All GoTab POS Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

GoTab A modern solution for todays hospitality challenges

Working with GoTab has been refreshing. While a smaller company, they have provided me tremendous support and have been very responsive to our feedback and suggestions for improvement.

PROS

GoTab’s point-of-sale (POS), kitchen display system (KDS) and entire restaurant commerce platform helps us server our guests better and run our business more profitably than ever. Instead of requiring us to purchase or lease proprietary hardware on a single operating system, we have the flexibility to run everything in a Windows environment with the hardware we choose.

CONS

It’s still a developmental platform and the hardware can be better. With that said, they have continuously improved the system, the functionality, and listen to feedback.

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

Integration of QR code dining as well as traditional POS functionality.

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

Wanted a company that was innovative and progressive to providing a more modern approach to the hospitality industry.

Vendor Response

Jason! Thanks so much for your review! We are thrilled to be your partner in this and look forward to continue serving your business!

Replied December 2023

User Profile

J Peter

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

An excellent product at a competitive price

So far, Gotab has met us at the crossroads and helped us create an online delivery and carry out presence in the restaurant business here in D.C.

PROS

It’s easy to learn and get the hang of. Their customer service is outstanding. Someone is either online or gets back to you very quickly.

CONS

iPad version had some bugs in the beginning but not many

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

Their sales team were far better than their competitors

Julie

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Gotab has saved us $$$ 5*’s

Excellent great set up support, great support when issues do come up.

PROS

Easy to implement, low cost, no annual software fees, great support and staff

CONS

Convincing guests to use it the first time and shifting employees to ease of use. A few hiccups with integration but worked out quickly

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

Cost, equipment, and sales team was excellent

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

Poor customer service, issues with hardware, pivot to QR code ordering

Andre

Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

The GoTab POS Is Great For Affecting Labor Costs & Efficiency Of The Guest Ordering Process

It also allows our Service Team to take care of a strong flow of traffic in a large venue. Once guests understand how to order on and navigate the GoTab POS it is convenient for speeding up the ordering and delivery process. It also can positively affect labor costs.

PROS

The system is solid at allowing guests to control the pace of their own experience. It also allows our Service Team to take care of a strong flow of traffic in a large venue. Once guests understand how to order on and navigate the GoTab POS it is convenient for speeding up the ordering and delivery process.

CONS

The system needs to be made much cleaner for the end user. It's functionality is difficult for some guests to use, especially without a thorough explanation. Also, reporting functions for the Management Team could be enhanced.

Gregg

Restaurants, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

GoTab

Overall we are incredibly satisfied with GoTab. The customer service is best of class. Feature requests are responded to in a timely manner and all of the basic functionality needed by the vast majority of restaurants exists. Overall a great product that is continuously improving with every passing day.

PROS

I enjoy the fact that GoTab gives you optionality in your operating model. With all of the challenges surrounding the pandemic as well as labor challenges, GoTab allows us to pivot from a labor lite model to a full service model anytime necessary. This has been instrumental in managing costs while still being able to deliver a great guest experience.

CONS

In the beginning there were certain features which are necessary for basic restaurant operation that either did not exist or were a bit clunky. As of today, all of these basic features now exist plus a plethora of new "nice to have" features that allow you to use GoTab for a diverse number of operations.

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

Customer service was critical when choosing our POS. GoTab delivered on the timely and responsive customer service.

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

We needed to pivot our operational model to address the multitude of increasing costs while still delivering an exceptional experience. We needed to leverage technology to implement our new operating model.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for the feedback!

Replied August 2022

Miles

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Overall great for the restaurant / venue that just needs a little more flexibility.

Overall I really love the experience GoTab provides. They have been so helpful in developing the needs of our unique venue. I would recommend to anyone that

PROS

The flexibility of what the system can do is incredible. There is no other system out there that allows you to really customize the set up can change things on the fly. It is prefect for venues that offer more than just meal service. I would suggest to any brewery that is often pivoting their service model.

CONS

We still run into daily hiccups that sometimes can not be explained. If development stays at the same rate that it has been on I would imaging things smooth out sooner than later!

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

The flexibility of specific menus and zones

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

Aloha is outdated and no longer supported our service needs as we have shifted service models post Covid.

Nicholas

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Gotab a very good POS with only minor issues

overall the positive and support have been great. Having a dedicated rep when we signed up to have monthly/weekly meetings made the transition one of the easiest I have done (I have done 3 now).

PROS

The POS itself does everything you want it to and sometimes more. Support has been great. They have chat, Call, and email, and 99% I get a quick response, and phone support is almost always answered or a quick call back. We mainly use it for the POS and the KDS (food truck) and for that purpose it is great. I also like the east of Hardware. I was largely able to use my previous hardware (tablets) and the new CC readers they have are much more affordable. This is very useful when doing off-site events

CONS

We have had some issues with the credit card machines freezing up. A quick reset always fixes it but shouldn't happen. Support has been very receptive to helping us fix this.

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

cost,

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

They wanted to charge a monthly fee and many of the promised features did not happen

Jennifer

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

GoTab Review

PROS

It's easy to use, easy to add products.

CONS

Slowness of cashing out and starting a tab.

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

Samsung devices were used by GoTab and we already had them.

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

They started charging $100/mo with nothing new to offer.

Kami

Food & Beverages, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

We love Go Tab!

Great! It’s ideal for what we do!

PROS

We first installed Go Tab last year at our biggest location. What was all very new to us was made easy with the hands on approach of the go tab staff during the install. We absolutely loved the team. [sensitive content hidden] made the transition super easy.

CONS

Wifi is always twitchy. In certain areas of our large space we had to deal with slow systems when wifi was off and on.

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

We needed something to keep up with the times and mobile ordering.

Josh

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Amazing Team, Amazing Service, Amazing Product

Phenomenal. GoTab has taken a huge potential business headache and made it easy to operate and understand.

PROS

GoTab POS integrates perfectly with our self-dispensing equipment and technology. We use RFID wristbands and a credit/debit card to open a customer tab, at which point they use the wristbands to activate the draft system and pour their drinks. The GoTab POS system updates their tab in real-time with the amount of the pour. Recent updates that have addressed insufficient funds payments at the end of a visit have made an already amazing process that much more comfortable on from an owner’s perspective.

CONS

I have no dislikes - the customer support is top-notch, ALWAYS available when I’m open, and the whole team works tirelessly to make sure you have what you need

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

Integration with self-pour draft system.

Anna

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

GoTab helped us when no one else would!

24/7 live help has been wonderful for assisting when needed

PROS

Engineers worked to ensure the system would function in our rural, no high speed internet location.

CONS

unexpected outages have happened during open hours

Reason for choosing GoTab POS

Ease of set up, less start-up and less ongoing costs

Allison

Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

We Love GoTab!

PROS

GoTab is highly customizable to suit individual business needs. Depending on staffing levels or events for the day, we can tailor GoTab operations to fit our needs very easily. Unlike most other POS systems, GoTab encourages integrations to make operations streamlined for the business. Their customer service is best in class and they listen to their customers needs/wants. They are constantly innovating and fine tuning features on the POS to meet the business needs of their customers and push the envelope of what a POS has traditionally done.

CONS

Our biggest challenge is defining and executing a hybrid service model where we can merge traditional service and guest facing QR ordering on their mobile devices. With the release of Easy Tab, it will make it that much smoother for both the servers and the guests to embrace the hybrid service model.

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

Micros is archaic and expensive and has not updated its product with the ever changing restaurant technology needs. Customer service is poor.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied August 2022

Tyler

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Tyler Strohmayer

Overall really good it has come a long way since we started using it

PROS

Ease of use and constant updates to improve software

CONS

Having to develop workarounds for features that don’t exist but should and Physical Gift Card solution is good but more flexibility in how they are redeemed would be great

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

We initially started using GoTab in response to COVID but just QR ordering. It became clear just how convenient and cost effective it was. Once GoTab released the POS it was a obvious switch to make

Courtney

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Caboose X GoTab

I have not used it as much, but so far it has been easy.

PROS

I have been using GoTab since about 2016. This product has come a long way with functionality and ease of use since then. I love how customizable and easy it has become. This product makes it so easy to book events for large groups, take orders through a server, or to have a tab for an individual. There is so much you can do with it.

CONS

I wish we could duplicate products a little easier. Making sure the same items are the same description/photo/etc. can be difficult with a large team. I also hope there is a functionality for weekly report summaries for locations or multiple. Better reporting to break down each category would be nice to have automated as well. (i.e. merchandise inventory/sales of each item across locations/etc.)

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

Limiting how much software we had, ease of reporting, etc.

Timothy

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Great product that's easily customizable!

PROS

Simple access to scheduled menus and tab management

CONS

dependent on internet which can cause issues if there is an outage - but back up systems are available

Kevin

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Game Changer for Breweries

Overall, we love using GoTab and will likely implement it at future locations as well. Having real time control of your menu and ordering is an unbelievable tool to have during this difficult time.

PROS

Implementing GoTab at our brewery changed the entire way we do business. It has saved us money, improved service and created a more efficient business model overall.

CONS

The reporting function, specifically for the back end accounting and Paysafe utility is very difficult to use and the accounting integration often fails, causing huge headaches for our accounting department and lapses in our bank deposits. There needs to be traditional credit card processing statements - currently they do not exist.

Reasons for switching to GoTab POS

Touch Bistro did not have a QR code ordering system at the time.

Jennifer

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

GoTab makes room for new revenue streams while building efficiencies on our floor.

As a young software company there are occasional glitches in GoTab software but the GoTab team is quick to respond to and solve any issue that arises. We have never seen customer support at this level in any other software product.

PROS

GoTab allows each guest to have their own POS therefore creating a dramatic increase in revenue potential. GoTab software also has a lot of flexibility built into the product which allows my creative team to build out new revenue streams and pull in a broader market without adding to the complexity of multiple POSs.

CONS

There is a learning curve for our guests.