When I Work

RATING:

4.47

(1011)

About When I Work

When I Work is a cloud-based employee scheduling solution that helps organizations track time and attendance, create and edit employee schedules, add new jobs to the calendar, review timesheets and fill shifts. When I Work lets users manage schedules and track time on mobile devices using native and browser-based apps. Employees get mobile alerts when their schedules change and can request shift changes or time off using the app. Managers are notified when employees make time-off requests, and they can approve them online. Users can import employee data from spreadsheets or CSV files and help avoid schedule conflicts. Communication methods such as group email services and custom texting are also supported. When I Work integrates with payroll providers such as ...

Awards and Recognition

FrontRunner 2021
Software Advice's FrontRunners report ranks top products based based on user reviews, which helps businesses find the right software.

When I Work Pricing

Standard plan starts at $2.50/user/month. When I Work is offered as a subscription on a month-to-month basis. There are no long-term contracts and a credit card is NOT required to start a free trial.

Starting price: 

$2.50 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Not Available

When I Work Schedule Dashboard
Slide 1 of 6

When I Work Reviews

Overall Rating

4.47

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Most Helpful Reviews for When I Work

1 - 5 of 997 Reviews

Sarah

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed November 2020

Its saved me a lot of time

User Profile

Christopher

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

When I Work User

PROS

The When I Work software is great at keeping track of my work schedule. On the Dashboard, it notifies me of my next upcoming shift, the date, and the time. It tells at which location I am working and what my position will be. It also tells what coworkers that I am working with during that shift. I can go into the schedule tab of the software and see what days during the week I am working. The software will also tally up my total hours that I will work per week. This is helpful because it allows me to see who is working and who is not so I can get a shift covered. The software also allows me to put in requests in advance of dates that I want to request off.

CONS

The availability scheduling feature takes some time to learn how to navigate. It is somewhat difficult to fully schedule availability. If you make a mistake and accidentally alter the availability for one day you have to go back to that day and fix it before adjusting your availability.

Vendor Response

Hi Christopher, Thank you so much for the detailed feedback. I am glad When I Work helps you keep track of your shifts, the shifts of your coworkers, and helps with getting the time off you need! If you have any questions about Availability Preferences please submit a ticket, we are happy to assist! https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/

Replied February 2020

Katherine

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Student scheduling

Even though was had a few issues over all the response to the software was very positive.

PROS

Mobile integration and notifications were awesome. The team loved how they could easily look up their schedule and sync it with their calendar.

CONS

It was a little tricky to ensure the user was viewing the correct day on their mobile app. We had some missed shifts because of confusion

Vendor Response

Hi Katherine, Thank you so much for the feedback on the When I Work app! We are happy to see that you are enjoying the app overall. If you do require any assistance, I suggest submitting a ticket to our Customer Care team at: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ and we'd be happy to help! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us! Warmly, Shab

Replied January 2023

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2017

Deceptive & misleading pricing practices, little integration, but certainly quite slick.

PROS

Looks slick, appears to offer a lot (which it does, at a cost, see below...) Customer support is very responsive - live chat, email, etc. I may not like their answers (see below) but I can't fault their timely attention, their patience, their attentiveness.

CONS

1. Pricing Practices The page at wheniwork.com/pricing says nothing, just that schedulling is free for less than 75 employees (and anything over is a "contact us for enterprise" price, which is fine). Great, I think, I'll sign up, start working with it. Glad I didn't invest much time. I set up a few employees, downloaded the apps, started working out the wrinkles. And after a few hours of looking, and testing, and reading, it looks good, but... ...then I discover that basic features like scheduling more than 10 days ahead (!) are paid-for. So is time tracking. Etc. That's ok to charge, but not ok to deceive - and there's *no* simple way right now to see a comparison of features and costs before getting signed-up. And this is not a small bump. You can't bolt-on a little extra. To get a proper working app, the minimum number of users they offer 20 minimum and the time attendance module adds something like 50% on top. But really it is transparency and deceptive practices that have *really* turned me against this product in a *very* short period of time - and that is *very* sad. If they'd allowed me to choose up front to devote my time, great; but they didn't. I had to ask support what "long-term scheduling" meant (that being something not included in the free plan). That means more than 10 days... No other warning of that, that I could see. I feel deceived. 2. App Reliability Others have mentioned glitches. I started working with the iPhone app - it stopped working for some tasks. I contacted support who said it was restricted to my account only, and they would get their developers to look at it. So I stopped using the iPhone app. My wife's Android phone wouldn't recognise her (valid) phone number when accepting a request to log in. So 2 strikes there. Your mileage may vary. 3. Limited Integrations A few years ago, WIW posted on their Facebook page that they used Xero. Some commented then - why no integration? No answer. Years later, still no integration with Xero. No Zapier integration, either. The cynic might think that WIW gets kick-backs / referral fees / bonusnes from Quick Books, Gusto, etc. which is why they're the (very limited) integration "partners". There's an API of course, if I had time. Again, I'd forgive that for a free / cheap deal. But it isn't a free / cheap deal *for a working scheduling solution* - a schedule that doesn't reach into next week is *not* a working schedule. So, yes, I'm annoyed. I feel like I've wasted my time. I feel like I've been deceived. I feel like I signed-up and invested time based upon what is almost a lie. And that sucks - not least because it was so needless. The product isn't awful, the pricing (whilst I may not like it) isn't the worst out there. The limitations are limitations, but every product has some. And that, really, is sad. The silver lining is that the free plan only launched yesterday. So perhaps they'll think again about the offering. And my experience is unlikely to be the same as that people had before me. But it is what it is today - so much so that I've signed-up for GetApp just to leave this review.

Vendor Response

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry this is not a more personalized response but it appears you have not listed your name, title or company in your GetApp review. As you said, we did just launch our free plan. We hope that many small businesses, including those like you in the apparel and fashion industry, will find value in being able to schedule their employees 10 days in advance and notify them electronically rather than printing out Excel spreadsheets that require their employees to come into a physical location to see their schedule or call a coworker who is currently working to find out when their next shifts will be. As with any new launch, we will continue to try to improve and appreciate your honest and thoughtful feedback about the pricing and how it was displayed to you. Our intention is certainly not to deceive or mislead our customers or potential customers. We are glad to know that despite your perception of the product and its pricing, our Customer Support did what they do best and answered your questions in a timely and attentive manner. Have a nice day, Customer Success @ When I Work

Replied April 2017

Samantha

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Great Way to Manage Time

We enjoy this program a lot.

PROS

It is easy to keep track on all employees. It is also very easy to see who is on the schedule for the week and fix times if needed.

CONS

We turned off the mobile access to be sure that everyone was being accurate and honest.

Reasons for switching to When I Work

This product showed more information and was easier to use.

Vendor Response

Hey Samantha, Thanks for taking the time to provide awesome feedback on how When I Work has helped you and your team! Please don't hesitate to reach out with any questions by submitting a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/, we are always happy to help! Best, Jeremy

Replied December 2022

Popular When I Work Comparisons