User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(59)

59

4 stars

(33)

33

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse Sports Connect Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 103 results

June 2018

User Profile Picture

T. Michael from Colony Business Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Not Plug and Play, but VERY useful when you give it your time and energy!

We were able to drop the paid website we had and another ad hoc registration software we used. So we saved money for sure and then also upgraded to a better platform. We also were able to centralize registration and establish one platform for the commissioner to email updates from. In addition, our information is held in a central location for players to easily extrapolate. Also linking our facebook page to the webpage made our branding that much better.

Pros

The software made setting up our registration process so much easier. It allowed us to have specific questions we needed answered made mandatory and then exported them to a spreadsheet. Exporting information was very easy to do and you could include as much or as little info as you needed. Overall a great layout, and a value to our organization as we are able to use this site for free.

Cons

While you don't have to be in IT or a web designer to understand, there is a lot to their website. I'm not so sure it's a con, however there is a good amount of information to digest and set up. If you don't have someone who's tech savvy, this could be a challenge. In our case we've had several "cooks in the kitchen" and still probably aren't utilizing the website to it's full advantage.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied June 2018

Hi Michael, thank you for the feedback and review. Happy to hear that we have simplified a lot of the operations for you. If you are ever looking to learn more about what our system can do for you and your board, we have ongoing webinars that you can attend, or our Support Team is always available to answer questions. All the best!

May 2017

Joe from Coxsackie-Athens Little League

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Best decision made for our little league orginization

Dont know where to start, its a long list... Free customizable website Online player registration system Volunteer registration system Order management Team creation and management Easy to use game/practice scheduling system Customizable reports for league, players, finances and more League wide or custom targeted emails and texting Free online apparel store with custom graphics And tons more...

Pros

Easy to use, comprehensive and free league management software. Vendor is constantly adding new content and features. Offers a lot of flexibility for entry level website administrators as well as advanced webmasters. The technical support is the best I've experienced in 20 years of service. Email or phone and you will get your issue resolved in a fast, professional (and sometimes quirky) manner. The software has allowed our baseball/softball league to easily manage hundreds of registrations year after year, including all the pains that come with a youth sports program. We can add, remove, refund and move registrations around with ease. Team building and scheduling is a breeze. Best of all, the system automatically updated parents when changes are made thru their team portals, email or text. I would highly recommend this product.

Cons

It wasn't around 5-6 years earlier. Cant image all the time and aggravation that could've been avoided! ;)

December 2021

Joseph from Stafford Soccer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Stafford Soccer Customer Management review

Outstanding product with 100% support to the user. Even customers that call and provide us feedback are extremely pleased with support services.

Pros

Any time there is an issue we have 100% confidence that the customer care is there for us. Other times where we are unsure how to use the system the portal training and or Contacting [SENSITIVE CONTENT] the team is amazing and support is outstanding! Software is pretty easy to use and navigating through the system has been very user friendly.

Cons

So far, no issues. Little things like adding a clear all button on search function and being able to edit accounts as an administrator rather than sending a roster to SC to clear would be helpful.

Reasons for Choosing Sports Connect

Do not know

December 2018

Paul from CYAS

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2018

May be good for youth sports, overly complicated for everything else.

Blue Sombrero was very exciting when we first started and their was hope of it being able to work for adult recreational leagues. We've become disenfranchised with the over complexity of the system as it adds more features and tools for youth leagues and never fixes the issues for adult recreational leagues. Also, it greatly needs a UI simplification. Our users are lost on the volunteer registration process, but it also doesn't make sense for recreational league. It has become overbuilt on features and no longer user friendly. Slow down the development and focus on the end-user and administrators experience (SIMPLICITY). And the new team manager app doesn't appear to be connected at all to bluesombrero, which was very confusing. You have a power house of useful tools that could be leveraged better if you could develop a way for admins to customize the tools to work for them. GIve us more control and it could still be fantastic. Another feature to consider is adding a rewards or gamification for repeat playing. Giving admins the ability to disable multiple registrations per account (our adults aren't signing waivers, because their girlfriends/captains are registering on their behalf, creating a liability issue). At present, we're looking at shifting to an in-house simplified registration system, since we don't think Bluesombrero is going to work for our expansion plans. ---The support staff has always been fantastic and super responsive. That is definitely fantastic!

Pros

-Free -game scheduling and game notification emails -discount codes -donation option on checkout

Cons

-over built (it needs a major simplifying UI overhaul). We had to spend hours creating an in-house training manual for our staff on how to setup a league and manage it. -sold by support on implementing use for adult leagues, it never happened after 3 years and assume it is dead now -simple fixes could make this work for everyone. For example, I recently set up foxy cart for donations and they have a whole configuration section on language. I asked for two UI changes more than once years ago that are still important #1 discount codes and team codes need different names...team "ID" makes more sense. Users get confused between the two. The other is changing the name of "coaches" to "captains" for recreational leagues. We also have numerous users get lost on the volunteer/coach section altogether and then they give up. -no support for alternate payment accounts (Stripe for example would be helpful) -Verifying standings is hard to get to. I have to go to team central, which isn't always easy an admin. Then look for any ties and manually break them, since the system doesn't usually get them all right. -It would be nice if discount codes could have a percent off or a giftcard option.

December 2021

Josh from Lions Hondo Little League

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Sports Connect gets our season up and running smoothly!

Customer service is helpful.

Pros

Lots of functionality and the all in one management capabilities.

Cons

Need more help with how to use all options.

August 2021

Bashar from باغلارس

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

4766190209362024

Sports Connect is a very nice application that helped me complete my sports work and facilitate the management of my own football team among friends

Pros

The best thing about this app is flexibility in use, never complicated and faster customer service, even in light of the Covid-19 crisis.

Cons

No, I see that it is a beautiful and integrated application, but sometimes it becomes slow in some things. I hope that this problem will be improved.

Reasons for Choosing Sports Connect

sports connect is distinguished from other applications in the quality of programming and the way to use it is not complicated, unlike other applications that are very complex in addition to its appropriate price

Reasons for Switching to Sports Connect

The prices here were more suitable for me, and in addition, the quality of the program here is better

March 2019

Chad from Little Hornet Football NFP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Website Setup / Updates

Overall, this was a GREAT UPGRADE over the old platform that our youth football organization used. It is clean looking and very up-to-date with what users need and want right now. It is interactive for the users and provides some great functions for our organization.

Pros

This software was used after having a very outdated website. I chose this program through Dicks Sporting Goods because of the good reviews I heard about it. After getting into the product, I found that it was not very difficult to use. It included some very nice platforms to choose from and implement for our youth football program. It is very user friendly and the mobile version is also easy to use.

Cons

The software is a little restrictive in what you can use on it. By this, I mean that the only templates you can use are the ones that are loaded into the program. You cannot change the template to something other than what are in the program using HTML Codes. Most people would not even need these though because there are quite a few to choose from.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

James from University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great product. Like all software, there is room for improvement

Are sales and product team were great. We a very smooth experience with our reps. Scheduling meetings and demos were easy. The tech support team was also good in helping us edit our domain registration.

Pros

I like the value. The only costs that you incur are credit card processing fees for online payments. However, it is on par with standard credit card processing fees other systems such as paypal or other sports management software. The nice features are - custom registration questions - multiple family discounts - pre-generated reports for governing bodies ( eg LittleLeague.org ) - Scheduling tools - Ability to bulk edit registration open/close dates for all divisions - Good user role options - Ability to edit and save the pre-generated reports - Plenty of layout designs and colors to choose from. Each layout template offers different features for different levels of users. It is is especially easy to use if you have ever used DotNetNuke.

October 2021

Mike from San Jose Athletic Association

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Good software

Overall have enjoyed using

Pros

Easy to manage and use................................

Cons

New approach to archiving seasons seems more disconnecte than before SportsConnect took over. Used to be really easy to unarchive a season in order to do trend analysis. Also, reports are good but need some basic analytics for trending enrollment, etc.

December 2021

Jim from CBSL

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Love Sports Connect

Player registrations and team organization

Pros

Software functionality and the rich feature set

Cons

the age level restrictions, would like an option to turn that feature off.

Reasons for Choosing Sports Connect

The arrangement with [SENSITIVE CONTENT], a large sponsor of our league.

February 2020

Steven from Stellar Successful Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Not a cost advantage for non-profit organizations

They were great until they got greedy.

Pros

The features were very useful in most aspects.

Cons

We worked very hard with selling this product to a very large non-profit athletic organization for kids in multiple sports. We help non-profits by supplying them with very low fees for credit card processing. Now our non-profit for Kids programs were forced to switch to Sports Connect's own credit card processing which is very expensive and takes funds away from the programs. This is not taking care of your customers as you advertise. These programs for kids are needed badly in our cities and Sports Connect should be satisfied with profits from the software, not from milking the credit card processing!

Reasons for Choosing Sports Connect

To utilize the functionalities of the software and to save money on the credit card processing

Reasons for Switching to Sports Connect

To utilize the functionalities of the software and to save money on the credit card processing

November 2018

Brian from Government Administration

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Solid program to help manage our league

Pros

The software is very modular and easy to get a basic product up and running that is very good. As we become more familiar with the software, we were able to improve our web site. The backend management is very good for managing users and registrations. It is also designed with security in mind to control access to different users. There is a great deal of flexibility in creating custom questions. The support has been tremendous! The admins respond very quickly with answers and are very clear in their response. They work the issue quickly and efficiently while describing the software so it becomes easier to use in the future.

Cons

We have a baseball / softball program. The software is mostly focussed on overall league management and does not tailor to specifics of our sport very well. Specifically referring to statistics and pitch count management. Blue Sombrero provides several good reports, but is not very user friendly when trying to create ad-hoc reports to answer questions not anticipated by the report designers.

October 2019

Nathan from New England Sports LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Second to none!

I am 100% full satisfied with the service and my overall experience with Blue Sombrero has been a very good one..

Pros

Blue Sombrero is crucial to the success of my sports league. The ease of use for my staff and all of our clients is second to no other program available on the market! The security in knowing when my clients log in to Blue Sombrero and they are able to register and pay with ease makes my business that much more efficient and gives my clients a sense of stability and brings my company to the next level. Knowing I have a powerful tool that allows me to focus on other aspects of my business has played a pivotal part in my success. I can honstly say, my busienss may not be running today if not for Blue Sombrero! -Nathan Farrar, League Commissioner New England Sports LLC

Cons

I run several sports through my sports league and the only think I do not like is I am unable to run a discount coupon through all of my registration at once. But overall it is an amazing program.

Reasons for Switching to Sports Connect

Blue Sombrero has a far superior product and security.

June 2018

Darlene from Newaygo Junior Football

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

It has been educational, overwhelming, inspiring and helped motivate our program growth.

Pros

It definitely comes with some learning barriers but after some research and knowing where to go for answers it has been the best tool we have been able to offer to our parents. The availability, convenience and ease of access is wonderful along with the wide range of customization options. We can get the word out to a large group of people quickly, professionally and will little effort. Our coaches are thrilled about the Team Pages and being able to communicate with their players and parents so information that was normally printed and handed out is never overlooked, forgotten or mistakenly gets thrown away.

Cons

The only thing I would say that I like the least would be the lack of information bubbles while managing content of a page or how to add hyperlinks, what a URL is, etc without having to always reference the support page and search for an answer based on whether you asked the right question or used the right keywords. For anyone who does not have technical or computer experience wouldn't know what most of the stuff that is required when building your website. Other than that, it was an amazing learning experience and I have a new found curiosity for the IT world.

February 2018

Jamie from TUMFC

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Top Rated Customer Support and User Friendly

Pros

It is user friendly - no web design or programming experience necessary. Customer support via phone, email or online Is great! They are responsive and solve the problem. It lets parents know exactly what programs are available for their players as soon as they log in. We have plenty of flexibility to design the registration and payment plans to fit our requirements - we are not limited to a few basic templates. The price can't be beaten!

Cons

The website requires a rotator with 4 topics and we typically don't ever need more than 2-3 so the last one or 2 are always just unneeded filler. We are only able to list one main contact on the home page. Every. Single. Save. Requires the page to refresh. It can be a pain. I wish the report exports would save as the name of what is being exported instead of something generic.

February 2021

Keith from Electronic Arts

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Customer Support and Bug Fixes have Vanished

There are several good features with the site and software. But there have been a lot of surprises along the way that were unexpected. That, combined with the lack of customer support, has lead us to search for an alternative solution.

Pros

It is easy to setup a new league and its registration. The interaction with the GameChanger Team Manager app is great also.

Cons

Customer support has gone to virtually non-existent over the last year. Most emails to the support team go unanswered. If there is a response, it is usually weeks after the initial email is sent. I've reported bugs in the system to the support team which also go unaddressed and unanswered.

Reasons for Choosing Sports Connect

Ar the time, it was called Blue Sombrero and was free. That was the biggest draw. Unfortunately that rug was pulled out from under us within a few months as monthly subscriptions were required and transaction fees were added.

Reasons for Switching to Sports Connect

The software we were using was bought out and being shut down.

April 2018

Brad from Machinery

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Working with the BS team and implementing the software was excellent.

Pros

The Blue Sombrero application has been a great tool for helping organize our school's team sports, clubs and camps. The Blue Sombrero team has been very active and supportive throughout the implementation process. The application was very easy to configure and had it running in just a few days. Although we are in the beginning stages of use and implementation, we have already recognized the positive impact it has had on managing the registration process and centralizing communications for our coaches and teams. We have also been receiving positive feedback from our parents and participants. I did forget to mention that these great tools are offered at a spectacular price....FREE! This was definitely a huge advantage when working with a limited budget. We look forward to a continued partnership with Blue Sombrero and Dick's Sporting Goods. Great job!

Cons

As of right now, I cannot find a way to modify the status of events (canceling) from the mobile application. This would be a huge benefit for coaches and administrators so they can cancel events on the go. However, you are able to send messages (email/text) from the mobile app to notify participants of schedule changes. This works, but would be easier to update the status.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied April 2018

Thanks, Brad! We are so excited to hear that we have had such a positive impact on your program

June 2018

Jason from North Hills Athletic Association

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Excellent transition to the system and excellent support. This software has been a tremendous help

It completely changed how we organize the league from sign ups throughout the entire season.

Pros

I love the flexibility of the registration software and the payment processing piece. The website piece is simple and easy to use. Reporting is excellent.

Cons

The app freezes up often. The functionality of the app is just OK. I also don't like some quirks like coaches can't reschedule practices without going through a Division Manager. I'd like to be able to quickly message the parents via the app that would come up as messages on their phone instead of emails. Its also frustrating that the website doesn't allow for the use of iFrames without going through the support desk.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied June 2018

Thanks Jason, so glad to hear our platform has helped your league so much! If there is anything else our team can help with, do not hesitate to reach out to us!

March 2019

Joyce from Club Idaho Volleyball

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Great value and support

It helped me automate my financial things and the calendar helped keep parents stay up with practices and tournaments. They have great customer support and wanted us to be successful.

Pros

The software was easy to use and the support was excellent. I like that it got my teams organized and I was able to automate my parents monthly payments. It was easy to move players to different teams the next year.

Cons

It was structured on the financial side so I couldn't change things I needed to change. I needed to add credits and payments for additional things. It had limitations on the feature side but most of it was great.

August 2017

Sherrick from Internet

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2017

Blue sombrero is counter-intuitive, hard to use, very inconvenient

painful experience

Pros

Its free. You can manage your registration and payment through the site, but so does everyone else. Nothing else stands out about this software vs anything else.

Cons

You cannot login from the www.bluesombrero.com home page...why not? Once you find a login screen (literally have to google it or search your email), there is not one login screen for all users - you literally have to find the EXACT URL for each team or organization you want to login to...seriously? Not only that, but you can't login and see all of the different teams your kids play on. Each team is a completely different URL to login! This is so inconvenient and bad design, its crazy. You cannot use the same username across the different logins/teams. So now I have to have 3 different usernames for 3 different teams...all using the same application (blue sombrero?). Isn't this is what SaaS applications were supposed to solve? The mobile app does NOT integrate to your iPhone calendar...very inconvenient! And feels like they are always trying to sell you on "the next program". These sites are meant for parents to help manage their kids sports - stop selling me anything! I will pay you not to sell me anything. My complaints here are very reasonable because almost all other sports applications have these features. Sites like TeamSnap are built to make your life easy. Blue Sombrero makes your life much harder. Every parent dreads if they get a team invite from blue sombrero. I do not recommend it.

March 2018

Brian from Rocky Mountain ThunderHawks

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Blue Sombrero is the perfect software for our organization.

Pros

The variety of web page layouts and how everything is crisp and clear. The layouts make the website look updated and visually pleasing to users making our organizations first impression to new players a good one. Registrations are easy to set up and users like the easy way it is set up and allows for partial payments. We run multiple registrations for our regular season, camps and fundraisers all at the same time without anyone getting confused.

Cons

The online store option is not the greatest and wish they had a logo editing option to allow for a logo that has black outline to be edited for if it is placed on a black garment. The text message option is a little difficult to use and get messages out to members as they are not automatically activated when they sign up.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied March 2018

Thank you for the review and feedback, Brian! Happy to hear about your experience and always good to hear from admins like yourself.

February 2018

Chris from Bridgeport Jerry West

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great Customer Service, provided a quick way to prop up a website for a local youth league

Pros

Easy to set up, customer service is great, provides a lot of functionality for FREE!! Our league was looking for a solution that wasn't a heavy financial burden. As a small league, we couldn't afford big costs but also didn't want a bare bones product. This software more than covered our needs and was given to us at no cost.

Cons

Not everything fits out of the box, so some things may need to be tweaked for your particular league. If there is any complaint it is that the software can be slow at times. Screens take a little longer to load than others. Also, tweaks to the UI could make updating scores or sending emails a little more user friendly.

June 2018

Steve from Hit Factory Bulldawgs Baseball

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Overall it's been a great experience. Much easier than my previous website provider.

Pros

The countless layouts to choose from. I like to color options and the social media additions. The adding and deleting of information is easy, no real need to create new stuff.

Cons

The roster system. It's too complicated and I end up having to addany of the registrants manually. The process needs to parent friendly.on the front side.

February 2018

Bradley from EVPP Cinderella Softball

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

I have used Blue Sombrero as part of two different youth sports organizations and am very pleased.

Saved time and it helped automate our player data.

Pros

Easy to use out of the, but customizable if you want to get a little more advanced. Can start "basic" and build it out as you get more comfortable. The online documentation on how to setup different things is excellent (different payment options, plans, discounts, etc...) Reports give a lot of data. Online payment saves a ton of time and all the registration data is online. No more paper forms to deal with! We went completely online.

Cons

A few reports could be a little more intuitive, but generally speaking everything you want is there. May just have to dig into some of the advanced options to add fields to them.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great experience, start-to-finish

Pros

Ease of use. Cost. Availability of the app. Web page editing features. Support team is fantastic.

Cons

Could use a bit more flexibility in the registration customization process, especially for ordering uniforms and such.

June 2018

Kevin from BSN Sports

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Really good experience.

1. Ease of use. 2. Reports function was awesome. 3. Coordinators found sorting teams very easy. 4. Some divisions used the stats/websites function and loved it.

Pros

Very user friendly and easy to use. People were able to register fairly easily with very few issues.

Cons

1. Assigning user roles is tedious. I'm not sure if there is a more efficient way, but finding the coaches/volunteer names in a drop down box that contains every person that registered is a little annoying. 2. We had some issues with people being able to upload PDFs ... 99.9% were user issues. 3. Registering on phones/tablets caused some issues too. Not sure if the site was intended for model use, but it seemed to be a common thread that parents would bring up (unable to register on their phone, but were able to on a computer)

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied June 2018

Hi Kevin, thank you for the review and glad to hear you have had a good experience with our platform so far. If there is anything we can help with in the future, do not hesitate to contact our team!

September 2020

Stephen from FTLL

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

I love what this software does for our teams

Hearing from parents that they don't have to rearrange their whole day to come up to the fields for registration, or if the weather is bad. Now they can do it on their time from the comfort of their own home.

Pros

It gives a step by step to parents for registration of their athletes, and a piece of mind knowing that the site is secure when paying.

Cons

It took some time for the parents to catch on and there was a lot of complaining and messed up registrations. A lot of things needed to be fixed manually by the organization.

February 2018

Stephanie from West Michigan Outlaws

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Blue Sombrero has streamlined our player registration and made getting parent and player information

Pros

The ability to make and track player payments and uniform fees. Easy to read reports for almost everything.

Cons

The 2 step registration for patents can be confusing- 1st creating an account with Blue Sombrero and then the team registration has been difficult for some.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Travis from Rokusek Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Good Bang for your Buck

Overall we are satisfied with Blue Sombrero.

Pros

Hard to beat the price - free makes up for a lot. This software has some very nice features and does make it easy to manage your team or your club. Overall, it's a good software that could be great.

Cons

There are definitely some limitations. How you communicate to your team through their software is not good, the website and email editors are very challenging. However, it's tough to beat the price.

June 2018

David from Livermore Little League

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Overall great experience

Pros

Ease of use, good features and options. It incorporates nearly everything into one, registration, website, scheduling, billing, etc.

Cons

Would like more features and flexibility for more advanced users. I have emailed and support is good at giving options and enabling a few things that are not standard features. I would like to have GameChanger incorporated into this since Dick's now owns GC as well.

October 2018

Nathan from New England Sports LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Second to NONE!

Every representative I have spoken to since opening my league has been extremely knowledgeable and helpful when guiding me through the process. My business would NOT be where it's at today without Blue Sombrero.

Pros

The system and the software is extremely easy to use, efficient and direct.

Cons

I can honestly say there is nothing about the system that I do not like. It has been crucial in the success of my business.

January 2018

Kirk from Henderson Boys Baseball Assoc

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

Best product for the overall package

Saved the association money and got a great looking website

Pros

Theme templates, registration programs, price of course, lots of effort in support and assistance through chat email and webinar

Cons

Wish elements in a theme could be edited or changed, would be great to add a page element to an existing theme or to alter the order of elements on the home page of the website

February 2018

Kevin from Parkwood American Little League

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great product and great support!

Pros

Ease of use. The various functional areas compliment each other well. For example, creating custom emails for different user groups is robust and easy.

Cons

Some automated tasks are too rigid and can't be modified or customized. For example, the email sent to a newly registered user will display the web address but not in the form of the custom registered address (www..org) but instead the (www.bluesombrero.com/). This can be confusing to members even though it terminates at the same place.

February 2018

Andrew from FC Dallas TRI-Cities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

It has been good and I like the model Dick's and Blue Sombrero are using

Pros

Getting news and information onto the site is easy. Registration system is also nice and easy for people to use. Customer support is generally very helpful. I have had a few who were very bad and don't seem interested in helping to resolve our issues.

Cons

mobile app is not good for communicating. Reporting functionality is not very strong. Lots of reports but none of them seem to fit what I need. Just a simple accounts receivable report would be fantastic. A list of who owes us money.

June 2018

Jeffrey from HLSLL

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Great website!

A much upgraded website and better reporting.

Pros

The reports and being able to customize the reports are great. Home page also looks professional and well laid out.

Cons

The program needs to have the ability to calculate Little League age. Other than that it's great! I can't think of any other negatives!

April 2018

Erik from Dub Baseball

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Seamless and Outstanding Experience

Pros

The customer/tech support is the best we have ever had. We were able to call in and talk to some knowledgeable every time there was an issue. They were able to solve the problem every time we called in in a very punctual fashion.

Cons

Not as aesthetically pleasing as other sites. The templates seem to be a little dated and standard. Can 't manage all the teams on 1 master calendar. We have to go into each individual team and change their individual calendar. We have a large program that has teams doing the same events, it would be helpful to be able to edit the same event for multiple teams.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied April 2018

Thanks for the review and feedback, Erik!

September 2015

K from DPYBB

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2015

Going with Blue Sombrero was a great decision!

We wanted to create a website for our youth basketball league. I am not going to lie, we were set to use a different site that we had to pay for, but things happened and we chose to look elsewhere. That is where Blue Sombrero comes in. Blue Sombrero came highly recommended by two people who use it for their local youth sports leagues. I thought, this is free, how great could it really be? Well, it has worked out perfectly so far. I had to setup our league website in a short amount of time so we could have it up and running for registration. It was pretty easy to navigate, and customer service was always willing to help me out. And speaking of customer service, I cannot tell you how impressed I am with them. They are excellent. They are always HAPPY to talk to you and always willing to help. It is really refreshing to call a customer service number and you can just tell they are smiling at the other end of the call. I highly recommend Blue Sombrero to anyone looking to create a site for a sports league. User friendly and amazing customer service.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied September 2015

Thanks!

June 2018

Daniel from RGC PONY Baseball League

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

It's like riding a bike...rough start then fairly easy to use and maneuver!!

Pros

All the teams and players info is at the touch of a key! Really easy to bring pull up any player info that you might need.

Cons

It can just get a bit confusing sometimes with all the functions of the designing pages, but nothing that i would change!

June 2018

Kris from Green Hills Girls Softball League

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

All-in-one league management!

makes league management easier

Pros

Scheduling and team rosters make this great. Registration is good.

Cons

That you need a separate log in for each organization. This is the biggest complaint i receive. Reports are a little clunky, but once you find the right one and customize it all works out.

February 2018

Bob from North Central Little League

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

This was the best decision that our Little League made. It was so easy!

Pros

Easy to set up, easy to make changes, easy to maintain and links directly with the Little League Data Center

Cons

Would love to access admin functions through the app. Setting up the payments could have been easier as far as who paid the CC fees.

February 2018

Lisa from Lady Wildcats Youth Softball

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Amazing Experience all around!!!

Website, Reporting, Tracking, Messaging, and many more features. The website feature is user very friendly. The reporting is also very user friendly and I love creating new reports. Being able to track payments, players, users, Coaches, Volunteers is priceless.

Pros

Setup of software and the ease of use. The support has been amazing, but have only had to use it a couple of times. Just made things easier getting ahold of support to get a quick answer. Absolutely love the reporting features of this software too

Cons

505 Errors every once and awhile. Cannot edit a comment after you have processed a payment. Refreshing after each entry.

February 2018

Kathy from Artesia Little League

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Its great! Don't put it off.

Pros

On-line registration, scheduling, team building. My advice is give yourself at least a month to get your website set up before launching on line registration. Run test registrations and figure out any problems. The support they provide is fantastic. Helped me every single time to get my issue ironed out.

Cons

I don't like new things and I delayed getting started. Even thought a couple times about abandoning it altogether. I can run a league, but I am not a computer programmer. Well, you don't need to be, they have it all put together so nicely, it's simple!

June 2018

Thomas from High Performance Volleyball Academy

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I am not tech savvy and was able to work my way to a functional website with Blues support.

It got my club up and running in short order!

Pros

Makes registration and payment simple. Was easy to set up and make live. I highly recommend!

Cons

I have a lot to learn to fully utilize it's functionality. My fault not the sites!

June 2020

Cassidy from EYAA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2020

Horrible customer Service

Customer service regarding Covid 19 has been an absolute horror. They won’t return calls or emails and if you actually get ahold of someone they are rude and flat out will not issue refunds. They sold people “Registration Insurance” through some April company that was absolute scam! We are canceling our account with this company. Absolutely disgusting the way they have handled business through this whole ordeal.

Pros

I can’t say there is anything about the software that stands out as being great. If you want just the absolute basics it’s fine

Cons

Updating information, switching admins, customer service.

Reasons for Switching to Sports Connect

Didn’t have a choice.

April 2018

Kate from Hayward Girls Youth Softball

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Customer support is terrific. Software is so easy to use. We are very pleased.

We were able to create our own teams, link it to our Facebook page, link it to our google calendar, put our sponsors on it... so much. LOVE it all.

Pros

Software is so easy to use and always for choices that an organization would need along with the ability to upload documents that are specific at the local level. Reports are easy to access.

Cons

There isn't anything that we do not like. Exactly what we needed! We loved the design options for the home page. I can't find a con to list.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied April 2018

Great to hear that everything has gone well, Kate! We look forward to working with you for many seasons to come

June 2018

Rob from Engineering

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Fantastic program

I've now used this software to set up 2 websites for organizations that had not done anything with their homepage in years... Appreciate the interface and ease of set-up (even for someone who had very little prior experience). I've received some great complements from others who are using the site.

Pros

Easy enough to set up even though I had very little prior experience with website applications. Templates are very handy for use as a starting point.

Cons

Communication application is functional but a little klunky. Some of the features can be buried rather deep (the help files aren't always current)

March 2018

Blake from Indiana Central Little League

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Simple, Easy and Fast

We will save dollars a kid compared to the last website. The phone and email blast make communication a breeze and the online registration is going great.

Pros

We are saving money. The sites are easy to use and the templates make it a breeze to get started. The divisions are super easy to make and allowed for us to start registering early

Cons

The templates are nice but I would like to have a little bit more control than what is allow. Also the discounts are a little difficult to use. I prefer a promo code to be entered instead of the manual set up that is currently in use.

March 2019

Malcolm from D-BAT Marietta

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2019

Local League Helper

Pros

I like the simplistic design needed for rec league schedules and layouts.

Cons

What you see is what you get, I would like more depth . For example the capability to edit schedules/ rosters from an Admin role for a coach.

November 2018

Ed from AC United

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Does what it is supposed to do

We use Blue Sombrero for a local youth sports organization.

Pros

Easy to use; great customer support; gets the job done. Many templates to choose from.

Cons

Occasionally something we want to do that doesn't seem possible with software.

March 2018

Barry from Virginia's Blue Ridge Amature Sports Assocation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

A FREE and functional league management software.

We liked the free part of the service, but we were disappointed in the rough edges of the product for reporting problem transactions. It is difficult to get parents to take any time to sign children up for activities and if they have any difficulty the organization and the children both lose.

Pros

Dick's Sporting Goods recently purchased this company and software. As a result, many new options have recently been added to fan gear fundraising. The software does an excellent job of helping design a website, member sign-ups, volunteer sign-ups, team assignment, scheduling practices, games, tournaments, and collection of donations and payments. For baseball and softball, Dick's Sporting Goods recently purchased GameChanger. Hopefully, we will see some integration of GameChanger to Blue Sombrero.

Cons

The learning curve is steep for those who have little experience with website design. Unforeseen issues go unreported by users or Blue Sombrero. We discovered a lot of incomplete transactions from a report that we ran, we believe incomplete transactions should be reported to one or more people automatically.

Response from Blue Sombrero

Replied April 2018

Thanks for the feedback, Barry! Glad to hear it has been a help for your league. We hope to get you on a live training webinar soon, they can be very helpful during your initial learning curve..

Displaying 1 - 50 of 103 reviews