All Gymdesk Reviews

1-25 of 116 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Luke

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2021

Fantastic Software

User Profile

Kris

Verified reviewer

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

The Best Martial Arts Software out there!

I had started with a competing product and while it kind of did what I needed it was just... meh. I switched to GymDesk and could not be any happier - it does exactly what I was looking for in a school management software at a very reasonable price!

PROS

- Easy to use - One stop shop - the creators have thought of everything - Simple for members - Website is connected directly to the back end which is connected to the online shop and Point of Sale which keeps everything simple

CONS

- Would like a little more flexibility on the Design templates for the website - Sometimes the help can be a little tricky to navigate but jumping on the Live Chat solves things in minutes!

Reuven

Sports, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

An up and coming top notch tool for martial arts schools

So far so great! Very few complaints/frustrations from members during transition as opposed to previous softwares used like zenplanner etc... where every step was met with crashing apps and the like. Here we have a program that works right in every smartphone/computer’s browser. Just log in and access everything, including remote training videos, which right now are crucial. Would love to see some more features surrounding support for remote training, but considering the relative “newness” of the product and how great everything else has been for myself and my students - a solid A-!

PROS

Easy setup (BIG) Automated Payment Processing Easy “on the fly” changes Beautiful schedule for website Booking and checkins Built in waivers/agreements/forms Developer is constantly listening to users and giving feedback as to why software functions the way it does or when features will be ready and DELIVERS

CONS

Lack of robust reporting Lack of configurable signup menu (users see a long list that you can’t organize by category, yet) A lot of functionality seems to leverage and almost depend on you using the built-in website builder, so if you have your own website, it might feel limiting

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

Ease of use

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

Too complex for my needs Constantly getting lost in menus Reporting numbers always wrong/different Payment processing felt like a prison sentence Ugly embedded scheduler Constant student complaints

Mark

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2022

TERRIBLE customer service and support--simply terrible.

Terrible. I am cancelling and going with the company's competitor. At least they provide a customer service phone number.

PROS

It is an OKAY membership management platform.

CONS

Gymdesk's customer service and support is TERRIBLE. For one, they do not provide a phone number at ALL. After several emails asking for a callback, someone responded back that they do NOT do CALLBACKS but that they would SCHEDULE a customer service call. Really? Okay, yes, let's do that. What a pain. Especially because I am calling about the 3 THREE charges a month that my $75 a month service is supposed to cost.

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

Originally, the pricing. However, as I have pointed out, there is NO savings at all and in fact Gymdesk ends up costing way more than its competitors.

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

TERRIBLE customer service and constant upcharging or ghost charging; i.e. in other words their $75 a month plan that I selected was actually costing me [SENSITIVE CONTENT] or so a month and getting an explanation from someone at Gymdesk was nigh impossible.

Vendor Response

Hi Mark, While we do not provide live phone support due to our customers being in many timezones, we do provide extremely effective and quick one on one support via live chat, email, or a scheduled video call on demand. We responded promptly to your inquiry and addressed your concerns in under 1 hours time. Ultimately, it was a user error on your end that we helped you discover and resolve. We did everything in our power to address this and are sad to hear that you chose to no longer utilize our services. We take pride in our customer service as evidenced by the many other reviews here. Since this review was submitted before we could clear your misunderstanding regarding the charges, we hope you'll reconsider. Regardless, we wish you the best with your gym endeavors.

Replied November 2022

Angela

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Top Value

I am very pleased with our choice to go with maonrails. This system was initially meant for our yoga and fitness programs, but the benefits we are seeing in our karate programs is amazing. The students love how easy it is to use, they love the portal and payment option. The free website is easy to set up, with lots of choices to customize. We run a number of different classes using this program and it keeps us organized so we can focus on the classes rather than the back office. The report features are very helpful to keep each program separate. Overall, using this program has saved us hours of paperwork each week. It is the program we didn't know we needed until we tried it! Definitely would recommend giving it a try. Great customer service, great website and amazing tool to keep ranks, dates, payments, attendance and schedules organized!

PROS

The price was the selling point. Not the cost of the program, but the fact that there was not a tiered system for pricing. You know exactly what you are getting from day one! The program is also very easy to setup and use. The support is fantastic. Not being one that is up on all the latest technology, they took the time to walk me through things, step by step. They were answering my questions and assisting right away so I never had to wait.

CONS

Being in Canada, there are some features that cannot be used based on the payment processing company we use. There is none that allow same functionalities as in the US. I am sure it will be in a future update.

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

We were looking for a program with no additional/hidden fees for options. We wanted one price and know what was included without having to purchase/increase costs for updates. Wanted a no hassle program that would be user friendly for everyone.

Andre

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Very Happy

Amazing customer service. Great software for members and administration.

PROS

Ease of use for myself and members. Website development. Customer Service.

CONS

There are some filters I could use with Mindbody when running reports or creating back end changes which make things easier.However I have only thought this once or twice in my year of using their software and it does not impact my operations.

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

The trial was incredible. The setup was easy and fun. Great member feedback.

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

Initially cost. Gymdesk was recommended.

Leigh-Ann

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Best Martial Arts Specific Software We've Used, Exceptional Customer Service

The customer service with MAonRails has been fantastic. Eran goes out of his way to help and answers quickly. They were also willing to work with us on price which for a small school is greatly appreciated.

PROS

The interface is clean, easy to navigate for students and administrator. Easy to customize and get up and running quickly. Like the family account feature, belt ranks are easy to create, add, and modify. Customer Service is fantastic, quick answers and always willing to help.

CONS

That each document cannot have a customizable email saved. A bit difficult to navigate belt ranks when different classes can count towards time in grade. Also, the gym schedule is not great. Would like to see a month at a time.

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

We did the free trial with CMS and the interface was messy, hard to navigate and the roll over had to be done by their tech. There were too many complicated back door options and buttons.

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

Mindbody was ridiculously expensive and did not care what so ever about small business. The martial arts version was nothing special and they had no plans to work on martial arts specific improvements.

Sabrina

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

The Factory Dillsburg - GymDesk Customer Review

10/10 amazing experience

PROS

I absolutely love this software. The customer service, how user friendly the software is, the troubleshooting support, and all of the different functions that the software offers is amazing. Based on all of the things each software pricing level offers, Gymdesk sets itself MUCH higher over other software programs available. I would recommend to anyone.

CONS

There are some features i wish there would be more options for customization.

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

The software cost was MUCH lower then previous software programs used in the past. previously we had multiple features that we had to pay for separately are now wrapped all into one software, and controlled from one site. we used to have to use multiple programs and websites and support numbers and that was a heavy hassle. Now that everything is all into one site, it has made my job much easier, faster and less stressful

Brian

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Simple and User Friendly

Onboarding was easy, tutorial videos/FAQ was helpful, but it was already easy to navigate prior to even watching them.

PROS

I really enjoy the simplicity of setting my academy up on the software, the positive feedback from my students who use this for class reservations, and how easy it is to navigate day to day operations. I really wish I discovered this sooner so I could've saved myself from the headaches I experienced using other software platforms. Customer service is great and very responsive which helps for troubleshooting on the fly.

CONS

I think it would be great if there was a feature within the software to interact with members where they would be notified if an admin user posted something under the content section or even a community board where we can also post updates.

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

Their platform was advertised to be suitable for small businesses, but really it's designed for large health clubs or small fitness gyms like crossfit. I didn't find it user friendly at all from onboarding to day to day management. The customer service wasn't as receptive as they are more UK based so that didn't really help with timely responses or onboarding. I wouldn't recommend them to martial arts studios.

Michael

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Excellent software to manage a martial arts school

I don't have to manually keep tabs on when students need to pay. It's much easier to have the system remind them rather than me. I like that fact that I can run the website, billing, attendance, and marketing all in one system!

PROS

The system is very straightforward and not difficult to learn. The support is fantastic. Any questions I had were addressed in a very timely manner. The price is right for a small martial arts school to be able to save time managing the business side of running a school.

CONS

Overall, the software is great but some a couple more customizations would be nice. Being able to customize the dashboard to display what is most important to the administrator. More customization on the website. Example, being able to change the link "Book" on the schedule to something else like "Free Trial Class". I use the booking function for leads rather than students. The check in screen can also be a little easier. Possibly have student names listed that are able to check in to next session available so they can just click on it.

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

The biggest draw was the price and the ability to try the software for free.

James

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Best software for us

PROS

This software is very easy to set up and manage. Our members can quickly and easily sign up and update their information at anytime. What’s even better is that there were no annoying sales calls from people trying to sell us of features we didn’t need.

CONS

K

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

Martial Arts on Rails had all the features we needed! It’s affordable and easy to use.

Kim

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Excellent software to keep dojo running smoothly

Great customer service. Quick replies. Really enjoying the software.

PROS

Easy to keep track of visitors/potential new members. Great dashboard overview to see quickly any overdue fees and information

CONS

We run a lot of kids classes where a day(s) needs to be selected for them to enrol. Currently we need to create a lot of day combinations to accommodate this

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

We needed more from the software which wasn't available

Molly

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Makes My Life So Much Easier

Using Martial Arts on the Rails has made my life much easier. With the last management software I was using I had to spend hours on the phone and honestly just dreaded going in to the gym to work on the computer. I now have a lot more confidence in the way that I am managing the business, our programs and our memberships and I am more organized.

PROS

I have found that this software is easy to use. It is pretty intuitive as how to navigate through the system. It is easy to add, cancel and manage memberships. I like the simplicity of running attendance and financial reports. I have found the support to be great, I always get a quick response. I also like how it is easy for me as an owner to control what kind of access my other gym staff has access to.

CONS

The only one thing I have found that I have had trouble with is when I search for a member if they are frozen their name doesn't come up in the search. I have to go to the frozen tab to find them.

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

MindBody was confusing. I also had security issues with my former business partner who went into our system after being fired and erased our member's billing information and tried to export their data- I was unhappy with the way it was handled.

Becky

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Really please with Gymdesk.

The support is really, really responsive. I am impressed with that. Almost always within an hour or two, or quickly next day. The best.

PROS

It 'sings' to me. So much software is not 'ready out of the box.' There was such a learning curve. Many charge, demo required etc. As a busy gym and yoga studio owner with some capacity to learn on my own, I was up and in this in less than 5 minutes...and understand most of it. From there, it has served me well on customer management, communications, booking and payments.

CONS

I could use some more specific things pertinent to how I run my businesses, but perhaps others don't. So I could use some customization on a few things. I also get confused from time to time on the forms/sign up/membership connections...I think that could be better explained. Again though, it may be how I run my business not necessarily what makes sense for most consumers.

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

I 'got' it. It is simple. For me, it just resonated with me and how I need my businesses to run. Once I used their support, I know I made the right decision.

Sebastiao

Sports, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Transformed our Club

Prior to using Martial Arts On Rails we operated a manual system and as a consequence we were losing track of payments, grading, etc. For our club to continue to grow and provide the type of service our students deserve we did some extensive research of automated systems and opted for Manonrails as we found it to be a feature rich system which not only manages the basics very well but also allows you to monitor trends and provides a variety of metrics on the clubs performance and tools to help you grow the club. The sytem was created and managed by CEO who himself is a Martial Artist and therefore uniquely understands the needs of a martial arts club. In the event of any issues or queries the responsiveness of their customer support is nothing short of exceptional, we are on a different time zone here in Europe but that has never been an issue. Maonrails has totally transformed how we manage our clubs and we would have no hesitation in recommending them!

PROS

Ease of day to day use...Does not need additional hardware (works off a smartphone, tablet, pc, etc).... Feature rich... Dashboard providing a snapshot of key metrics...

CONS

Nil - anytime we have identified a new feature that would benefit our club they have modified they system to add the desired feature.

Justin

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Highly Recommended Tool

Overall experience has been great with Martial Arts on Rails from the staff all the way through to the system itself, the support is phenomenal and you're dealing with real people so it makes communication much easier... I would highly recommend this to anyone no matter how small or large the organisation it makes sense to invest in something that captures your payments and manages the data for you so you don't have to do it manually!

PROS

The ability to tailor the belts to suit my academy and secondly that once setup its easy to get people registered and actively using the system.

CONS

None - I have no issues with the software or its capabilities!

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

It was merely a trial and error basis for me and I was granted an extension to get the system setup and use it functionally to run my business.

Bobby

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

An amazing powerful modern program that does what is is supposed to!

Overall this software saved me a lot of money and clients due to it's ease of use in money transactions

PROS

The ease of use and ability to adapt to my gyms needs is amazing. With the added bonus of communication portals to my clients, text and email this is a powerful tool!

CONS

I wish the content page had more of a social media feel and less old web 1.0 feel.

Reason for choosing Gymdesk

The price was very friendly for a start up brick and mortar gym

Reasons for switching to Gymdesk

Captyn was awful and not intuitive

Latasha

Recreational Facilities and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY