All Hopin Reviews

1-25 of 321 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Nardia

5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed August 2021

Summit With Over 400 Guests

Kyle

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2016

YESS! Attendify App

I worked with Attendify on developing an event app for the Yale Environmental Sustainability Summit (YESS) during the fall of 2015. It was a three day conference that took place across campus with high profile speakers and a somewhat dynamic schedule (lots of breakout sessions and panels). The app was a huge success and I received several comments regarding its usefulness. The features I used predominantly was the schedule which had bios of speakers and panelists and also allowed me to enter hyperlinks to our livestream webpage of the speakers and panels. This was great because it allowed people to go back and link to recorded sessions that they missed through the app even after the conference. The map feature is very handy to highlight and provide info about different locations and you can also upload pdf maps of the interior of buildings for example. I would say the only part of the app I didn't use anywhere near its capability was the social platform. It seemed more likely to me that people would utilize twitter handles and Facebook groups rather than add an additional social networking platform devoted specifically to the event, however, had I promoted it more actively it may have been better utilized.

PROS

-Responsiveness of the Attendify staff via the chat window. They answered any questions I had pretty much instantly at any time of day. This was huge. -Features. I feel like I was limited more by my capacity to work on the app than the features that the app provided. -Ease of use. I am not a "tech" person but this platform is extremely easy to manage and actually kind of fun to use.

CONS

-Attendify staff encouraged me to password protect the app but I wish I hadn't. Not a huge deal.

Megan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Great potential

Overall our experience was good with Hopin, but there are definitely things that need to be fixed in the platform. I mentioned most of our issues above, but another thing that caused some issues was the who can view/moderator section in Sessions. For one part of our conference, I wanted sessions viewable to a specific ticket type. We had certain speakers to moderate the session, but the only way they could see that session is if all speakers had access, which is what we ended up doing, but was not ideal. I wish anyone who is added as a moderator could also see the session, even if they aren't part of the ticket type that the session is viewable to. Another feature I would suggest is the ability to change someone's ticket type. It would have been great to just make one click on my end and change the ticket type if someone registered incorrectly. To summarize, Hopin has a lot of potential and definitely met our needs, but still has some work to be done.

PROS

I like that Hopin looks and feels like an in-person conference, without the outdated and clunky design of many of the other options that are out there.

CONS

There are quite a few things that are a bit buggy with Hopin. The word of the day for our conference was "refresh" because so many people had trouble with sound or video. Thankfully refreshing the page fixed most issues, but it was a bit frustrating how often that was needed. We also learned that you have to be in Chrome for a lot of things to work, which wasn't an issue on our end but became an issue for a lot of speakers. We had to do a lot of walkthroughs before the main event to get everyone up and running. The biggest issue was playing Youtube videos in sessions. The videos would sometimes start in the middle for everyone, or they would be fine on the screen for whoever started the video but everyone else would see the playback start halfway through. Our quick fix was to add the videos to the Expo so they could be viewed at any time, but it definitely interrupted the flow of our event.

Reason for choosing Hopin

Hopin has a lot of the features you would get at an in-person conference, but more streamlined. It feels more modern and sleek, and also met our needs without a lot of unnecessary fluff. I like how customizable Hopin is as well.

Luke

Events Services, 2-10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Too good to be true

They did not deliver what they promised. They told us that support would be available during our event and there was just this lousy email address. Also, we did test the software with speakers and companies that would speak this went without problems. On the day of the actual event, a lot of problems showed up. At the feedback session, they told us that there was an update rolled out a few days ago, which felt scripted. As we already saw the same excuse on a review site this probably is otherwise, they would announce an update. Hopin is an example of a too fast-growing company focused on making revenue.

PROS

The software has a neat interface. The software is deductive and you cant get lost.

CONS

That the software couldn't manage the actual day of the event. Speakers and participants reported issues but no information or notification about the problem could be noticed. This was for 20% or so what is too much for a high-level event. This created a lot of stress for the participants and to us the organization.

Reason for choosing Hopin

They had impressive previous collaborations, the software looked neat and they could deliver our minimum requirements.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

A good platform for virtual with a range of useful functionality

PROS

Hopin is a reliable product with some great features. We especially liked the random networking feature which automatically allocated attendees a random member of the audience for a short video introduction. It was also great to be able to do live Q&A via video popup after a session- this is a neat feature that I've not seen done as well on other platforms.

CONS

Hopin isn't as user-friendly as I would have liked. The process for getting speakers onto the platform was complicated and we subsequently experienced several instances of inexplicable login errors which took the team a lot of time to resolve. Not ideal when running a live virtual event across multiple time zones.

Reason for choosing Hopin

A combination of price and functionality, plus the product was suited our requirements at the time.

Roger

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Perfect Events Platform

Been able to create a virtual environment that mimics a live event. One of the keys is one-on-one matchmaking. In-person 1on1 is self explanatory, but for companies doing business with suppliers, the interface of the video meetings within Hopin are outstanding.

PROS

Ease of use, ability to quickly engage with other attendees via video and chat (not necessary to spam other attendees). Main stage can stream live or pre-recorded videos. User interface is very clean and streamlined.

CONS

While not necessary, it doesn't have the "bells and whistles" of other platforms that some people gravitate to (i.e. animated people walking into an exhibit hall, the "look" of a live expo, etc.). It would be nice to be able to access content AFTER the event has concluded.

Reason for choosing Hopin

As a user of the alternative products, I felt that Hopin had the best aspects in a compact solution. We just wanted a solution that works without having to constantly troubleshoot issues.

Liz

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Frequent user

I like Hopin very much and look forward to seeing more functionality be added .

PROS

I love how customizable the platform is and how interactive it is for the user. It also allows the user to experience the event on their own terms.

CONS

At times - it feels like the platform was developed by people who attend events, instead of people who organise events. The platform needs better speaker management. It could also do with a better recording mechanism.

Reason for choosing Hopin

The video from the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] of Crowdcast bugged me. The Hopin people seemed like people we would work with.

Jonathan

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Strong virtual events contender

Hopin let me throw interesting events during the middle of 2020. We did an event with 7,000 concurrent viewers and didn't have any issues.

PROS

- Easy setup for main room and breakout rooms - Backstage and Live views are easy to understand - Easy for participants and external speakers to onboard and start engaging with what matters - each other and the presenters

CONS

- Monthly pricing is still too high, making it hard option for hosting user group meetups and smaller events

Reason for choosing Hopin

Cleaner interface, multiple organizers and administrators, easier handoff for external speakers from main stage.

Christian

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Amazing Platform

PROS

Attendify provides you with the required functionalities to host an envent

CONS

There is nothing that i could think of that i dont like

Reason for choosing Hopin

It has the most functional platform with the best value for money

Reasons for switching to Hopin

Cost

Chloe

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Hooray for Hopin!

Overall really enjoying the platform. Since the pandemic we’ve done a lot of virtual events on other platforms and it’s just not the same. We received a lot of great feedback after our first event.

PROS

I like that it has multiple areas where people can be at one time. It allows them to go to different parts and feel like they are in control of their experience still while being at home.

CONS

I wish there was a backstage area for sessions before you go on. On our first event we had a few issues with that.

Reasons for switching to Hopin

Ease, convenience, and ability to do multiple things in one place

Patrick

Military, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Flexible platform

We organized a successful, real virtual conference receiving lots of very positive feedback. After 6 months of COVID people wrote us that this was the best they have attended. A few weeks later, we used the Hopin platform successfully for an interaction course based on the conference template.

PROS

The possibility to offer attendees different 'rooms' and features without them having to leave the platform.

CONS

The initial difficulty for attendees to navigate through the platform.

Reasons for switching to Hopin

We were looking at a platform that would provide us the capability to organize a real conference and not another series of webinars.

Rochelle

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2020

Very user friendly

Overall I am pleased with the platform and customer service and will continue to use for events.

PROS

The layout is very clear and easy to navigate, both from a user and administrator point of view.

CONS

There are a few features, it would be great to have such as hosting documents, playing video/audio in PowerPoint and allowing access to whole event based on ticket type.

Reasons for switching to Hopin

Reliability of the platform and needed more functionality due to expansion of events.

Jenni

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2020

Intuitive platform that is continuously improving

Hopin is a great way for us to execute our conferences in a more interactive way now that we cannot do them physically. Unfortunately the Nordic people are not as social so features such as Networking is not very much used which we would like to utilize more. Overall the platform has worked great with what we want to achieve with our events, the only major downside is the techncal issues we often face. Being able to use only certain browsers limit our registrants who cannot then join due to their company policies (but this is the case with many other platforms and so it is!) Thank you for your continuous work on the platform, it has really improved a lot and it's a pleasure to use it!

PROS

Hopin is very intuitive to use. The different rooms to navigate around makes the platform stand out and more interesting for the user. Setting up an event is very easy and fast. We provide our event registrants with the magic link and found a good way how to do so with our own system. It is great to see continuous improvement of the software and looking forward to see everything that is to come.

CONS

There is so many good things about the software but always some room for improvement! Having done quite many events now in Hopin, we've experienced some aspects that would benefit us. - Backstage. Would be great if there was a way for the speaker to have a preview of the audio and camera to make sure it works before they go on stage. We've often experienced technical issues with the speakers when it's their turn even though everything worked just fine the day or the hour before. Also, would be useful to be able to have your slides ready before you go on, instead of starting to find and share them when you are on stage live. - Chat. The chat function has improved a lot, which is very good. However, we experience that it is still not so easy for the users to see if someone has written to them. - Polls. I like that the polls are now available also in session rooms. Would be great if there was some kind of pop up window appearing when there is a question - this would make it easier to have polls related to the presentation currently going on (as we experience now that people don't really see if there is a poll question and therefore do not answer) Also to be able to type the questions beforehand and then launch them when wanted (like in Zoom) would be useful! - Also like in Zoom, it could be a useful feature to be able to "move" the user for example to a specific session, in order to ensure that people get there.

Melina

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2020

Growing company

Overall the experience has been good with Hopin. They are continuing to build on their platform (we started with them as they were just picking up and working on adding features) so it's nice to know they are continuing to add more features to the platform and making it more robust. They also listen to our feedback and try to incorporate those ideas into new feature launches as well. Greatly appreciated. When we did get support they were great.

PROS

The one feature that really made our audience excited was the breakout feature that Hopin has. Our clients were able to move about from one room to the other with ease. Going from the Main Stage to a breakout room was a hit. We definitely want to continue to use this feature as our clients are still making comments about how neat that was.

CONS

At the beginning of signing on with Hopin, we noticed that the platform did lack some features that we were hoping to have, for example being able to pull Magic links for 1 client at a time, being able to add a photo of the speaker who didn't want to share their video, annotation tool when sharing screen, also the size of the screen when sharing, we had to continuously remind our audience to double click on the screen to make it larger. With that said, just about all of those features were added. I think the biggest thing I like least about this is the inability to have a backstage/greenroom area on the mainstage were the speaker can share their audio and video and we can test it in the backstage area before we push them to the stage. We don't know if it works until they are 'on stage'. Although this isn't a software feature, I think the inability to call someone for support is something I would look into having. Knowing there is a number you can call and someone will pickup on the other end is very comforting, versus sending a chat and knowing it could take up to 24 hours to get a response.

Reason for choosing Hopin

With Hop-in we were able to run simultaneous events and had the ability to create our own site verses having the company put the sites together for us. Price was another factor.

Keith

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Building Development for Principal For A Day event

PROS

PENCIL was able to use Attendify to build a community around an annual event. Beyond developing 161 unique schedules with directions, mapping participating businesses and school and keeping everyone engaged - we were able to creatively push the Attendify platform. Connecting pre-populated tweets to content and Sponsored Posts helped expand our social media reach and directing participants to our feedback survey will ensure next year’s event is even better. We even received praise from the Chief Digital Office of a Fortune 100 company for a “well designed and intuitive” app. As we look to turn the relationships started yesterday into long-standing partnerships, we hope to further leverage the app and its potential.

CONS

PENCIL uses Attendify in a unique fashion, so our issues are uniquely ours.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for your detailed and positive review, Keith! We're so thrilled to hear that the app added value to your event, and that it helped better connect attendees! Looking forward to partnering with you in the future!

Replied January 2020

Pete

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Perfect for big events!

This app makes it so easy to find other vendors at an event and to direct people to our area at an event. Easy to install and use.

PROS

We use this app for a very big event each year. It is simple to use and it is really helpful to getting people to where your team is located at an event - maps, etc. It's really the electronic version of a map for an event. We only use the social part of the app a little bit, but it's good. The size of the event we're using this for is 40,000+ attendees at a local park - it's invaluable to find specific vendors, get in touch, etc.

CONS

No cons - works great for us! We have been users of the app, and have not had to coordinate an event or use the app to post/promote, but given it's easy of use, it is likely very good.

Vendor Response

We're so thrilled to hear of your great experience using our platform, Pete! We definitely think the app shines in its ease of navigating an event, and connecting with others at the event. It's great you found this to be true. Thanks so much for the thoughtful review, and we hope to partner with you on another event soon! Let us know if we can do anything to make the experience even better :)

Replied April 2019

Stephanie

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Easy to use and great customer support

Customer Support has exceeded my expectations. They keep working on developing this product and they always try to think along with you to improve your experience and the app. It is easy to use, even with limited technical skills and it looks very nice!

PROS

I can do it all on my own and there is ALWAYS customer support available (nights, weekends, holidays, etc.)

CONS

I was missing a couple of features a scanner to monitor attendance to our event (which I understand is maybe too specific to our needs) and the information under exhibitors has a limited layout. Moreover, I made a mistake when I deleted someone from the list of attendees and when you do that, you can NEVER reinstate them again. This created quite a big problem for us and there is no possible solution. There are limited colors available for the app design.

Kristin

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Great for online events

PROS

Hopin is a great tool for moving in person events online. Our org moved our national conference to Hopin during the pandemic and it went over really well. Folks loved the feeling of being at an event while at home. The networking feature is one of the best and the creation of multiple rooms/sessions. It's also very user friendly on the back end, pulling the videos and the data available was simple.

CONS

There are some technical bugs that still need fixing. For some users they have to refresh the page in order for it to work. For an event with hundreds of people that doesn't look good. Also, getting people on camera in sessions can be difficult, users will request, I'll add but then they disappear and they have to request again. They could also expand the number of people allowed on stage at one time. The platform does have some kinks to work out and tech support takes up 24 hours to reply so if you need immediate assistance don't count on it unless you purchase the expensive package. There's also no way to track attendance accurately and that's very much needed.

Sarah

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT