All Instore Reviews

1-25 of 37 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

DUSTIN

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Excellent POS for Bar Based Businesses

For the money, its hard to beat Instore as a great POS system for our cigar bar.

PROS

The user interface of Instore is very simple to use. The way it presents categories and then items in those categories allows for fast input of orders for customers. The recently added Tab feature allows us to store credit card numbers without having to hold customers cards for tabs they want to run. The ability to add employee payroll cost, as well as COGS allows you to quickly see what your true profit for the day was after each shift closing.

CONS

The reporting system isn't as robust as I'd like, however the basic reporting does provide you with access to most items. I'd like to see more details around breakdown of sales per hour and day, etc.

Lizzie

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

My experience with Instore is overall favorable, but not without some frustrations

THANKS FOR ADDING TABS!!!!!

PROS

I like that usually when I call for assistance, I get a response within an hour. I also appreciate the ease of adjusting items through the back end of things. The ability to control tax on each item has also been vital to being able to use the system for my business.

CONS

The system isn't as intuitive as it could be. I'd also like to see more specifics in terms of back end reporting.

Alex

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

It's been a journey

Nice folks. If not for the fact that we're tied in to the gift cards that we've sold, we would probably experiment with different POS options. We're not convinced that other apps are better, we suspect that they all have pluses and minuses. But it would be nice to have the freedom to explore a bit more.

PROS

Generally speaking, it does what we need it to do in a way that makes sense. We often go months without thinking about it or worrying about it. The team at Instore genuinely cares, and while they don't listen to all of our feedback, we can see that our feedback has led to improvement.

CONS

I don't think the back end is robust enough. Sometimes it's impossible to download reports because the server times out before it processes and packages the reports. We've never felt that the "end of day" functionality made much sense. We'd like more flexibility with how it interacts with individual staff members. Sometimes changes are made without us being informed that don't feel like improvements. It would be nice if there were more flexibility in settings about how the app is set up.

Todd

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Easy, Intuitive - iPad Based POS Application for Restaurants and Retail

The folks behind this software know what they do well and understand their limitations. They do not "over sell" and provide great support.

PROS

Very Easy to Learn! Great Reporting! Great Customer Service! They have a nice size install base with "real world reference cases".

CONS

Not ready for Multi-Unit use quite yet but close. Would like to see a Kitchen Video Display solution for restaurants.

Laura

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Great POS program

At times when updates have occurred some information has been lost or repositioned

PROS

Its'simicity yet able to handle just about everything. Easy to make adjustments when necessary and communication with tech support is fast!

CONS

The lack of control we have over the rewards program, points, etc. I want to be able to handle customer issues immediately

Susan

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Ease of use and great customer service!

PROS

The ability to see your companies daily and monthly sales. Customer service is great and they respond quickly when problems arise.

CONS

Have not been able to figure out how to assign a cashier to each register transaction. This is something that is needed to track cash loss prevention.

Louisa

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

GREAT POS FOR A SMALL SHOP

Customer service communication via email is great. Everyone is very accommodating and helpful.

PROS

It has all the features we need for a small cheese/wine/beer shop. Very easy to use, clean and simple user face. We sell cheese so the integrated scale is extremely useful. Not many other POS systems have integrated scale. Instore is always working on updates to improve the POS system. Since we've been using the system, they've added a new feature on sales tax which is quite useful for when we need to file sales tax.

CONS

There are a few features that we would like to have -- I can't easily get a master list of all my inventory, a request would have to be sent to the engineers and it takes a few days to turnaround. Customer service is great through email but not as helpful when we have issues in real time. Normally, can't reach anyone on the phone, would have to leave vmail or email and have someone return your call within 24 hrs.

Namil

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Overall Good product but could be much better.

PROS

Ease of use and stability. System rarely has any problems and the credit card processing is stable.

CONS

Key features missing for food service business. Missing ingredient level inventory and a feature to track waste so that your end of day numbers are exact.

Emily

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Good, not bad for start up

I love the rewards.

PROS

It is very easy to create an item. Once created you can easily send it right to the pos from anywhere. I don’t always have to be at my store to up date.

CONS

There is not a very good inventory system. Or maybe it is just difficult to understand. I find myself guessing what I need because the system doesn’t let me track it.

Julie

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2018

Needs more features

No

PROS

It is easy to use but needs to add more features, such as an ability to hold and sort orders. This is vital for a business that takes orders for a few weeks out.

CONS

The iPad and system together are very glitchy (I don’t know if they sell used iPads) but within six months our system became very hard to work with.

Eric

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2018

InStore : not a great pos

PROS

The monthly fee is reasonable, less than it’s competition. Other than that, I don’t really see too many pros.

CONS

None of the data I want is easy to access, if even possible at all. Customer data is limited, such as access to emails. Daily, monthly and annual data is hard to talley. This is not a good choice for a busy restaurant.

Matt

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2019

Instore is Trash

Overall experience was horrible.

PROS

There were zero Pros to the software. Never worked properly. A constant headache

CONS

Everything. Software constantly crashed, customer service is horrible. When you leave a message it would sometimes take several hours for them to call back. The reps would always blame my "enviroment" for the software not working. Funny thing is I have a new system that works flawlessly. In the end they were extremely rude and insulting. Glad I switched!

Reason for choosing Instore

Monthly cost. Ended up being a big mistake. You get what you pay for.

Jorge

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Competitive

Overall great system. Just need better communication with in store reps.

PROS

Price and full control of menu everything is done in store. No need to contact anyone or call unless it’s really bad

CONS

I feel that the Credit card processing is a bit off. I would gave power outages often and also lost lots of money on offline processing.

My

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Instore

PROS

I like the emails we get about updates & the interface. For the most part it's really easy to use and the FAQ are very helpful.

CONS

It's not always the most intuitive POS system. It took a long time got an update to be created that allowed us to start tabs.

Susan

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

So Happy in Austin

Support is great and I’m so happy I chose instore for our first shop!

PROS

Ease of use, detail of reports, reward system is loved by most, hold orders are very convenient and the overall look!

CONS

That there is no FINAL screen after the customer signs or pays . . . Something to say, “Thank you! See you tomorrow” Customers are often confused and say, “am I done?” When it jumps to the next order screen

Judy

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Overall the system is fairly easy to use.

I don’t like the fact that you don’t need to open a shift in order to sell.

PROS

It’s Easy to use. You can take the iPad anywhere. I like having the employee hours on the same system.

CONS

The individual shift reports. I would like more detail on the individual’s shift, not just cash, When there’s more than one shift open on the same date at the same time.

Chris

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Does Pretty Good

I like the Instore product it is easy to use, they are constantly updating it with new features, and I like the metrics it measures. However, I am afraid my business might be a bit too busy for it to keep up with.

PROS

The overall product is very clean and intuitive. It was easy to program and is easy for my employees to learn how to use.

CONS

I have a small soda fountain and when we get busy during peak hours, the system will occasionally lag. This can be very frustrating when we have a line out the door and need to pick up the pace.

Sarah

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

It's good to start

It needs to be easier to add inventory. Ounces, containers etc.

PROS

It's easy to train employees on and easy to navigate. I like that I can see the daily reports on my phone.

CONS

My accountant doesn't like the profit and loss report at all. He said it's not a true profit and loss report.

kimberly

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: