Revel is a cloud-based business platform that integrates operations and customer channels with point-of-sale (POS) functionality in a single dashboard. It is suitable for stores and restaurants of all sizes and provides users with a POS, as well as integrated inventory management, customer management and social media management.

Revel offers a data analytics application that tracks hourly sales, order history, payment summaries, product mix and sales summaries and presents the data in reports and graphs. Other features include managing loyalty programs and gift cards, mobile ordering and barcode support.

Business owners can control user access with with unique user IDs, passwords and swipe cards. Inventory management tools connect in-store and e-commerce channels to provide real-time inventory data. CRM features let users capture customer data and order history.

Revel offers support through training videos, live chat and over the phone. Integration with third-party partners like Apple Pay and QuickBooks are also available.



268 Reviews of Revel

Overall rating

4.0 / 5 stars

Showing 1 - 20 of 268 reviews

December 2018

Jeff from Coatings Hub

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

December 2018

Do not purchase for a retail company

We quit using it and will never recommend it. The customer service wait time is long.

Pros

Looks good, but does not communicate with Quick Books

Cons

Revel lies with how it works with Quick Books. It has cost me thousands of dollars and countless hours trying to make it work. Do not buy it for retail.

December 2018

Matt from DBK

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

December 2018

POS for Small Biz

Pros

The ease of use and ease of training stands out amongst all cloud based POS.

Cons

The price is little expensive and the stand provided by the company is not the best design. We purchased a stand through another manufacturer for a more slick use.

Response from Revel Systems of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied December 2018

We appreciate the feedback, Matt. We're constantly trying to do better and input like this really helps. Thanks!

November 2018

Bill from THRIVE Farmers

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2018

Revel, the good and the bad

Helpful with keeping track of sales and labor. Easy to learn and easy to train new employees on.

Pros

Easy to use and set up. The reports are pretty good. As a simple POS and time keeping system, it works well

Cons

If you need a POS that will help you with in depth inventory control, this is probably not the system for you

Response from Revel Systems of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied November 2018

Thank you for the feedback, Bill. We'd love to hear about what we could do differently with our inventory management tool¿if you'd like, please submit a feature request at https://support.revelsystems.com/hc/en-us/articles/208479946-Suggest-a-New-Feature. Thanks again!

November 2018

Marin from Martini's

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

November 2018

Revel Review

Pros

The system has an easy to understand interface.

Cons

Inconsistency with saving split checks, tedious process to adjust tips, glitches in system when sending items to kitchen

Response from Revel Systems of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied November 2018

Hi Marin, We appreciate your feedback and are sorry you've had a difficult time our system. We're especially concerned about the glitches you've experienced. It doesn't look like you have any open tickets at the moment, but please let us know if any new issues arise. In the meantime, we will continue working to improve the product and your experience.

October 2018

Javier from Burger 21

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2018

Good POS system

Very good functionality and high quality reporting system. I think this one one of the most advanced POS systems I have used.

Pros

Revel is user friendly and I love that we can use it with iPads.

Cons

There are some glitches and system can freeze from time to time. I have also had difficulties with our other software that integrates with Revel. The two systems often stop communicating with each other.

Response from Revel Systems of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Thanks very much for the feedback, Javier! We're constantly trying to improve the quality of our products and services and appreciate you bearing with us through the bumps.

October 2018

Siljo from Crave Restaurant LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2018

Good system to use as a point of sale

Pros

Has many features which can be used as in advanced way with technology . More use full for retail shops

Cons

Some complications . Mistakes cannot be corrected and anything created cannot be deleted. Inventory management is difficult task in restaurant operations

Response from Holden Lewis of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Siljo, thanks so much for your feedback! We really appreciate it. While we can't allow outright deletion due to concerns surrounding recordkeeping, we do allow users to inactivate items in their console so they aren't visible. There are several ways to achieve this—please reach out to Support to see which approach is the best for your business. Thanks again!

October 2018

Ben from Little Machine

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

October 2018

Great point of sale system

Pros

Offers a ton of functionality for the monthly fee. We have been using it for three years and are still finding new features that improve our business.

Cons

Would be nice to have a consultant to work with so we don't have to hunt for features. Sometimes customer service can be a challenge to work with.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Ben, Thanks so much for your feedback! We'll be reaching out shortly to hear more about the features you're interested in and connect you to some resources. - Holden

October 2018

Ward from The Parkway Theater

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

October 2018

Sold a bill of goods that just didn't pan out.

Pros

Fast, easy-to-use POS interface. I like Apple products so that was a bonus that they use Apple branded iPads.

Cons

Revel is a decent product backed back some terrible customer service. The on boarding process, done remotely, is not robust enough and as a result you are left unable to use most of the features without paying for ongoing account support. Most importantly, I was sold on the idea that Revel had total and complete integration with Quickbooks, which is NOT the case. The integration creates a total mess in Quickbooks, and employee hours can only be ported over to Quickbooks in whole numbers and no overtime. The sales team was, for the most part, unresponsive after the sale was made. Extra equipment was sent and billed to us that we did not order. Revel is extremely expensive compared to the competition. I would not purchase this product again.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Ward, thank you for the feedback—we're sorry that we let you down. We've been in touch on other platforms and with you directly, but please let us know if there's anything we can do to help. Thanks, Holden

October 2018

romain from le labo fragrances

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

October 2018

Revel up

Revel up is not clear sometimes.

Pros

We can see/ check everything but I think is perfect for a restaurant not for a shop.
It s a bit too complicated.

Cons

To complicated to sea things inside template.
By template I mean where we have to go, to click one before seeing everything.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Romain, thanks very much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about the difficulties you've been having! We have an array of educational resources available to our customers to make sure they're getting the most functionality possible out of their POS, as well as product experts who can walk you through the various features. Please let us know if we can help point you in the right direction! -Holden

October 2018

Gaylene from Tactical INC DBA Combat Denfense Systems

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

October 2018

Not at all good

THIS SYSTEM DOES NOT WORK

Pros

Equipment looks nice and this is about all I can say about Revel. They do answer the phone when you call not that they are of any help.

Cons

This system will stop working right when your trying to make a sale. We have lost several sales because of this. When you call Revel they blame it on TSYS and Freedom pay and tell you they don’t know what is wrong. But they will work on it and it could take 3-5 days to fix. Maybe they can fix it “Maybe “. Don’t waste thousands on this System.
Combat Defense Systems
Fayetteville NC

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Gaylene. We're very sorry to hear about the recent difficulties you've had processing payments. We understand how frustrating it can be to lose business because of issues beyond your control. Our support team is aware of the payment processing issue and, in addition to a short-term fix, is working diligently with our partners to identify a long-term solution.

October 2018

Carla from Frekin gud bbq

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2018

Easy handheld POS

Pros

I really liked its ease of use for just about anyone.

Cons

There was no aspect that I could point out as not liking.

Response from Revel Systems of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Thank you for the kind feedback, Carla! We are so lucky to have customers like you.

September 2018

Sean from Tipping T Eatery

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2018

Revel is very simple to use

The staff is very knowledgable

Pros

Very intuitive and simple to use. We like the reporting on the back end too. The system it self is very sleek and small.

Cons

A little on the expensive side for a small mom and pop company when you pay the month lease option.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied October 2018

Shucks, Sean! We appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear that you're happy. Let us know if we can do anything for you. Thanks!

September 2018

Abe from DōShack

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

September 2018

Good overall. Missing some details

Pros

Easy to use and user friendly. Mobile friendly and reports are okay. Would reccomend to others if they like easy platforms

Cons

Need to pay for an app. Although already paying over market price. Could have done extra features that would help more.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied September 2018

Thanks very much for the feedback, Abe. We'd really like to hear your thoughts on the features that you think would improve your product experience. - Holden at Revel

September 2018

cheryl from West Market Square Artisan Coffehouse

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2018

I shopped extensively and found Revel to be the best value, with support and ease of use.

Pros

Support is very helpful.
Easy to use once trained on it.
Like the reports that I can run. I can get data needed to make decisions on pricing and staffing. I can get tax data easily.

Cons

We have some issues with disconnected from the printer, but this could often be an internet issue. Overall, it all works well.

September 2018

Effrin from Parrot Nation LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2018

easy to use and ability to add is nice

Pros

ability to add items is nice and the ease of all buttons on same screen is a huge improvement. inventory reports are nice

Cons

difficult at times to do inventory reports. sometimes they make no sense. employee page could use some ease as well

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied September 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Effrin! We are constantly working to improve our product and make it easier for customers to use. In the meantime, we suggest that you check out https://revelsystems.com/revel-university/ for guides and tips. - Holden at Revel

September 2018

Gentry from Works of Florida Cracker

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2018

A journey

I feel they are listening and improving, several of my concerns have been addressed and a few have even been corrected in recent updates.

Pros

The cloud-based system allows me to access and make changes remotely which is fantastic. The online resources for education and help are great. Ease of use in payments, refunds, tabs, etc is awesome. I have had a great experience with a team who helped set up and guide me through the Revel experience

Cons

This software is improving, but is sold to traditional dining service restaurants and is more optimal for fast casual- register style dining. I have had many struggles trying to get the system to categorize things abd get me the information I need. The payment process and tracking for server checkouts has been complicated, as well. As far as tips processing and credit cards.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied September 2018

Thanks so much for your feedback, Gentry. We've been working hard to improve the experience of our customers with both our product and our support. That work isn't yet finished, though, and your input is greatly valued. - Holden at Revel

September 2018

Tracey from 4 Fingers Crispy Chicken

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2018

Quality and simplicity

Pros

It's very simply to use, while still maintaining the quality of a 'fancier' more expensive platform.

Cons

The backend can be a little confusing to navigate but only until you become familiar with the system

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied September 2018

Thanks so much for the feedback, Tracey! We really appreciate it. Best, Holden at Revel

September 2018

Kanwarinder from SA & S Foods

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2018

Great software and easy to use

I have been using Revel for the past year or so and would definitely recommend this all the other business partners. Great system, the UI is customize able to fulfill your needs and the best part is most of the customization can be done using your management console. There is a 24 hours support available in case of any issues.

Pros

Customize able to your needs, easy to use, built for any business, 24 hours support line available for your help.

Cons

Haven't seen any issues so far with this system, hence nothing much to mention here.
Like I stated the support team is great and in case you run into any kind of issues they are always on the phone to assist.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied September 2018

Wow, Kanwarinder! We are floored by your feedback and so delighted that you're enjoying your Revel POS. Thanks for being such an awesome customer. - Holden at Revel

September 2018

Kaitlin from Wisconsin Brewing Company

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2018

Easy to use

Pros

Easy to use/user friendly. Our experience with the staff of Revel has been great. Customer support has been phenomenal up to this point. We almost didn't have credit card readers to use because the bluetooth wasn't working but we were escalated to a support guy who helped us out in his free time. We're lucky with who are project manager was and having her contacts available to us.

Cons

We had a lot of growing pains in the beginning. The bluetooth devices were not working and we had to contact a Revel support person at their home to get them working. This was stressful as we were set to open our first very busy night of our outdoor season and no ability to take a credit card.

September 2018

Murat from 5 stuy cafe

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2018

Complete POS in one small app with a lot of reporting options behind.

I would love to have custom reports ie; Between given dates how many green salad was sold?

Pros

Reporting functions. There is a lot of reports that we can check the data that has been processed.

Cons

Even though whenever i call i reach very knowledgable rep. If a person is not into tech stuff (like me ;) ) its very difficult to apply all those to the pos to fix something.

Response from Holden of Bluebird Global (PPC only)

Replied September 2018

Murat, thanks so much for the kind feedback! We really appreciate it—we're always trying to find ways to improve our product, and the users like you who are pushing our platform to its limits are invaluable to that process. Best, Holden at Revel