User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(35)

35

4 stars

(21)

21

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Great Parent Portal, it's Easy to use and they are always developing new and relevant features. "

  • "Easy to use with my classes, especially the collaboration tools available"

  • "Love that it is mobile responsive, clear communications to parents, students and staff. Powerful grader, markbook and reporting platform. DB that can be read from for analytics."

  • Cons

  • "Some of the information and data system integrations and set up processes were a bit tricky initially, but they provided plenty of support."

  • "Some of the logic does not flow the best with class pages and units, however the product is always improving."

  • "We don't have any major complaints - there a plenty of small feature improvements that can be made, but these are often addressed in major or point releases."

Browse Schoolbox Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 57 results

May 2018

David from St Michael's Grammar School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

A great partnership with a team that actually cares about their customers.

We use this software for so many purposes, more than what we originally thought. We can communicate to students and parents regarding news, projects, due work, markings etc.

Pros

The product owners and developers have always been very clear with how they see their product growing and how we can influence and feed in ideas and features. Even through rapid growth they have still remained true to their vision which convinced us to sign up 6 years ago.

Cons

There are quite a few settings in the admin panel that need better explanation, for us who have been using the system for a long time we know them but new users might be overwhelmed. That said, the more granular the settings the more you can customise it for your own environment.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Hey David. Thanks for spending the time to provide such a great review and great feedback. We've loved working with you and your team thus far. The superuser's admin area certainly does offer a wide range of configuration. I see that in our community Ideas forums that our community of schools are discussing and voting on how our administration area can be presented in an easier way. Hopefully we can improve this area in the future. Thanks so much for the feedback and support. :)

October 2019

Jonathan from St Patrick's College Shorncliffe

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Out of the box School wide Learning Management System - Easy to use and engaging for all clients

Overall I have been happy with the product. It has achieved most of the goals we set as a project team for our LMS we went were searching to upgrade. There are some problems with it but there are with all systems. We rolled out to our whole community (approximately 1400 students + 200 staff + parents) at once and have experienced some hiccups and concerns but overall the system and the support team at SchoolBox made the process relatively easy.

Pros

The ease of use for storing information that is shared with multiple students across multiple platforms. The customisation of the product allows us to use only the features that we want and to trial those features that are new to the LMS during different releases. The best thing about SchoolBox is the network of users who regularly problem solve and develop solutions in a collaborative way.

Cons

There is considerable time being spent trying to ensure the product talks to our school wide administration system. Having said that we knew this would be an ongoing problem on both vendors sides and were prepared for the delays that are occurring.

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

It meet more of our project goals than the other products.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Thanks very much for your feedback and review Jonathan. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete this and provide such valuable feedback. It's been a pleasure working with you and your school and we look forward to continuing the service and support. Always feel free to reach out when you need us. Thanks.

November 2019

Julie from Cornerstone College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Implementing and Using Schoolbox

Schoolbox has been an excellent LMS for what we were looking for. We wanted a product that provided virtual learning spaces and it does this well.

Pros

Schoolbox is easy to use for staff, to set up their pages, and for students to use. It is facilitating a shift in practice, initially for assessment, and now we are focusing on how it can enhance learning. Parents regularly access student assessment information via an App. The company provide good service technically, and are open to listening to teachers and schools as to what they want to improve the product. In the few years we have been using it, many initiatives have been added in response to school and teacher feedback. They also run an annual Meetup conference for users which is very useful as well. The company supported the school through the implementation process and their ongoing product support is very good.

Cons

We find the Markbook facility useable but inflexible. We can't set up subfolders which is how we have previously worked with another Markbook. This is the feature staff find most frustrating. Technically, it has taken some time to smooth out the link between our SIS (PCSchool) and Schoolbox. Getting the two software systems to talk to each other has been a technical challenge. It is now working relatively well, but we do not have a live connection which would be possible if we used Synergetic. The fact that we have to do manual updates is time-consuming and a bit frustrating for the ICT team. Note though that the issue is more with our SIS than a fault of Schoolbox.

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

-It had the virtual classroom facilities that we wanted -It looked good on the screen so we thought it would engage the students -We visited other schools using it, and they were happy with the product and the service. This has proven to be the case for us as well. -Price point - it is good value for money

Response from Schoolbox

Replied December 2019

Thanks for your feedback Julie. We're always looking to improve our SIS connectors and are working on new tech that is being slowly rolled out to existing connectors to make them cloud ready and cover more data points. We also appreciate that your school was first to partner with us on the PCSchool integration. New SIS integrations are challenging given the work involved from all three parties, but we feel it's worth the effort for long term automation. Regarding your Markbook frustrations, each class has a Markbook, however there is no way to group these in folders. However, we now have a Course Markbook (https://help.schoolbox.com.au/homepage/2427) which groups classes by Course in a single view. We also recently added the much requested Rubric Markbook (https://help.schoolbox.com.au/homepage/2476/textBox#component107129). Check out these great features, hopefully they can assist you and your staff achieve your goals. Thanks again for your kind words.

October 2019

Samantha from Matthew Flinders Anglican College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

MFAC Review of SchoolBox

- We have had a number of priority issues with Schoolbox which we have received support for but unfortunately resolution has taken alot longer than we had expected. - Generally when we call, the support staff have been very responsive.

Pros

- Once you know how to maintain the product, it is highly configurable which enables the pages to be tailored to meet College's requirements. - The product is rich in functionality but the good news is you can phase the implementation of this in line with College's requirements and timeframes.

Cons

- It currently doesn't integrate with our School Management System - TASS. - On the UPS, there is internal processing which is not visible to administrators of the systems which has caused us challenges with our data.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied January 2020

Hi Samantha. Thanks for taking the time to review Schoolbox and provide us feedback. The TASS School Information System (SIS) has been a close partner of Schoolbox for many years, where we've built a deep integration with TASS. See our TASS Integration documentation here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/497 We also have documentation on the TASS UPS Queries which can help calrify some of the processes. See here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/2402 I suggest our team reach out to assist with enabling the Schoolbox + TASS integration. Thanks again for your review and wishing you all the best.

November 2019

Cherie from St Patrick's College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Bringing the community together

Pros

Schoolbox allows us to have a single platform that all users within our community can engage with. Instant delivery of curriculum content, feedback and results means we can enrich our learning environment with minimal impact of teacher admin overhead. Our notifications, news and alerts can be delivered more dynamically and with audience targeting we can reduce the white noise of all community news blast outs. The product is always evolving with innovative approaches to classroom delivery.

Cons

The product does not include a lot of typical administrative features (permission structures, capacity management, deleting). Documents within the system are not dynamic. It is upload and download, which seems a little archaic in the modern collaborative world.

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

Integration with SIS Liked the interface and look of end product

November 2019

Kate from St Andrew's Catholic College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Schoolbox has transformed learning, teaching and communication at our school.

We are merging dozens of online systems and several communication channels into one place. We are minimising numerous risks (for example, loss of intellectual property and loss of class time) by using Schoolbox. My College has nothing but praise for Schoolbox! Now we have it, we cannot imagine life without it.

Pros

There are so many things to love! Schoolbox has positively changed our entire culture of our College. Our communication has been dramatically streamlined. The thousands of parents in our community receive their messages from one point and are happier than they were when we used a SharePoint instance. The ability to bring all of the online systems that we use to one place (our Schoolbox instance) is saving us time. Schoolbox allows us to create templates of our pages, and so our community know where on the page the information they are looking for is no matter what page they are viewing. These two factors alone have saved us thousands of hours in our classrooms. Our staff love the fact that the courses are saved and reused from year to year. They love the drag and drop nature of content creation and the fact that the existing work can be dragged into Schoolbox. It means that they do not have to start everything from scratch. They can still use the content that was existing before we went into Schoolbox. Of course, they are also using the new implementation as a way to audit the existing content and refresh it as they need to. The ability to offer secure group spaces to our extra-curricular groups such as student clubs and parent groups is a feature we have never been able to provide before. Finally, I have to offer praise to the Schoolbox Support Staff who work hard to support us in making our Schoolbox instance very successful in our College.

Cons

The administration area can take a little while to learn. It is a very complex area. However, only superusers use this space, so most users never have to deal with it. There is a lot of support available to assist superusers. Schoolbox Support staff and the Professional Services Team are only a phone call away if I ever need help.

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

Ease of Use. Ability to customise to our College context. Depth of features. The amazing community of schools who share ideas and support each other.

November 2019

Paul from Queensland Academy - Health Science Campus

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Schoolbox LMS

This company actively cultivates a very personalised relationship with the company which has enabled them to continually evolve as the needs of their customers grow and change. This high level of responsiveness continually makes a good platform better.

Pros

The platform brings together many systems that we previously maintained separately. For example, calendar, news, communication, teaching resources, gradebook, assessment calendar and collaborative tools are now in one place. This has significantly streamlined workflow for everyone but is also a lot more intuitive and has allowed us to create stronger systems. For example, online submission of due work means that all work can be submitted electronically on the one day, is automatically checked for plagiarism, feedback can be delivered and fed back immediately and marks entered automatically into the gradebook. There is also much greater oversight on an individuals total workload and the ability to more effectively manage this. The platform has significantly changed some core workplace systems and in some cases has positively impacted on the culture of "how things are done". It's a "one stop shop" for school communication, collaboration, grading, resources, assessment and feedback.

Cons

There are still some areas of the gradebook which we would like tweaked for the platform to work ideally for us. In an LMS with such a wide scope, there will always be some features which are not 100% tailored to an individual school's needs. Over a 6 year relationship, we have found the company to be wonderfully responsive and adaptive to the needs of the users and are confident that this area will soon be addressed by the software engineers.

November 2019

Greg from SSA Schools

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

SchoolBox Review

SchoolBox has become our Learning Management System, our staff Intranet as well as our communications portal to our parents and other community stakeholders.

Pros

The ease at which the software can be configured, customised and used. The drag and drop style of adding components is something end-users are able to do themselves. It is an off the shelf prodcut purchased that was able to replace a number of bespoke, complicated solutions previously used. We had rapid on-boarding of staff due to it's ease of use.

Cons

There is nothing specific we dislike about the software, they all have there quirks and sometimes the way things are done don't always suit how users want it to work.

October 2019

Jason from St Bernard's College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Schoolbox for Secondary

Pros

With the implementation of all new software solutions, planning is key and Schoolbox demonstrated their ability to perform this in the most efficient manner. From the server configuration templates to the necessary training involving the relevant staff and estimated time it would take to meet production, all went as planned. The management interface is fairly striaght forward to use from administrator's point of view and once staff training was completed, courses and class pages were produced in a reasonable timeframe.

Cons

Initially, the rollover process with a little cumbersome given the way we had originally implemented and linked our class pages with courses. We have streamlined this process and staff are now self sufficient with this. Some of the integration with Synergetic was also limited but this is expanding year by year and now we have most of the student information being accessible in SchoolBox.

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

We felt the Schoolbox product was more mature than the others we reviewed. It also had the least overlap with our SIS and focused more on teacher and student functionality utilising an easier to use interface. Much like other social media platforms. The organisation also seemed to be more reception to feature suggestions and already had the integration model to work with our SIS being Synergetic.

October 2019

Ian from West Moreton Anglican College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Schoolbox: A modern solution to managing complexity in schools

Success in the introduction of an LMS is dependent upon the quality of the product and the quality of leadership and implementation. The product has to be good but I suggest you prioritise leadership and implementation. You will have a better experience and outcome with a good product and excellent implementation than you will with an excellent product (however that might be judged) and poor implementation. I think Schoolbox is a very good product and we are doing our best to achieve an excellent implementation - it is not a small undertaking.

Pros

The Schoolbox community is excellent. The company has established a culture and framework that is very effective in supporting learning through collaboration. We have only just started out with Schoolbox but already I have found the regional user forums and annual national conferences to be excellent opportunities to learn from company representatives and from the experience of colleagues in other schools. The software itself has enormous functionality, spanning a wide range of school operations. The design reflects a deep understanding of how schools operate and it functions very reliably. Schoolbox is a sophisticated yet relatively simple tool to mange complexity in schools.

Cons

The greatest challenge with this software in our first year has been the training aspect around the 'course builder' component. In particular, teacher understanding of the relationship between 'course builder', 'course outline' and importing classes and course outlines. Related to this is the process of submitting assessment with course builder. That concept and process lacks a bit of 'stickability' for busy teachers so it is important to support teachers through training. Once teachers have a grasp of this aspect of Schoolbox, there is no stopping them.

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

Largely because of its extra functionality - its ability to serve as a 'one stop shop' for staff, students and families covering a wide range of the school operations.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied February 2020

Hi Ian. Thanks so much for your review and for taking the time. It's always a challenge to bring new processes to a team and to ingrain new concepts into a school. As per your suggestion, the course is eventually grasped and that learning can be retained and shared across the team and to new teammates. We're always keen to here feedback in order to evolve Schoolbox and feedback such as this helps us gain insight into problem areas that we can address. Thanks again!

October 2019

Victor from Loyola College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Schoolbox helps make learning personal

Schoolbox as a Learning Management System has made and is making Continuous Reporting a reality. Being able to mark attendances directly out of Schoolbox, which integrates with our SIS, and being able to maintain Pastoral Records and communicate with parents from the LMS means that Schoolbox is being used by many teachers as a 'one stop shop'.

Pros

Schoolbox is designed from the ground up to be intuitive, allowing the novice or the seasoned digital pedagogy practitioner to jump in and building learning activities and courses. In particular, the Schoolbox team listens to its user base when planning its product development road map: this has led to a feature set that supports personalised learning, including rich assessment rubrics, student self-reflection and feedback, modified assessments, social learning, as well as a survey tool that supports Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

Cons

The support for Learning Analytics and the analytics around teachers' use of the product is still fairly nascent. One has to instead look to third party tools to provide this capability.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Thanks Victor for your review and for taking the time. We've had a ball working with you, your team and your school thus far! We are very keen to continue evolving how Schoolbox reports on student learning, as well as integrations into external reporting systems. We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne). We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

October 2019

JOhn from St Catherine's School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Schoolbox Review

Schoolbox is now a critical platform solution for our business and educational needs. Without it we would not be able to operate efficiently. This has been a system that has grown and developed in its sophistication with us and our journey into the digital learning space.

Pros

Our Schoolbox instance is fast, reliable and readily available. Our School has been able to embed Schoolbox as our Learning Management System, Community Portal, Continuous feedback and is now our main communication platform. The support of the software (both technical and professional learning) is timely with high resolution success. The team is knowledgeable, friendly and responsive.

Cons

We have had extensive requests by our school community to allow for printable reporting functions - specially in the Grades and Feedback modules. Feature requests on the core components can be time consuming as the process involves a voting system by other Schoolbox customers for buy in. Being a long term customer and user of the system we find ourselves more advanced than other School's who may not be ready for other feature request changes.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Cheers John for your helpful feedback & review. We're always listening to our schools and their requirements in reporting on student learning. We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne). We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :) Thanks for taking the time to review us John!

October 2019

Benjamin from Meriden School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Forward thinking

As mentioned above, the customer support is excellent. A registered user can call the support team and be onto a human working on a solution with almost no waiting on hold. The owners and management are approachable and willing to discuss changes even if their original opinions differ with the customers. They have built solid partnerships with other service providers and are always looking for additional partners.

Pros

- customer service is excellent. They are always able or willing to work to resolve an issue - their road map is inspiring and focuses on the educational benefit of using an LMS - willing to customise the base product for a fee - not afraid to share data location in the schema

Cons

- supporting custom work. After paying for custom work to the base product, any future releases on the base product may impact the custom work. This incurs an additional cost on the customer to adjust the custom work to meet the changes. Please note Schoolbox is very clear about this before agreeing to any custom work.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Hey Benjamin. Thanks so much for your awesome review and for taking the time to complete it and provide this helpful feedback. As you point out, custom work isn't included in our product's core research and development service. We are grateful that schools like Meriden are partnering with us to build custom features that enhance your unique requirements, while inspiring improvements to the product's core feature set, for all schools to benefit from, as we journey down our feature roadmap. Thanks again for supporting us. We're looking forward to continuing working together. Cheers.

October 2019

Paul from The Scots College

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Schoolbox Review - The Scots College

Very good. I recommend Schoolbox all the time (they should pay me for it...)

Pros

In a nutshell it covers two birds with one stone for Scots. It's our LMS (Learning Management System) and our Intranet/Portal for communications to all campuses (8) and users. Most other educational software packages are either/or whereas Schoolbox is both and both core areas are great for Scots (well developed). That's it.

Cons

Not much I can put here. I like it. They could focus on completing some of their modules a little better but most of them are great. It gets better and better with every update.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied December 2019

Hi Paul, thank you again for taking the time and providing your positive feedback. It's been a great journey working with you and your team. We're proud to have you a part of our growing community.

October 2019

Anita from Anita McMillan eLearning LMS

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Whole-School Learning and Engagement Platform

I was the project lead required to recommend either a new virtual learning platform, or extensive upgrade costs to the previous product. After contacting and visiting numerous schools in Queensland, I was convinced of the value Schoolbox offered. Almost two years later, teachers and students are embracing Schoolbox and looking forward to what lays ahead, particularly in whole-school communications.

Pros

There are three standout features of Schoolbox: 1. It is an all-in-one solution for teaching and learning, staff intranet and school communications 2. It is an Australian product, built by Australian educators for the Australian school market 3. The Schoolbox community is highly skilled and generous with their knowledge

Cons

Queensland curriculum compliancy remains an issue

Reasons for Choosing Schoolbox

Australian product made specifically for the Australian school sector

Response from Schoolbox

Replied January 2020

Hi Anita. Thanks so much for your review! In regards to meeting the QLD curriculum (QCAA) requirements, student rubric result pages in Schoolbox can be printed to PDF for submission. The QCAA requirements require a teacher to select 3 students, one from the top, bottom, and middle of the class for verification. Here's the details of what's required: https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/prep_electronic_submissions_advice.pdf Here's the checklist of what's required: https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/snr_qa_verification_submission_checklist.pdf To meet this requirement, we recommend schools collate the information into a single folder doing the following steps: 1. Print to PDF the 3 students' rubric results pages (this will include the task details, grade, rubric and and feedback) 2. Download the students' submissions. Put together in a folio for submission using QCAA's proposed folder structure. Hope this helps. Cheers.

October 2019

natalie from St Bernards College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Makes my life as a Teacher so much easier

It is an extension of my teachers arm so my experience has always been positive

Pros

A very intuitive LMS that requires minimal training at all levels of ability. To me it is a one stop shop for all teaching and learning matters and eliminates the use of other software's.

Cons

Unable to copy and paste homepages in the backend.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Hey Natalie. Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback! Thanks for taking the time! Copying content can lead to some headaches. On one hand you make it easy for users to replicate existing content; on the other hand you make way for spawning large amounts of duplicate content that's unmaintainable; and then face that common problem where 10 copies of something makes it near impossible to tell which copy is most up to date/current/accurate etc a nightmarish situation that decreases search effectiveness, reduces content value, and makes management of a system harder. We recently improved page templates to allow for adding more content inbuilt inside them. Templates will help solve 90% of cases. Hopefully we can deliver more improvements to templates in future. You can also use the 'alternate source linking' ability where you have one master version and reference that master version many times, which when update will update all references. Thanks for the great support

October 2019

Nicolas from St Patrick's College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Schoolbox - An effective LMS for schools of all sizes

Overall, Schoolbox has allowed us to develop effective teaching and learning, marketing and communication strategies. This has allowed us to increase our reach with sharing information and increasing engagement.

Pros

Schoolbox has allowed us to develop and roll out a platform that provides a one-stop-shop for students, staff and parents. The support staff are incredibly supportive, responding to requests in a timely and helpful manner. Their commitment to customer support is one of the best I have ever encountered. Through their open communication channels, we have been able to request features and services that find their way in to future releases. The ability to quickly embed a variety of resources has allowed us to create an engaging instance that has received much support from all key stakeholders in our school.

Cons

It's hard to identify any cons, but for us here in Queensland, I felt that Schoolbox was a bit slow to provide software changes to facilitate changes to the senior schooling system. With that in mind though, our Account Manager and various support staff were quick to provide assistance when we requested it.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied December 2019

Hi Nick, thanks for your review and feedback. We really appreciate your kind words. With regard to the changes to Queensland's reporting requirements, we're closely monitoring this and working on solutions as new information becomes available. We have many schools in this region and will work closely with them to ensure they have solutions to address these changes as soon as possible. All the best and thank you again.

November 2019

Ben from Citipointe Christian College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Schoolbox - the LMS for Citipointe

We love that Schoolbox listens to its clients and strives to implement those features schools are chasing. An agile company that is adept at setting and communicating its priorities to clients, whilst staying true to its core business. A reasonably smooth implementation and roll out over the past couple of years, and looking forward to working with Schoolbox well into the future!

Pros

We like the ease of use for students, staff and parents. Customisation of the dashboard for various audiences. Relative ease of management for staff and administrators. Powerful communications tool for community. Allows students access to curriculum and extra-curricula information anywhere, anytime. Allows the College to provide relevant messaging to parents.

Cons

Permissions structure does not always allow full administrative control. eg. sometimes easy for staff to accidentally delete an item which requires Schoolbox to restore.

October 2019

Chau from Fairholme College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

The Right Solution

After a review, research and consultation process, we replaced our previous LMS solution with Schoolbox in 2017. It has continued to prove it is right solution. Schoolbox is meeting our technical, administrative and curriculum objectives for a LMS. It has strong integration with our SIS and accessible from different devices. The solution supports and extends the college teaching pedagogy.

Pros

Extends teaching pedagogy Good technical support. Extensive range of features. Integration with Synergetic. File handling, especially video files. Homepage creation is balanced between ease of use and customisation. Price competitive.

Cons

Not able to copy class pages. Most users will need initial training.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied January 2020

Hi Chau. Thanks for taking the time to review Schoolbox! Copying content is a hot topicalthough it can provide starting points for creating similar pagesit also creates a situation that ends up with multiple copies of the same content, making it hard to determine which copy is the most up to date & cause unwanted content management overheads as; time goes by; users come & go; content gets messier. To avoid these problemsrather than allowing anyone to copy contentschools can design page templates that contain placeholder instructions & pre-built content, to serve as scaffolding for new pages. Page components can act as master sources to share to multiple pages, so that when the master is updated, all linked pages receive the update, avoiding copies of content. Schools are complex institutions & need a comprehensive platform to ease painpoints & cater to many workflows, hence why training can engage/empower uses to get the most value from your school's investment. Thanks.

October 2019

Alison from St Margaret's Anglican Girls School

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Schoolbox - connecting my learners and challenging my pedagogy

Schoolbox is a great company to deal with. They are responsive and timely in attending to issues, and I really appreciate their focus on improving their product. They actively listen to their customers and the forums on the Help site provide a wonderful avenue for users to find support, to generate ideas, and to feel that their voice is being heard by the company.

Pros

I really appreciate the philosophy behind the software. Schoolbox as a company is working hard to provide schools with sound pedagogical practices, not just gimmicks. As a teacher, I particularly appreciate the ability to track student learning and keep records of that learning through the Course Outline. I love the surveys and polls components for feedback on the learning process, both for students and for my own reflective practice. As an administrator of the platform, I particularly value the connectedness that can be built for the school community through targeted and individualised notifications and groups. All stakeholders, whether they be staff, students or parents, are getting a bespoke experience with information that is relevant to them.

Cons

There are a couple of integrations that probably don't work as well for us yet. The similarity check isn't comparable to another product we currently use; this presents some difficulties in getting staff to move to Schoolbox, but other features counteract this.

October 2019

Gaynor from St Patrick's College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Schoolbox Review

Schoolbox support is outstanding, and the team are always open to suggestions, improvements and the needs of clients.

Pros

Schoolbox is a comprehensive system that allows us to interact with all members of the College community, in all aspects of College life. Curriculum and co-curricular information is easily shared with Students and Parents, as well as having the added benefit of providing ongoing assessment feedback and results.

Cons

Understandably, Schoolbox has been designed to cover the broadest spectrum of needs for its users. This has meant that have been aspects that have not been suited to the needs of our College. So the aspect we have liked the least, is in having to find workarounds for some aspects.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied January 2020

Hi Gaynor. Thanks very much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to review us and provide us feedback. As you point out, it's a challenge to accommodate all the unique scenarios and ways in which schools operate. Schoolbox's comprehensive platform means schools can get quite detailed solutions to their problemsit's a matter of understanding the requirement and then customising the platform to suit the school. As always, our team are here to help, so always feel free to reach out to us for assistance. Thanks for your support.

November 2019

Katie from Trinity Catholic College, Lismore

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

A useful integrated virtual learning environment

Schoolbox has been a positive rollout at our school. Three years in and all teachers and students are using it daily for class and assessment work. A lot more collaboration happens between teachers and with teachers and students. Support has been very strong and the Schoolbox Meetups for customers have been useful and well-planned. We are about to add parents in as users and are looking forward to using even more of the softwares, capabilities.

Pros

Smooth Live Integration with our Student Information System (Synergetic) Customisable - we branded and named it using our colours, etc. Support is very good Embedding video and google slides particularly useful. All required pedagogy tools are there. Easy to make visually interesting

Cons

The Course management is difficult for an average user to understand so really requires top-down control.

November 2019

Deborah from Enable Schools

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Schoolbox delivers for student centered learning!

Pros

We are finding that Schoolbox is helping our client schools improve consistency and quality in curriculum delivery, assessment and feedback to both students and their parents. It is also providing a community portal that only only delivers news and events, but keeps parents in touch with their child's learning, due dates, results and co curricular schedules....all in one place. The interface can be customised to suit the branding of the individual school, which is a bonus!

Cons

Some of the information and data system integrations and set up processes were a bit tricky initially, but they provided plenty of support.

October 2019

David from Cedars Christian College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The software every school must have

It solves our communication and teaching and learning needs right across our College from K through to 12.

Pros

Schoolbox provides end to end communication with the entire school community. It provides a place for teachers to distribute learning resources of all types to students. The product is constantly evolving and improving to what is a stable offering. It is easy to use and the support and developer teams listen to customer feedback and aim to work on further improvements and innovation.

Cons

There is not a lot I like least about Schoolbox.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Hi David. Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We love working with you and your schoolloving the support from you and your team. Cheers.

October 2019

Antoinette from Emmaus college

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Tech Ready 4 Learning

Communication & access to information are the two major problems we are solving.

Pros

Easy to share a multitude of digital resources with students & teachers Ease of finding student & teacher timetables. Ease of communication with students & parents.

Cons

There is a process to adding tasks on class pages. It takes time before teachers understand the difference between the course pages & class pages. Only one role per user. In some cases, this can be difficult to define.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied January 2020

Thanks for the feedback Antoinette, and for taking the time! Such a nice review!! Great feedback like this helps our team refine the platform. We have been working to simplify the course vs class paradigm. Courses certainly make it easy to manage resources centrallyso we're investigating ways to more clearly define the two spaces. One role per user keeps things easy to maintain and manage in Schoolbox. A user can also have multiple profiles linked together. Also, groups help achieve that fine-grain control over pages, resources, and targeted communications, across roles. Thanks for your support.

October 2019

Chris from Westside Christian College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Learning Management for K-12 Schools

Overall, Schoolbox is a fantastic platform that has an active development team that works to improve the software and respond to the needs of schools.

Pros

The software has the right balance of flexibility and constraint so that teachers can efficiently engage with students by creating and disseminating content.

Cons

A trade-off for more flexibility is greater complexity and need for training staff. Flexibility also means that there are sometimes several ways to implement a feature, which can be confusing for some staff.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied January 2020

Hey Chris! Thanks so much for the great review and feedback :D It's always a challenge to deliver tools that cater for a wide range of schoolsall which are complex institutions requiring comprehensive solutions for easing painpoints and cater to many workflows; hence, why training on how to use the Schoolbox platform is proving to engage/empower users/schools to get the most value from your school's investment. We are always keen to improve on Schoolbox's features and its ease of use and we're grateful to have so many helpful schools who give us feedback and assist with Schoolobx's product development. Thanks again Chris.

October 2019

Brad from Glasshouse Christian College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Totally worth the learning curve!

The experience has been excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] have been so helpful and assisted us wherever we needed it. Our staff have come a long way in just over 6 months, and the reception has been excellent despite launching at the busiest time of year. Even those teachers who were initially skeptical of something 'new' have had some wins and are excited to see what can be done with the platform.

Pros

I love the way Schoolbox changed the way our teachers and students think about online learning. Schoolbox has become the actual classroom. The class pages have become their whiteboard and classroom posters, and the course and unit pages have become their live strategic planning documents. It is exciting to see teachers eyes light up when they realize they can do the work once, do it well, and move onto the next thing in their extensive list of things to do.

Cons

Coming from a different LMS product, there was a steep learning curve to alter the way teachers were thinking about online learning with Schoolbox (though it has been totally worth it).

Response from Schoolbox

Replied December 2019

Thanks for the wonderful review Brad. Much appreciated!

October 2019

Adrian from Mazenod College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Schoolbox Review

Really positive so far. The online tech support is great, I found it much more useful than over the phone.

Pros

It's a very good Learning Management System but also is very good at helping to run a school. The Unit pages and Class pages are particularly helpful for sharing resources. Assessment options are also great.

Cons

It doesn't do any data analytics and it's quite clunky to export data. E.g. to get an entire cohort of results you need to export from each class page. Other features that we wanted are currently being customised which is great.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Nice work Adrian. Thanks so much for your great feedback. We love discussing the pain points with schools in the hope we can solve these problems. We've made significant enhancements in the data analytics space over the last year with the addition of the Course and Rubrics markbooks. A lot of schools have expressed their desire to export these markbooks; therefore, we're keen to make this a reality! We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :) Thanks for sharing. :)

October 2019

Liz from The King's School

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

SchooBox

Pros

Integration with Synergetic, linking staff accounts with the parent accounts for ease of access for information in that "role".

Cons

The calendar is not as easy or user-friendly as other systems. Not being able to access timetables on the weekend (feedback from Students)

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Hi Liz. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide such a great review and feedback. We're always interested in hearing from schools and in helping schools improve our product/services, for getting more out of the product. You'll be pleased to hear the calendar has had an overhaul in the latest major release v19.1. See the release notes here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/2567 We've improved the calendar's list view look/feel (as well as overall), with simpler filtering. We've also added a new calendar event detail page; notifications will now land on this page! Also in v19.1 we've built a new Assessment Calendar feature, for planning assessments & school events across multiple campuses/years/classes, in 1 view. This release is about to be available! Finally, students can quickly see their timetable on weekends by clicking the timetable link in the main navigation. They can even easily check it on mobile! Thanks again :)

October 2019

Jim from St Peters College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

School box use as a teacher

Great and easy platform to use and operate

Pros

Easy to use with my classes, especially the collaboration tools available

Cons

Not being able to easily copy componments between class pages

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Hey there Jim. Thanks very much for the great review and thanks for taking the time. Copying content can lead to quite a few headaches. On one hand you make it easy for users to replicate existing content. On the other hand you open up the ability to allow a huge amount of duplicate content that is unmaintainable. You'd face the common problem where you have 10 copies of something without knowing which copy is the most up to date/current/accurate etc., causing a nightmare of a situation that will decrease search effectiveness, reduce content value, and make management harder. We recently improved the templates to allow greater content options/control inbuilt inside them. Templates will help solve 90% of cases. Hopefully we can deliver more improvements to templates in future. You can also use the 'alternate source linking' ability where you have one master version and reference that master version many times, which when updated, will update all linked references. Cheers. :)

October 2019

David from St Michael's Grammar School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Transformational software for schools

The developers respond to client and industry demand when building new features, they don't always just cave into the squeaky wheel but help them understand why it might be better to go in a different direction. They are always open to feedback both good and bad and have a great support desk.

Pros

Love that it is mobile responsive, clear communications to parents, students and staff. Powerful grader, markbook and reporting platform. DB that can be read from for analytics.

Cons

User provisioning can be a little bit of an unknown as to why certain things happen or don't but this is being addressed by the developers.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Thanks for the feedback David. We really appreciate you taking the time to review the Schoolbox product and our services. As you've pointed out, we're focussed on continually improving what we do/how we help schools. Coincidentally we've just released further improvements to the user provisioning system (UPS) and how it reports. Love working with you. Thanks.

October 2019

Joanne from King's Christian College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Schoolbox

Schoolbox has delivered what was promised. The product continues to improve. Support is excellent (both via phone and ticketing system), support staff knowledgeable.

Pros

Connects to our Student Information System, we have set up our dashboards so timetables show on student and teacher dashboards. Easy to use, Schoolbox's training is always available, the forums are active. Schoolbox staff are active on the forums. Product enhancement, upgrades are drawn from user forum posts and requests. They listen to their customers. One place for student learning, notices, news and staff/parent information. Professional appearance.

Cons

My answer a few months ago would have been that users needed to check multiple locations for news, but now all news is shown on the dashboard.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied December 2019

Hi Jo. Thanks so much for such a wonderful review! We really love all the support you and your team provide us. Thanks for hanging out with us in our online help centre and forums, and at our offline events. We're excited to be working with you into the future! Cheers.

November 2019

Dale from Redlands College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Schoolbox impressions

Good

Pros

The company only works with schools ( no uni etc.), built for schools to be used by schools an all in 1 place for teachers, students parents Pedagogy Focus - continuous feedback, differentiation, student progress Modify or add extension work etc. for indivisible students (individual assessment items) Heat map of assessment and other school events to help with setting due dates etc. Weighted assessment

Cons

Does not talk directly to our Administration tool (TASS) therefore double handling of reporting

November 2019

Laura from St Michael's Grammar School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Schoolbox is constantly evolving

Our experience with Schoolbox has been very positive. If a problem arises, the tech support team has been great! As customers we've been able to suggest improvements and have seen many of these come into development. We're very excited about the future developments, including the new ePortfolio coming in 2020 that will be fantastic for our Junior School.

Pros

We've been using Schoolbox since 2013. Over the past seven years, the platform has grown enormously and is constantly evolving to meet the needs of our school. Some highlights: - Assessment calendar and online submissions - Individualized news (through audience filters) and push notifications for parents (Digistorm App) - Markbook and Course Analytics - Adaptable class pages, group pages, information pages

Cons

We don't have any major complaints - there a plenty of small feature improvements that can be made, but these are often addressed in major or point releases.

October 2019

Michael from Oxford Falls Grammar School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The right fit for most schools

Pros

Great Parent Portal, it's Easy to use and they are always developing new and relevant features.

Cons

I would like our teachers to use the product more.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Thanks so much Michael. Thanks for taking the time and for giving us such a great review!! A great way to engage your teachers could be to have them achieve Hero status in our Schoolbox Online Teacher Course! Our own in-house Education Consultantswho once were teachers at schoolsare there to guide your teachers through the course and provide real-time feedback to them. You might also want to reach out to our Professional Services Team on working with us on a strategy to increase teacher/staff engagement with Schoolbox, at your school. Check out our Professional Services Team here: https://schoolbox.com.au/professional-services/ Thanks again and always feel free to reach out to us anytime.

October 2019

Adriano from Marcellin College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Learning Matters

Pros

SchoolBox provides our inclusive faith learning community a dynamic platform to empower young people in all aspects of them taking ownership of their learning, self-efficacy and overall wellness. It provides a user friendly structure to engage staff and our families as we, together, support the growth and achievement of each young man in our care.

Cons

My only challenge is that I don't have enough time in the day to fully unlock the potential of SchoolBox!

Response from Schoolbox

Replied December 2019

Thanks for your great feedback Adriano, we're proud to have the opportunity to continue supporting you and your school through our ongoing partnership. As someone who demonstrates strong appreciation for quality pedagogy, your review means a lot to us. Don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything you feel we can do to continue ensuring you have the best T&L tools available for your staff, students and parents.

May 2018

Mary-Lou from Melbourne Girls Grammar

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

We've been a client now for 8 years & Schoolbox was the game changer for us.

Pros

We've now had a long working relationship with Schoolbox & we love its flexibility & the teams responsiveness. At the 5 Yr mark we had 100% take up by staff, so it's now just very much part of our culture & is a basic expectation of all teaching staff.

Cons

The only pain point is our specific customisations that often break with updates, so avoid customisation when you can.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Thanks Mary-Lou for taking the time to provide such a great review. We really appreciate the feedback. It's been such fun working with you and your team over the years. As you point out, custom work isn't included in our product's core research and development service. We do appreciate schools like MGG partnering with us to support custom features that enhance your unique workflows, and that inspire our product's evolution. Thanks again for all your support. We're looking forward to continuing working with you and your team. Cheers.

November 2019

Jason from Padua College

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Review

Schoolbox has worked with a range of other software providers to support integration. From a user perspective, we have used Schoolbox as the one stop location for access to all of the systems each user is approved for. Our users go well beyond employees and extend to students and their parents and the ability to make Schoolbox the central landing space with singe sign on for all of our platforms and the central communication space was a key reason we chose it.

Pros

Schoolbox at a basic level is easy to use. Teachers can set up courses and pages, collect assessment and mark quite easily. Parents and students also use the system as the central source of truth, whether that be housed in Schoolbox or a link to another package.

Cons

Often you don't know what you don't know but the support from schoolbox and the schoolbox network has assisted with this.

November 2019

Debra from St Edmund's College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

A great LMS for schools

Schoolbox has very good customer service and allows both the delivery of content and collection and marking of work easy.

Pros

Drop box, onLine marking, links with TASS, analytics

Cons

Changes being made with no prior warning

November 2019

Lori from Moriah College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Schoolbox

Pros

Schoolbox provides the College with an excellent on-line information portal for all members of our community including students, staff and parents.

Cons

Some of the features could be developed more.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied December 2019

Hi Lori, thank you for taking the time to review us and provide your positive feedback. We're honoured to have the opportunity to continue partnering and supporting your prestigious school. As you know well, we're very open to feedback and aim to respond to ideas to improve the core platform's features through future software updates. I am sure you already have, but you can always influence our roadmap by making your thoughts and ideas for improvements public, via our community forums in our Help Center. Once again, we really appreciate you being an active member of our growing community. Don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

November 2019

Ryan from Alamanda K-9 College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Schoolbox - A great LMS tool for schools to improve communication and increase student engagement

Pros

Once it gets up and rolling, and past the initial set up and transition phase, the features of Schoolbox is a great addition to Alamanda College. It has assisted us with tracking student learning and also developing consistency in the delivery of our curriculum to multiple classes across different year levels. It is also a great tool to assist with parent communication.

Cons

The initial set up phase with the software is complex. A lot of dedicated man-hours is needed to get the initial set up phase ready. Plus the training of staff to use Schoolbox effectively also takes a lot of time and energy. However, once set up, it can be rolled over from year-to-year which saves time in the future. From initial setup to effective usage will take at least 2-3 years for the adoption cycle to take place.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Always evolving and well supported. Overall this product functions well.

Pros

Notifications, News, SSO. Communication has improved. Provides us with a central place to launch off to other packages.

Cons

Security / Permission settings, Grade groups. In general this product has more hits than misses. Worth looking at.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Thanks for your review. We'll certainly take on board your feedback and continue to evolve how we work. We certainly take security very seriouslyit's the utmost importance to uswhere we believe security is a culture, not a test. Our code review process & architecture is designed around a Security First model & we welcome Security Audits, we regularly participate in customer Security Audits, & encourage customer feedback. Also see our article on Privacy Legislation: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/news/225. We also have a few requests to allow better control over grade groups, such as for different campuses, and we'll continue to review this area of Schoolbox. Thanks.

October 2019

Lyndon from Chairo Christian School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Great Product

It's a great product, but requires a concerted effort to implement, perhaps more than anticipated. School leaders need to own and understand the product for an effective rollout. A direction, strategy, policies etc need to be created, adopted and communicated well for Schoolbox to have an impact. You cannot just buy it, install it and hope people will use it.

Pros

Ease of use for end-users. Look and feel of the site.

Cons

Back end can be difficult and integration is not as it was explained.

Response from Schoolbox

Replied November 2019

Thanks for the feedback Lyndon. We appreciate you taking the time and will pass the feedback on to our team. We'll work on how we communicate our integrations and product specifications, as well as how we manage expectations with our partnered schools and users. Cheers.

October 2019

Adena from Moriah College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Review of Schoolbox

Overall it has been a very positive experience working with Schoolbox and they do try to assist us. Their communication regarding changes is excellent and their annual user groups meetups both nationally and state ones are brilliant.

Pros

Information available about releases and changes and training material is fantastic. Easy to use - most features are intuitive Most service desk staff understand my needs Meets many of my schools requirements

Cons

I feel the company doesn't listen sometimes to my schools needs. Some parts are not intuitive and when asking for a change, the software owners have their way of thinking rather than listening to the customer.

November 2019

Luke from Wesley College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Schoolbox Review

The benefits have been that its been a simple system for staff to use and learn and its had great impact on keeping staff accountable and providing parents with better visibility on learning.

Pros

This software provides an easy day to day management tool for staff to have a digital home for all their class content, submit and view grades and manage the schoolwide day to day communications between the school and parents and students. The data which can be extracted from the system is hugely valuable in informing teaching practice and student performance.

Cons

This software is always being improved.

November 2019

Jacqui from Luther College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Digital Transformation through Schoolbox

Pros

Schoolbox's user friendly learning management system and fully customisable platform makes digital transformation simple. The ability to customise and personalise the skin means that your school can maintain its cultural identity while bringing learning into the digital space. Flipping learning and making resources accessible to learners means there is more time in the classroom to focus on the learning that matters.

Cons

Some inflexibility around changes to particular modules required to suit the school's needs.

November 2019

Gemma from Sheldon College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Excellent All-in-one LMS Product

Pros

Schoolbox is an all-in-one platform including a powerful Learning Management System, easy to use communication tools and community engagement functionality. This means that all of our users are connected in one central place with quick access to the information which is relevant to them.

Cons

Now that we have so much information in our instance we are finding that some of the components are a little simple for our needs However we do acknowledge that with every update release, they are becoming more advanced.

November 2019

Andrew from Redeemer Lutheran College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Forever evolving

Customer service is outstanding and this is so important.

Pros

This software has become the hub for communications and learning within our school. The software is constantly being developed to meet the current needs of teaching and learning. This development is done with consultation with all their customers therefore giving us a product that is a solution to our requirements.

Cons

Some of the logic does not flow the best with class pages and units, however the product is always improving.

November 2019

Hal from Marist Regional College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Schoolbox - We Like it!

Pros

We like that the product is focused on secondary education and not a produce from higher ed. jury rigged to work for secondary education. We also like that they speak "teacher" rather than tech. We love that the company has a consultative approach and is very open in terms of product development, roadmaps and plans in general.

Cons

The tiered pricing model locks us out of some features we need because we can't justify paying for ones we don't.

November 2019

Andrew from Trinity College

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

A game changing tool

Schoolbox has enabled our College to shift significantly towards a more student-centred approach to learning. We have implemented continuous reporting in our Senior School and engaged parents across all year levels by integrating our systems using Schoolbox and providing an engaging parent portal.

Pros

The system integration with 3rd party platforms, continuous reporting opportunities and ease of content creation.

Cons

We are looking forward to additional functionality that will provide enhanced learning analytics capability.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 57 reviews