Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.67

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The software is easy to use and very reliable."
  • icon"The software is easy to use and the multi-region monitoring servers is ideal for monitoring our SaaS platform."
  • icon"Good GUI and API allows for custom alerting. Maintenance mode is very functional and helps vs other services that only have suspend functionality."
  • icon"When looking al all ping check down checks show as red but the line graph graphic is in the middle vs at the bottom for indicating no communication or dead ping."
  • icon"This complicates monitoring SaaS and leaves the product useless for SLA and OLA calculations."
  • icon"The timeout limit of 60sec on the transactions was a bit difficult to manage because our testing flow was a bit longer & it wasn't possible to split it into multiple tests."

Have you used Uptime Cloud Monitoring and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Uptime Cloud Monitoring Reviews

1-25 of 36 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Wes

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Reliable monitoring system, very flexible.

I'm a solo developer/admin for an internet-based company, and so it's crucial that we are immediately aware of any outages or problems with our sites. We've been using Uptime for roughly 18 months, and it has proven to be extremely reliable in detecting any outages. Additionally, the advanced monitoring checks that are available are impressive - it can submit data to forms, observe real user sessions, verify that SSL certificates are valid, and more. I strongly recommend Uptime to anyone who relies on a steady internet presence for their business. Tremendous value for our company, and great peace of mind for myself especially, as the overseer of our operations.

Pros

- Easy to use, very clean design - Notifies quickly of any detected outages - Reliably detects even small/brief outages - The wide variety of things that can be monitored, including APIs & multi-step pathways - Very quick to navigate through the various console pages - API access to the reports that can be integrated into internal applications - Documentation is very thorough - Monitoring checks are executed from several points around the world

Cons

There are no cons, in my opinion. It does exactly what's advertised - and more.

Saransh

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Uptime monitoring with performance metrics that more people should know about

Uptime monitoring is simple by nature which could lead a lot of individuals to think the choice doesn't really matter. Uptime maintains the simplicity you would expect (even in its branding) but allows a lot of complex problem-solving under the hood. This balance of easy-of-use and powerful extensibility is exactly what my team was looking for. I'm glad we stumbled across this product.

Pros

A myriad of available notification options. This helps ensure that alerts are seen right away. We push alerts to user's phones, through our internal messaging software, and to kiosk monitors in the offices. Threat detection was an unexpected plus as well. Alerts can come from multiple locations around the globe so it can help discover regionally isolated incidents as well.

Cons

The concept of team management and user permission management is still evolving and not quite as robust as I would prefer.

Reasons for switching to Uptime Cloud Monitoring

Pingdom just doesn't do enough for the price we were paying. We also had a number of issues with dependability of its testing nodes which led to a lot of frustrating false-alarms.

Response from Uptime.com

Hello Saransh, thank you for your feedback. As a user-centric organization, we take user requests very seriously. Our support team would love to hear about user permission improvements you may have. Feel free to contact our support team at support@uptime.com

Replied January 2020

User Profile

Deon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Zero African Footprint

Loved the product. Just wish it offered a full global presence. I can recommend it if your service is not hosted on the African continent but if you not, find something else.

Pros

I love all of it and this product would stay my first choice if it had a footprint in Africa.

Cons

We get false downtime notifications whenever there are issues with the undersea cables linking Africa to the rest of the world. This complicates monitoring SaaS and leaves the product useless for SLA and OLA calculations.

Reasons for choosing Uptime Cloud Monitoring

NA

Response from Uptime.com

Greetings Deon, We believe the faults attributed to your poor monitoring experience are with another monitoring provider. We have maintained a probe server in Johannesburg for some time, and are continually expanding the number of locations we cover. Are you certain that your experience was with Uptime.com?

Replied May 2020

Angelo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

High quality but more expensive

Pros

Real-time monitoring has been quite accurate. We have compared the tool with other real-time monitoring providers, but uptime has higher performance. Performance metrics and routing help us detect anomalies in the communication between our clients' servers and ours. This is interesting, mainly, because we can know through ping if a server is suffering from a DDoS attack, which has become very common. A very interesting feature, which we have not seen in other providers of this service, is monitoring from a different location. We liked this a lot, because we can choose the best place to hire a service.

Cons

It is more expensive than other providers. I understand that they have tools that other providers do not have (at least in the published service offer). However, this can be obtained in most cases by contacting the provider and requesting the approximate location where you want the monitoring to take place.

Reasons for choosing Uptime Cloud Monitoring

Performance tests were much better, aesthetics and ease of use prevailed when we recommend it to our customers.

Bryant

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Uptime.com provides quality external monitoring

We predominantly use Uptime to monitor the WAN uptime and latency of edge devices we manage. Uptime.com works perfectly well for this purpose and has a robust API that allowed us to easily migrate from a prior platform. We are also able to pull various reports in different formats to provide to clients when needed. The biggest downfall is that we aren't able to provide a client with access to just their own sites so they can live monitor their connections as well.

Pros

-Robust API -Multiple monitoring locations -Easy configuration -Useful data

Cons

-Instead of a ping monitor showing "down" it shows as "1200ms" -No multi-tenant support

Reasons for switching to Uptime Cloud Monitoring

-Pricing changes -Platform design -Ownership changes

Paul

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Keep it UP! Informs within minutes if there is an error

Love it, it monitors really great, the emails send never end up in my spambox and the sms service is reasonable quick, nice for monitoring during the night, just a quick sms on your smartwatch :-)

Pros

This service is amazing, you can define keywords on the monitoring to actually see if your website is up and is showing the proper content instead of an error, also I like the SSL check, it warns you when you are about to renew, superb!

Cons

Sorry, nothing to complain, you need to pay for shorter checks, in case you would like to check every minute, instead of 5 minutes, but its cheap, sorry, its not a con...

Reasons for choosing Uptime Cloud Monitoring

Try yourself and you will agree with me that you don't have to choose between other products.

Reasons for switching to Uptime Cloud Monitoring

SSL checks

User Profile

Thomas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2018

Excellent and simple software

Really great tool on the whole, all websites should use a tool to monitor the uptime and Uptime does the job perfectly!

Pros

Very easy setup. Notifications by SMS + email: perfect.

Cons

Default SMS notifications could be more optimized: you get an SMS for each monitored page that is down. It's possible however to fine tune this, but I haven't taken time to do it, set up could be a bit more guided to do it more easily (but honestly I haven't tried so hard since it's not so much a big deal).

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Most complete website monitoring solution

We use Uptime to provide real-time monitoring information to our users. We're able to quickly identify and address issues on our platform, leading to increased customer satisfaction.

Pros

Email and SMS alerts in order to be notified as soon as one of our web services goes down. This is very useful for us as we're able to identify and resolve issues very quickly. Being able to personalize the look and feel of our website monitoring system is also very important for us.

Cons

Quite expensive pricing and lack of dedicated plan for early-stage startups. Also the documentation for the REST API could be improved, with exemples over what's possible with Uptime.

User Profile

Quentin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Easy to setup, one of the most valuable tools for our businesses

Quickly go back on your toes, and don't expect your users to contact you when your service goes dark!

Pros

It's really easy to setup: in a blink, you can ensure that all your services are up and running - and if not, you'll be able to react in a second and fix things. It became one of the most valuable tools for our services.

Cons

At first, I was a tiny bit reluctant about the pricing. Think twice. Does peace of mine really have a price?

User Profile

Franz

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Works great!

Great experience. Wonderful service, powerful tool, good people.

Pros

Lots of configurable controls. Simple to use interface that's both attractive and functional. Gets the job done right.

Cons

It'd be nice to be able to more easily see which specific server a down report comes from. Sometimes there's just general internet network issues and I don't care if some server in Peru can't ping the site.

Response from Uptime.com

Thank you for reviewing our service! Appreciate the kind words. We indicate location when sending and displaying alerts. If you need assistance on this we are happy to help! Feel free to email us at support@uptime.com.

Replied October 2018

Raymund

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

SMS Credit notifications

Your technical support is doing a good job, listening to our issue and finding a solution for us.

Pros

Sending SMS messages and alerting us if any of our services are down.

Cons

On your subscription plans, it's a big difference (big jump) base on price from Business $64/mo to Enterprise $240/mo.

Dale

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Fast way to get an external watch on our system.

Pros

It was simple to setup. They have all the documentation need to open up just what you need to access your system to monitor. It a great that it is free to start with so you can see if it will work for your company.

Cons

It only keeps 30 days record of that your system has done. Until you buy the pay version it only checks every 5 minutes. Other than that I love the product.

Trevor

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2021

Uptime, everytime

It fills the brief and is very straight forward to us.

Pros

The software is easy to use and the multi-region monitoring servers is ideal for monitoring our SaaS platform.

Cons

Nothing to dislike about the software. It does the job well.

Reasons for choosing Uptime Cloud Monitoring

No. We use Uptime along with an alternate product as a way of reducing false positives which we found was occuring when we relied on only one monitoring source.

Millard

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2021

More or Less

Pros

Good GUI and API allows for custom alerting. Maintenance mode is very functional and helps vs other services that only have suspend functionality.

Cons

When looking al all ping check down checks show as red but the line graph graphic is in the middle vs at the bottom for indicating no communication or dead ping

Hector

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Quick and Effective

Pros

I like how quick you are able to see results for any web page. We constantly use this to monitor the status or do a quick check for our site.

Cons

Nothing. It is a great free tool that at the very least provides, at a glance, when there might be something not right.

Alan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT