All MarginEdge Reviews

1-25 of 47 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Bill E

11 - 50 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2023

MarginEdge Saved Billie's Bacon.

User Profile

Max

Verified reviewer

Restaurants, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Great Comprehensive Restaurant Management Tool

PROS

One-stop shopping for most numbers-based needs for the group. Really helped streamline digitizing invoicing, which added products, which we were then able to build inventories on. Terrific customer support if any hitches.

CONS

Most 'missing' features in the past have been added.

Greg

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Count me a Fan!

Exceptional, the Margin Edge team has leaped through hoops to help my team become more efficient. The tools this software provides are PERFECT in so many ways. Not only do we pay more attention to the daily spend, but we track it against budgets in live time. The experience has translated to more bottom line dollars -

PROS

Record Retention - before Margin Edge came along, we saved every piece of paper - not any more. This tool was also extremely useful in managing the spend through the month, the category and profit loss tools are excellent bell-weathers for operations

CONS

In our case, our units are independent in terms of menu, so gathering group information has some steps that could be alleviated - I believe this is being worked upon for next version. There were a few other minor issues which the Margin Edge Team was so helpful in teaching my staff how to handle and view their

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

Record retention and Ownership reporting - we needed the record retention and when presented the same capabilities as our current menu costing tools, in addition to the many un-anticipated income enhancing tracking tools , we were just BLOWN AWAY - making the swwitch was the smartest thing we ever did.

Dana

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2023

Margin Edge Review

PROS

I like the ability to pay bills through Margin Edge. Inter company ordering

CONS

I have had trouble with the amount of time it takes for payments to reach Vendor's. Also tracking credits is not easy. In addition to having a major problem with some electronic payments.

Vendor Response

Hi Dana, first off we want to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and giving us your honest feedback. We really appreciate any information you have on your experience using MarginEdge. We are bummed to hear you are having trouble with payments in the software and are taking your comments to heart. We will pass your feedback along to our Customer Support and Payments teams to see how we can improve on these issues, and someone will be reaching out. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

Replied September 2023

Ryan

Restaurants, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Ease of use, less data entry

Margin Edge's unique combination of offerings allows for simplification of in-store restaurant operations and the administrative management.

PROS

Margin Edge combines an easy to use inventory and COGS platform, a kitchen recipe viewer, and a data entry service. Our managers really appreciate the additional time they are able to spend on the floor instead of in the office entering invoices. I find the team at Margin Edge extremely open to feedback about the product and very responsive to support emails. From an administration standpoint, the software is user friendly and direct. The removal of the duplicate maintenance of two recipe databases (one for kitchen viewing and one for target costing) has significantly lowered the number of hours required to run our business.

CONS

The system is still new, so there are some features that competitors have developed which are still being developed for margin edge.

Reason for choosing MarginEdge

The unique combination of data entry and ability to streamline our administrative tasks by housing recipes for target costing and kitchen view in one database.

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

We needed a more reliable system.

Matt

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Margin Edge Drives our Profitability

Customer-service and margin edge product itself proven to be one of the best decisions we’ve made in our decade long restaurant journey. We are so thankful for what they have done for us.

PROS

MarginEdge makes it so simple and intuitive to manage your restaurant. Having immediate access to invoices purchase orders recipes, and sales information is critical in MarginEdge over delivers in both customer service, and helping us manage profitability on a day by day basis.

CONS

There are no cons w Margin Edge. The time you spend setting it up has paybacks that are greater than you could ever imagine.

Reason for choosing MarginEdge

Ease-of-use and their recipe viewer product

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

Ease of use. The capturing of line item detail (without entry). This speeds up the process, the reliability and ultimately our decision making, which is why this product is so critical for our profitability.

Vendor Response

Matt, wow! Thank you so much for your review - we are beyond thrilled to hear we're hitting all the marks for you and your team. Hearing your success story, and the part we've been able to play, is precisely why we do what we do. Please keep the feedback coming as our partnership continues, we're committed to constantly improving the product and your experience. Thanks again!

Replied April 2023

Angie

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Margin Edge gave me hours back in my week

Margin Edge has been great to work with. It does take several months to really get the data in and a while to work out the kinks on our side. They have been right there to help us along the way as we were ready to take on more of the product.

PROS

The A/P component in and of itself paid for the product in reduced time spent inputting invoices/receipts. The inventory side, while there is a learning curve, has been great now that we are setup. We fully use the recipes, menu engineering and theoretical usage reports.It is part of my start to every day.Like the Budget summary. The combination of Budget and the P&L allow me to customize what I want my team to view and helps us track to metrics.

CONS

There are some things we would very much like 1) Waste Log. All the information is in ME to integrate a wastelog and it would be great to add to the variance report. 2) Menu Analysis using gross sales rather than net. We integrate with Toast and it may be a function of what Toast makes available. We LOVE the menu analysis but based upon our discounting program - it skews our view and requires us to focus more on the theoretical usage report and Menu items rather than the menu analyses. 3) Forecasting. Would be very nice to have an annual and monthly forecast integrated into the system.

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

We were looking for an inventory solution that was easy to use and we could trust. We also had a lot of time we were spending on payables. This was an easy all in one solution for these two items that immediately gave us time back in our week and gave us a good framework for taking our menu engineering and food cost management to the next level by making it very accessible to our leadership and updating in a timely manner. Not need to wait until our books close each month.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, Angie! We're thrilled to hear what an unlock MarginEdge has had on your business. It sounds like you are a true [me] star (no menu pun intended). We look forward to continually meeting your needs with future product feature releases and updates. We're always working on moving onward and upwards - so, keep the feedback coming. In the meantime, our Product team has added your wishlist to the roadmap, thanks! UPDATE 9/28/2023: Hi Angie! We wanted to circle back to you and let you know that our Product Team took your concerns into consideration. View our new Waste Log here: https://www.marginedge.com/lp/waste-log-pros We value your feedback and hope this new feature unlocks new heights for your restaurant with MarginEdge!

Replied September 2023

Tyler

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

My Review

Very Positive. Happy to be working with Margin Edge.

PROS

I think the recipe building and costing functions are great. Inventory is easy to use on mobile devices which our managers like. Menu Analysis has been very helpful with pricing and ingredient sourcing.

CONS

Integration of new products and sifting through vendor products could be a bit easier to navigate. It took me quite some time to figure out the easiest way to get the information I was looking for.

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

Better functionality

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, Tyler! Our ultimate goal is to not only produce amazing restaurant software, but for your company to love using it. We're thrilled to hear your managers are digging taking inventory on mobile app. As for sifting through new products, we appreciate your feedback and are continually working to make your experience easy and smooth. Thanks again!

Replied August 2023

Trish

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Game Changing for Restaurant Work! I'm a HUGE fan!

I own accounting service that had sworn off doing restaurant work because of the vast amount of paper involved. Most of my time was being spent tracking down Sales and COGS info and could never do any real analysis. A couple years ago I discovered Orderly and used that service for a year or so until they eliminated the integration with QuickBooks Online. I went searching and found MarginEdge. It. Changed. Everything. I couldn't be more pleased. Not only does it help me take care of the avalanche of paper I used to have to deal with on a daily basis, but now we can get real Food cost, ingredient pricing alerts, etc. And I can deliver financials fast! My clients think I'm a genius.

PROS

There are so many Pro's features it's hard to list them all... MarginEdge eliminates so much data entry, tracking down invoices, tracking down item prices, integrates with so many POS systems, integrates with QuickBooks Online and the Bill Pay service is AMAZING!! I also love that after scanning the invoices I can toss the paper, everything is in one place!

CONS

I really can't see any Cons here. Setting up can take a little time, but once it's set up, you're done!

Reason for choosing MarginEdge

Ease of use. Fast set up. Integration with POS systems and accounting systems.

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

MarginEdge has more tools and Bill Pay!

Lupe

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Trio Restaurant

Very simple program to use.

PROS

That it can integrate and have a better idea what invoices are currently at hand.

CONS

That at times invoices are put in with a credit without actually receiving the vendor credit.

Vendor Response

Hi Lupe, thank you so much for this feedback and for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate any and all comments you have on the software, as we are dedicated to consistent improvement. We've taken note of your comment about vendor credits and someone from our team will be reaching out to see what can be done to improve this issue. Again, thank you for your feedback and we are so happy to have you as a client!

Replied September 2023

Heather

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Best Full House Invoice and Inventory Management

Having used both Bevspot and Xtrachef before this product, I feel like ME is the best you can get for it's comprehensive coverage of invoicing, transfers, inventory, ordering, bill pay, and costing.

PROS

ME is great because it can do invoice management and inventory management for front and back of house.

CONS

ME could be better with it's app. The app does seem like there is a lot of room for improvement with features. The website can bug out occasionally during recipe building.

Vendor Response

Hello Heather, thank you so much for your feedback! It means a lot that you took the time to share your feedback with us, as it's the only way we continuously improve. As you mentioned, comprehensive coverage is a game changer for us and we are glad it is checking off all of your priorities. Please keep the feedback coming, as we look to regularly update and improve our mobile app. Thanks again!

Replied August 2023

miguel

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

my experience

cost, menu prices

PROS

it´s easy to use the information is very friendly

CONS

the information that i changed in my account affects the other restaurant as well, the other issue that we have is the shrink we dont have a section in margin edge to enter alll the shrink taht we have and we cant discount that products for our inventory

Vendor Response

Hi Miguel, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying the software and finding a lot of benefits. We actually just launched a Waste Log feature in the software, which will assist with tracking shrink. Hope that will provide some relief and lead you towards even more accurate reporting! Thanks again.

Replied September 2023

Katie

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Food Cost / Recipe Management

PROS

Looking up current product costs and seeing how food cost fluctuates is great! Having rhe recipes and being able to adjust them and see regularly how the cost changes by item is important for bottom line.

CONS

You have to put A LOT of work into adding the recipes. The conversions are very time consuming.

Vendor Response

Hi Katie, thank you so much for this feedback, and for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you are having a successful experience seeing how food costs can impact your profitability – being able to adjust in the moment instead of after it's too late. We know adding recipes is a time consuming process (but integral to knowing how much your menu items cost), if we could wave a magic wand and get them in there for you, we would! We do offer a recipe service if you are interested. Our platform is continuously growing and evolving based on feedback from folks like you and we truly appreciate hearing your experience.

Replied August 2023

James

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Great Product, A Must Have!

We now run inventories and can identify issues leading to higher food costs. We don't need to worry about over portioning or other loss as the software can help us identify the problems so we can solve them. We have our recipes in and they are compared to our sales to make sure we our costs are hitting our targets.

PROS

This software is super easy to set up and implement. My management team had no issues.

CONS

There is nothing I have issues with in Margin Edge.

Reason for choosing MarginEdge

Ease of implementation. Margin Edge only required our staff to scan invoices.

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

Compeat was too complicated to set up.

Jennifer

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Such a labor saver!!

We have been able to save a tremendous amount of time doing inventory and recipe costing with this program.

PROS

We have been in business for 27 years and this has been the one biggest and most effeicent changes we have made with regard to inventory management. Highly recommend! Easy to implement and learn. Very quick to set up. The recipe costing has been an added bonus - real time costs on everything at your finger tips. It's been a real eye-opener.

CONS

I wish we could choose the Price Alerts in bulk with a quick check list instead of having to select them one-by-one. It is a bit tedious to set up.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for the review, Jennifer! We're so happy to hear what a game-changer MarginEdge has been for you, your team, and business! Reducing tedious tasks and allowing your team to do more of what they love is precisely why we do what we do. Noted on the Price Alert tool, we've sent this feedback over to our Product team - as we're continually releasing updates. We'll keep you posted, and thanks again!

Replied March 2023

Dinh

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Must have product for restaurants!

Overall great! Especially support. Always a pleasure to talk to support over there and they always have a solution. If they don't then they will find one for you. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is pretty much a hero without a cape....maybe he has one?

PROS

Daily polling sales are great! This minimizes daily journal entries. Invoices coding are great, helps with manual entry. Theoretical costs are great, really delve into how each item is used in various recipes.

CONS

Sometimes the OCR technology is not able to break down complicated invoices. Example: Tshirts with different sizes on the same line instead of broken out as separate lines.

Reason for choosing MarginEdge

We looked through several different products such as XtraChefs, Foodager, Marketman...etc...but it came down to service!

Reasons for switching to MarginEdge

Support.

Jeremiah

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2023

Quick Review

We use it for invoice processing. The sales are given in Gross, which we do not use.

PROS

Being able to enter invoices on the phone app.

CONS

The delay in invoices posting makes it less than ideal to catch things posted to the wrong category

Reason for choosing MarginEdge

Better functionality and a relationship with the representative.

Vendor Response

Thanks a bunch for the review, Jeremiah! We're thrilled to hear the ease of invoice uploading from anywhere / anytime is serving you and your team well (not to play favorites, but it's up there for us, too). On the posting timeline, we hear you and it's something we've been actively working to improve. We've just made some recent (and significant) shifts on our end that should start to close this gap. Keep your eyes peeled and the feedback coming. In the meantime, one of our Customer Success Managers is going to reach out to set up some time to chat more about your other pieces of feedback - we'll aim to get the sales bit sorted for you. Thanks again!

Replied June 2023

Takashi

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Marginedge Is Good

PROS

Analysis of purchase/menu data is very helpful

CONS

Adding more push reports will increase the value of the tool

Vendor Response

Hi Takashi - thanks so much for taking the time to send along your feedback about your MarginEdge experience, we're grateful for it! Glad to hear that you're finding the data analysis tools helpful, and noted on the push reports - we're continually working toward being able to give customers the data they want at the exact time they need it. We'll shoot you a note to learn more about what you have in mind here so we can add it to our product roadmap. Thanks again!

Replied April 2023

Beth

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: