All WebTitan Reviews

1-25 of 251 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Scott

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Extremely good blocking of spam, a bit hard to use though.

Pros

Very good blocking of spam messages. Works with any e-mail server setup. Provides extra layer of protection.

Cons

Difficult to use their web interface, as a lot of the parts don't make sense. No simple method to setup multiple users quickly and easily. But once setup, it's pretty much set it and forget it. Also, you lose 99% of control of incoming messages at your e-mail server. Which may or may not be a bad thing.

Michael

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2020

Delcora Review

My overall experience has been positive. There aren't to many false positive pages being blocked, which I expect there to be some. Allowing websites through the filter is quick enough that I don't get complaints.

Pros

The biggest pro I have is the app for laptops being off-network. I have tried many other products and this is a feature they had, said it works but it never did. I finally found an app that works and it works well. The other pro is many other products I used tried to stuff as many features in as they could, however for-getting the big picture is to filter internet traffic. WebTitan focusses on filtering the internet traffic and thigs seem to be designed around it.

Cons

The one aspect of the software is changing the dns setting in order to recognize user names.

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

Cost!!

Reasons for switching to WebTitan

The barracuda filter was a nightmare for me. Maybe in a large org and with someone dedicated to monitor and configure it this would be a good option. Outside the expense the filter was hard to configure , allowing websites through it was a disaster. Most of the time it didn't work. Also, the off-network filter was horrible and didn't work. The support on it was basically we know it doesn't work but advertise that it does.

JUSTIN

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2018

Not worth it, would much rather use opendns or webroot dns

Cons

Many invalid classifications, many issues with not receiving DNS responses. Single DNS server without backup DNS server

Response from TitanHQ

Hi Justin, I'm very disappointed that you haven't had a good experience with WebTitan. This is not the case with our other 7,500 customers. I can't put think there is an issue with the set up. Could we have another look at it with you? It hasn't been our experience that we have had "Many invalid classifications" and just to update you we always have a backup DNS server. Our product is significantly more mature than the Webroot offering and is more affordable than OpenDNS. Can you drop me a mail and we can try to get to the bottom of the issues you experienced. Kind regards, Dryden Dryden Geary, Marketing Director, TitanHQ dgeary@TitanHQ.com

Replied August 2018

Glen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

WebTitan

WebTitan works for our use case.

Pros

We use captive DNS, it was very easy to setup.

Cons

Many features are tied to the endpoint application that we, and I suspect many others prefer not to install.

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

They called me back first, customer service was excellent.

Matt

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

WebTitan Review

Great value for the service it provides for us. Eventually would like to use it with a Linux server environment down the road, but haven't crossed that bridge yet as we currently use Active Directory with M$.

Pros

Easy to install and could reuse old hardware for the installation, so helps keep costs down. Also once installed it requires minimal oversight since it runs on a Linux install. I like it is on premise as it is cost effective to manage.

Cons

Can't think of any right now as it meets our needs.

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

Cost effective and local install with reusing hardware to keep costs down.

Brad

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

Very pleasant experience.

The software is inexpensive compared to competitors, but does not lack in functionality, design, administration, and customer service. The roll-out was simple to both Mac and PC users. The reporting and dashboards are very informative and easy to understand. I am very pleased overall with this product.

Pros

The admin console for this product is simple, informative, and easy to navigate.

Cons

We had issues integrating with our existing endpoint protection software for our Mac users.

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

WebTitan is a better fit than Cisco Umbrella for us due to cost, ease of use, and is not an overkill of functionality for our business needs.

Reasons for switching to WebTitan

Cost and ease of use.

Michael

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2021

Great DNS proxy for the enterprise.

Great product for its price point. Great support and generally enterprise grade solution.

Pros

Site and agent based option allows enterprise to provide workstation web filter within and out of corporate network. Relative simple to deploy in various reporting level to fit all situation. Deploys in hours for the most basic reporting detail.

Cons

User to request matching has gaps without agent on workstation.

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

Pricing and feature. Cisco is also tested to be too sensitive.

Jill

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

WebTitan Performance

So far so good!

Pros

Recently switched from an appliance system to WebTitan. I love the cloud setup!

Cons

If I had one thing I wish I could do, it would be to copy an existing policy to create a new one. In some instances I want to create a specific policy for a team with only one or two changes from the base policy. Would make it easier than having to recreate the whole thing each time.

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

Because of the ability to be totally cloud based and cost was also a factor.

Reasons for switching to WebTitan

After COVID it became very obvious I needed the ability to make changes to filtering without having to go to the office … since during COVID we were not allowed there.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

My Active Directory Server is integrated with WebTitan.

we have been using web titan for some time for extra security in the dns set, which makes it easier for us to protect our directories and others. With the application we have been able to correct events in more than 5% monthly.

Pros

WebTitan, like all TitanHQ products, is immediately ready to use and requires minimal technological effort to ensure the safety of all of your employees. Remote, domestic, and traveling workers can all benefit from the OTG client's security features. It's difficult to say what to say. DNS security that covers all bases.

Cons

There is a bit of a delay when importing restricted sites. Likewise, I dislike the WADA agent, but I am ready to accept it in exchange for AD integration.

Brandon

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

DNS filtering is a key component to first line defense

This product has help us thwart incoming attacks by limiting exposure on initial domain name searches.

Pros

The ability to monitor DNS traffic both onsite and remote locations. The ease of installation and the ease of management.

Cons

Would like to see better reporting tools and bulk download of logs.

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

This product works well and allowed us to save a great deal over Cisco's Umbrella product!

Mark

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Some Customer Support Agents Amazing, Some not so Good

Everthing about web titan service and support has been great, except my interactions with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] as noted above.

Pros

I purchased Web Titan to block all thing pornographic from my computer. This your software has done very well! Once blocked, I needed to ensure I couldn't get back into the account, and the only way to do this at the moment is to change the email associated with the account to one that I don't know. So I reached out to your support and asked them to change the email address associated with the account, so I can no longer access it. Technical Support Engineer [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] helped me out with this and made my dreams a reality. He did a great job and I'm thankful for that.

Cons

After the initial setup and email change, I needed to blacklist a few more URLs, including facebook, because there are plenty of sexual images on there. I reached out to support to quickly add the URLs, (to avoid wasting time changing the email back and having me do it), and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] responded, and was incredibly rigid and resistant to helping. Basically, he's the kid at recess that tells the teacher on everyone, saying he would reprimant the support agent ([SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) that made this happen in the first place. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] did an amazing job. It's [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] that should be in trouble, if any, in my opinion. Anyway, account manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] talked to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], calmed him down, and convinced him to blacklist the 5 websites in my account. The job is now done and I'm happy as can be.

Reasons for switching to WebTitan

Some porn sites weren't blocked on their service, and it would've cost a fortune to customize it.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Effective, Inexpensive, and Relatively Easy to Use.

Reduced spam, reduced viruses. User-controlled management of spam.

Pros

It does a good job of blocking spam and malicious content. The customized emails that can go out to individual users makes management so much easier. The support, when needed, is very good and very responsive; with what seems to be domestic resources to assist.

Cons

The only complaint I have is that there is not a "greylisting" override. Specifically, when a mail is expected, but is the first time being received by a specific email address, you need to wait upwards of 10 minutes (depending on the other party's server settings). I wish there was some sort of queue or override to get around this without disabling the feature.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2018

Very easy to setup. Catches a LOT of spam.

The benefits from this software are in the thousands. About 1000 less emails per day. We block about another 3000+ per day before they even make it to the site. However, we also see that SpamTitan is blocking about 2-3 viruses per week. No matter how much protection you have, it is not enough. Spam Titan helps us with protecting our site from Ransomware/Viruses, and in general waste of time going through all of the banking errors of the United Bank of Africa.

Pros

The amount of spam stopped. It can be configured to work on a SHARED IP hosting with cPanel. I would have to lookup the rule I created, but it helps stop spam emails that originate from the server itself.

Cons

It is not possible to Blacklist TLD's. I have used the local vmWare version, it has a lot more customization settings. That is both good and bad, in that anything you have to adjust takes time, but it gives you better control.

Muhammad

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2018

Web Titanic

Pros

Its a great SAAS proxy server. You can allow and block website base on their types. You can whitelist some domain so they never get blocked if they are under blocked category. You can Blacklist some domain so they are always blocked if not included in blocked category. You can add role based user for management. I really like creating and installing Certificate to by pass or allow traffic for specific period of time. It make management so easy. I really like the alert functionality that can notify you if someone tries to access restricted websites

Cons

It doesn't provide any feature to disable addon on browser, so user can bypass it by installing vpn plugin. They doesn't provide any support to integrate Certificate with MSP like Kaseya, so if you have big network, its very difficult to install certificate on each endpoint using conventional way. You cannot add more than one email in notification.

Michael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2021

Webtitan

performs well good support

Pros

functionality the cost was reasonable good support

Cons

need to setup local dns proxy management of whitelist doesn't always work as expected

Reasons for choosing WebTitan

price functionality

Sobek

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE