All Jitsi Reviews

1-25 of 79 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Zach

2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2022

Great Free Open Source Alternative for Video Conferences

User Profile

Clyde Eugene

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

The open-source video conferencing platform of choice

We have been using Jitsi to conduct meetings and virtual classes for our students. Overall, we are very satisfied with the user experience. I am constantly delighted to see new features being added to the platform (e.g. virtual backgrounds), and the team even upgraded their user interface.

PROS

Jitsi is free and open source and that is the biggest Pro that I can think of. However, this does not mean that it has a subpar feature set. We have been using it consistently for conducting virtual meetings across the University since the early days of the pandemic and here are a few pros that I can highlight: - It is very user friendly, even non-techies can figure it out without much training - Jitsi integrates well with Moodle (our LMS of choice) and this allows Faculty to host virtual classrooms right from their course page - The DropBox integration allows users to record their meetings and share the recordings easily with others

CONS

Although it is difficult to fault an outstanding project like Jitsi, there are a few areas that still need to be polished up: - At certain times users join a meeting using the supplied link only to find that they are alone (although others using the same link are in the meeting room). This is usually fixed by leaving and rejoining the meeting - Jitsi often struggles with poor connectivity and this matters in not-so-well-developed settings like where some of our students stay

Adonay Andres

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

The best open source for online conference

The experience with Jitsi is overall fantastic. Like I mentioned, it's a little difficult to set it up the first time if you are installing it in your server. But, anyway, there's a docker-compose version (with a very good documentation on their github repository) that takes care of almost everything you need in order to get the software working.

PROS

As a user, the best part about Jitsi is that it doesn't need for people you invite to a conference to register anywhere. You only need to provide them the link to click and Voila! they're in the conference! The audio and video quality is awesome! It also has a feature that makes peer to peer conference in case there are only two people in the conference. It automagically switches to conference mode the moment a third participant joins the conference.

CONS

A con about Jitsi is that, if you're setting it up in your server, there aren't very detailed guides on how to set up each one of the components that it needs to work (although they aren't part of jitsi itself, but would be desirable to have a guide for installing and setting up each component). Also, if you download and want to modify the source, there isn't a very detailed step-by-step that tells you how to do it for each one of the components (there is the mobile app and the web application).

Reason for choosing Jitsi

The main reason was the interface. Although Openmeetings has better guides to install and has already lots of features, the interface for a first time user is confusing because there's a lot of floating panels on the interface. Those are great, but not for a first encounter. Second important reason is that openmeetings requires each user to create an account. There's no way natively to provide a url for the conference to somebody else and let them join the conference.

Ikechukwu

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

MY REVIEW ON THE JITSI APP

Jitsi has helped to improve team work , bridging the gap of distance.

PROS

Jitsi is quite easy to use, has a friendly user interface and other cool features that it comes with without having to install a download a bunch of plugins.

CONS

I observed that when using on an android phone, it can't minimize once it is set to display over all other apps, which is really bugging. And again i don't know if it is just me, but there are no administrative powers like anyone can shut anyone out during a live session.

Christoph

Religious Institutions, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Quick, easy, free

Jitsi is an easy to use, free and good working software for video conferences, that offers a good amount of features and is constantly developed.

PROS

I like, that Jitsi is open-source and under constant development. The interface has been renewed some time ago and it now looks good on desktop Pcs as well as on mobile devices. The video quality is also good. You can now also use polls to have realtime votes. Jitsi offers a lot of features and is also able to run big conferences now. What I like as well is, that anyone can use it for free and easily invite other participants by just sending a link.

CONS

Jitsi has some trouble working on older computers. This is why the system that is used should be pretty new. Also breakout-rooms are not integrated yet. The developers say, that it will be implemented soon.

Reason for choosing Jitsi

Because it's easy to use, free and available for everyone. Also nobody needs to install software for using it.

Julio

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Virtual meetings tool

In general, Jitsi is a great option to have virtual meetings or webinars and avoiding having to install or having to do all the hassle from most of the rest of the tools which do the same.

PROS

I really like the fact that this tool is really easy to use, you just need to access the website, chose what you need, and as easy as that you can create a room to have a virtual meeting with co-workers, prospects, or even with your family. This is a great tool when chosing from other options, and specially because time is important for me and my clients.

CONS

I don't like the fact that I need to write a name for the room meeting, I think is a good idea but it can be created automatically, and not having to write something that might sound weird to the participants at the meeting.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Because I needed a user friendly option to have virtual meetings with my prospects, with Jitsy I dont need to do a lot to have a great experience and this allows me to save time and be in contact with my clients.

Abdulsalam

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2022

Jitsi is disappointing

PROS

Apart from the fact that it manages data consumption better, there is literally nothing to like

CONS

The UI is bland and unattractive. The call quality is terrible, the app lags and the screen sharing feature is unreliable.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

I thought Jitsi would be better for conserving data, which it was, but the trade-off in quality was not worth it

Erik

Design, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Jitsi - a more private alternative to Zoom

I would definitely recommend it as a more private alternative to Zoom for teams.

PROS

I use Jitsi for daily call conferencing with 6-12 participants. Jitsi makes it easy for all users to share video. It shows active call quality for each participant based on their connection. Active chat feature is very useful for sharing links to projects. Active speaker's boxes are highlighted with a blue border. Anyone not sharing video is shown by their initials or first letter of their first name. Very accessible and user friendly.

CONS

Sometimes, Jitsi does have outages, slow connectivity, or turns everyone's videos black which can be annoying. Overall though, it is a great product and a private alternative to Zoom or other similar products.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Privacy and data security

Resa

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Overall I am satisfied with the Jitsi platform and happy to recommend it

Overall, I find Jitsi to be a great software for video conferencing and webinars. It is reliable and secure, and offers an easy to use interface that makes it accessible to everyone. It has a wide range of features and is highly scalable, allowing for large numbers of participants. While it can be slow to load and a bit tricky to configure, it is still an excellent choice for video conferencing and webinars.

PROS

I like that Jitsi is an open source software that provides a reliable, secure and easy to use platform for video conferencing. It has a great user interface that is easy to learn and navigate, and it offers a wide range of features including audio and video conferencing, file sharing, whiteboarding, and even webinar capabilities. The software is also highly scalable and can accommodate a large number of participants.

CONS

I dislike that the software can be a bit slow to load and can be difficult to configure if you don't have experience with it. Additionally, I find it a bit hard to troubleshoot any issues that come up.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Whenever you need a conference call...

For one-on-one calls or small groups, jitsi is our go-to meeting room, especially in lockdown-times.

PROS

The ability to quickly create a meeting room, wich a customized name and an easily accessible URL makes it perfect for everyday use.

CONS

Stability and bandwidth issues, even on a self hosted server, seems to cause some issues with heavy usage unfortunately.

Regina

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2021

Very easy to install and use on voip

PROS

Easy to install to use on voip or video calls. Works fine on Linux

CONS

Sometimes it doesn't open concurrently with voip and we miss calls.

Ana marta

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Aplicativo prático e eficiente

Achei muito prático de usar, costuma dar poucos erros, o aplicativo não é pesado para carregar. Fácil de encontrar as funções de compartilhamento . Gostei muito de utilizar para reuniões e webconferências. Equivalente a outras plataformas com a mesma função.

PROS

Prático de usar, funcionalidade de compartilhamento prático de entender. Costuma dar poucos bugs de compartilhamento, acesso e compatibilidade com navegadores web. É gratuito e seguro quanto a privacidade de dados.

CONS

Não há necessidade de aparecer mensagem de incompatibilidade de navegação (recomendação de Chrome) pois funciona bem com Firefox e Edge.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

O Teams costumava dar muitos problemas de acesso a pessoas externas a empresa (convidados), além de ser mais pesado para carregar, menos intuitivo de usar.

Fernando Matías

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2022

Alternativa a las herramientas de reuniones empresariales

Lo utilizamos durante tres meses en mi trabajo anterior, en el comienzo de la pandemia. Pero terminamos utilizando opciones como Google Meet y discord por estar más acostumbrados a utilizar fichas herramientas, principalmente la suite de Google.

PROS

Cuenta con las mismas opciones que las herramientas del mismo rubro. La interfaz me pareció un poco más cuidada que las alternativas.

CONS

Al momento de utilizarlo nos pareció un poco más complicada la opción de agendar reuniones vinculadas a herramientas como Google Calendar.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Nos pareció más cómodo de utilizar herramientas de la suite de Google.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2021

Terrific free meeting platform

Awesome for free.

PROS

Ease of deployment and invitations to a meeting is unsurpassed. No downloads required, meeting IDs or Passcodes to enter. No time limits and absolutely free!

CONS

Screen sharing capability could be much easier. Would love to be able to select an area, rather than just a particular window.

Reason for choosing Jitsi

Free and easy to use. Meets all needs.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Time limits, subscription costs, and downloads all makde Zoom less accessible to people I work with.

Marianna

Performing Arts, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Ottimo prodotto per videoconferenze

PROS

Lo uso da diverso tempo ed è veramente ottimo. Semplicissimo da usare anche per chi non ha dimestichezza con software di videoconferenza

CONS

L'unica pecca è che al minimo sbalzo di banda, si blocca e bisogna entrare da capo

User Profile

Borja

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Perfecta para reuniones rápidas o grupos de trabajo pequeños

Me ayuda a tener reuniones con clientes poco amigos de la tecnología. Jitsi ayuda a reducir la fricción, ya que no tienen que crear una cuenta, solo hacer clic en un enlace. Estoy muy contento con Jitsi, y si añadieran unas pocas funcionalidades avanzadas más (gamificación, por ejemplo), la utilizaría a diario.

PROS

Sin duda, el hecho de que sea tan fácil de usar y además gratuita. A diferencia de Zoom, no tiene un límite de tiempo por reunión. Además, no necesitas descargar ningún programa... ¡Ni siquiera hay que crear una cuenta! Es tan fácil de usar que parece que tiene "trampa", pero no es así.

CONS

Tiene opciones menos avanzadas que sus competidoras. También tiende a ralentizarse cuando hay mucha gente conectada. Si solo quieres usar Jitsi para reuniones rápidas o videoconferencias con pocos usuarios, no debería haber problema.

Kim

Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Encrypted, open source, SAFE platform for virtual meetings

Jitsi is the free, secure, open-source version of video meetings that WON’T steal your information!

PROS

Jitsi has a lot of the features that you would expect for virtual meeting - chat, raise hand, video capability, screen share.

CONS

As far as I can tell, you can not necessarily set up a future meeting, as in the meeting only begins when someone starts it. I’m not sure this is really a con though, just different from other platforms!

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

Zoom is not secure nor private.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

A good alternative for making video calls

It is a good option to include users quickly, since you do not need to register, just the link of the room to enter.

PROS

This tool is an excellent option for making audio and video calls. Just create a room and post the link for anyone to join the meeting. No registration is required, which makes access even simpler. You can share the screen and write in the message area.

CONS

I used the web version (browser) and found the audio and video quality great. The only negative point is that the messaging area (chat) has few resources. There is no option to share files.

Reasons for switching to Jitsi

My company blocked access to Discord and I had to look for other options for meetings.

Carlos

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2022

Best option for big meetings if you don't want to spend a penny.

Perfect for hosting big online meetings once in a while without having to pay big amounts of money.

PROS

It's free and it's awesome! It falls from time to time and you cannot depend exclusively on it if it's a super-important meeting, but for big gatherings in some situations it's perfect: completely free, reliable and easy to use.

CONS

You have no control on other people when hosting a room, neither on your own room once you leave it. Anyone can write your company name and create an open room and that's something I wouldn't like to happen. We just use it in some occasions.

Piotr

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY