User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(11)

11

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "SF heels me streamline treatments for my patients and capture charges that might have been missed, therefore increasing patient care and revenue."

  • "it works in the background to bill the medications used via its integration with the PMS"

  • "I really enjoyed the surgical monitoring. It was very helpful and fast. I could focus more on my patient and less on the writting everyting down."

  • Cons

  • "It is cumbersome to set up. We paid to have them come help us for 3 days and we wouldn't have survived without that additional help."

  • "It can take a bit to learn all of the different functions, but we are getting there. "

  • "The charges import was not the best. It can not do group codes so it made for a lot of work when you have to take your group codes and break them apart to make them work in Smart Flow."

Browse Smart Flow Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -31 of 19 results

January 2020

Laura from Carpinteria Veterinary Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Smart flow helps a busy veterinary practice

Very good. With 6 doctors and 30+ staff, it is always a challenge to introduce a new program, but it the team made the transition as flawless as possible and everyone in the practice appreciates it and enjoys the ease of use. We are all very happy to have smart flow.

Pros

The efficiency amongst team members. On a busy receiving day I can walk out of an exam room and take 5 seconds to highlight on an iPad the treatments I need. And I know that (without having to calculate) the doses are correct, the charge will be captured, there is an accurate record of the treatments and can confirm it is done without having to find the staff member who did it or a treatment sheet. Receptionists can easily check out clients when they know everything has been entered by glancing at an iPad. If a treatment has been completed, a charge will automatically be generated. Significantly fewer charges are missed. Clients can call for an update and receptionists can pull up the patient on smart flow and look without having to page the staff caring for the patient. This works very well for patients admitted to the hospital for treatments and procedures. There is no longer a need to print and scan documents! With the exception of a dental chart (which I heard is in creation) we are completely paperless.

Cons

It automatically attaches to cornerstone so it is accessible as an attachment and can be reviewed with ease, but when emailing records to referral hospitals etc, it can be a little cumbersome to open up attachments and email individually. I think this may be more of a cornerstone issue than smart flow though.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

There is not way we could manage our GP hospital without this product!

Pros

The ability to look at one screen and have a snapshot of where all hospital patients are up to in a day and the outstanding tasks. Morpheus reduced out paper/scanning and enabled us to accurately record and quickly attach anaesthetic sheets to patient history. Different sections allow us to sort patients by priority or admission reason. Vets can task multiple nurses from the one space - access from home and ability to record notes and communications with the owner.

Cons

Challenging to tailor some of the sheets/applications to suit our own clinic. Tech support is difficult in emergency situations as we don't have direct numbers - just emails. Does require a large capital outlay - (computers/ipads etc). I've seen other clinics that haven't whole heartedly jumped into the change and smartflow has not been utilised effectively i.e they are still using paper too. You can't soft release this product all or nothing (GO FOR IT!!)

Response from Veterinarium Corporation

Replied June 2018

Hi there! Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that Smart Flow is helping you hospital. We agree that you do have to "go big or go home". There really isn't a middle ground when going paperless. With regard to our support, we this via email only due to several reasons, which you can check out here: http://blog.smartflowsheet.com/why-we-dont-have-phone-support Thanks again! Samantha, RVT Smart Flow Team

December 2019

Kendra from Alpine Animal Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Smart Flow Review

Overall I really liked Smart Flow. I can see how it would help big clinics and referall centers. It is not as user friendly for small clincs.

Pros

I really enjoyed the surgical monitoring. It was very helpful and fast. I could focus more on my patient and less on the writting everyting down.

Cons

The charges import was not the best. It can not do group codes so it made for a lot of work when you have to take your group codes and break them apart to make them work in Smart Flow.

Reasons for Choosing Smart Flow

The new practice manager liked the analytical side of the system. He wanted a better way to track the bottle necks of the clinic.

November 2017

Bill from Florida Veterinary Referral Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Glad we replaced the paper treatment sheets

Increasing accessibility, accuracy, and efficiency.

Pros

Patient parameters and treatments can be monitored and edited anywhere there is an internet connection. Once treatment templates are created, the Smartflow sheets are easy to edit and add additional days. Typically the integration between EzyVet and Cubex works very well and therefore saves times and captures charges. Treatment sheets automatically are saved to the EMR at discharge as a PDF file. Technicians quickly learned how to monitor multiple patients and their treatments- reducing likelihood of mistakes

Cons

Cost of multiple iPads and monitors to go paper light. The initial learning curve in a multi-doctor practice. I would recommend training several "superusers" prior to going live for the whole hospital. The training staff was very knowledgeable but with all the different shifts and high caseload over a 24/7 work week not everyone was competent at the end of onsite training. As with any cloud based software there can be glitches with dropped wifi connections and version updates. For example, many patients had aspirin pushed through to Cubex for dispensing that we finally had to resolve by eliminating any aspirin being available through the Cubex system. We must monitor our invoices closely to ensure that clients are not overcharged by duplicate charges, which admittedly is better than missing charges. We are about 6 months into the process and still adapting our hospital policies to use SmartFlow in the most efficient manner. One aspect which increased our challenges was that the hospital changed EMR software from Animal Intelligence to the compatible EzyVet just a few weeks prior to switching to SmartFlow so we were learning both systems simultaneously .

January 2020

Andrew from Denver Animal Emergency

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

This is the future of Vet Med

We use it to track flow of every case that comes through the hospital. As well as all signed documents - it helped make our practice nearly paperless.

Pros

Billing is likely the greatest pro for my hospital. I run a 24 hour emergency practice for each time a medication that is given and signed off on the treatment sheet. This triggers billing to come through. This is an enormous time saver! Also the templates that we use for specific cases like pancreatitis save a lot of time and help patients get needed medications faster and more efficiently.

Cons

There is a lot of time that goes into set up and once it is set up it can be challenging to get it changed or add new products. Also the integration with Cubex is hit or miss - but I think the down fall is more on Cubex end.

Reasons for Choosing Smart Flow

It was suggested to use with our practice management software - Neo.

March 2015

Karin from Southern Colorado Veterinary Internal Medicine

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2015

Great Electronic Flow Sheet!!

We are a veterinary small animal internal medicine clinic and we have been using Smart Flow Sheet exclusively for our ICU cases for 4 months. We have had up to 15 cases on it at one time. Currently, one of our patient's has 22 points of monitoring, 3 fluid types, 10 medications (not individual doses), and 8 physical treatments (and this is him doing better). There is no doubt that Smart Flow Sheet has been instrumental in allowing our nurses to focus on his nursing. In the past this would have been 4 paper sheets and we have been unable to maintain organization. I also find that the nursing notes are more complete and easier to find and read (they will highlight important items differently to assure they are spotted). As a clinician who maintains case responsibility 24/7, I really value the ability to monitor him from my phone without interrupting the nurses (we call this 'cyber-stalking'). There is a learning-curve with it and for our nurses this involved mainly gaining trust in the program and learning how to effectively communicate with the program, but we now know that when there is an error it has been on the human side of the system. Having said this, there is no doubt we are having less errors than when we were on paper flow sheets and I think the errors are easier to identify. There is a major time saving also for our nurses in not writing new sheets each day. Regarding the support for Smart Flow Sheet, I have been working with them for about a year. As we tested and tried the system before committing to its use fulltime, Ivan and his support crew have been responsive to our requests for changes in the program and immediately taken action whenever there has been a problem. I do not feel that I have ever had better customer service from a technical programming group. Ivan as a practicing veterinarian understands that we will not compromise our patient care for our convenience and this program has made the opposite true- our convenience has resulted in better patient care.

January 2020

Jillian from Scioto Trail Animal Clinic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Amazingly helpful

Biggest business problems that SF fixed were related to patient care and keeping my staff actively paying attention to patient treatments and needs, as well as capturing missed charges.

Pros

SF heels me streamline treatments for my patients and capture charges that might have been missed, therefore increasing patient care and revenue.

Cons

Very little. The tutorials help with staff training. It's easy to formulate templates and also edit templates. Occasionally, templates and treatment times end up shifts around time changes but easily fixed.

January 2020

Kirstin from Santa Monica Pet Medical Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Best Thing for Hospital Flow

Smart Flow is helping us figure out where our bottlenecks are as well as replacing the huge write-on whiteboard and cage instructions for all our hospitalized patients. We are looking forward to having charges flow directly from Smart Flow into Cornerstone, but haven't gotten that far yet.

Pros

It helps us track where patients are in the hospital. Additionally, it helps us track treatments of hospitalized patients.

Cons

It is cumbersome to set up. We paid to have them come help us for 3 days and we wouldn't have survived without that additional help.

April 2015

Libby from Animal Emergency Hospital of North Texas

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2015

Fantastic addition to large ER practice!

We are a 10-doctor 24-hour emergency hospital in the DFW area. We transitioned from using cage-side paper charts to SmartFlow electronic charts almost 9 months ago and have never looked back. It is hard to imagine what we did without it. Pros: no more time spent looking for the chart, multiple people able to access chart from multiple locations (any of the iPads, any computer, even from home via the web interface) at any time, has virtually eliminated missed and late treatments by technicians, able to easily generate multiple days of treatment sheets with the click of a button, intuitive and easy for DVMs and staff to use, very easy to make templates for various needs. Cons: it takes a little more time to set up an initial treatment sheet than grabbing a piece of paper and a highlighter, doesn't integrate with our electronic medical record system, dependent on lots of technology (reliable wireless connection, investment in ~10 iPads and a large monitor for the treatment room wall that we use as a patient list and to alert technicians to impending or missed treatments), fails in event of long power or wireless outages. Some of the doctors were initially resistant to the change, but recently when our wireless went down (on our side, nothing to do with SmartFlow) and we were without it, even the naysayers said they missed it and wanted it back. Ivan and his team have been very responsive to our questions and suggestions, incorporating many of the changes we asked for in product updates. I highly recommend this product to any veterinary clinic.

April 2015

Brett from REACH

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

April 2015

All in all, I feel that Smart Flow Sheet is a good program.

All in all, I feel that Smart Flow Sheet is a good program. I love the ability to be able to add 24 hours with the click of a button as well as it's ability to calculate med doses/etc. One of my main suggestions for improvement would be to allow different log in privileges for different users. This would prevent people from entering things 100 different ways, including entering misspelled items that are then saved in the program for re-entry. Doing this, I believe, would make standardizing a clinic's chosen format much easier. Other issues we have had mostly have been IT related (discharging patients, exporting sheets, and I am still uncertain what the route of this has been (issues with iPads? Our server? The Smart Flow Sheet program... etc). I know this is currently being looked in to by our IT people as well as the Smart Flow Sheet team. Despite any suggestions for improvement or issues that we have experienced so far, the support team has been extremely friendly and attentive in trying to make things work for us, which we greatly appreciate!

May 2015

Eric from Orchard Park Veterinary Medical Center

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2015

Smart Flow Sheet is an EXCELLENT Patient Care Tool!

Earlier this year we started using Smart Flow Sheet which is cloud based software that allows us to create electronic ICU sheets. It helps us better treat and manage our inpatients which can number between 30-40 on a busy day. Not only is it computer based but it is iPad based meaning that we now manage all our treatments on electronic ICU sheets using iPads at kennel side, replacing the metal backs with paper ICU sheets we used to use. The software is separate (but integrated with) our practice management software which we use for electronic medical records. All patients are also listed on an electronic whiteboard (visible on iPads, computers and large monitors/TVs) so that all staff can visually see who is due for treatments. The software is very intuitive and while there is a learning curve; the more you use it the more you learn what you can do with it (read what it is capable of). The company is constantly improving the software and it is improving our patient care. They also take suggestions for improving the software very seriously and often integrate them into updates, also allowing others users around the world to vote on ideas and feature requests that you submit. For those veterinary professionals reading this it is certainly worth checking out, especially if you manage any inpatients; whether they spend a couple hours in your hospital or a couple weeks. To learn more visit: https://www.smartflowsheet.com/

July 2015

Rachael from Scottsdale Veterinary Clinic

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

We LOVE Smart Flow Sheet...

Our clinic implemented SFS into our practice almost a month ago now and we LOVE it! We love the functionality and ease of the program! It was very easy to teach our team how to use the SFS features and it has truly made our treatment sheets SO much more detailed, easy to read and manage and no matter where in the hospital we are, we have easy access to every patient's treatment sheet! Plus, it eliminates the need for paper AND you don't have to worry about the paper sheets being torn or getting wet/damaged! We also believe the risk of error from not being able to read someone's handwriting on the paper sheets is eliminated using SFS! Customer service is wonderful, any questions or concerns are answered right away and they are with you every step of the way through training and implementation to use of the program! Overall SFS is amazing, easy to use, easy to implement and our entire team really loves it!

August 2015

Nicole from Animal Emergency Clinic of the Fraser Valley and Boundary Bay Veterinary Specialty Hospital

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2015

Slow start but loving it now

We are an emergency and specialty referral practice. Changing from the paper ICU's to the electronic version was rocky but it was not the system it was the humans :) For us the slow introduction was best. This allowed staff to figure out where to allocate all the information that the papers contained. Staff helping staff was by far the best environment for successful implementation. Eventually the staff asked that all patients were in the system because they were ignoring the patient's that still had paper ICU's . We knew they were ready then :) Dr's struggle the most as they do not regularly interact with the system so they struggle to find the info they are looking for. #1 con is that I find when a new shift comes on they look at the iPads to see what to do instead of looking at their patients. We are working on that :)

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Going Paperless made easier

Pros

We are just at the beginning stages of going paperless, and Smart Flow Sheet is definitely making the transition smoother. We have i pads in each room in our clinic, with this software we can access patient charts and critical information about each patient through Smart Flow right inside the treatment rooms.

Cons

It can take a bit to learn all of the different functions, but we are getting there.

April 2015

Alistair from Greenwood & Brown Veterinary Clinics

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2015

Superb

A brilliant product that even some of our more technphobic staff are enjoying using. In patient care is so much easier to oversee, with accurate case recording and prompt treatments being administered. Especially useful when there are multiple in patients on multiple treatments, since everything is summarised in one place. The addition of tasks has been great for day stay patients, allowing our reception staff to see when patients are ready to discharge without having to ring through to theatre numerous times when owners contact us for updates. Customer service has been great with prompt resolution of gliches (most of which have been caused at our end by the way)!

February 2015

Shari from Animal Hospital of Cambridge

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2015

Smart Flow Sheet in a busy practice

We have been using smart flow sheet for several months now, and are still discovering the ways it can save us time (and sanity!) Coming from an internship where I was hand writing my patients' flow charts nightly, I LOVE that with the click of a button I can create a new day's sheet with all the same instructions as the day before. Smart flow sheet helps our practice stay on top of in-patient treatments when we're run off our feet with appointments and emergencies. There are still some growing pains as we all get used to all the functions, but as we learn more tips and tricks, it is helping us be more efficient!

February 2015

Adrian from Eastside Vet Emergency & Specialists

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2015

Excellent efficiency improving hospital software

SmartFlowSheet has allowed us to move our hospital seamlessly to paperless charting. We are able to access all our patients charts from anywhere in the hospitals using ipads or the web apps. Accuracy has been improved across the hospital (no illegible writing on paper charts). Charging has improved due to better tracking of procedures and will improve even further once we use the integration function to link SmartFlow to our practice management software. Synchronization across multiple devices is smooth and reliable and new features are regularly added that help improve our workflow and efficiency.

February 2015

Sarah from Animal Hospital of Cambridge

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2015

SmartFlow is highly recommended!

SmartFlow has simplified our ICU records beyond any system that we were previously using. The iPad combined with desktop interface has made it a dream to add patients and update or amend patient information. We have customized templates, added high frequency medication unique to our clinic and just attach the pdf to the patient's file once they are discharged. SmartFlow is extremely user friendly and Dr. Zak is very responsive to feedback.

February 2017

John from Russell Equine VPC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Great in theory

Smart Flowsheet is a great product for a busy hospital environment. We use Ezyvet as our PMS and the plug-in nature of SFS made it a very easy product to use.

Pros

it works in the background to bill the medications used via its integration with the PMS

Cons

it can be a bit of a long process to on-board