to work at my company.

PROS

I find that the interface is easier and more friendly than other software I have used. It helps me stay focused. The way it manages the projects makes things easier for my team and me to work on different projects at the same time.

CONS

I can´t think of something. I am happy with the software.

Reason for choosing Celtx

The price and simplicity. Other software out there were great, but had features that our team doesn´t really need at the moment.

Reasons for switching to Celtx

I didn´t need that many features. Celtx had enough features to do our job with ease.

Mike

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Celtx is a great inexpensive tool for screenwriting.

I use Celtx for a professional looking screenplay without having to pay the high prices for others services.

PROS

The ease in ability to separate between all the different styles within a screenplay. The name save feature is great.

CONS

It does take a bit to get into the habit of using the different sequences. The export options are minimal.

Reason for choosing Celtx

The price is the main reason. Best value overall.

Reasons for switching to Celtx

Celtx is so much cheaper!

Vendor Response

Hi Mike, thanks so much for sharing your experiences with Celtx! If you're ever looking for some help getting info on the Celtx Studio, please don't hesitate to reach out to our Support Team by emailing support@celtx.com. They'll be able to answer your questions and send along some resources.

Replied February 2022

Miquiel

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

Complete Story Development System

Story Management in one place and having all assets in one place in the cloud.

PROS

I love the following: - the ability to change formats (from novel to screenplay to graphic novel to stage play) - this is the most unbelievable benefit of Celtx - a one-stop shop for story development - the ability to storyboard your story FIRST before writing the screenplay - the addition of graphic novel format - the addition of GEM, to write and develop stories for gamers - the self-reassurance that you get when you purchase the studio edition; now, you are not just JOE, you are JOE STUDIOS! - having all your files in the cloud per project

CONS

Celtx is powerful for teamwork and collaboration, but their focus is NOT on individuals. You can use it for screenwriting and gaming, but the cost to you as an individual is unwarranted because you can't get a stripped-down version, you have to get the same package that entire TEAMS purchase, which can seem unfair to individuals.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Celtx has been the easiest way to write a film script I have ever come across!

While working at a production company, having access to all the script files and being able to edit and print directly has been incredible. I have not come across another script writing platform that saves as much time and poor formatting as Celtx.

PROS

As a free script writing software, Celtx offers the writer everything they need to create professional looking scripts. With features displaying how long you have typed and how long you have spent thinking, it helps stop writer's block and keeps you motivated to keep writing (which is about the most important part of writing). It is very user friendly by making the complicated-looking script format look very easy. I would recommend Celtx to beginners or experts that have been writing scripts for 20+ years.

CONS

I do not have many bad things to say about Celtx, but it has been difficult to transition between writing offline and transitioning into writing online. I wish that it was easier to take a document from my laptop or phone and update that script when I get internet.

Vendor Response

Hi Andrew thanks for the love! We also appreciate your feedback about Offline Mode. If you're having issues with Offline Mode or would like to chat about how we could improve it, our Support Team would love to hear from you! You can reach out to them at support@celtx.com.

Replied April 2021

User Profile

Mercè

Verified reviewer

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Has more uses than people think

Many, actually the movie script function is the one that I use the less. Thanks to how Celtx is structured and how the texts are written I have discovered many other uses such as writing my personal diary. Instead of writing my personal feelings and thoughts on the diary and briefly describe the day, I write what has happened more or less like a script and also my thoughts on a certain issue inside brackets or things like that. That allows me to make a more accurate picture of my day in all its aspects. Also, it can be used to write song lyrics and cooking recipes, thanks to the how they look at the end.

PROS

It can be used for many more things than only to write scripts. For example, I have used it to store song lyrics by the artists, or cooking recipes, notes, my personal diary, etc. It is very versatile. Plus, it is very easy to use and doesn't consume to much RAM.

CONS

I would say that the worst part is that you cannot add any color or format to the texts, so you are strictly attached to one single "output" that cannot be modified.

User Profile

Natalie

Verified reviewer

Motion Pictures and Film, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

My go to screenwriting software

I’ve been using celtx for 8 years now. It’s my go to screenwriting platform. I love that I can erite from my ipad or my iphone at it all syncs.

PROS

Thebautosave feature. While writing on other platforms, I’ve lost so much content to do harddrive crashes and forgetting to save my work while in a hurry.

CONS

There is no celtx app for the ckmputer anymore and everything is online. I miss the days when there was a computer platform

Vendor Response

Hi Natalie! Thanks for sending along your feedback. We have just released a new app called Celtx Screenplay! You can always reach out to our Support Team at support@celtx.com if you have any questions or would like some more info.

Replied April 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Start writing your feature

I really enjoy using this software, due to its simplicity and intuitivness. I also like the storyboard and notes view of getting all your scenes worked out in advance of the actual writing.

PROS

Ease of use within the production environment as well as the collaboration aspect of the software within work groups.

CONS

I don't like the cloud-based aspect of the formatting, because I do a ton of my writing offline I would like my things to live offline as well as online. Not quite positive if its due to versioninig.

Vendor Response

Hi there! We do have some Celtx apps that might suit your needs, if you're looking to write offline. Please reach out to our Support Team at support@celtx.com for more info!

Replied April 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Script writing and formatting made easy.

It's great for writing. The cloud service is a nice option!

PROS

If you've ever written a script, be it for a film, tv show, comedy skit, short video, etc, you know how import getting the format correct is. It helps actors read, gives space for people to take notes, is clean and familiar, and most import...it's the industry standard. You can try to fake it in basic word processing software, but you will never get it just right. Celtx helps you there immensely. Other features such as the Index Cards, character notes, etc, they really help you when trying to revise your script. It's great for a creative.

CONS

The only issue...Final Draft is still the standard. So if you want to share a work in progress, you might run into some issues with writers and producers who prefer the older ways. Also, if you come from that background, you may need to spend some time brushing up on the new ways to get things done in Celtx.

Vendor Response

Hi there! We appreciate you sending along this feedback. We're always working on improving our products, and we've made some major improvements since 2018! If you get a chance to check out the Online Studio and have some more feedback to share, you can reach out to our Support Team at support@celtx.com.

Replied April 2021

Arfa

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

The most amazing screenwriting application.

PROS

The software is really easy to use once you get used to the shortcut keys. It's like working magic while writing your screenplay and the output is on point. I can export my screenplay as pdf as well as txt for final draft.

CONS

The formatting options are really low. I can't change font type, font size, and spacing between the sentences.

Vendor Response

Hi Arfa! All our formatting is industry standard, so the ability to change font type, size, and spacing isn't included in our Studio for that reason! If you'd like to chat more about industry standard formatting, our Support Team can send along some more info; you can reach them at support@celtx.com.

Replied April 2021

User Profile

Evelyn

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Writing on the go

I have write two or three scripts with Celtx, I like it because is an option for students and people that do not have the money to use bigger software and this one is a totally proffesional and affordable option. Also it has acces to do other production files that are so neccesary.

PROS

I love that celtx is a software you can use online, this is great so you don´t miss your files in case you dont have your computer or your information. The panel it has to see all the projects is a great feature that other softwares do not have.

CONS

You need to log in, is not like a software on the computer as other ones.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review, Evelyn! So glad to hear that you're finding the Studio useful. If you have any more feedback you'd like to share with us, please don't hesitate to reach out to our Support Team at support@celtx.com. They'd love to hear from you!

Replied August 2021

Miguel

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Facilidad para plasmar tus ideas

No le pide favores a ningun software de escritura

PROS

Fácil comprensión y adaptación, así como la exportación de material para ajustes y cambios, sus herramientas son de fácil uso.

CONS

De hecho hasta el momento solo me gustaría tener una opción para bajarlo no solo a pdf, sino a word

César

Verified reviewer

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

The best software for scriptwriting. The scriptwriter will feel that has a friend.

PROS

It's free and it has versions for windows, mac OS X and Linux. On line with text processor, it counts with spelling checker that autocompletes during the scriptwriting.

CONS

It's needed to be on line for save the project in PDF. And other of the failures that i see is that just is available en english. Any scriptwriter from other language can find it confuse.

Anonymous

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Great Screenwriting Software

PROS

Celtx in my opinion is sufficiently easier to use than Final Draft (not a knock on Final Draft). Both are great. Celtx is just more user friendly.

CONS

Sometimes the margins are set wrong and the page number won't show when you export to PDF or you print.

André

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

A Very Simple Celtx Review

Overall Celtx, in my opinion, is a great tool to manage projects and scripts

PROS

Celtx is a great software. It allows me to do my scripts and project management very rapidly and efficiently.

CONS

The least I liked about this software was that sometimes when trying to export the script to pdf it gives an error but usually it's solved by restarting the application.

Chris

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE