All ThriftCart Reviews

1-22 of 22 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Apree

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Amazing POS for Thrift Stores!

Wonderful experience and now that they added shopify to sell our merchandise online, I am even more excited.

PROS

Thrift Cart was extremely easy to set up and use.

CONS

When you are pricing, and you stop pricing for 5-10 minutes you must remember to change your ticket color back to the color you're working on because it automatically reverts to white.

Scott

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

ThriftCart has made great changes in our strore

Our overall experience with ThriftCart has been one of the best I have ever had with a company. Their whole team is absolutely great and very helpful and i am recommending ThriftCart to every thrift store that I talk to.

PROS

ThriftCart was built with thrift stores in mind and offers almost everything a thrift store would need in a POS/donation scheduling system. The setup process is very in-depth and their team is always willing to help no matter how small the concern might be. Overall we are saving over $500 per month by moving to ThrifCart.

CONS

The only cons I would mention is ThriftCart could be a little more upfront with their card processing percentage and what equipment is needed. We were told our card processing parcentage would be 2.8% and when we signed the paperwork, the actual percentage rate was 2.89. This was not deal breaker, but it does add up to more cost in the long run. When we first contacted ThriftCart we were informed that some of our equipment from previous POS systems that we had might work. In the end we ended up having to purchase some new equipment and luckily we had some donated from another source.

Reason for choosing ThriftCart

ThriftCart offer the most robust system for the least amount of money, not to mention that the customer service is some of the best in the industry. I had research ThrifCart for two years before going with them and I have been very happy sense. Their general manager attends many events to show their product and is always willing to take time and talk to people in groups or one on one.

Reasons for switching to ThriftCart

We decided to step away from Clover because their system is setup more for the food/restaurant industry and not for thrift stores. They also require you to use third-party apps for anything extra such as barcoding, labeling and loyalty programs. These apps cost extra on top of your monthly fees to Clover. They also charge extra to use gift card and their card processing fees are variable and very expensive. The reasons we moved away form Vonigo was for lack of customer care, a very complicated reporting system and their unwillingness to work with their clients. The only way to contact them is through email and you would be lucky if you got help through that email. They no longer answer their phones and give very evasive answers through email.

Gregg

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Thriftcart

PROS

Ease of use, truck routing, simple cash register operations.

CONS

Inventory management needs to be easier to update prices/cost when needed. Sometimes difficult to get an item to show an on hand in the system.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Gregg! I'm glad you find it easy to use overall. I'll be reaching out via e-mail to address your concerns on inventory management of purchased product items!

Replied October 2019

David

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Done Better

Before using ThriftCart about 80% of my time was spent scheduling donation pickups. Now that is about 40% (depending on time of year). Prior to using ThriftCart we were using an email for donors to request pick-ups which required a lot of back and forth communication. ThriftCart allows donors to go online and request specific dates and times which eliminates the back and forth. While I still have to monitor all the incoming requests, and regularly call some donors to ask questions, it is still a big time saver.

PROS

Ease of use, intuitive functionality and customization.

CONS

ThriftCart has a few navigational quirks which can only be learned by using, but once you've had some time with it they are easily overcome.

Reason for choosing ThriftCart

We spent 6 months with Vonigo trying to set up a simple scheduling program for our donation pick-up service and they still couldn't make it do what we wanted. It took ThriftCart about a month to get us operational. One of the best aspects of ThriftCart for me is being able to set up a geographic area to my specifications so we can maximize efficiency, and reduce wasted time and fuel. Within 1 hour of examining ThriftCart I was ready to sign up.

Vendor Response

I'm glad ThriftCart is able to save you so much time with donation pickup scheduling! I know it's tricky for a lot of thrift stores and reuse stores to manage donation pickup scheduling, and I'm glad ThriftCart was a time-saver for you! Keep up the good work!

Replied October 2019

Erin

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Everything we need in one spot!

Very easy to use and very responsive support when needed.

PROS

So many functions available with the same program. The software has been very customizable.

CONS

No downfalls only wish is that we could integrate even more functions like volunteer tracking, build schedule and volunteer events and maybe donor data base but not all programs can do everything!

Reason for choosing ThriftCart

Thrift cart offered more features like sending surveys and our scheduling systems so we do not need to combine multiple reports when gathering customer information.

Reasons for switching to ThriftCart

Thrift cart was more user friendly.

Vendor Response

Thanks Erin! We love having you as a customer! I'm also very happy that you want to have more functions inside of ThriftCart. I'm always looking for new useful features for customers, so I certainly appreciate your input.

Replied December 2019

THOMAS

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Excellent software for Thrift Store Management

We used this to help manage a markdown system in a thrift store. Implementing the markdown system increased revenue markedly. Our auditors love the reporting, and the reports help us be intentional about our setup.

PROS

ThriftCart is VERY intuitive. It is so easy to implement, and very robust at the same time. The support is phenomenal, and it is very customizable. There are so many options and configurations, yet it is still simple. When something is over our heads, the support takes over. Have never had a problem that we did not create ourselves, but support has been very responsive even to self-inflicted (user error) problems.

CONS

It is not as visually appealing or polished as some others.

Reason for choosing ThriftCart

Cost, industry-specific, excellent service and support through sale, implementation and beyond

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind words! We love having you as a customer!

Replied December 2019

Gordon

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Great Customer Service: from start to finish

We were looking for a cloud-based POS system that was cost effective and came with great product support. We got everything we had hoped for!

PROS

The developer is willing to customize the user interface to meet our needs, creating functionality as the need arose.

CONS

Initially certain functionality wasn't present, but the developer added what we needed. And we asked for quite a few things.

Reason for choosing ThriftCart

Better price and better customer support (great people to work with)

Reasons for switching to ThriftCart

We were looking for a more cost-effective solution that was easier to maintain and customize.

Abigail

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Strong Value For Money

We have gone a different direction for scheduling but there are strong competitive stores that use it for scheduling. It depends on each store needs. When we have needed support the team has been available and speedy. When we got started we had nearly constant communication - as we needed to have it. And over time it has been smooth and we have needed little contact. But when we need support it is there. I would describe ThriftCart as a dependable simple product. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but it does exactly what we need.

PROS

We are a Habitat For Humanity ReStore and we do about 120 Transactions per day We are largely volunteer run, and most of our cashiers are volunteers. Some come every week, some come far less. All of them are able to pick it up and use the system quickly. It is uncomplicated where it needs to be and highly customizable. It has the capacity for barcodes, coupons, customer loyalty cards, gift cards, and sales. We do not use all of the options, but we are able to expand as needed. And it has the complexity that we need for our sales but the simplicity we need for volunteers. Even without barcodes, we are able to process quickly at times averaging 2 minutes per transaction. We have had excellent luck with the support, updates, and requested changes. We have used this system for over 5 years and we are happy with it.

CONS

Web Based - if your internet goes down you have no access to the data or the information. You will need to make sure you are tracking your data on your own servers for back up It is simple and not overly sophisticated - this can be a benefit or a draw back. It does not look dated - and it works well for us.

Reason for choosing ThriftCart

Customer Service Recommendations Simplicity Ability to customize

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind feedback, Abigail! I'm glad to have your store as a customer!

Replied October 2019

Jackie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Great system and support!

Overall it is easy to use, efficient, and has great customer support!

PROS

ThriftCart is very easy to use, customizable to our processes, and has great customer support for questions, updates, tutorials, etc.

CONS

It can be difficult to correct mistakes when adding inventory or credit, but support is easy to get to help clean it up.

Vendor Response

Thanks for being such a long-time customer Jackie! We really appreciate having you and your stores!

Replied January 2020

Kelly

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

ThriftCart helped us double our sales!

With precise and real time metrics, we are able to isolate the poor performing areas of our store. This has been a huge benefit to us! We also run sales frequently. Our ThriftCart system allows us to easily choose which discount applies to which area. Even our non-techy employees found ThriftCart easy to use!

PROS

We love the ability to run reports and see in real-time where our sales are. We have completely transformed our thrift store that provides financial support to our local rescue mission and shelters. When ThriftCart was implemented, we started changing our pricing and emphasis based on highest and lowest sales over the past three months. We've been able to double our sales over this same time period last year!

CONS

The only issue we have found is with returns. We do not process returns often as we are a thrift store. However, we do offer returns on electronics and for special situations. If the customer doesn't have a receipt and it's been more than two days we have found it challenging to process their returns. This is the only issue we have found at all.

Ron

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Fantastic Product

We have been able to grow our business from one daily truck to two and have also added a Saturday pickup.

PROS

This software is so easy to use. I have been able to train multiple users and have them functioning at a high level within a few days. The support has been quick and very receptive to recommended changes.

CONS

I honestly cannot think of any negatives.

Vendor Response

We're so happy to have you using our donation pickup scheduling tool! It's great that you've been able to expand the number of trucks doing pickups, and we're glad that we get to be a small part of that. Keep up the great work!

Replied January 2020

Leah

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Thriftcart is great for small and growing retail operations with limited tech skills

Thriftcart has made administrative oversight enormously easy and I can now problem solve financial issues with a few key strokes from any computer. This has saved an enormous amount of time and labor resources over the past years that easily compensates for the extremely reasonable monthly expense.

PROS

The functionality and ease of use is a big plus. All the cashiers that work at our stores are individuals with disabilities and we were able to set up the system to best suit the needs of our cashiers. The register is easy to use and is easy to teach someone with minimal technological skills.

CONS

There are so many possible reports and functions available on Thriftcart that I sometimes feel I am missing the broad scope available- It would be great to have a table of contents with a list of all available reports, rather than having to bug the very nice and supportive people at Thriftcart for a certain report.

Reasons for switching to ThriftCart

Needed better administrative oversight and ease of use for cashiers.

Karl

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Thriftstore Application

I can't recommend Thriftcart enough. There are other products on the market for all the solutions Thriftcart offers, but the full integration capacity of Thriftcart is invaluable, and the team at Thriftcart has been responsive beyond our expectations, far exceeding any other software provider we have ever worked with.

PROS

The software serves a huge number of purposes in a completely integrated package. Customer service is exceptional and very responsive.

CONS

It is a bit tricky configuring the system, but customer service has always been there when we needed them and once the setup is dialed in, the system is extremely comprehensive and easy to use.

Tim

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Great, easy to use system

I am thoroughly satisfied with what ThriftCart can do. This is a great system.

PROS

My staff finds it very user friendly. The discount scheduling is by the far the best thing for us.

CONS

It took a while for us to get set up. I felt like there could have been a more fluid orientation for walking us through all the factors involved.

Reasons for switching to ThriftCart

More functionality specific to our type of store.

Ginger

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Best user friendly POS

I love ThriftCart It's really easy to use and anytime we need help [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been very helpful and very quick to respond. I've used many other systems other places I've worked and the customer service is by far the best.

PROS

It's very easy to use and train new employees on

CONS

Scheduling you have to bounce back and forth between pages to set someone up. It would be nice to see what days are open and just set them up on the same page. It possible we have an old version and maybe this is an update they have already fixed.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind review Ginger! We're so glad you're a customer!

Replied December 2019

Laura

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Price and Performance

Reports and inventory are a breeze. Simple to use and yet complex where needed.

PROS

ThriftCart is very easy to use, customizable to our stores needs. Good customer support. Tutorials are easy to follow.

CONS

Because it is Web Based, if you are having a problem with the internet you are unable to access data. However you always have the option to go on your phone to access information in a pinch.

Reasons for switching to ThriftCart

Inventory tracking was a continuous problem. Another problem was crashing of the system which we rarely get now.

Deanna

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY