All Amazon CloudWatch Reviews

1-19 of 19 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Donny

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Cloudwatch is great for Application Logs!

Our experience has been good and has helped us catch issues and solve them before anyone notices!

PROS

It is easy to go into Amazon Cloudwatch and see if we are having any issues with our websites or APIs.

CONS

So far we have had no issues with Amazon Cloudwatch.

Omer

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

CloudWatch gives x-ray vision of AWS resource

Using CloudWatch is an indispensable tool to keep track of our logs, metrics, events, alerts, etc. We use its metrics to alert us when something is not right in our infrastructure. We also keep track of application logs coming from different resources to simplify finding and resolving bugs. We also use it to automate tasks we need to run at scheduled times.

PROS

It is easy-to-use monitoring and observability service that readily works with AWS services.

CONS

Accessing and searching log data can get more difficult as you start to have more log data and when logging data from multiple AWS resources if you don't use Log Insights.

Reason for choosing Amazon CloudWatch

Simple and easily integrated with AWS services.

krishna

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

my experience with Amazon CloudWatch

overall experience with cloud watch was great is good I would recommend every who uses AWS should learn cloud watch. metrics to monitor all services at single place set alarms on required conditions and action that should be taken like send notifications using SNS service which is easy to use with cloud watch or scale accordingly, cloud watch is must for monitoring AWS

PROS

Amazon CloudWatch is a monitoring service from AWS here you can easily monitor almost all services of AWS that you use and want to monitor, also at a single place that is of great use. we can create dashboards of selected matrics and multiple dashboards can make monitoring easy and fast alarms can be set on conditions which will help to take necessary measures accordingly.

CONS

CloudWatch is a great tool it does not have many flaws, there are a few minor issues like you have to learn how to set up a cloud watch for monitoring and It might take some time , custom metrics will cost you, some important metrics are not available like storage monitoring.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

CloudWatch brings visibility to your AWS stack

You don't have to use AWS for very long to have this happen: you've got instances and tasks and containers and all kinds of "machines", whether physical or virtual, running all over the place, and you want to figure out how to see what's going on internally with one of them. Maybe you just want a quick look at the Apache logs. In the "good old days" you'd just SSH into the instance. But with Docker and virtualization and everything, that's not so easily said and done anymore. Enter CloudWatch. Think of it as a centralized logging store. When you start up containers and instances and tasks and such, you can ask AWS to automatically have whatever you are spinning up log its internals to CloudWatch. You can then jump into CW anytime you need to take a look at what's happening inside that box. Need Apache logs? They're right there. Even better, they are searchable using a good (but not great) interface. Also, CW will bring together the logs from separate ECS tasks into one log group, if you want. So if you have a handful of tasks running, you can search across all of them in one go and find the misbehaving one much more easily than SSH'ing into 6 instances trying to locate the culprit. Extra bonus: with just a teeny bit of coding on your end you can actually have your application log items to CW directly. Use Lambda to monitor it, and push that to Slack, and you've got custom monitoring, built into your AWS stacks. CW is critical to doing AWS right.

PROS

* One-stop shopping for visibility on all your instances (and tasks and sub-instances and whatever else that AWS makes it so easy to spin up but then so hard to keep track of later) * Easy to hook into Lambda (which can then call to Slack or some other service) so that you can get push notifications about whatever's happening

CONS

* The search facility is not as good as it probably could be. If you have a line of output from a log, for instance, and you want to see where that line of output came from, and you do not know which log group it's from, you are out of luck. You can only search inside a log or log group, which means you have to know where the output came from to start with, but that might be exactly the issue you're trying to figure out in the first place: where is this output coming from. * AWS instances and tasks automatically start up with CW integration but that can quickly result in loads of orphaned CW log groups and such if you then do away with the instances but don't remember to go into CW and kill those as well.

Reason for choosing Amazon CloudWatch

No other option really, other than simply looking at manual log files, which isn't really an option with the way AWS is designed. CW is one of the reasons why AWS works.

User Profile

Darian

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Review of Amazon Cloudwatch

Cloudwatch is used best when it is used with all the other AWS services. I wouldn't really say you use Cloudwatch by itself, it's always to check or report on another service. With that said, Cloudwatch really excels at monitoring once you put in the time to setup metrics. Otherwise, you sit on a wealth of potential data that ends up not being used.

PROS

Cloudwatch is best used when we try to identify/debug our code. We check logs for our cloud functions through cloudwatch and due to it being realtime it allows us to quickly diagnose any issues. By making our functions verbose, our logs become clear to sort through as well. Cloudwatch also allows us to monitor our servers load. We have some automations to post on our channels when certain servers have too much load, low memory, or when too many error events have occurred in a short period. This has allowed us to resolve issues as fast as possible.

CONS

I think the slowness can sometimes be a limiting factor. Opening several pages of logs at the same time will slow down the system. This happens to me because I usually am trying to find specific text that was output, but there is no search for data within the log files, just for the filenames of the log files (which in my case is not helpful).

Sakshi

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

AWS CloudWatch : logs monitoring service

AWS CloudWatch helps me to monitor and give insights of the services available in my AWS cloud account.I configured the alarms and actions if an alarming situation occurs like disk usage or CPU utilisation is high.if a threshold condition met CloudWatch helps me to tackle unwanted situation and provide good performance.

PROS

AWS CloudWatch is first of all easy to use. I integrated AWS CloudWatch with most of the Amazon services such as EC2,VPC etc.. One can used AWS CloudWatch to monitor and track everything happening in your AWS account.The best part is one can monitor most of the services status CPU utilisation,memory usage,disk usage.one can use cloudwatch everywhere irrespective of whatever the service it is.

CONS

There is no such dislike for AWS CloudWatch. Only the CloudWatch dashboard is not user friendly unlike other monitoring tools present in the market.At the initial state it's a little bit confusing and time consuming to do setup.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

CloudWatch is a reliable and powerful tool for monitoring and managing AWS resources and application

Amazon CloudWatch is a reliable and powerful tool for monitoring and managing AWS resources and applications. The service offers a comprehensive set of monitoring capabilities, including custom metrics, logs, alarms, and dashboards, and integrates seamlessly with other AWS services.

PROS

Amazon CloudWatch provides a comprehensive set of monitoring capabilities, including custom metrics, logs, alarms, and dashboards. This allows you to gain deep visibility into the performance and behavior of your applications and infrastructure.

CONS

While Amazon CloudWatch provides excellent monitoring and management capabilities for AWS resources, it has limited support for monitoring resources outside of AWS. This can be a limitation if you have a hybrid infrastructure or use third-party services.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

CloudWatch - Monitor applications both in on-premsis and AWS cloud.

Go to service to observe AWS service operations.

PROS

The cloud watch service from AWS helps to integrate the other services and helps to monitor its daily services. The logs and statistics are stored here for us to debug and go analytics on top of it .

CONS

The cloud watch UI could have been improved to give modern look as sometimes its difficult to debug longer logs generated by any application. The highlighting of error in the log will help the developers a lot.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Monitoring tool for all your critical AWS services

I am very pleased with the capabilities of AWS cloudwatch and would highly recommend it to all AWS customers

PROS

Event threshold, automated monitoring, email notifications, coverage for most of the critical AWS services.

CONS

Capability to use it for on-prem and other cloud services would be a great addition and make it a single source of truth.

User Profile

Prayag

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Great for log metrics

PROS

Great for logging app metrics, cloud watch alarms and visualization

CONS

Nothing so far but yes need to aee integration with third party

Kevin

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Great Product and easy Laravel integration

I have been pleased with Amazon Cloudwatch. It is used so widely that there is a large community of support around it. While I don't know that it is necessarily better than the alternatives, it is certainly easier in the case of those already using AWS

PROS

Being part of AWS, its very easy to start using and will be cheaper than most options. There are easy Laravel packages for integrating use, and it is simple to allow options for logging groups.

CONS

I only have two slight complaints with Cloudwatch. First, I wish querying multiple log groups was a little more intuitive. Second, the lack of creating nested log groups isn't great. Having many different environments throughout my development team, it is a bit annoying to have hundreds of log groups, even though splitting up the logs does help us immensely.

Reason for choosing Amazon CloudWatch

We were using AWS, so implementing Cloudwatch was simple

pathmika

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Amazing monitoring tool

PROS

Our team is using cloud watch to monitor log files, monitor issues and changes of the AWS resources in the real time. As a company we get lots of benefits since we can identify the issues before impact those to our project.

CONS

This is expensive product and some of the companies cannot afford it.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Overall it is Okay

We have been using Cloudwatch for quite some time to monitor our AWS Infra which includes ECS, Opensearch, Redis, EC2 InstancesIt performs well in terms of logs and metric queryingAlerts set up performs well

PROS

We can view logs and metrics in real-time and even those in the pastMore or less easy to configure and useNotification is available based on alertsOptimized for AWS Services

CONS

It quite costlyThe interface could have been easier to use

Reason for choosing Amazon CloudWatch

Since the Infra is on AWS, it is more likely to perform well on AWS

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Keep an Eye on Everything

my overall experience is very good with AmazonCloudwatch i will recommend everyone to use it and once we use it we cant stop using it because of its rich set of features.

PROS

Realtime monitoring the infrastructure using various metrics help to analyse the situationn its best thing i liked.

CONS

there is no such thing which i did not like in this product.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Must have for your cloud infrastructure and application management

Overall we are very happy with the cloudwatch monitoring tool and use it on daily basis to keep a check on our cloud infrastructure and applications.

PROS

Cloud computing monitoring, automated events management, Threshold violation monitor, proactive monitoring, email notifications

CONS

Supports most of the AWS services but missing a few newer services. Also we cannot monitor our on-premise HW with this.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Ottimo strumento di logging

molto buona, lo uso ormai da anni e non può che essere positiva.

PROS

granularità del logging, possibilità di costruire dashboard ed aggregare come si preferisce gli eventi, tool per ricerca nei log.

CONS

alcune funzioni avanzate non sono molto immediate da utilizzare, devi studiare un po' lo strumento

User Profile

Pawe

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

CloudWatch for Log Analysis and Server Healthchecks

PROS

The possibility to customize CloudWatch to observe server logs in order to perform regular healthchecks and the status of Servers used in our Web Application

CONS

CloudWatch might be overwhelming at first and hard to configure. Also as CloudWatch is AWS service it does not allow to monitor servers from outside of AWS, so in case the infrastructure is a mix of different Cloud Providers, there are some much better tools in the market

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Monitor Your AWS Applications The Performance , Metrics And Logging

Cloudwatch gives you the logging data to solve your problems and bugs with alerting functionality. Easily get the information to troubleshoot. The alerting is a little complex to setup.

PROS

- easy to use - builtin with AWS - long data retention period - collect and track your metrics

CONS

- it's only basic monitoring - the alerting could be better - it has a limitation for event fields

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: