User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.29

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"What I like most id the ease of use with SolarWinds IP Monitor."
  • icon"Ease of use, the support around it and the way it integrates in to the other SolarWinds lineup of applications. Its very easy to understand and intuitive."
  • icon"One of the best software/programs to monitor IP Address in your environment. Easy to use and navigate."
  • icon"Sometimes it's hard to find what you're looking for."
  • icon"There was no significant development during the last 5 years, but you have to keep paying the yearly maintenance renewal, otherwise the product will stop working."
  • icon"The limitation on the number of monitors is problematic for all but the smaller end of the SMB market."

All ipMonitor Reviews

1-17 of 17 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Todd

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

ipMonitor by SolarWinds

My techs love this software. it is run with Windows startup and their preferences and watched IP's load quickly and efficiently. They give anything SolarWinds a great big fat thumbs up! I on the other hand only know the basics of it, and know it gives me exactly what I want in regards to IP Monitoring on my desktop. (mind you my tech had to set it up for me...)

Pros

Very much a large and robust piece of software. Gives me a lot of abilities to manage my IP network.

Cons

Too many settings, didn't seem to have a basic user interface as opposed to having an advanced only user interface. Too many options for the layman.

Jack

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2020

ipMonitor no longer an enterprise product

When it was unhindered by the 500 monitor limitation, this was the best NOC product I've used to date. It was easy to configure, easy to monitor and act upon monitor status changes, and it required little administrative overhead once initialized. Now, with the limitations discussed above, it's relegated to an entry-level product for startups and small businesses.

Pros

The NOC UI is one of the most intuitive and actionable when configured correctly. Inexperienced NOC techs can quickly become proficient at responding to alerts or status changes with this system.

Cons

The limitation on the number of monitors is problematic for all but the smaller end of the SMB market. I expect this change was implemented to drive customers to the Orion suite, which is much more costly and time-intensive to administer.

Reasons for choosing ipMonitor

At the time, it was because of the easy of configuration and quality of available monitors even though it was slightly more costly.

Reasons for switching to ipMonitor

Compliance requirements

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2020

IPMonitor is a decent server monitoring solution

I used this software from about 2005-2016. It was effective, but could definitely use some UI changes as it didn't really change much at all in the time I was using it. It was really good and detailed when it came down to identifying problems and running reports, but could throw some false alarms from time-to-time. I would recommend this if the price is reasonable, but could also have a learning curve for new users that is not ideal.

Pros

It was easy to keep track of server status' It had alarms you could set to go off if a server was having issues.

Cons

The interface was dated and clunky to use. It would throw a lot of false alarms sometimes.

Response from SolarWinds

Thank you for the review. We're excited to confirm that ipMonitor has a new GUI (Graphical User Interface) released with Version 11. Our new GUI makes it easier to navigate the product and provides additional real estate on the NOC view. ipMonitor delivers centralized monitoring for small businesses and organizations, with three affordable tiers of monitoring, starting at just $1,495 with no recurring monthly fees. Try a free 14 day trial.

Replied March 2020

Anil

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Amazing Software for Network Monitoring!

This program is great since it allows for thorough reporting and tracking. The ipmonitor support crew is extremely helpful and quick to respond. It's a Windows-compatible app. In other words, go for it!

Pros

One of the greatest tools available for keeping tabs on your network's IP addresses is ipMonitor. Getting about and making use of it is a breeze. The ipMonitor interface is also quite well done. Features such as automated network detection and repair are also available.

Cons

Scan times may sometimes be rather lengthy. If you don't need it for anything else, it's a fantastic monitoring tool.

shabbir

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

IP Monitor - not so cost effective but meets the requirements in very highly basis

Using IP Monitor since long back as we are mid-size company easy visibility to network and devices very much helpful in reporting to clients through the acceptance process. It is been a valuable process and asset to our organization may be not so cost-effective but acceptable with its features.

Pros

we were looking for IP management of our network devices, servers, VMware hosts on a very high basis. we looking for agentless monitoring. many tools IP monitoring thinks Pinging is just enough but in reality, only administrators knew its importance. The visibility which it gives is really satisfying for us. at least it came to us at very affordable pricing so we were very happy about it.

Cons

IP Monitor interface could be more effective, alerts could less dry, rebooting the IP monitor trigger every monitor we have sent an email. in the end, we need to submit it to managers reports which not so effective for us. cofiguration management.

Reasons for choosing ipMonitor

IP monitor helps in oversee the status of all the network, Vmware, server status overall in NOC Dashboards. It gives us to track performance, space, uptime, etc. It also saves the need to login into a device and checks its status manually * best of its automated NOC feature. It also ability in monitoring VLAN zones better and best in understanding.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

IPMonitor

We have been using IP Monitor for the past 10+ years to monitor our IT Infrastructure (routers, switches, servers, etc). IP Monitor can be configured to generate alerts and a wide variety of reports

Pros

IPMonitor is extremely easy to set up and configure and is ideal for small companies that do not want to spend a lot of money for a network monitoring product

Cons

The one feature I find that is missing is an easy method to purge out historic data that is no longer needed or valid.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

SolarWinds Monitoring your IP's

ipMonitor's new management features make it easier to control and monitor large complex networks and to pinpoint issues in a timely manner. There's little to choose between ipMonitor and WhatsUp Gold for smaller networks, and either will do a good job. If you don't need WhatsUp Gold's scalability and ability to monitor distributed networks then ipMonitor is a good choice.

Pros

Ease of Installation and configuration Great Dashboards Great Reporting

Cons

can take a lots of time to probe a huge network to discover the connected devices and configure the required monitors Cost is bit high in comparison with competitors Can monitor only 500 networked devices

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

Ipmonitor

Pros

Simple, easy to use software that does simple monitoring well.

Cons

It is not being updated anymore and they really want you to switch to the higher priced orion suite. It is lacking on features and the ones it has are not well implemented or updated.

ABDUL

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

additional features expected

user performance and monitoring

Pros

good for tracking user log on and log off's

Cons

to complicated to access the consol, integraton of user ip is complicated

Jason

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

Solarwinds IPmonitor

monitoring network routers and switches. making sure utilization is within normal parameters.

Pros

you're able to customize the dashboard and set threshold alerts.

Cons

sometimes it's hard to find what you're looking for.

Bjarke

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Quick and easy overview of Up/Down status

I started with IPMonitor, and quickly saw the business benefits coming from it, but later switched to the more comprehensive Network Monitor solution from SolarWinds which have much deeper reach into the network and server monitoring.

Pros

What I like most id the ease of use with SolarWinds IP Monitor. It is SO easy to get up and running, and it will deliver results right away. It's super easy to add new devices to be monitored, and removed once they are no longer needed. There is also a free version to try out before committing to a purchase.

Cons

The pre-build reports could be better, but with a little bit of extra effort, it's possible to create some pretty useful reports.

Chad

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

IPAM is a great tool

I love ipMonitor. We use it as our go to verify active ports, IP usage and auditing, and for planning network growth. Also nice to scan the environment for any devices we aren't expecting to see.

Pros

Easy to scan your network to see which ports are active, nice repository for the whole company to utilize. Very customizable.

Cons

I wish it had easier integration with DNS.

Stephan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

ipmonitor

Pros

easy to use, no difficult steps to add a new device/server

Cons

missing ipv6 support, submitted a request a few years ago but still no support... support costs based on no new features for the past years

Markus

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2019

Reliable monitoring tool without any significant development

If you can live with a feature set that was frozen around 6 years ago, this software will work fine for you. Don't count on the vendor adding any new features (IPv6, REST API, Mobile friendly display)

Pros

Simple to use, broad list of monitors available, running stable for years

Cons

There was no significant development during the last 5 years, but you have to keep paying the yearly maintenance renewal, otherwise the product will stop working. Release 10.8.2 was in 2013, then nothing happend until 10.8.3 was released in late 2018 with very minor changes.

User Profile

Jeremy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

Great entry tool for anysize network

It is not something I use every day however it is something that is used as a double check and also to help me manage the network.

Pros

ease of use, the support around it and the way it integrates in to the other SolarWinds lineup of applications. Its very easy to understand and intuitive. I found that many of the features are exactly what I need to monitor the IP segments of my network.

Cons

Honestly there is not much. The cost could be a bit lower. I would like to see them package it with Network Performance Monitor (NPM for short).

Derek

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT