User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.70

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Ease of use is great but interaction with support was great."
  • icon"Ease of use, custom ability, 100% secure wiping of target drives. Overall great value for the money given the ongoing updates to the base system."
  • icon"It is easy to use this software for our purposes. Access from the cloud is great also."
  • icon"Our implementation needs updating for our use case. Using a proprietary image is a pain."
  • icon"Offline mode can be a little more complicated/convoluted due to the necessity of entering keys to utilise licenses from the license pool."
  • icon"Its inability to be used with other products, i.e. encryption products. There isn't a complete/all product version, i.e. WipeDrive, VeriDrive, Mobile, and SystemSaver in one package."

All WipeDrive Reviews

1-25 of 46 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Regular User for Years

We have been wiping desktop and notebooks with WipeDrive for a number of years and have seen no reason to ever change.

Pros

Ease of use and support from White Canyon. We were notified immediately once the UEFI-PXE bootable version for WipeDrive 8 was available. Crystal is fantastic!

Cons

So far, WipeDrive mobile only available for iOS devices. Looking forward to Android. As well, perhaps a larger discount for purchase licenses in quantity. :)

Patrick

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Wipe Drive Pro - The Industry Standard

Technical support and post sales support has been outstanding at every stage. Many indicate they offer superior technical and post sales support but few if any offer *Service After The Sale*. Having used, managed, and been the decision maker to select software to securely erase tens of thousands of hard drives. White Canyon and their Wipe Drive Pro software has been the most consistent and feature rich in its use and deployment.

Pros

Ease of use, custom ability, 100% secure wiping of target drives. Overall great value for the money given the ongoing updates to the base system. The application is small in size so can be imaged to very small USB sticks so is easy to deploy to multi site / multi personal when required.

Cons

I do not believe a six month licensing term is very practical or required. As having to endure another sales cycle, procurement, and final validation of the same is extremely time consuming for the client. The standard 12 month term should be the norm and used going forward. Shorter licensing periods causes nothing but frustration to everyone involved in the process.

Reasons for choosing WipeDrive

At the time of testing and validation White Canyon was the only company able to securely wipe NVMe memory hard drives for our company. They were also one of the few companies who were able to securely wipe hybrid drives found in various models of Dell computer systems.

Mac

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

July 2019

The good and bad of WipeDrive

We are a recycling business so I use this a lot to wipe SSD's that are donated to us. It is quick and I have never had a problem with data showing up when I have tested them.

Pros

I like the ease of use to start the wiping process. It did take some time to set it up as easy as it is, but the support staff at your company help walk us though it.

Cons

There is no restart button. When I load the computer and start it up there have been times when I have an unacceptable amount of "good" hard drives that have been loaded. I want to reload without running. The only way to get the computer to read the ssd, that I know of, is to restart and there is no restart button. At this point of the process, I have to run the software, to get to a restart button, or force the computer to shut down.

Response from WhiteCanyon Software

Hi Mac, Thank you for your Comment! We will work with our DevTeam on what would be required for a Refresh Button and have this added to the Development Timeline. I'll let you know when it's added!

Replied July 2019

Micah

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Data Security

Our organization provides refurbished and used products to veterans and their families in need through donations by companies and individuals. When receiving these assets, data security is a top priority for each client. Finding a solution that has the reputation to be a known brand, provides excellent customer service, is effective, and flexible to meet our needs were all boxes that could be checked with WipeDrive.

Pros

Our organization required an erasure solution that could operate at scale over a PXE deployment. WipeDrive was an excellent solution that has met and exceeded the scale required.

Cons

We have spent hours upon hours troubleshooting bugs and issues. If it wasn't for the excellent customer service we've received, we quickly would have started considering another solution. Many of the bugs have been fixed, and the troubleshooting steps are always informative, patient, and helpful - even when a solution isn't created the same day.

Reasons for choosing WipeDrive

We needed a product that not only could scale with our operations but could provide seamless Certificates of Data Destruction per unit. WipeDrive offers this capability and met many other requirements we set. Many other solutions provided exceptional means of destroying data, but the ability to run hardware inspections and provide a CoD were lacking or absent. These were deciding factors when considering a pay-per-license solution such as WipeDrive.

Reasons for switching to WipeDrive

The solution used with this organization when I started was old, slow, outdated, unable to be updated, non-HIPAA compliant, and not built to scale. When reviewing potential solutions, these items were considered.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Time Saver!

I work in Infrastructure and formerly managed Deskside support. I wish all the applications we use and support met the same standards as this one.

Pros

We love the fact that it generates a detailed report for our records. As a Government contractor we must maintain records that every drive has been wiped. Prior to purchasing WipeDrive we had to create those manually. Another feature that saves us time (think equates to money) is we can wipe multiple drives simultaneously making the task much more efficient than our previous method. On the rare occasion when we needed to contact technical support, usually to obtain our custom image when there was an upgrade, they responded quickly with a solution to our concern.

Cons

We really haven't experienced any negatives for our application of the product. We've been using it for several years and have been presented with alternatives but they didn't measure up.

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Data Security

It has been a great relationship and the customer service/tech support have kept us as a customer.

Pros

Our company has used WipeDrive for several years. We like being able to configure the software on a server so that multiple drives can be wiped and verified simultaneously. The reporting records make for great documentation for customers.

Cons

We have ran into a few circumstances where certain drives would all fail. It wasn't that they were necessarily bad but just were not being recognized properly. We have worked very closely with the tech support department and have received incredibly good response and solutions.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

WipeDrive does just that....wipes the drive

We were a customer of another top selling wipe drive tool but White Canyon provided better customer support, a tool equal to or better than the tool we replaced, at a price that was competitive.

Pros

With Data Privacy being at the top of our priority list when it comes to retied hardware, WipeDrive is a key component of our data eradication efforts. Easy to use, fast, tons of options, excellent reporting, Wipe Drive does everything I want it to.

Cons

Doesn't handle RAID array drives as easy as I would like it to. It can handle RAID drives bus sometimes I have to give it a nudge to get through. The software should detect the presence of RAID, ask how the user wants to proceed, and if requested, break the RAID structure and procees with data overwrite.

User Profile

Bruce

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

WipeDrive user for over 10 years!!

Pros

WipeDrive is the absolute best product for us because of the wide variety of drives we encounter on a weekly basis. Also, the customer support is unmatched.

Cons

The updates sometimes are a bit confusing but overall not that big of a deal

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

WipeDrive for IT Asset Management

My group and I have been using WipeDrive for years with great success and will continue to use the product.

Pros

- Set it and let it run. No need to sit and watch the process because you know it will do its job. - Knowing that you are using software that will eliminate any chance of anyone recovering any data.

Cons

- Dongle for licensing. White Canyon needs to work out a better way to license the product. - Remote use of the product where there is no internet connectivity.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Great Product

Pros

The ease of use and the support team is amazing. This product can run on anything and wipe any device with a hard drive. It is also very robust on the options and outputs available via the bootable image.

Cons

the dongle can be frustrating, but now that there is a could enabled option that help alleviate this issue.

Saurabh

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Features

Overall I would say it's good

Pros

First of all, It's easy to use so not required in-depth training when you ask someone to use. Second, you can have proof of data wipe which is very helpful during the audit or security inspection Third, it can be used in both the ways w/o internet /network or / network

Cons

The thing which i didn't like, I was doing data wiping and suddenly laptop has got powered off. Then hard disk is locked by software. I tried to unlock thru various way by reading your KB,customer support but nothing worked. I couldn't get the proof of data wipe. there must be some mechanism to unlock. Second, You must supply setup other than pendrive if you want global presence. I would need to pay $250 as a shipping charge and I waited till 2 months to get the pendrive delivered in India

BLAKE

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Great customer service!

We have been a user for the past 4 years or more and rarely have issues.

Pros

The software is easy to use and if there is ever a problem they handle it quickly and efficiently.

Cons

The only drawback is that we have to wait on an admin user to add licenses. but this is not a wipedrive issue.

Reasons for choosing WipeDrive

Softthinks is fully integrateable and we were not ready to do that.

Eric

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Happy with WipeDrive!

Pros

The fact that it's got all of the certifications. There are many free and inexpensive options out there, but they don't have the certifications.

Cons

Early versions had some issues with printing reports, but that's been fixed in later versions.

Matt

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

Simple Effective System Wiping

Pros

The system just works - boot off PXE, finds server with minimal fuss. Simple for all the team to use.

Cons

Offline mode can be a little more complicated/convoluted due to the necessity of entering keys to utilise licenses from the license pool

vineet

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2019

Great wiping software

Ease of use and Peace of mind when it comes to data security

Pros

flexibility to customise with out organisation.

Cons

Lack of local support, have to rely on support from US which at times can delay by a day.

Panagiotis

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE