User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.58

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The support staff are incredibly supportive, responding to requests in a timely and helpful manner. Their commitment to customer support is one of the best I have ever encountered."
  • icon"Love that it is mobile responsive, clear communications to parents, students and staff. Powerful grader, markbook and reporting platform."
  • icon"The system integration with 3rd party platforms, continuous reporting opportunities and ease of content creation."
  • icon"Having said that we knew this would be an ongoing problem on both vendors sides and were prepared for the delays that are occurring."
  • icon"Back end can be difficult and integration is not as it was explained."
  • icon"It's hard to identify any cons, but for us here in Queensland, I felt that Schoolbox was a bit slow to provide software changes to facilitate changes to the senior schooling system."

All Schoolbox Reviews

1-25 of 60 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Priya

Company size: 501 - 1,000 employees

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2022

School is in with Schoolbox!

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2018

A great partnership with a team that actually cares about their customers.

We use this software for so many purposes, more than what we originally thought. We can communicate to students and parents regarding news, projects, due work, markings etc.

Pros

The product owners and developers have always been very clear with how they see their product growing and how we can influence and feed in ideas and features. Even through rapid growth they have still remained true to their vision which convinced us to sign up 6 years ago.

Cons

There are quite a few settings in the admin panel that need better explanation, for us who have been using the system for a long time we know them but new users might be overwhelmed. That said, the more granular the settings the more you can customise it for your own environment.

Response from Schoolbox

Hey David. Thanks for spending the time to provide such a great review and great feedback. We've loved working with you and your team thus far. The superuser's admin area certainly does offer a wide range of configuration. I see that in our community Ideas forums that our community of schools are discussing and voting on how our administration area can be presented in an easier way. Hopefully we can improve this area in the future. Thanks so much for the feedback and support. :)

Replied November 2019

Cameron

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

Australia's best LMS

While recent circumstances surrounding moving classes 'online' have been challenging, our school's situation has been helped significantly by the use of Schoolbox; we have had so much positive staff engagement with Schoolbox and staff have really apprecaited what the platform can do to help them to be better teachers. This is a comprehensive and responsive LMS product. Please pass on our thanks to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the team!

Pros

Schoolbox provides schools with the communication, classroom management and community building capabilities they need to flourish in the Australian educational context. It is responsive and highly adaptable and is built upon a deep understanding of what Australian schools need.

Cons

The App just needs to scale a little better for iOS devices

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

Canvas lacks the functionality of Schoolbox; the Schoolbox customer service is exceptional.

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

Moodle could not offer the functionality of Schoolbox, as Schoolbox is truly a 'one stop shop' for us.

Samantha

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2019

MFAC Review of SchoolBox

- We have had a number of priority issues with Schoolbox which we have received support for but unfortunately resolution has taken alot longer than we had expected. - Generally when we call, the support staff have been very responsive.

Pros

- Once you know how to maintain the product, it is highly configurable which enables the pages to be tailored to meet College's requirements. - The product is rich in functionality but the good news is you can phase the implementation of this in line with College's requirements and timeframes.

Cons

- It currently doesn't integrate with our School Management System - TASS. - On the UPS, there is internal processing which is not visible to administrators of the systems which has caused us challenges with our data.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Samantha. Thanks for taking the time to review Schoolbox and provide us feedback. The TASS School Information System (SIS) has been a close partner of Schoolbox for many years, where we've built a deep integration with TASS. See our TASS Integration documentation here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/497 We also have documentation on the TASS UPS Queries which can help calrify some of the processes. See here: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/homepage/2402 I suggest our team reach out to assist with enabling the Schoolbox + TASS integration. Thanks again for your review and wishing you all the best.

Replied January 2020

Cherie

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2019

Bringing the community together

Pros

Schoolbox allows us to have a single platform that all users within our community can engage with. Instant delivery of curriculum content, feedback and results means we can enrich our learning environment with minimal impact of teacher admin overhead. Our notifications, news and alerts can be delivered more dynamically and with audience targeting we can reduce the white noise of all community news blast outs. The product is always evolving with innovative approaches to classroom delivery.

Cons

The product does not include a lot of typical administrative features (permission structures, capacity management, deleting). Documents within the system are not dynamic. It is upload and download, which seems a little archaic in the modern collaborative world.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

Integration with SIS Liked the interface and look of end product

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

SharePoint was not easy to use by general teaching staff. It involved a lot of IT setup and configuring. The interface and content was sad, over structured and boring.

Kate

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Schoolbox has transformed learning, teaching and communication at our school.

We are merging dozens of online systems and several communication channels into one place. We are minimising numerous risks (for example, loss of intellectual property and loss of class time) by using Schoolbox. My College has nothing but praise for Schoolbox! Now we have it, we cannot imagine life without it.

Pros

There are so many things to love! Schoolbox has positively changed our entire culture of our College. Our communication has been dramatically streamlined. The thousands of parents in our community receive their messages from one point and are happier than they were when we used a SharePoint instance. The ability to bring all of the online systems that we use to one place (our Schoolbox instance) is saving us time. Schoolbox allows us to create templates of our pages, and so our community know where on the page the information they are looking for is no matter what page they are viewing. These two factors alone have saved us thousands of hours in our classrooms. Our staff love the fact that the courses are saved and reused from year to year. They love the drag and drop nature of content creation and the fact that the existing work can be dragged into Schoolbox. It means that they do not have to start everything from scratch. They can still use the content that was existing before we went into Schoolbox. Of course, they are also using the new implementation as a way to audit the existing content and refresh it as they need to. The ability to offer secure group spaces to our extra-curricular groups such as student clubs and parent groups is a feature we have never been able to provide before. Finally, I have to offer praise to the Schoolbox Support Staff who work hard to support us in making our Schoolbox instance very successful in our College.

Cons

The administration area can take a little while to learn. It is a very complex area. However, only superusers use this space, so most users never have to deal with it. There is a lot of support available to assist superusers. Schoolbox Support staff and the Professional Services Team are only a phone call away if I ever need help.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

Ease of Use. Ability to customise to our College context. Depth of features. The amazing community of schools who share ideas and support each other.

Greg

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

SchoolBox Review

SchoolBox has become our Learning Management System, our staff Intranet as well as our communications portal to our parents and other community stakeholders.

Pros

The ease at which the software can be configured, customised and used. The drag and drop style of adding components is something end-users are able to do themselves. It is an off the shelf prodcut purchased that was able to replace a number of bespoke, complicated solutions previously used. We had rapid on-boarding of staff due to it's ease of use.

Cons

There is nothing specific we dislike about the software, they all have there quirks and sometimes the way things are done don't always suit how users want it to work.

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

Our SharePoint environment was very complex and reliant on internal resources for maintenance and support. Once these resources became unavailable it was very difficult to continue to use and support the environment

Jonathan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Out of the box School wide Learning Management System - Easy to use and engaging for all clients

Overall I have been happy with the product. It has achieved most of the goals we set as a project team for our LMS we went were searching to upgrade. There are some problems with it but there are with all systems. We rolled out to our whole community (approximately 1400 students + 200 staff + parents) at once and have experienced some hiccups and concerns but overall the system and the support team at SchoolBox made the process relatively easy.

Pros

The ease of use for storing information that is shared with multiple students across multiple platforms. The customisation of the product allows us to use only the features that we want and to trial those features that are new to the LMS during different releases. The best thing about SchoolBox is the network of users who regularly problem solve and develop solutions in a collaborative way.

Cons

There is considerable time being spent trying to ensure the product talks to our school wide administration system. Having said that we knew this would be an ongoing problem on both vendors sides and were prepared for the delays that are occurring.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

It meet more of our project goals than the other products.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks very much for your feedback and review Jonathan. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete this and provide such valuable feedback. It's been a pleasure working with you and your school and we look forward to continuing the service and support. Always feel free to reach out when you need us. Thanks.

Replied November 2019

Anita

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Whole-School Learning and Engagement Platform

I was the project lead required to recommend either a new virtual learning platform, or extensive upgrade costs to the previous product. After contacting and visiting numerous schools in Queensland, I was convinced of the value Schoolbox offered. Almost two years later, teachers and students are embracing Schoolbox and looking forward to what lays ahead, particularly in whole-school communications.

Pros

There are three standout features of Schoolbox: 1. It is an all-in-one solution for teaching and learning, staff intranet and school communications 2. It is an Australian product, built by Australian educators for the Australian school market 3. The Schoolbox community is highly skilled and generous with their knowledge

Cons

Queensland curriculum compliancy remains an issue

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

Australian product made specifically for the Australian school sector

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

It made sense to implement a new whole-school platform, rather than make expense upgrades to SharePoint, which was under-utilised anyway.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Anita. Thanks so much for your review! In regards to meeting the QLD curriculum (QCAA) requirements, student rubric result pages in Schoolbox can be printed to PDF for submission. The QCAA requirements require a teacher to select 3 students, one from the top, bottom, and middle of the class for verification. Here's the details of what's required: https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/prep_electronic_submissions_advice.pdf Here's the checklist of what's required: https://www.qcaa.qld.edu.au/downloads/senior/snr_qa_verification_submission_checklist.pdf To meet this requirement, we recommend schools collate the information into a single folder doing the following steps: 1. Print to PDF the 3 students' rubric results pages (this will include the task details, grade, rubric and and feedback) 2. Download the students' submissions. Put together in a folio for submission using QCAA's proposed folder structure. Hope this helps. Cheers.

Replied January 2020

Jason

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Schoolbox for Secondary

Pros

With the implementation of all new software solutions, planning is key and Schoolbox demonstrated their ability to perform this in the most efficient manner. From the server configuration templates to the necessary training involving the relevant staff and estimated time it would take to meet production, all went as planned. The management interface is fairly striaght forward to use from administrator's point of view and once staff training was completed, courses and class pages were produced in a reasonable timeframe.

Cons

Initially, the rollover process with a little cumbersome given the way we had originally implemented and linked our class pages with courses. We have streamlined this process and staff are now self sufficient with this. Some of the integration with Synergetic was also limited but this is expanding year by year and now we have most of the student information being accessible in SchoolBox.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

We felt the Schoolbox product was more mature than the others we reviewed. It also had the least overlap with our SIS and focused more on teacher and student functionality utilising an easier to use interface. Much like other social media platforms. The organisation also seemed to be more reception to feature suggestions and already had the integration model to work with our SIS being Synergetic.

Ben

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Schoolbox - the LMS for Citipointe

We love that Schoolbox listens to its clients and strives to implement those features schools are chasing. An agile company that is adept at setting and communicating its priorities to clients, whilst staying true to its core business. A reasonably smooth implementation and roll out over the past couple of years, and looking forward to working with Schoolbox well into the future!

Pros

We like the ease of use for students, staff and parents. Customisation of the dashboard for various audiences. Relative ease of management for staff and administrators. Powerful communications tool for community. Allows students access to curriculum and extra-curricula information anywhere, anytime. Allows the College to provide relevant messaging to parents.

Cons

Permissions structure does not always allow full administrative control. eg. sometimes easy for staff to accidentally delete an item which requires Schoolbox to restore.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

Australian market. Designed for Aus schools out of the box. Could be tailored easily to our requirements. No full-time developer required.

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

Blackboard generally aimed at the tertiary market, where Schoolbox is firmly placed P-12.

Julie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Implementing and Using Schoolbox

Schoolbox has been an excellent LMS for what we were looking for. We wanted a product that provided virtual learning spaces and it does this well.

Pros

Schoolbox is easy to use for staff, to set up their pages, and for students to use. It is facilitating a shift in practice, initially for assessment, and now we are focusing on how it can enhance learning. Parents regularly access student assessment information via an App. The company provide good service technically, and are open to listening to teachers and schools as to what they want to improve the product. In the few years we have been using it, many initiatives have been added in response to school and teacher feedback. They also run an annual Meetup conference for users which is very useful as well. The company supported the school through the implementation process and their ongoing product support is very good.

Cons

We find the Markbook facility useable but inflexible. We can't set up subfolders which is how we have previously worked with another Markbook. This is the feature staff find most frustrating. Technically, it has taken some time to smooth out the link between our SIS (PCSchool) and Schoolbox. Getting the two software systems to talk to each other has been a technical challenge. It is now working relatively well, but we do not have a live connection which would be possible if we used Synergetic. The fact that we have to do manual updates is time-consuming and a bit frustrating for the ICT team. Note though that the issue is more with our SIS than a fault of Schoolbox.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

-It had the virtual classroom facilities that we wanted -It looked good on the screen so we thought it would engage the students -We visited other schools using it, and they were happy with the product and the service. This has proven to be the case for us as well. -Price point - it is good value for money

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

The first product we tried was not easy for staff to use. They quickly got frustrated with the difficulties they had to set up pages for their classes. We then moved to Edmodo as an interim product. This was much easier to use and got staff enthused again, but it was limited in its capacities. Moving to Schoolbox was easy as staff wanted more and it was easy for them to learn how to use it. It was important to provide lots of staff PL so they felt confident.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks for your feedback Julie. We're always looking to improve our SIS connectors and are working on new tech that is being slowly rolled out to existing connectors to make them cloud ready and cover more data points. We also appreciate that your school was first to partner with us on the PCSchool integration. New SIS integrations are challenging given the work involved from all three parties, but we feel it's worth the effort for long term automation. Regarding your Markbook frustrations, each class has a Markbook, however there is no way to group these in folders. However, we now have a Course Markbook (https://help.schoolbox.com.au/homepage/2427) which groups classes by Course in a single view. We also recently added the much requested Rubric Markbook (https://help.schoolbox.com.au/homepage/2476/textBox#component107129). Check out these great features, hopefully they can assist you and your staff achieve your goals. Thanks again for your kind words.

Replied December 2019

Paul

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Schoolbox LMS

This company actively cultivates a very personalised relationship with the company which has enabled them to continually evolve as the needs of their customers grow and change. This high level of responsiveness continually makes a good platform better.

Pros

The platform brings together many systems that we previously maintained separately. For example, calendar, news, communication, teaching resources, gradebook, assessment calendar and collaborative tools are now in one place. This has significantly streamlined workflow for everyone but is also a lot more intuitive and has allowed us to create stronger systems. For example, online submission of due work means that all work can be submitted electronically on the one day, is automatically checked for plagiarism, feedback can be delivered and fed back immediately and marks entered automatically into the gradebook. There is also much greater oversight on an individuals total workload and the ability to more effectively manage this. The platform has significantly changed some core workplace systems and in some cases has positively impacted on the culture of "how things are done". It's a "one stop shop" for school communication, collaboration, grading, resources, assessment and feedback.

Cons

There are still some areas of the gradebook which we would like tweaked for the platform to work ideally for us. In an LMS with such a wide scope, there will always be some features which are not 100% tailored to an individual school's needs. Over a 6 year relationship, we have found the company to be wonderfully responsive and adaptive to the needs of the users and are confident that this area will soon be addressed by the software engineers.

Ian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Schoolbox: A modern solution to managing complexity in schools

Success in the introduction of an LMS is dependent upon the quality of the product and the quality of leadership and implementation. The product has to be good but I suggest you prioritise leadership and implementation. You will have a better experience and outcome with a good product and excellent implementation than you will with an excellent product (however that might be judged) and poor implementation. I think Schoolbox is a very good product and we are doing our best to achieve an excellent implementation - it is not a small undertaking.

Pros

The Schoolbox community is excellent. The company has established a culture and framework that is very effective in supporting learning through collaboration. We have only just started out with Schoolbox but already I have found the regional user forums and annual national conferences to be excellent opportunities to learn from company representatives and from the experience of colleagues in other schools. The software itself has enormous functionality, spanning a wide range of school operations. The design reflects a deep understanding of how schools operate and it functions very reliably. Schoolbox is a sophisticated yet relatively simple tool to mange complexity in schools.

Cons

The greatest challenge with this software in our first year has been the training aspect around the 'course builder' component. In particular, teacher understanding of the relationship between 'course builder', 'course outline' and importing classes and course outlines. Related to this is the process of submitting assessment with course builder. That concept and process lacks a bit of 'stickability' for busy teachers so it is important to support teachers through training. Once teachers have a grasp of this aspect of Schoolbox, there is no stopping them.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

Largely because of its extra functionality - its ability to serve as a 'one stop shop' for staff, students and families covering a wide range of the school operations.

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

We needed more functionality, better targeted to a school context.

Response from Schoolbox

Hi Ian. Thanks so much for your review and for taking the time. It's always a challenge to bring new processes to a team and to ingrain new concepts into a school. As per your suggestion, the course is eventually grasped and that learning can be retained and shared across the team and to new teammates. We're always keen to here feedback in order to evolve Schoolbox and feedback such as this helps us gain insight into problem areas that we can address. Thanks again!

Replied February 2020

Victor

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Schoolbox helps make learning personal

Schoolbox as a Learning Management System has made and is making Continuous Reporting a reality. Being able to mark attendances directly out of Schoolbox, which integrates with our SIS, and being able to maintain Pastoral Records and communicate with parents from the LMS means that Schoolbox is being used by many teachers as a 'one stop shop'.

Pros

Schoolbox is designed from the ground up to be intuitive, allowing the novice or the seasoned digital pedagogy practitioner to jump in and building learning activities and courses. In particular, the Schoolbox team listens to its user base when planning its product development road map: this has led to a feature set that supports personalised learning, including rich assessment rubrics, student self-reflection and feedback, modified assessments, social learning, as well as a survey tool that supports Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

Cons

The support for Learning Analytics and the analytics around teachers' use of the product is still fairly nascent. One has to instead look to third party tools to provide this capability.

Reasons for choosing Schoolbox

Ease of use, flexibility of design and quality of support.

Reasons for switching to Schoolbox

Ease of use, and feature set that supported our digital pedagogical vision.

Response from Schoolbox

Thanks Victor for your review and for taking the time. We've had a ball working with you, your team and your school thus far! We are very keen to continue evolving how Schoolbox reports on student learning, as well as integrations into external reporting systems. We have made some significant enhancements in this space over the last year; 1. New views in our database for simplified reporting on rubrics; 2. Creation of a tool to convert reports in Schoolbox to PDFs; 3. Crystal Reports service where we can produce PDF based report variants. So, at this stage schools have 4 different options depending on their needs; Export assessment data to Synergetic or Accelerus to complete reports; Create their own Crystal Reports; Engage our Professional Services team to implement Crystal Reports; Engage a 3rd party to build a report from our data (Octopus, TrackOne). We're also working on a tool to deliver a super simple option for running a PDF run of the Grades page in Schoolbox. :)

Replied November 2019

JOhn

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT