All FunctionFox Reviews

1-25 of 193 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jaydra

Accounting, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2023

Excellent product, works well, does what we need

User Profile

Sandra

Verified reviewer

Public Relations and Communications, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Two decades with Function Fox

PROS

As a one-person PR shop, knowing that I can quickly and easily create projects, track my time and do my monthly invoicing in one spot is invaluable and I don't miss billing any of my most valuable resource - my time!

CONS

After two decades, Function Fox features everything I need!

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for your kind review Sandra! We love working with you and your work is amazing. Love what you're doing for Ritual!

Replied February 2022

Lukas

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Great Product Great Staff

My experience with function fox has been great. I've found the support from the company very responsive and the product

PROS

The product is easy to use, with a lot of features. Was easy to learn due to the responsiveness of the team members and built in support. Couldn't recommend it more.

CONS

I wish the invoice ad report side was a bit more customizable but a very minor comment.

Reason for choosing FunctionFox

It had everything I was looking for in the most simple way possible.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much Lukas. Such kind comments. We enjoy working with you.

Replied November 2022

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2020

Limited Use Cases, I Would Go Elsewhere

We use this tool to track projects and our task/actions with for our clients. It does neither well. The tool is very bulky and not a great interface. It does not make tracking tasks easy, and managing my teams hours isn't a fun or easy task due to this tool

PROS

If you're using just for projects, than this tool is OK. It also CAN do task management and gantt chart tracking. It also can track your tasks that you are doing.

CONS

Pretty much everything. It is a bulky interface that doesn't do anything better or as well as their competitors. The tool doesn't make it easy to track retainers, actions, tasks, projects, etc.

Reason for choosing FunctionFox

I was not involved in the process. I've been pushing for years to switch, but we're too far invested in this tool to switch

Vendor Response

Thank you for your honest feedback. We're sorry to hear that this has been your experience and would like to make it right. Please provide your company details as we'd love to give you a refund/credit on your account given your dissatisfaction. Please contact me directly - Corina Ludwig - President of FunctionFox - corina@functionfox.com - 866.369.8463 ext 100

Replied October 2020

Jim

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

We've Been Using FunctionFox for Almost 20 Years

I've been with FunctionFox for almost 20 years, which should speak for itself. It's great software with nearly 100% uptime. They also have excellent customer service.

PROS

FunctionFox has been an excellent service for our marketing agency. It's so easy to track time by employee, client, project, and task.

CONS

I wish the reporting features were a little more robust. I also wish that the retainers functionality had more offerings and didn't cut off after two years.

Vendor Response

Hi Jim, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate your feedback, and your ongoing support. With gratitude, Sara & the Foxes.

Replied December 2023

Ashley

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Function Fox Review-Satori Member

We needed something that combined timesheets with our project management system. FF worked well and helped solve that problem.

PROS

It's very easy to use and has a lot of bells and whistles which is great. My favorite feature is the timesheet feature.

CONS

I wish it had more colors, it's a little blah and grey and boring.

Reasons for switching to FunctionFox

we liked that FF had a timesheet functionality to it all in one program

Terri

Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

We've Used FunctionFox for Years!

Time-tracking is key for our organization as we are a consulting firm that relies on accurate tracking for project management, cost and invoicing. This has been a perfect tool and we've used it over for well over 10 years.

PROS

This program is very user-friendly and is an integral part of our day-to-day operations. As a consultant firm, we needed a time-tracking system that would make important changes as we continue to grow as a company. Honestly, we couldn't function well without it!

CONS

There are some functionality issues that are minor but could use improvement. Moving projects (rather than just clients) from one to another is an example.

Reason for choosing FunctionFox

The fact that it could be customized for the service industry and it's user-friendly ability was key in our selection. FunctionFox checked all the boxes.

Vendor Response

WOW! thank you so much for the kind review Terri. We truly appreciate your detailed feedback and loyalty as a long term customer. With Gratitude Corina and the Fox team

Replied June 2023

User Profile

Carter

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Professional Time Tracking in a Straight-Forward App

FunctionFox is a great tool for tracking time. It allows you to have several users tracking time under projects and tasks, so you can see how your team is using their time. From an agency standpoint, it allowed us to accurately account for our time with clients and realistically price our services. It had integration limitations and was not as flexible as we needed it to be, but for many, it is likely the right tool.

PROS

FunctionFox allows you to set up different account and projects within those accounts to help separate your time into tasks and items of your own choosing. For a marketing agency, this type of tool is essential. Function Fox offers a pretty easy to use system with several features to help make your time tracking experience easier and more accurate.

CONS

We ultimately moved away from FunctionFox because it was not able to integrate into our billing software. We also needed a tool that would be double as a task manager.

User Profile

Travis

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

Great Software to keep track of hours and projects

PROS

We have used this program for a few years now and have found it very easy to track progress on projects, log hours, and make sure that our office is running as efficiently as possible. This has been a great investment for us!

CONS

It took some time to get familiar with how to use the software. Adding gantt charts for project planning would be great, but overall this program fits our needs quite well.

User Profile

Elliott

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Great time management software

Great time tracking/management software.

PROS

Very easy to use and intuitive time tracking software. Great reporting features. We use this to track time for 15 employees and never had a problem.

CONS

Because this is web based it sometimes locks up or we can't access it if our internet is out. A very minor problem that rarely happens.

User Profile

LeAnne

Verified reviewer

Sports, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Life saver

The experience has been seamless. Our company has 125 employees who use this for a time keeping system to track time against retainers and projects. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] made the transition incredibly easy from our old system to FunctionFox. He had us up and running within a few days. One employee has used several different systems on various projects and remarked this is by far the best one she's used "it makes life so much easier"

PROS

Ease of use, up and running immediately, functionality, customer service

CONS

As the administrator I pull reports and the format is more difficult to review than our previous product.

Reason for choosing FunctionFox

It was able to do everything we needed, and it is very user friendly.

Reasons for switching to FunctionFox

Asure software deleted our old platform. The new one they wanted us to switch to was incredibly expensive as well as didn't have any of the capabilities we needed.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the very kind review LeAnne. Very much appreciated and we enjoy working with your team.

Replied February 2022

PHILIP

Packaging and Containers, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Design Resource Tool

Outstanding product!

PROS

I started using this product about 15 years ago. It is a great tool for tracking projects, time, sales dollars vs. time spent per account and many other measurables. It is the best tool I have found that allows Design and sales management to objectively measure the return on design resources spent. The data collected has been immensely helpful to management, and this is the 4th organization that I have introduced to the tool!

CONS

None! Very easy to implement and use, for graphics and structure.

Reason for choosing FunctionFox

I saw an add years ago in ID or Abitare. I had seen the add multiple times before finally realizing the impact this could have on our office, and communicating with upper management regarding hours spent supporting business/individual customers, who our manpower robbers are, and when we could justify additional resources. It is an amazing tool!

Reasons for switching to FunctionFox

It didn't come close to being able to collect the data that we can with Function Fox.

Frank

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Powerful and works well

I went from manually compiling labor from paper timecards, which was difficult for me to keep on top of and employees didn't do as good a job as they should have with their timecards. Switching to FunctionFox instantly brought an about face. The monthly cost is more than offset by the time I save in the office, not to mention all the things that were not getting billed on the old system. I can't recommend it enough, even for very small businesses. The system is very powerful, but I just use the basic features.

PROS

The software has finally freed me from the nightmare that is paper timecards. It's much easier to track labor hours and details on projects.

CONS

It's not always intuitive to find and use features that I don't regularly use, but if I get stuck, the support is always very good and they are quick to answer the phone.

Reason for choosing FunctionFox

I spent many hours researching this and chose FunctionFox because of features, cost and ease of use.

Vendor Response

WOW! thanks for the kind feedback Frank. we appreciate your review and kind details.

Replied March 2022

Lynn

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

FunctionFox is a vital tool to accurately track expenses so you get paid for all you do.

We have used FunctionFox for over 12 years, so that basically says it all. As a company, they have always been responsive to suggestions to better the product and have taken feedback when something isn't quite right, and implemented change or fixes in a timely fashion.

PROS

The time tracking and various reporting and organizing features are vital in making sure we invoice accurately for the work we do.

CONS

The only con is filling out this survey, as it requires me to provide a con for a product that I have no complaints about, and to require it to be a certain length in order to submit!

Vendor Response

Wonderful! So kind Lynn. It's an absolute pleasure continuing to work with you and your team. Thank you for your 10/10 review. In appreciation - there's a little something in the mail for you. Best of the holiday season to you and your team.

Replied December 2022

Brian

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Effective timekeeping for an agency of eight

PROS

The automatic timer is a real plus for most of our staff. The reports function is very robust and affords analysis 8 ways from Sunday. Its daily time entry/timekeeping simplicity has curbed many of our staff's bad habit of waiting until the end of the month to enter time based only on notes and emails. This means greater accuracy, more timely billing options and faster cashflow. Plus our account managers can gather and configure their own reporting for their clients without involving our administrator. Perhaps best of all is Function Fox's lightning fast support and customer service. Best in the business from the tech support perspective and the knowledgeable assistance from our sales rep.

CONS

The only drawback is that it cannot be integrated, or the data cannot be exported, into several of the popular accounting apps. We handle that manually which takes a few extra strokes to generate billing, but the other advantages far outweigh that shortcoming.

Taylor

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2018

Antiquated Time Keeping Software

For the time being, FunctionFox serves the purpose of keeping our team's time but when we have time we will most likely migrate to a new system. There are so many better options at this price point with more features and benefits.

PROS

We have used this product for over 5 years and it is really easy for employees to understand how to input their time. Their customer service staff is helpful when you ask for something directly.

CONS

Setting up backend organization of clients and projects is a bit confusing and difficult. There aren't very many integrations for communication with other softwares and if there are, it is difficult to get them set up. Updates and added features have to be added to your account from a FunctionFox rep.

Heather

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

A great Time & Expense tracking tool for small-ish agencies and freelancers

more accurate billing

PROS

I implemented this software when I owned my own agency of 1 full-time and 2 part-time staff. It helped tremendously to track the time spent on projects and more accurate billing. No more paper time sheets! I always had accurate data when a Client asked "how much time do we have into this". They have great customer service and is fairly reasonable in price even for smaller shops. Reporting is robust. Pretty user-friendly.

CONS

It's missing the Project Management piece. At least in tracking To Do's like Basecamp does. I wish I could have 1 software that does both of these things.

Helen

Graphic Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Super Simple CRM Solution

PROS

We love this software, it's quick, easy and very cost effective. We easily input our data into it, the fields are all editable so is bespoke to us. We haven't had to ask for much support as the software is so easy to use, but when we did the help was fast, helpful and friendly. Function Fox has made the studio run far more efficiently, team members can book jobs in quickly and time sheets are super fast. The retainer option has been really useful too, we can also report on staff productivity and ensure timesheets are being filled out.

CONS

Having worked with the software for a few months I cannot find any flaws with it, we researched many CRM software solutions and most were too expensive or too complex for our needs, Function Fox gives us the option to have a basic CRM system with add-ons available if we want to expand features.

Jeremie

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: