User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.87

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"I like how user friendly this software is, but I would love some upgraded features like other software have."
  • icon"Allowing us to have the parents fill this out every day and then scan a QR Code to check compliance has been super easy and reassuring to families and staff that school is safe every day."
  • icon"The software is really easy to use compared to other programs. It is very user friendly and you are able to access items quickly and with ease."
  • icon"At times it can have issues or problems when saving things or when sending out emails and it completely swipes everything out."
  • icon"Certain administrative tasks need to be carried out on their side. I feel guilty about contacting them for something simple that I feel that I can do, but they do not mind doing whatever the task is."
  • icon"We did not find any aspects of the software that were difficult to use."

All ParentLocker Reviews

1-25 of 98 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ephraim

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

Unbelievable Bang for buck

We are using ParentLocker as the back end for all of our school systems. We were able to roll it out in a very short period of time and have been up and running. The low learning curve is one of its greatest assets. Another is how quickly it added features to adapt to the pandemic. Daily homework emails changed times to be daily schedules, contact tracing and screenings were added along with Zoom integration and more quickly accessible Google Classroom integration. New features are developed all the time.

Pros

Parent Locker took a complicated system, a school database, and made it extremely easy to use by simplifying the interface. Where other systems use complicated and heavy SQL type databases, PL seems to run a much more lightweight system. While this might sacrifice some power in theory, we have rarely had a task that we needed to run which couldn't be run natively. When we did, support came through in unbelievable timing to either run or develop to the functionality for us.

Cons

The company is somewhat small. While the company is growing, I had some reservations about the age and size of the company on its long term viability. This has proved to be a moot concern as the company has continued to build and develop and is going strong. I am still nitpicking but this is still my greatest concern with the software if forced to pick one.

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

The pricing and features were just a much easier transition. It had what we wanted in a simple interface for a price we could afford.

Philippa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Two thumbs up to Parent Locker!

The admissions process and parent access to information has been so much more efficient with Parent locker. Data about the school is at our fingertips which has made everything more efficient. We looked at many different database solutions for schools - most of them sky-high expensive, complicated and not affordable for our small school - and we found Parent Locker to be the most easy to use and meeting our needs.

Pros

From creating a form to getting the link up on our website to getting submitted forms into our database, Parent Locker has made the admissions process so easy. The software seems very intuitive and easy to use. Our families so appreciate being able to submit an admissions form on their phone while they're on the go. I also love how quick it is to generate a report for any data you need! If I receive a spontaneous request from the board for enrollment data, it takes me five minutes to generate a report. I've found the customer support really good - they usually respond within 24 hours, and they are always dedicated to helping you until your problem is resolved. Plus they will continually make improvements to their software based on customer feedback - there aren't many companies you can say this about! We've been so happy with their product and their responsiveness to our needs, we still can't quite believe we have such a great product at that price.

Cons

There are a couple of things we are currently unable to generate in a data report - for example, we can't generate a report of students who have left the school so attrition trends are still a little challening to document in the database - but anything we can't do from our end, Parent Locker will do for us and get the info to us, which is so appreciated.

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

See above

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

While TADS was affordable, it was not user-friendly - on the school end and on the parent end - their customer support was poor, and they also told us information about their database that turned out to be false.

Elianna

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Very satisfied

Pros

Easy to use, downloadable app to your phone, nice looking mass emails

Cons

Some of the SIS features are confusing but easy to learn.

Tamarah

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Does the work of serval Administrators

Pros

ParentLocker centralized all of our admissions, registration, student information, paperwork and attendance needs into one convenient and easy to use program. We love the Parent Teacher (P/T) Conference module as well as the beautiful Progress Report and Report Card features. The easy to use school wide email and text message features make sending information and reminds very user friendly. We are also grateful for the way the ParentLocker teamed jumped onto the distance learning program early in the COVID-19 situation and quickly integrated with Zoom and Google Classroom. We are excited to integrate ParentLocker with FACTS for our tuition contracts for this year and to roll out the other new features when we return to school.

Cons

The few features that we felt were missing have either already been added or are being rolled out this year.

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

ParentLocker was much more user friendly and catered specially to our dual curriculum program.

Ofier

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Ease of use

Pros

Parent Locker understood the needs of our particular school. Although many of the features we needed were already anticipated, the team at Parent Locker was quick to customize our needs. The greatest thing about Parent Locker is the ease of use.

Cons

Parent Locker has recently added a lot of features we were using other platforms to do for us, thus not integrated into one system. They have been slow to add such features but are realizing that schools need many different databases to "talk" to each other for better management of student's information.

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

Parent Locker still makes us a priority and care about our school. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] makes sure to talk to us when we are having difficulties with a feature or need something outside the box.

Leslee

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Parent Locker Review from TDSA

I use Parent Locker as an admissions professional and find that overall, I am able to access information easily.

Pros

Parent Locker is hands down one of the most user-friendly and intuitive programs I have worked with.

Cons

I have not found any cons as of yet. Any problems or questions that I've had, have been addressed.

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

Parent Locker looked like it was the most user-friendly product of those we investigated.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

Blackbaud was cumbersome for us as well as costly.

Charles

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Almost Painless

Pros

We use the daily health screening component to keep track of who enters through what entrance and if they were temperature cleared as well. Parent Locker worked with us to set up and implement what we were required to have, and to make sure it worked for our specific needs. Everyone from sales to support has been top notch. I highly recommend using them.

Cons

I just wish we could use the whole suite. We are tied to the software our district requires so switching to Parent Locker as our SIS isn't an option at this time. If we are given the opportunity I would switch in an instant.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

We weren't happy with the daily health screening component.

Hannah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Parent Locker is an excellent choice

Pros

I love that it's so user-friendly for our parents! The design and ease to find information are clear and have a friendly 'feel'. Parents especially love the PTC module and the teachers love how easy it is to stay in communication with parents re: daily information, assignments, etc. The designer of the program is always thinking ahead and working to improve the program.

Cons

The scheduling section still needs some improvement. The app needs help but the designer is currently working on that.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

Was too complex and more than we needed.

Yitzchok

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Parent Locker will enhance your effectiveness as an educational institution.

From 1-10, Parent Locker is an 18!

Pros

1. Their customer support is unparalleled. Prompt responses and willing to resolve all concerns. Whenever you need something incorporated in the program, they are here to make it happen. We are extremely satisfied with this program. 2. Access to school data is easy and quick. It could be Attendance, Class lists, Communication to Parents, Report Cards, Integration with Google Classroom, Loom or generating data in multiple formats. Simplicity is the hallmark of this program. Teachers and administrators love the ease which which you can navigate the program. The refrain is " It is so easy and simple". 3. Flexible for each school and your particular needs. We went into Corona shutdown with a degree of calm because we had an excellent tool to communicate with parents. 4. Instead of parent receiving a hundred emails a day. they received a single daily digest which enabled parents to navigate their children's work in a consistent, clear and manageable manner.

Cons

What we have used - we have been happy with. Some processes need tweaking. However, there is always a work around which customer support has provided!

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

We found the numerous modules that were within PL were sufficiently independant. We could implement its use in phases. This was an important criterion for us. Ultimately, as the year unfolded, we were able to use more modules as we mastered each one.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

Ease of use. Parent Locker doesn't require secretarial intervention. PL is so easy teachers and administraors can do tasks independently. It also makes secreataries much more efficient!

Michelle

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

A lifesaver!

Since we opened in school in September we were expected to follow all the CDC protocols which included Daily Health Screening. We were using a paper version but to collect that from 300 plus students was wasteful. Then we tried to use an online form through out current SIS system. It was a disaster and so much work for me to have to activate a new form every evening for the next day. Then I found ParentLocker. It was so easy to setup and even easier for parents and teachers to use for the daily screening. It was also great that the teachers were able to use the app to see which students were cleared to enter the building with the click of a button. We don't use it for any other features currently but I am sure they are just as easy to use and manage. This app saved my sanity and was so worth the money!

Pros

ease of setup app is easy to use great customer service no issues

Cons

When you login to the website through a browser on the phone, it is unclear where to go for the screening.

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

Even though Google Forms was free...there would still be so much work involved setting up the forms to be available each day and then sorting through the data each day. It was worth paying for ParentLocker to take care of all of that work. And it is so easy to sort and see who is clear before entering school.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

There was too much paper being wasted. The online forms were glitchy. Some parents were seeing it and some weren't. There was no grouping to see who cleared and who didn't. It was a HEADACHE!

josh

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Great company support

Pros

Parent Locker assisted with set up and helped me with ensuring it was working correctly. The support team were a great help, especially during covid.

Cons

It can be time consuming to fill out all of the necessary forms. I would like this to be a slightly more straightforward process.

Shira

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Parent Locker Review

Parent Locker has been an invaluable resource for our school on every level. The teachers, parents, students and administrators all benefit from the easy to use platform, the intuitive set-up and the user-friendly navigation. It has simplified and streamlined our school processes- from attendance to grading to student notes and files to communication, etc. We were especially impressed and by the team's flexibility and know-how in helping us set-up online learning for our school in a matter of days. All the zoom meetings are fully integrated in the Parent Locker system and the platform is a one -stop resource that includes the schedules, daily assignments, links to zoom meetings, etc. They helped us navigate through a situation that could have been chaotic and instead helped make it doable and successful.

Pros

*the easy to use navigation * teacher- student-parent friendly interface with clear directions and intuitive set up *the pleasant font, graphics *responsiveness of the team to suggestions and feedback

Cons

They have been very responsive to help/support requests. Possibly to have a phone number to call in addition to access via email/chat.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

The previous platform that we were using was not user-friendly or intuitive and was difficult for everyone to navigate.

Tamara

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Exceptional Parent Portal

Pros

ParentLocker is so intelligently designed, as if the engineers who set it up were previously school administrators. In every interface -- attendance, report cards, student/family data system, parent conference scheduler, group email system, reports -- there are so many smart, helpful, useful details. This system has professionalized our administration, and was really easy to learn. It's extremely intuitive. I just love everything about it. Two new amazing additions: They allow integration of Google Classroom with the portal's student organizer, and added a whole financial module, so we can set up our student contracts and payment through FACTS. The customer service team is very responsive, and has even tweaked some of it's products to make the system better for us.

Cons

I would love it if they would make a few more parts mobile friendly, mainly the email system, so you could use it in an emergency from your phone easily, and it would be great if there were a dismissal module. Also, setting up forms for families to fill out, so the information flows into the database, can be a little difficult.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

TADS' system, by contrast, was poorly designed for schools.

Sheri

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Emek-Review

My overall experience is positive, Parentlocker is always there for help. They respond to the emails in less than 24 hours and they are efficient. You are not being tossed between people. You issue is followed till it's solved.

Pros

The things I like about this software is : -You can customize easily report card and progress report -If you made a mistake, supports helps you retrieve the data you lost -Reports from the school data base is an easy step - Support is always ready and eager to provide your need and customize reports for your need (we were able to change our attendance report to fir our need)

Cons

At this point, I wish sharing with google classroom had more control on the sharing items (for example except streaming) -different languages for communication with parents, so that parents that are bilingual can easily read our messages.

Reasons for choosing ParentLocker

When I joined the school, they were already using this program. I previously used other software and it was my first time learning ParentLocker.

Rabbi Rafi

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Transformative School Management Software

Torah Academy of Boca Raton entered a new echelon of professionalism, communication, collaboration and clarity thanks to Parentlocker features including emails, homework updates, report cards, and more.

Pros

Parentlocker offers a user-friendly, integrated platform for successfully and smoothly managing student information, attendance, report cards, emails, teacher assignments, test calendars, parent conferences, and much more!

Cons

The software is designed, as the name indicates, with parents in mind. Teachers are secondary but also addressed overall. It is not as intuitively designed for administrator needs and management of teachers as well as students. Some more complex areas of the software also are missing needed features or customization. However, the software team is extremely responsive and receptive to feedback, and is constantly upgrading the software to meet our needs.

Reasons for switching to ParentLocker

Need for a focus on educational needs over financial and intuitive interface / usability.

Ariella

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4