User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(40)

40

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!"

  • "Simple, easy to install and scan your network. Helpdesk is excellent when you have issues. Once mastered it is a very powerful auditing tool."

  • "This product is awesome, and is available to be viewed from anywhere internal information/db can be updated. Absolutely love this product. And it's fast to access. Support team is top-notch!"

  • Cons

  • "This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues."

  • "Fiddly to set up correctly, a little convoluted, the reports are complicated to set up correctly"

  • "This isn't really a con but currently they only have an On-prem option. Overall though hosting it hasn't been much work involved."

Browse Device42 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -3 of 47 results

April 2019

Ernest from Homeaway

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best Find in a while!

Great experience and would recommend to anyone in need of asset tracking.

Pros

Easy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!

Cons

Had to build new VM for upgrade! This took some time, and a little help from CS, i had to go to a certain version, then upgrade to the new, a little confusing!

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

One of the best DCIM platforms out there with an API that allows great possibilities

This has become a tool to nearly everyone in the organization. It has allowed us to keep track of a very dynamic environment and ultimately improved user workflows. These types of benefits improve our quality of work and allow us to save time in many ways for other aspects of our business.

Pros

One of the best things about Device42 is their amazing customer support; they are very quick to address issues and are always implementing feature improvements. Device42 also offers a one-stop-shop for all things DCIM, a robust IPAM, Password management, and additional add-ons such as power monitoring that has ultimately helped improve our workflow and organizational capabilities. Their auto-discovery tools are quite in-depth at pulling information from our devices.

Cons

With all software, there will be bugs and issues to workout, but Device42's willingness to tackle and improve upon their platform constantly is what keeps us coming back. Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.

March 2019

Kriss from City Network

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Useful, rough and improving

We use it for DCIM and network discovery. Does a good job at both and the value for money is there. Support has been very helpful, development seems overworked - don’t except a quick resolution to the issues that are present. Would definitely recommend the product. As a side note, they are offering cash payouts for five star reviews, so I’d encourage taking any reviews with a grain of salt.

Pros

The feature set is decently well thought out and it does what it says on the tin. We rolled it out to cover 1200 devices (60 or so models) inside if two months, which is a very good clip - most stuff worked out of the box and we managed to work around annoying (but minor) issues to get workflow integration going.

Cons

The UI is the weakest point, both in terms of usage and documentation - a good portion of it is undocumented or under documented. The password vault offering may be useful in some scenarios but is insecure by design, would not store anything actually sensitive in it. If you use bonding/port channels, expect that most of the network visualisation breaks down.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Device42 review

The support is great and helps us when we have both large and small questions. The dependency chart is appreciated by our change manager.

Pros

Great tool with many features, you can start with one area and populate it and then move on to next area until all is linked together. We started with the IPAM area to get away from our Excel spreadsheets. I realy like the feature that lets me populate something and then export that data into Excel. In Excel I can quickly add more rows of same type of information and then import it back into Device42. We have also started to leverage the welldocumented and powerfull API. The ability to add custom fields helps you to make sure you can add business specific information.

Cons

The autodiscovery features are really powerfull and sometimes picks up unneaded information. An improvment here would be to bbe able to exclude som information and connections.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Best value DCIM with open API. Solid customer support.

Pros

For us, Device42 is really one of the best data center infrastructure management platform out there in terms of flexibility. It’s extensive RESTful API offers wonderful possibilities and has allowed us to integrate into our internal systems as well as a number of other areas in our organization including VMware vRealize Automation It’s a highly accessible inventory and asset management application that offers a lot of functionality with minimal hassle and a reasonable cost. And the best part is it just keeps getting better with every iteration.

Cons

At the moment, bringing up connections on a single device or rack can be done easily without a hitch, but we’d like to see more of it in a much larger scale. Their customer support has been really good though in addressing all other issues and they promised to get back to us if this gets included in development.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Easy to access, easy to use - means network documentation stays up to date.

The software helps us keep track of our off-site colocations. We can track rack information, including what devices are where, power loads, and physical connectivity to each device and through patch panels.

Pros

Having information about our remote rack space documented and easily accessible has been a boon, especially when we need to request 3rd party remote hand to make simple changes for us. I think last month we needed a small change, and I was able to pull out Device42 and follow a set of cables through 2 patch panels in order to provide precise instructions on cable changes I wanted completed by the technician providing the remote hands.

Cons

We are currently primarily using Device42 to track remote sites on how things are situated in racks and how everything is interconnected at the site. One thing I feel they could improve for the future is the extraction of physical connectivity information from their software. I would love to be able to see a full holistic view of the physical interconnections throughout one room, or a building. At the moment its easy to bring up interconnections on a single device, or a single rack, but nothing on a grander scale. I've spoken with support and they said they'll mention this to development to see if this is on the road map.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !

D42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.

Pros

D42 support is very quick and to the point. Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily. This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase. This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies. It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.

Cons

Few reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports. No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite. sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning. No CLI option

December 2019

Wallace from Onboarding Engineering

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Device42 Review

Overall, this is a good product. It does need a lot of attention to get it setup

Pros

It allows you to keep trace of all the device, hardware, using SNMP. We could save all the circuit and vendor information all as well as racks information.

Cons

IP address could get a bit messy. Device information could get a bit overwhelming. So setting it up and get it up and going does require quite a bit of work. Circuit LAG doesn't really work.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Robust product and amazing supprt

Pros

The flexibility of the product overall. It's ability to integrate with so many other products through it's open API was a key reason for purchase. I love the ability to make mass changes to devices by exporting the data out to a spreadsheet format and re-importing versus having to touch each device individually.

Cons

There are a few limitations to the current version of the product but support has been wonderful to deal with and they truly listen to their customers requests for future functionality. We are still learning the product so I can't speak on all functions as of yet. Building single scan jobs to encompass, SNMP v2/3 as well as SSH would be great versus having to build 3 different scans for the same subnet space. I'd like to see IPAM show all IP addresses for a particular subnet showing both used and unused IP's. Currently it will just show you used so you need to scan through and look for a break in the sequence versus looking for an IP with a green bubble showing it's available. These are small Cons and definitely not a show stopper for us. Just nice to haves.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Great product and excellent support

Pros

We use Device42 to implement our customer environments. It gives us a great overview of the customers IT estate and enables us to track inventory and server layout connections. Their Support is really responsive and helpful and when an issue or feature request is put in support works with development and the customer until the issue is fully resolved and tested

Cons

This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

March 2019

Satesh from Promontory Interfinancial Network

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great tool to keep everything organized in one place.

Each team would maintain multiple spreadsheets for physical inventory, passwords, rack diagrams for each datacenters, warranty information and software licenses. Having one tool to manage all this information simplifies everything and makes it easier to update everything . One pane of glass as they say.

Pros

When I first started using Device42 I was impressed with how helpful the sales team was in the deployment process. Once deployed I noticed how many tools were included in the base software. In the first few weeks after deployment in our data centers we needed to quickly run an inventory of all of our SSL certificates. Using Device42 we were able to run in an automated scan that gave us a report that we used to update all of our SSL certificates. The more you use the software the more things that can be useful for you company. I can also say that their support is top notch and always willing to help and work with you until your problem is fixed.

Cons

There is not much to complain about when it comes to this software. If I have to nitpick I would say that it would be the update process. I would prefer for the updates could be directly installed. Other than that its a great product to use.

April 2019

Christopher from H5 Technologies

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Device42 provides an amazing single pane of glass look into your environment.

Overall, Device42 has been a fantastic addition to our IT software stack. With the feature set included with the product, we ended up with a very powerful tool that has fulfilled needs way above and beyond our initial project scope, and at a fraction of the price of other competing products. If you are looking for an ITAM system, and you don't at least do a Proof of Concept rollout of Device42, you're making a mistake.

Pros

The feature set for Device42 is fantastic, we were pricing out only ITAM systems when we came across the product line, and for less money than any of the other ITAM systems we looked at, Device42 came with an ITAM, IPAM, a software licensing tool, and a support team that actually answers questions and provides access to live agents rather than some anonymous support team. Their support people are great, even for casually emailed questions to their support address, I get actual responses (not just a canned "We got your email" response) in typically a couple hours. They have helped me a TON with setting up the software, which is amazingly helpful in tempering the only "con" we have found with Device42 so far (more on that below).

Cons

We have been using Device42 for a few months now, an the only "complaint" I would say that I have found is that the setup was very involved, and required substantial support from the Device42 support team. That said...they were available literally every step of the way, and helped me get through anything I got stuck on over remote session.

April 2018

John from Financial Industry

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

We been using D42 since 2015 and have found this to be one of the best DCIM systems for the money.

We are able to maintain an extremely high accuracy for our environment which is extremely dynamic. Using the APIs we have integrated D42 into several of our production processes allowing us to automate processes that depend on accurate inventories.

Pros

Ease of set up; detail of information gathered through the base product; base features received for the price; agent-less discovery; new remote collector support; support for multiple scan methods - WinRM, SNMP, SSH; multiple hypervisor support - VMWare, KVM, Openstack, AWS, Azure; built-in rack elevations; level of customization available; Web interface; REST API

Cons

Documentation is a bit behind the versions and could use some updates; Depending on the environment auto-discovery can be a bit of a challenge;

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Very good software

We are not utilizing the software to it's fullest, but primarily use it for asset management and data center views. It has been a tremendous tool for us as we have over 7,000 devices, more than 180 Comm rooms and 100 buildings. Hard to imagine tracking all those devices and rooms without this software.

Pros

Very easy to use, great customer service and great support. Any issues I have had, Device42 has been more than willing to help resolve. In fact on more than one occasion we did a WebEx style meeting and they stayed on the WebEx much longer than I expected, all to make sure I was completely satisfied and the issue was fully resolved.

Cons

The auto discovery does not automatically discover every device we use, However, when we come across something that is not being autodiscovered, Device42 programmers are more than willing to take a look and make the software as fully functioning as possible

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Excellent support, solid platform with a real future in the DCIM World

Pros

I have used several of the DCIM offerings out there nowAn excellent tool for those users tired of being stuck within the confines of a closed off product. The flexibility Device42 offers their customers is hands down the best in the market. With the offering of an API, we have been able to integrate Device42 into numerous areas of our company, and internal systems. If your tired of closed systems that require tons of support, or those that can nickle and dime to with add-on features...then Device42 is for you. See something missing, simply present it to them, as their DEV team works directly with the customers to help them get what they need.

February 2018

Earl from Unisys

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Devie42...Making asset management a breeze for our organization!

Pros

Product is easy to learn and put to use We work on a shoestring budget, so cost was a big factor in our decision to use this product Support has been excellent from day one. We have submitted recommendations for the product and actually seen them written into the code. New features being added all the time API's allow us to integrate with VMware vRealize Automation

Cons

I can't really say that I have a Cons list. We have had some small issues here and there with scans and just things that we would like to see added. But support and development came through and helped us work out those issues! So, this is really a PRO

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Discovery Plus

I had a requirement for a quick discovery exercise and Device42 was able to be deployed and start returning results with a minimal setup. More functionality is configurable and will be used in the future to enhance the reporting on the discovered data. This product is able to be deployed in a very secure environment and still be fully functional. I'd highly recommend this to anybody wanting to get a quick discovery and detailed reports.

Pros

Great support team for help with installation and issues with certain OS discoveries. A lot of information is available without the requirement to deploy agents first. Good on-line documentation that covers off the main uses of the software. Updates every fortnight containing product enhancements and bug fixes.

Cons

Reporting engine is a little slow when wanting to export the output in csv or excel formats, this is being improved with the recent enhancements for direct database access to enable the creation of bespoke dashboards.

April 2019

Mark from Barracuda Networks

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Device42 Review

We use Device42 for literally everything: servers, switches, PDUs, secrets, etc. I couldn’t imagine not having it.

Pros

Device42 has a very comprehensive set of features. All aspects of your inventory can be tracked, most things are first-class citizens, and can be related to one another. I like the fact that it’s an appliance. Their support is excellent — you can tell that they put customers first.

Cons

I have a few feature requests that I’d like to see some movement on. One of the most important ones, for us, is API tokens (instead of username/password).

March 2018

John from Dimension Data

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great customer support

We were able to get our CMDB up-to-date very quickly. The asset management team is very happy.

Pros

Extremely quick responses and resolutions from support team. Auto-discovery features have proven to be very useful for us to quickly gather lots of information regarding our environment. Very granular reporting features keep our users happy.

Cons

Although I understand why it's this way, it is annoying not having the ability to drop to a command prompt on the main system or the remote collectors. However, I believe they may attempt to engineer a solution for this soon.

August 2018

Ezra from Lume Technologies

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

D42 Review

We have been using spreadsheets for asset management. We are also spread across multiple Data Centers so it suits us well as far as building organization.

Pros

It is extremely thorough. It addresses all and more of the needs that I have come up with. It is also very well connected. All devices can be connected from the device down to the switch and router etc.

Cons

It does not have the flashiest interface I've ever seen, but it makes up for that in content.

April 2019

Andreas from FIT a Syntax Company

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Good IPAM Solution

We gained following efforts : - global IPAM solutions - active IP usability tracking (ping Sweep) - Service Now Integration (REST Integration) - Single Source of truth for network items

Pros

We use this tool as global IPAM solution also for automated processes and its working very good. API is clearly documented and support is always willing to help

Cons

Some usability concepts are not so common as compared to other IPAM products (e.g. Bluecat), which needs more time to get familiar with the concept (e.g. subnet move, split, merge). But support is always open for guidance and feature requests

May 2018

Rob from Virtacore Systems, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Powerful and simple asset management for the data center

Automated inventory and asset management

Pros

The customer service is really top-notch. The software itself is easy to install and use, and it's very powerful. Compared to other inventory and asset management applications I've used, Device42 offers a lot more functionality and a lot less hassle. The engineers release an update every week or two, and these updates often contain substantial improvements. The product just keeps getting better and better with every iteration!

Cons

As powerful as it is, Device42 is still missing a few features that would be nice to have. Not all hardware is supported for automated discoveries. However, I'm confident that the D42 engineers are working on it!

April 2018

Alvin from Crowdstrike

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

A learning experience and rewarding once I was able to maneuver through the portal.

Asset management features.

Pros

The software allowed me to easily import our Excel data into the software. This saved me a lot of time and allowed me more time to focus on my other daily duties.

Cons

What I dislike about the software is that there are so many steps to complete a task. For example, if we have a device to install, cable and place in production. There are different windows or separate Excel (if it's a bulk) spreadsheet to complete the task. Another dislike is when I used the SNMP auto-discovery. It discovered even all of the non-pertinent VLANs. It showed over 600 VLANs, we have less than 50 VLANs. It basically counted for every switch port that had a VLAN label.

March 2019

Uri from Kareo, Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Device42 is THE CMDB!! look no further!

We use Device42 as the source of truth for our automation deployments.

Pros

Simple, clean and it has API functions that allow us to access the information on any platform.

Cons

It does not have mobile app access and the site is not optimized for any portable devices.

January 2019

Kevin from Insight Direct

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Device installation use and troubleshooting

Overall the product is value for money. If you invest the time needed you will be rewarded with a powerful and comprehensive computer resource audit database.

Pros

Simple, easy to install and scan your network. Helpdesk is excellent when you have issues. Once mastered it is a very powerful auditing tool.

Cons

Fiddly to set up correctly, a little convoluted, the reports are complicated to set up correctly

August 2018

Jeff from Grubb Properties

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great ITIL Software

It has improved our level of service and support to our end users because of the ease of finding information quickly.

Pros

One of the most comprehensive software packages I have used to track IP's, inventory, network and server information. Great search capabilities.

Cons

It took a little bit of a learning curve to figure out the best way to enter my data. Once I got that down it was OK.

August 2018

Dustin from Grubb Properties

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great product and service.

Pros

This product is awesome, and is available to be viewed from anywhere internal information/db can be updated. Absolutely love this product. And it's fast to access. Support team is top-notch!

Cons

There are no cons on this product other than going to version 15 requires another virtual machine. But that's minor.

August 2018

Paul from abas-USA

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great software, amazing support

It's great for keeping track of all inventory. This is exceptionally helpful with the number of leased devices we have as we have custom reporting alerting us when they are about to expire.

Pros

Very comprehensive software. Easy to run custom reporting that suits our environment. Able to attach documentation to assets. It does it's job exceptionally well. The support for any questions or issues we encounter is exceptionally good. I submitted a simple ticket via email and it was resolved within 10mins. Any ticket I've submitted for assistance was updated very quickly, and if the issue was more substantial, their techs would follow up consistently.

Cons

Backup options are a bit limited to use what is pre-configured. Would be great to be able to use a backup system like Datto, but we were able to work with the pre-configured solution.

December 2017

Keith from Abas USA

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Device42 has given us a great feature set, fantastic support and was overall easy to implement.

Ease of use, great support, full use of features, great site documentation.

Pros

After trialing many different asset solutions, Device42 was by far superior. It came with a lot unique functionality we were looking for such as SAML, Jira Integration, workflows etc. What really made my life easier though was their thorough documentation on everything and their very timely and knowledgeable support. Their support was fantastic throughout the implementation process and always addressed issues expediently. I deal with many organizations support for various solutions we have and D42 definitely stands out for quality. I would definitely recommend their solution based on the above.

Cons

This isn't really a con but currently they only have an On-prem option. Overall though hosting it hasn't been much work involved.

June 2018

Dirk from Tessenderlo Group

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great and versatile DCIM tool!

This software helps us streamlining processes and getting our documentation up to date.

Pros

Lots of functionalities are well packed together in a single tool. Buildings, rooms, racks, devices are nicely linked together and can give a visualization of all the components (Room overview, rack layout, ...) We're using the datacenter inventory module and the centralized password database. It takes a while to get all information in the tool, but once it's in there, it can easily be retrieved or changed if ncessary.

Cons

RBAC could be improved The update process could be simplified with automatic downloads and scheduled installations

January 2018

Jeffrey from University of Texas System - Shared Information Systems

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

The CMDB we have been looking for.

An independent hardware/software inventory system that can generate reports for renewals and keep track of hardware locations.

Pros

Very responsive support. Collects a lot of information from the devices themselves. Easy to make bulk additions or changes with import/exports to Excel.

Cons

This product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.

January 2018

Ian from OCTO

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Finally a DCIM that covers all of our needs

Complete visibility of our data center from layer one to power monitoring.

Pros

This is a one stop shop for any data center facility. We initially were shopping for a connectivity management tool and stumbled on this gem. You couldn't ask for more with a price point far below competitors.

Cons

It is a heavy lift on the front end during the initial install, but the end result is well worth it.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Value for money

It's a very good software for device discovery. Value for money.

Pros

The functionality of the software and the various options for discovery

Cons

Assessment option is not available to migrate the workload on cloud

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

CMDB that works

Suppot has been top noch

Pros

IT was fast to deploy and run discoveries. Very Fast to be up and running

Cons

Scans can be an issue based on the size of the org. Might take some time to dial in.

September 2017

Mark from PenFed

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Good Product, Excellent Support!

Device42 is a solid contender in the DCIM market, and will gain more ground as their reputation spreads. Most DCIM’s require extensive training, professional services, and lots of ongoing help. Not Device42 – it is intuitive and easy enough to use – if you take time to listen and learn. When we were stumped, a quick support request on their portal was answered quickly.

Pros

It is easy to use, and the support folks will work with you to find a root cause – and stick with it. Great Support!

Cons

We were told that most APC UPS's were supported, but we had problems with a few of their devices. In the end, Device42 did a program rewrite and corrected everything. Well Done!

November 2017

Yasin from Coventry University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Superb product, allowed us to view/manage our infrastructure from a desk properly!

Complete DCIM Management, the ability to easily capacity plan, manage assets, carry out impact assessments etc is invaluable, together with value for money.

Pros

Very easy to setup, excellent discovery options, good integration with other products and good support. They will find the root cause to issues, even if it takes time.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Excellent Product and Support at a Very good Price

The product is very flexible and easy to use. I have seen a lot of improvements since we have started using it and the Support staff is always quick to respond to questions or issues.

Pros

Easy to install, Simple User interface, Ability to load devices though network scan or use of API scripting.

Cons

Where documentation is good, having some recommendation, white papers or best practices around loading data and setting up some of the more completed feature is needed.

April 2019

Al from Apple

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A critical tool for us in our infrastructure.

Over has been very positive. Especially in dealing with customer support. They response time is very fast.

Pros

The ability to scan and discover new hosts and then be able to bind credential information to the hosts is very handy for us. I then am able to allow certain users to view credential information of specific hosts that I want them to see.

Cons

It can be overwhelming in the amount of configurable options but that is OK because you do not have to use all the features that are available to you

April 2019

Yuriy from Financial services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Pretty much THE best datacenter inventory software

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to find information. Easy to capture information.

Cons

Appliance can be moody sometimes, with disk space issues and database issues.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Did a Proof of Concept; looks pretty good!

Pros

It does a good job of what we want to use it for - discovery, inventory, and with a way to extend it with info from our other systems via REST. The support team is knowledgeable and thorough.

Cons

Discovery definitely needs better logging.

June 2018

Marton from AGL

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Excellent support and feature rich product set.

.

Pros

Visualisation of Data Centre assets and agentless discovery Highly responsive and technical support Receptive to feedback on product enhancements

Cons

Some products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases. Some products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases.

March 2019

Hindi - from Arab bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Device 42

Pros

Easy to use and have multiple choices for scanning all platforms

Cons

Application mapping and impact it’s a little complicated tree

February 2018

Maurice from Info.nl

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A one-stop-shop DCIM

It made our datacenter preparations quite easy.

Pros

The ease of use of the tool. It has a great API where you can program against. We used rack view a lot during the migration of our datacenter.

Cons

The IPAM part could use some rework, make it more easy to look at. As far as I know this is already on the roadmap.

March 2018

Andreas from Freudenberg-IT

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Very Good IPAM solution with lots of future potential

Pros

- Easy to use - Tool aligned to current customer and Business Needs - Open for new customer and Business Needs with quick release cycles (Feature request processing)

Cons

- Licensing - Full and direct application HA failover missings

May 2019

Rajesh from Cisco

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Device42 Review

excellent

Pros

Autodiscovery of devices and simple and intutive user interface

Cons

No support to auto discover ucs servers

September 2016

Zack from Jump Digital Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Easiest Data Center Management Software I've Seen

I've used BMC before and I've tested Nlyte, and they are great, but from start to finish this was the easiest one I've seen so far, and from the looks of it, the most comprehensive one. I've yet to discover all of the features, but it looks like it has more to offer than BMC for sure. Loving it so far...

Pros

Ease of installation and functionality

Cons

Price

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Admittedly I have little experience with this software

We never went past the review process. It just wasn't bringing what we needed to move forward. I

Pros

They had some interesting features, i like the rest API and the link to Jira. They did seem very strong in the integration department.

Cons

The overall interface was not what we hoped for. It was difficult for us to find something and all the relationships that were important to us in an efficient manner. Too many click through steps. We were looking for a more complete CI picture.

Response from Device42

Replied May 2018

Hello- Sorry for the late response and thank you for the feedback. We recently released a new version with a new UI and a new reporting engine that should help fix a lot of the cons you posted. Please see the blog post below and if you'd like to setup another free trial please let us know and we'll be glad to set that up and get you on the phone with an engineer. https://www.device42.com/blog/2018/04/device42-gets-a-new-look-in-milestone-release-v15/