SKYWARD Student Management Suite Software

FrontRunners 2021

About SKYWARD Student Management Suite

Skyward’s Student Management Suite is a cloud-based student information solution that helps schools manage student records, curriculum, attendance, grades, discipline, reporting and more. The solution's gradebook module supports standards-based and secondary grading methods with weighting and scale and lets teachers post grades to mid-term and semester report cards automatically. It also integrates with online assignments, which can be cloned to new gradebooks. Skyward’s attendance module allows teachers to maintain attendance records, as well as create custom seating charts and notify parents about absences. Add-ons to automate attendance-taking by scanning or wanding student ID cards is also available. Additionally, parent and student portals facilitate...
Close

Image 1 of 6

Parent/student portal

SKYWARD Student Management Suite User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4

Value for money

4

Customer support

4

Functionality

4

Showing 1 - 5 of 129 reviews

Natalie

Company size: 11 - 50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

January 2022

Excellent Education Management Tool

User Profile

Natalie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Excellent Education Management Tool

Over Skyward provides teachers, students and administrators with up-to-date, accessible and easy to understand grades, disciplinary reports, and academic history. With very little training, I was able to navigate and operate the system within days.

Pros

This software is easily navigable for educators. I can input grades, edit assignments and change due dates with only the click of a button. Its integration with Google Calendar allows my students to keep track of due dates, as well.

Cons

Skyward has pre-set grading periods, but as a teacher there are still intermittent periods (6 week grade period) where I need to manually input each student's grade. This seems an unnecessarily arduous task.

Response from Skyward

Thank you so much for the review Natalie. We're happy to see that your use of Skyward with Google Calendar is going well. In terms of your issue with the grading periods, we recommend that you put in a service call. Depending upon the way you have your gradebooks set up, someone at Skyward will likely need to learn more about what you are doing and your specific goals in order to help you.

Replied December 2020

John

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

QMLATIV is the most intuitive software!

We're using it both Business and Student and it's just easy to use.

Pros

I have experience with pretty much every SIS in Wisconsin and Qmlativ is definitely the easiest to use. The intuitive nature of it makes it easy to get stuff done. The technical support is the best I've seen in the industry. Everyone is very knowledgeable and is kind.

Cons

I wish Skyward Business and Student are merged, but I know they're working on that. Still would be nice!

Reasons for choosing SKYWARD Student Management Suite

Skyward is a lot easier to use and is more intuitive.

Reasons for switching to SKYWARD Student Management Suite

JMC did not fit our needs and was not designed well. State reporting was painful but now it's easier with a single button to click!

Response from Skyward

Thanks for your awesome review John. From the beginning, one of the main goals of Qmlativ was ease of use, so we are happy you are finding it to be intuitive.

Replied February 2020

Arnie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

The most compatible choice for Student Information Systems

As our primary student information system, we have experiences very few problems that cannot be overcome between our local team and their support staff. Our experience has been successful and our experience with the provider is always solutions based and quickly resolved.

Pros

SKYWARD continues to be an industry leader in the area of records management, fiscal management, employee access. It has been the one stop place for all student, financial and employee records in every district I have worked with. The integration with other systems and the wealth of dashboard options allows for all things to be managed in one system.

Cons

As an interface, there are areas that need to be updated. The introduction of QMLATIV should address many of the shortcomings of the existing software. We are excited to see what the next generation of the software has to offer.

Kevin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Stuck in 2003; Avoid.

Terrible. Wasn't even interested in looking at their newer option.

Pros

-It is a more reasonably priced option than the bigger players like Campus or PowerSchool. -It is still better than JMC (which is sad). - IF you can figure out how to do things in it and IF you don't mind an ugly program that visually is stuck in 2003, it may work for you.

Cons

- Probably the least user-friendly software I've ever used. It has tons of random settings that are sprinkled all over the software and requires a super-user on your team to accomplish even some of the more regular day to day functions. - Reports are terrible. You have to set the fields and ranges and then waste time running a report to see if it works. I can't tell you how many times I've done this and had the system return a blank report because one tiny parameter was off OR the report doesn't do what I thought it did from the title (with no explanation). - Teachers hate it. It's so limited, it forces your district into changing its grading procedures to fit the limitations of the product - Customer service is dismissive and unhelpful.

Response from Skyward

Thanks for your brutally honest feedback Mr. Furst. As difficult as this review was for us to read, we welcome all feedback--good and bad--and our goal is to deliver a user-centric experience for everyone. One of the reasons we launched our Qmlativ platform a few years ago was because we recognized we needed to upgrade the design and navigation to help create a better experience for users. We hope you reconsider taking a look at Qmlativ and we are confident you will be pleasantly surprised at what you see. Thank you.

Replied June 2021

Popular SKYWARD Student Management Suite Comparisons