User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(460)

460

4 stars

(198)

198

3 stars

(19)

19

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Sketch Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 672 results

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Dustin from Rocket Note

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

I love Sketch!!!

I love Sketch. I've dropped the practically limitless other options that I've picked up over the years to almost exclusively use this tool for all my designs.

Pros

Easy to use, quick to learn, and an every day tool in my office. I have done everything from web design to logo design to photo editing in Sketch (not recommended, but awesome what can be done). I absolutely love it, and I'm really impressed with the team and pricing model as well!

Cons

Sometimes it is a bit slow to get features that I would hope for (I'm talking to you, dropper tool shortcut key), but overall it just does an excellent job at letting me do my job.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Sketch does everything I need and more. And it's the most cost-effective option out there that has this much functionality. Becoming a standard in the industry.

May 2021

Ken from colab interactive

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Once the best, but less competitive

Loved this product from the moment I started using it, but as a complete solution it's fallen short.

Pros

Sketch is one of the best-designed apps I've ever used (going back 30 years) and it's still a joy. Built from the ground up for UI work, not repurposed like Photoshop or Illustrator. Everything just works, and the plug-in community has a solution for everything.

Cons

Sketch hasn't remained competitive with other products - not so much as a UI toll which it excels at, but prototyping which they never really figured out and relied on other products like Invision to complete

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

At the time XD wasn't ready, got better later but too late for me.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Photoshop as a UI tool is a hack, was never designed for it and did it poorly.

December 2021

Mariusz from Faktory

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Primary tool these days

Pros

Easy of usage, speed, components, plugins, integration with hand-off tools.

Cons

Stability can be better, components flexibility needs improvements

January 2022

Thomas from Thomas Ogier

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2022

A nice tool to design apps & websites

I'm using it as a frontend developer, so when i open the document it's already created by a designer. I use the sketch document to get the visual aspect of the app/website, exports visual elements etc.

Pros

i like how it is possible to manage content & design. It's easy to re-use components / graphical elements in the document and between documents.

Cons

It's not always easy to export elements from a document (icons / components) as a frontend developer when the designer added many effects on it.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

It's faster and easier to design app/websites and export elements from it for the integration part.

November 2021

Romi from Romi Kalathiya Creative design solution

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Pioneer in UI/UX design tool especially for non-designers or UX designers.

Easy to use, quick to learn, and whether you are a designer or a developer you can get your designs done in Sketch. Sharing your designs and especially its inspect features helps to deal with developer needs. I have mostly used it for app designs and sharing assets to clients and developers.

Pros

I used to design UI/UX in Adobe Photoshop and illustrator and it has all the features you need but it's too overwhelming and not ideal for quick Ui design. Using sketch feels much more polished and has only tools that you'll need for UI/UX design and not other unnecessary tools. It's much more simplified and quick to learn. No wonder Sketch is getting popular in UI/UX design community and its wide acceptance in the industry.

Cons

- Not for Windows users, that was really a bummer from the start. I can't say it's a con but the sketch is not a tool for vector illustrations and photo editing. Sometimes when you need to edit the images that you are using in your design or illustration, you can't in Sktch. But you need to understand that it's not the purpose. Sketch is for just basic UI/UX or graphic design tools. Another thing is maybe it was great to have some more features like has in Figma and how it has whole third party plugin supports etc. But as I said nothing major or a deal-breaker.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Photoshop is not the ideal tool for UI/UX design it's a beast of a tool but for advanced stuff like photo editing and manipulation etc. I need a simple and quick tool that was specially designed to fulfill the needs of UI/UX designers and Sketch was the only big name back then.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Jeffrey from designvox

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

It's a dumb version of Illustrator that's somehow become essential

Somehow this bungled mess of a design program has become a can't-live-without UX tool for our company. The tight integration with Invision is probably the reason for that.

Pros

Layers. The layer management is pretty easy considering you can end up with thousands of layers in no time, you don't really have to think about them too much and items are easy to move between groups and layers.

Cons

It's slow. If the comp has over 50 screens, good luck getting anything done. Randomly stops working and spins the beachball for 2 minutes. Saving takes minutes and has no feedback that it's working. Constantly makes my laptop fans spin like a turbine just to change a font color.

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Sketch is better streamlined for UX design. The integration with invision makes sharing and updating easy. Illustrator has its own faults as well.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Nice Software for UI Designer

amazing, Sketch help me to make best UI for project & client

Pros

Sketch make a simple tool and user friendly to user. clean layout and perfect performance for software design UI.

Cons

i just not like expensive. but well its okay, because quality software.

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Sketch have more feature than another software, quality & performance

December 2021

Chandra from IDEA Software Studio

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Many great features but needs prototyping

Pros

Sketch is extremely user friendly because it uses many shortcut keys familiar to MAC users. I have created many wireframes for apps and websites in it to show my company IDEA and as a Springboard student.

Cons

The lack of a prototype feature within this app is actually a big deal to my company. We switch between using Figma and Sketch since Figma has the ability to prototype within the app. It’s too time consuming to transfer art boards to other prototype tools, expensive, and also worrisome. I constantly have to reformat components that didn’t transfer properly. Sketch may lose market share to Figma because having the ability to complete the whole design cycle in one app is important to companies needing to research and bring products to market quickly.

December 2021

Caio from Caio Calderari

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Sketch is great for product design

Pros

Great tool with symbols and lots of features to help you design beautiful interfaces for digital products. Sketch gives you all the tools needed to create professional websites, layouts, apps and more with a complete library and design system if needed.

Cons

Sketch lost the battle of features for other design tools, but it is still relevant and a great tool for designers.

January 2022

Kelly from Randstad RiseSmart

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2022

Try Sketch for a Positive Prototyping Experience

For me, Sketch has allowed me to quickly mockup my designs in a much faster pace than before using this software. It also has allowed me to share and collaborate with others easier.

Pros

Sketch is fantastic for designing simple interfaces and icons. It allows a user create in one simple software. The software is easy, quick to learn, and intuitive. You can do logo design, web design, etc. in Sketch - great for designers who are looking for a quick way to mock their designs up.

Cons

The stability of the overall program could be better. There's also a lack of versions for other systems - especially if you want to use it for a Windows based system. Sketch also has the ability to run slow if you're working on a more complex design.

September 2021

Jonno from Moovit

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Still better than Figma (for us), great for UI design systems, constantly improving

We use Sketch to design our mobile app, web apps, website, and various other things. It's a key tool in our team's work. Figma is giving Sketch a real run for its money, but so far it's a better fit for our team. Competition is healthy, and I hope that translates into constant improvements over time.

Pros

Symbols and libraries - these are the core of Sketch's power. Dynamically updated components that allow individual customisations/overrides mean we don't have to have a million different variants of a given component. Colour tinting on symbol instances is a huge timesaver too, compared to the hacks and workarounds we used to have with layer styles and nested swatch symbols. Export presets make asset export simple - I especially love the use of layer names to create folder structures for export. The SVG export gives better results than Adobe Illustrator for example (more decimal places means higher accuracy). Pressing Enter or double-clicking to drill down within groups of elements is super useful - it'd be even better if there were keyboard shortcuts to cycle back and forth between the layers of a group (i.e. next/previous layer). Plugins - there's a very active ecosystem of 3rd party developers, with tons of useful plugins to extend Sketch's functionality and make up for some of its limitations.

Cons

The vector editing tools feel very limited. For icon design I often find I have to jump to Adobe Illustrator to get the exact shapes I want. Illustrator's vector manipulation tools are both quicker and offer more granular control over various operations. Since layer and symbol names are such a key aspect of asset export, I'd love to have built-in rule-based batch renaming features. The popular plugin RenameIt is great, but why not build this in? The new team accounts are confusing and don't work well. The difference between signing in to an individual account vs a shared workspace isn't clear enough - do I need a serial number or a username and password? Myself and my teammates have had multiple issues with being signed out and getting lost in authentication hell, which immediately cuts us off from our files.

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

One of the best UI design tools in the market

Being a UX and visual designer, Sketch has been the primary software on my computer for years now. Loved the product since its initial release and had been an advocate and a supporter mainly due to how it disrupted the UI design software field. I would like Sketch to improve to keep up with their competition since many designers are now moving to Figma just like how everyone moved from Photoshop and Illustrator to Sketch. Still would recommend any designer to go for Sketch.

Pros

Sketch was the revolutionary software that introduced UI/UX and visual designers with a tool created for that specific task which is creating interfaces. The vector graphic software doesn't limit you there; you are able to create posters, logos or even billboards with its intuitive and easy to learn clean interfaces. The toolbars consist of the standard functions and operators which you usually find in such software. The power of Sketch is beyond the limitations of your own imagination I would say. The symbols feature allows you to create reusable visual components which come in handy when designing multiple interfaces of a product or an app. Going a bit further, these features allow designers to create design languages and design systems very easily as well. There are hundreds of plugins that could be used to further ease the workflow. Sketch also integrates with other tools like Invision (prototyping) and Abstract (version control) which allows the creation of an ecosystem for the designer.

Cons

Sketch in recent years has got multiple competitors like AdobeXD and Figma which sometimes make Sketch fall behind the race in terms of features and functionality. Learning from the failures of Sketch, the competitor products always try to provide better value for money while optimising the workflows for the designer. Major updates from Sketch at most instances lately have been extremely buggy which sometimes even took weeks for them to release a patch. Sketch is only available on Mac which also limits the cross-platform support, unlike its competition. If you are designing a product that has multiple artboards (50+), Sketch tends to become laggy and resource-consuming even on the latest i7 Mac with 16GB of RAM.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Since Sketch is a dedicated UI design software than a general-purpose graphic or photo editor.

February 2021

Amy from Wiro Agency

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Great software for large and very robust projects, does take more time than XD

I like it but I'm moving my team away from using it. We are going to figure out a solution to the symbols issue in XD as overall, XD is a lot quicker to use and to build responsive on. I like sketch but it's just so 'clunky' and in an agency speed and time is important.

Pros

I like the use of symbols. This is crucial to being able to send out successfully to development and makes development time shorter. I like that there are multiple pages that can be used. Really useful for building out different versions, keeping organised.

Cons

Although the symbols are one of the biggest pluses, they are also one of the core issues. They are 'clunky' and make it difficult to iterate quickly. In some ways, components in XD are better than Sketch (asides from there not being a separate page for them, and no ability to build an atomic structure) as they are more flexible. Often I will need to create 8 versions of the same card to accommodate for different instances (sold out, new, reduced, email me, description, no description, 3 lines of text, 2 lines of text etc...) which is very time consuming. XD allows you to do this well. Creating a symbol also no longer sends to symbol page as default which is annoying. Images are one of the biggest bug bares. Images should be locked to scale with frame non locked, like in XD. This makes building responsive a lot quicker. Also just being able to drop in images rather than having to build components with different images as 5 layers down is a massive time hog. File size is an issue. Very laggy and causes my Mac to crash often.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

I switched due to moving to a new agency who used it, since moving to a new agency and running a team I have tried to integrate it but will be discontinuing this effort and reverting to XD

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Sketch is the ultimate digital design tool

I have been using Sketch for many years now. The story is that ever since Photoshop started getting slower and more heavyweight, a tool was needed for fast digital (i.e. not print) design. So Sketch, while a bit simplistic at first, rose to popularity along with industries like UX and modern web & app design. Sketch's biggest competitor is Figma which has many advantages, but for our team, Sketch remains the sleekest and nicest tool for the job.

Pros

Sketch is easy and lightweight. There are many features and enough complexity, but these are all hidden under its clean interface. And that's its best feature, since it makes design easy and accessible. Plus all of its advanced features, like symbols, libraries, styles etc. make modern digital design fun, since you are mostly concerned with what you design, and not working around the tool and its limitations. Sketch is one of those rare cases, where less is obviously more.

Cons

The biggest drawback of Sketch is it is Mac-only. And while for many designers that's not a problem, let's not forget that a) it's communities that have made many design tools and b) since design has become more important than ever, it has become more inclusive and collaborative than ever as well. This means that a Windows version of Sketch could really make a difference in its future. Sketch cloud, while it's getting where it needs to be, development is a bit slow and left behind.

January 2021

Jakub from mediaform, s.r.o.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Robust and reliable

Moving from Photoshop is a bit of a philosophy change, but one you get used to it, the whole design process starts getting much (MUCH) faster. After all Sketch is a design tool and not a photo editor. Functions are being added all the time or fixed or improved and mostly it saves clicks and valuable time. The only issue are shared libraries and collaboration, which the product clearly was not inteded to have included at the time it has been layed out. But hopefully, this will change in future releases.

Pros

You can feel the robustness of the software. It is quick, but at the same time you can feel how it was built with intent. The UI sets the standard of similar design tools and gets constant updates which lead to more productivity and ease of use.

Cons

The ability to collaborate on a project is limited. There is a Sketch Cloud, but generally it is no match for other on-line design tools.

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Is was the most mature product and was de-facto industry standard.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Photoshop was slow and bulky to use and making global changes was difficult. With Sketch the introduction of symbols (and symbol overides) was a nobrainer to switch.

October 2020

Janie from Lunar Solar Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Accessible, user friendly yet powerful software

— Powerful yet simple and intuitive software indispensable in my work day as a digital designer.

Pros

— User-friendly and accessible to designers and non-designers. — User guide is comprehensive and digestible. — Version history ("Revert to.. Browse all versions") gives the option to browse, copy, move, and revert to past document versions which has proven to be a huge lifesaver on several occasions. To my knowledge, no other similar programs offer this feature. — Tools you need daily for layout design, none of the ones you don't (no clutter, smoother performance). — Easily sync to Sketch Cloud in two clicks. — Shortcuts are intuitive (R for rectangle, O for oval– unlike competitors ie Adobe: M for rectangle, L for oval) — User Interface is clean and intuitive, easy to navigate and customizable without being overwhelming. — Compatible with outside scripts: spell check, AfterEffects bridge, Palette Library, etc. — $99 one-time payment is fairly accessible, with updates optional.

Cons

— Color management can be pretty abysmal at times. We've run into issues with clients due to colors not matching on export. — Sketch Cloud does not allow comments like competitors do (InVision). This feature is useful when reviewing with clients, internal QA, internal reviews, etc. — Find and replace is not available for text. — Bitmap editing is available but lowers the image quality significantly

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Illustrator offers too many features for illustration that get in the way of simple layout design workflow.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Best UI design tool for Mac

The most intuitive and effective vector graphic software I've ever personally used. The fact that it's not cross platform may be a deterrent to teams that want to standardize tools, but I don't mind it personally for my own use.

Pros

This is by far the most intuitive user interface design software out there. It is made for screens first, whereas a program like Illustrator has a lot of features built for print first. You can still design screens in Illustrator, but Sketch is built to measure in pixels first and has a much simpler interface. I can quickly mock up a landing page, logo, app screen and more, faster than any other program. They remove a lot from their own interface that I feel can be distracting in a program like Illustator.

Cons

I'm a Mac user, so this doesn't matter to me, but it only works on Mac's for now. Apparently they are working on a Windows version, but as of September 2020 when writing this, there is no known release date. Does not open layered .eps files, so I either use a web based conversion tool or open it using Affinity Designer and converting to .svg to work with .eps layered in Sketch. I find myself wanting to use this interface to create flyers and other print materials as well. I have to go Google dimensions of regular print items to set them properly. While I know that's not the intention of this software, that would be valuable to me and help this software compete with Adobe on print graphics the way they do with vector graphics.

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Pricing structure. Figma is a montly subscription, whereas Sketch is a yearly license. It allows you to use your current version for a few months before upgrading if the budget is tight, or you don't feel the need to update right away. This allows for more flexibility and keeps the overall cost down.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Cost and usability. Sketch is ~$100 per year to get updates. I usually go a several months before updating, and that brings my per-month total down slightly compared to Adobe's suite of tools.

December 2019

Michael from Michael Stebel Consulting, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best Vector Graphics UX/UI Design Tool For Creating iOS & Other Apps

Using Sketch has been a great experience for me. I've crafted some excellent and quite complex designs for new apps. I will continue to use Sketch going forward.

Pros

I love Sketch and use it as my main app design tool. While there is a bit of a learning curve, I think it's worth investing the time to learn Sketch, particularly if you're designing user experiences and interfaces for mobile apps. The ability to create and use templates and components makes it extremely versatile. Also, the design tools, symbol libraries, and editing features make Sketch the best UX/UI design app I've ever used. Further, you can add plugins to add capabilities to Sketch. I use several. One of these allows me to export a design as code directly into Xcode! This saves time when coding a new UI.

Cons

There's little I don't like about Sketch. The only thing I could think of needing improvement is in creating gradients in the Appearance section of the Inspector. While this is extremely powerful, I find it a bit confusing at times.

August 2019

Enxhi from Wearefiber

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Great, lightweight tool for UI design

Whenever I need a UI project Mobile or Web I just think of Sketch, it is intuitive to work on those kind of projects and the size of the outputs are really small compared to other softwares.

Pros

I liked the focus they put on UI design, with lots of templates available in the community, with specific toolsets that were think with UI and somehow also UX in mind (prototyping). I really liked the versioning new feature that came out for Sketch cloud, although I would like to have it for free for personal uses without collaborators.

Cons

It's hard to make illustrations when coming from other softwares that I used to use from Adobe, and for project that are not related to Mobile or Web doesn't look that easy for me to use or achieve my design projects.

February 2019

Dragos from Lifebox Memeories LTD

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Sketch is the best tool for UI/UX designers.

Great software for UI/UX designers, great for sketching, mockups, previews and prototyping. Highly recommend it!

Pros

It's very light weight and easy to use. You'll get the hang of it even if you are a newbie as a designer. The files are well constructed and even if you have lots of screens inside one file, it will open up easily with almost no waiting time. The developers behind Sketch constantly push updates. The pricing structure is a lot different than what Adobe does and I believe this is how things should be. You buy one license per device per year (different discounts are applied for different volumes). You get constant updates through out the year and the interesting part is that when that license expires, you can still use the software forever with the last version you had before it expired. No subscription. You have a big ecosystem of plugins that give you access to some amazing tools like Zeplin.io (for layout exports to devs) and Marvel (for prototyping), but also to independent projects that really make your life easier. Libraries and Symbols are amazing and once you master them, you work will improve tremendously because you won't spend time copying, redoing or modifying repeating UI elements. Exports to different resolutions for iOS and Android UI assets is as easy as clicking three times on a plus button and then pressing the export button. How amazing is that? Such a time saver! You also have prototyping tools inside Sketch to link screens between them, you get missing fonts alert that know which fonts are exactly missing. Overall it changed my workflow completely!

Cons

The image tool needs more work, as it doesn't have too many options to work with. You can fix this with different plugins or libraries. Hopefully more features will be added soon. The preview iOS app worked well in the beginning but now it's just awful. It's worth mentioning that occasionally, when trying to open a file that was created with newer version of Sketch than the one that you are currently using, it won't allow it. This practically makes you upgrade your version.

September 2020

Erik from Ghostery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

High customization, packed full of features, slow performance

Despite Sketch's performance issues when saving and sharing projects to other platforms, Sketch is the standard for web design. I enjoy the clean and simple interface Sketch provides as well as the high level of customization available through first and third-party plugins.

Pros

My team and I primarily use Sketch to design and share projects using the Zeplin plugin for Sketch. The best thing about Sketch is the ability to add and customize an infinite number of plugins to tailor your workflow. The transition from Adobe products to Sketch was almost seamless, and the interface just makes sense.

Cons

The rendering and saving time in Sketch is a huge con. It takes at least five minutes to save a project with about 100 pages and then another 15 minutes to upload those designs to Zeplin. Sketch often uses way too much CPU and seizes up while saving.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

I switched from Adobe XD to Sketch, because I was switching from Windows to Mac OS and Sketch is exclusive to Mac. It is known as the standard for web design, and the rest of my team was already using Sketch which created issues when sharing projects from Adobe XD to Sketch. I have enjoyed the switch to Sketch because of ease of use.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

I like Sketch but there are good alternatives out there too.

Personally, I'm a happy Sketch user however when it comes to projects that require more communication and collaboration, I opt for other tools (Figma!) which my colleagues can use too without Macs and without paying for accounts, etc.

Pros

- Sketch was directly intended for UX people and was a first in the industry for that reason. You no longer had to use tools like Adobe Photoshop which had workarounds but were clearly not intended for UX designers. - You don't have to keep paying for your account. You can purchase it once and keep using it (you just won't be getting the updates but still). They also have student discounts which is how I got started with it a couple of years ago.

Cons

- It only works on Mac. (They are working on adapting this but their [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has a happily Mac-only approach which is not helpful.) Sketch is the reason I bought a Mac in the first place but it makes collaboration a challenge. I can use Sketch, but not necessarily the whole team. - Speaking of collaboration... You could not collaborate simultaneously or even in general at all. This is again something they've been working on fixing but it's not great so far and there are better alternatives for this unfortunately.

Reasons for Choosing Sketch

Sketch less of a learning curve and it's a tool intended for UXers. Figma was considered later so now I use Sketch myself and Figma when the team is involved.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Favorite Design Tool!

I love how quick they are to make bug fixes and that they are always pushing the capability of what the program can do. They also are not shy of plugins and integrations with Invision and Craft which makes them a better product.

Pros

Here's the short list of why I'll never go back to adobe & always use Sketch 1)Command Keys - I LOVE that I don't have to remember crazy key commands to create simple things like textboxes and shapes. In sketch T creates a textbox, O a circle, R Rectangle! So easy to remember! 2) File Size - I can have HUNDREDS of designed screens in a single file and it doesn't take forever to load! The only time I've ever had a problem was with multiple massive photos in a file and still, that was nothing in compared to other programs 3) Symbols - I love not recreating the same button over and over. And that it's easy to create symbols and also change small things with text override. Helps a ton with consistency! 4) Saving! I love auto-save and if I accidentally deleted something I decided I like the revert ability is awesome! I can't tell you the nightmares I had in college because I forgot to save! 5) Plugins - There is an awesome community around this product and they create great tools to make my life even easier!

Cons

It's great they are always trying to stay up-to-date on the latest and best but as they find better ways to do things it sometimes messes up things like symbols and UI Kits which means rework to match the new functionality.

November 2020

Clément from ICAN

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

A diamond of modeling tool

Sketch is a powerful tool however for group projects I have had to export my work to other software several times to work with colleagues or to present my mock-ups to a client who does not have access to the software. Using Sketch you feel like you belong to a private club of experts who cannot collaborate with other designers.

Pros

Precision and organisation are the two things I like Sketch for. The symbols are easy to use together and everything is neatly arranged in its place. With Sketch I can now enjoy the pleasure of being able to design my models to the pixel precision I need to present to my clients and students.

Cons

Prototyping is Sketch's big flaw. You can only go from page to page without creating animations, which creates a brake on creativity and makes it difficult to sell models to a customer. Using Sketch I have to use third party software to prototype my model, it is expensive and impractical. Moreover Sketch is a software only available on Mac and is not free for students, so it is difficult for many people to work with this tool even within the same team.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Figma is a free and a great collaborative tool easy to use. We can prototyping well.

June 2019

Soham from TheAppLabb

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Tons of Plugins + Great Features

My overall experience with sketch has been pretty good, there's definitely a learning curve to the software but once you get the hang of it, it's pretty great.

Pros

The thing that I like the most about this software is the ability to add plug-ins, there are tons of plugins out there which make it very easy to get things done. The layout of the application is pretty decent too with well defined icons.

Cons

The lack of flexibility in importing documents is a big pain point. The competition apps do let photoshop, illustrator and other file formats to open.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Byron from Yum Deliveries Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

A powerful prototyping tool for mac users

I have had a good experience with Sketch as it's simple, fairly priced, and yet powerful.

Pros

It is intuitive and quite easy to use. The plugins make your work so easy and seamless. It has a fair amount of learning resources online shortening the learning time.

Cons

If you plan to use Sketch to collaborate, first make sure everyone in your team uses a mac; otherwise PC users will just be spectators in the project.

August 2020

amiya from Intellectsoft

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

A platform for designing Creative Artwork

It provides many useful tools for testing, creating and designing vector-based graphics, prototype, illustrations and many more. It helps in scaling your content automatically and fit it with its various responsive components. It helps in designing live data, animations etc through its integrated tools and various plugins. It allows users to share and export their designs, creative artworks, ideas with other professionals or developers.

Pros

It helps in designing digital artwork. As it is a vector-based editor, it helps you in resizing your art or images in any size and any dimension without affecting pixels and sharpness of your artworks. It is supportable for MacOs and can be used on the Mac operating system. It helps to design prototypes, icons, logos, app icon design, illustrations, vector-based graphics and many more. It helps in designing Ad banners, illustrations, social media images and various presentations.

Cons

If you are working with team members and your team members do not have the same version of the software you may face difficulties. Skilled persons, professionals or experts are required to learn its complex set of features whereas multiple tutorials and videos are provided to learn sketch. It is also difficult to update its plugins. Its collaboration tools also need some improvements.

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Karan from R/GA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A full-featured but simplified prototyping tool

I absolutely love Sketch as prototyping software - the cons are honestly very easy to overlook because of its overall ease of use. At my company, we use Sketch in addition to other design software to meet our needs - Sketch serves as one (very useful) tool in the design process. It certainly isn't a solution for every design need but it meets ours very well - when we need to throw together a UI for either a demo or for an ideation session, Sketch is our go-to.

Pros

Sketch is easy to get up and running with - even without previous prototyping experience (such as with Adobe Illustrator to build components or using Adobe XD for building interactions), a few hours with Sketch is enough to get familiarized with the software. The inclusion of symbols in Sketch is a huge pro - coming from Illustrator, I was already aware of their application and advantages. That knowledge crossed over easily for Sketch and allowed our team to prototype web and mobile designs quickly and efficiently. Another huge plus is the community surrounding Sketch - their own documentation and a strong community means it's easy to get answers to questions you may have about tooling.

Cons

In building out vector graphics, I still prefer Illustrator. Sketch is limited in the number of features that it has, and I've found that many people turn to third party plugins to make Sketch work for them. That can lead to headaches (additional documentation to learn, maintenance of that third party plugin, getting help quickly for those plugins, etc). Another issue is that Sketch doesn't have support for collaboration. They have a beta version of "Sketch Teams" that will likely be moving into production in the near-future. As it stands, the closest we can get to making Sketch work for teams is Symbols, Libraries and Shared-Styles.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Carsten from GovSpend

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Keeping this short, Sketch is what UI designers should be using - not Adobe anything.

I adopted Sketch with the free beta years ago in desperation of not switching back and forth between apps like InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Pixelmator, Omnigraffle (yup), and other apps that now feel like makeshift solutions to doing proper UI design. Adobe now has XD, but in my opinion, it's too little too late. I'm beyond knee deep in Sketch and far too busy to re-learn what I already know in what feels like OG UI design tool for the modern designer.

Pros

Sketch feels purposeful, like the creators knew there was a hole in the design market that needed a way to do both wire framing and high fidelity mock-ups with ease and the flexibility of Illustrator. Right when you think Adobe's "next big update" is going to make Sketch obsolete, Sketch comes out with the next wave of features, improvements, and 3rd party plugins that just remind you why you've stayed for so long.

Cons

The only con I can think of is compatibility between how Sketch renders vectors with how Adobe uses it. For the most part, you don't have many issues. But once in a while you'll work with some "old school" team that sends you an Adobe file containing assets for your UI project that you'd rather open in Sketch. Then you do, and it's hit or miss. However, a good designer has Adobe, can clean it up and make it usable in Sketch with a little expert know-how.

July 2018

Mario from Koombea Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Sketch replaced all our other design tools

Great product for beginner to advanced designers, it works great to prototype and preview designs right from Sketch, making your life easy. It has a bast collection of templates and libraries to accelerate your design process.

Pros

- It has everything a designer would need - It has toons of great addons and plugins - it works for advanced to beginner designers - I like the prototyping tools to link pages between them - loads easily giant files - the missing fonts warning is great, it allows you to know exactly what is missing - export 1, 2, 3@x is a piece of cake - pricing is not bad, for large group licensing is not expensive - presentation mode, easily hide all toolboxes to focus on what matters most - huge community that makes it easily to find templates and free samples - Symbol management is great, it is a feature that allows you to basically template your own designs most use pieces to not repeat yourself - copy/paste styles, it will allow you to copy sizes, colors, spacings, etc.

Cons

- image tools lacks extra features, you are just allow to crop and use the magic wand - no image distortion, only an un-useful transformation and rotation - most of the great stuff has to be made using 3rd party libraries, would love if the basic feature included more capability for image - sometimes old software version won't allow you to open new versions files forcing you to upgrade your version -

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great tool for designing interfaces and simple vector art/icons

Very good experience. I find Sketch to be a very useful and helpful tool in my daily work.

Pros

It's pretty intuitive in terms of how the features work. It does a great job of organizing your work and helping you keep track of your design work. Plus, the ability to push work to other services, such as InVision, make it a great tool for creating apps and needing to work with developers to slice up images and incorporate elements into the final product.

Cons

I wish written content could be handled better within the app. There are some add-ons out there that will pull content into Sketch via a spreadsheet or JSON file but I just wish there was more consideration given to how content works within design.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Because of the poor customer service.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

The price and 3rd party integration wins

Remember how you dreamed how you could have an illustrator like software that's built to build websites? Well you do, and it's quickly becoming the industry standard for web design, I don't know a single product design studio, web design agency or startup that doesn't require their designers to know sketch. It seems everyone is getting on board. The only creatives out there that don't use it are ad agencies that for some reason are still stuck making websites in photoshop. Oh well.

Pros

How seamlessly SK integrates with invision, the workflow is flawless. I love how sketch (unlike Adobe) really emphasized integrating with 3rd party software. Just create the web comp in sketch, synch it with invision and watch how all the assets flow into your project, along with invision inbuilt ability to create a prototype out of your design and let team members comment it, it's truly the best web design work flow I've seen.

Cons

No direct selection. It drove me crazy, that objects are can't be easily selected and manipulated like they can be in PS/AI. And god help you if try to import any vectors back into illustrator. (crazy nonsensical shapes). Which means the only way to establish a coherent work flow with illustrator, is AI into sketch—never the other way around.

May 2019

Silviu from Felizi Tech S.R.L.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Why Sketch is still my first choice for almost every design task

I have been using Sketch for more than 4 years. I find it easy to use, intuitive. It has great integrations that can automate most of the work. I am really excited about the product and highly recommend it.

Pros

It is fairly easy to use. It can be used for solving many design challenges such as icon design, wireframing, site mapping, prototyping, design system. It has been on the market for quite a while. The software is stable and the updates are constantly improving the value. Its main power comes from 3rd party plugins. It has tons of plugins available that make your life easy and automate some of the work. You can write your own plugin as well. Sketch has established itself as a market leader. Almost any other design tool out there that specializes in one aspect of product design has a plugin for Sketch integration. It is extremely common to start working in Sketch and then exporting it to a different tool.

Cons

Sketch is desktop based and it was built to work fast. Having people working on a shared project can be a bit tricky. There are some workarounds, a couple of external tools that offer functionalities similar to git (software development concept).

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Justin from XOGO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Forget Adobe. Sketch is the best illustration program for the Mac.

It's my go-to solution for all things vector design.

Pros

Sketch is incredibly easy to use and runs perfectly on your Mac. It allows you to knock out UI designs in seconds and can even be used for print design. I've been running our digital signage business and my own tiny digital agency on Sketch for several years now. I've found a couple of bugs over time but they were quickly squashed by the Bohemian team.

Cons

I would like the ability to import more types of vector files. At the moment PDF and EPS work great but native AI and SVG files usually do not.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Taylor from Lucid

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Still top of the line.

I can work quickly, integrate with other software, and stay on-brand with my team.

Pros

Where Adobe towered over the creative software world with established workflows and complicated interfaces, Sketch reimagined the world of UI design in a brand new, simpler way. It paved the way for many of its competitors (Figma, Adobe XD, InVision Studio) by helping the industry see what UI design should really be like. Though some of those competitors have introduced new and exciting features, I've still stuck with Sketch because of how quickly I can work in it is not to mention the low price point. I threw away my Adobe Creative Cloud license and replaced it with a simple Sketch license. Because of its popularity, Sketch also easily integrates into many other ecosystems (like Zeplin and Framer). This makes it an easy choice for a team to begin supporting design within their organization.

Cons

They've been a little slow to react to industry changes (increased prototyping capabilities, increasing importance of design systems) and are setting themselves up to get disrupted just like they did to Illustrator.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

I've moved on to bigger better things

Sketch used to be the leader. It's just not anymore. Use Figma instead.

Pros

Sketch was such a game changer when it first launched. It destroyed Adobe in the UI/UX space but now there are so many players I don't think it's the best option. Sketch is a great tool for web and mobile design. Unlike Adobe products they simplified everything and just gave you the tools you needed to do your job. But like I said I think there are better options now.

Cons

The problem with sketch is it's still a desktop application that produces individual design files on your local machine. This may seem like a small thing but it's a huge problem when you're working witha team and trying to keep versions of your design files in sync. We now use Figma and it's all web based, version controled, and easily shared and viewd by anyone. Think of it this way, Sketch is like saving a word doc on your computer that has to be shared with 10 other people for their edits. Figma is like using google docs where all 10 people can be working on the same doc at the same time and see each other's edits. It's a game changer. So between Figma (my favorite), Adobe XD, Principle, Origami, Invision Studio, and other options, I just don't think Sketch is as good as it once was. (ps... use Figma. It's the best)

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Ryan from Limabean

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Worth it's weight in gold

Overall, it's been an interesting journey learning to use Sketch. I came from an Adobe environment and learning to use Sketch was not a tedious process. Many of its functions are so similar. Only difference is shortcuts and layout, but allows you to do your job without any hassle.

Pros

It's so effective in creating artworks for both vector and raster based graphics and cost so much less than the largest competitor. It also has huge support and multiple plugins helping it become a platform that allows you to link it to other softwares like inVision for instance. It's become my daily driver.

Cons

Not much to hate. Could use some extra polishing in functionality, i.e: isolating graphics & better scaling functions. Not as polished as the Adobe software.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

The company I work for uses Sketch as its main software. Adobe software is in use but not by everyone. So too accommodate my environment, I also began using it and have not turned back since.

June 2021

Michael from Zipcar

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Robust Desgin Tool for Pixel-Perfect Mockups

Sketch is our go-to tool for bringing to life polished digital user experiences. It has allowed us to design quickly and create exactly what we envision.

Pros

Sketch is the most robust design tool for creating polished screen-based user interfaces. They've kept up over the years by adding features like prototyping and basic animations.

Cons

I’m happy to see that they’ve added prototyping, but the functionality really is not as robust as an alternative like Figma. Also, sharing designs in Sketch is inconvenient if your organization is not using something like OneDrive to automatically sync all the files.

February 2021

Francesco from OpenKnowledge

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

The UX/UI de facto standard

I use this daily and i find it perfect for design but it has to rely on many 3d party software (such as invision or abstract) to fill in some gaps.

Pros

This software is the standard for interface design from UX to UI. It helped define the design pattern used in this kind of software so learning it lets you learn of to use any design software. It has a massive support of 3rd party plug-in

Cons

The prototipation aspect is very limited and so is the online collaboration. Sketch teams is slowly being developed but the software starts to show his age against newer competitor such as Figma or Adobe xD

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Zac from Wavetronix

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Still the best

I use Sketch daily to create user experience designs. It’s really the best tool out there right now.

Pros

I love how quickly and easily I can get ideas for interaction design out of my head and onto the screen. I love using symbols to speed up my workflow, and having global colors is great! Sketch really enables me to work effiecently. I combine Sketch with other third party apps to make prototyping easier (even though Sketch does include some basic prototyping). Working with my developers is so much easier because of Sketch. I really couldn’t do my job without it.

Cons

Number one complaint is font styles management. It seems like no matter how hard I try to manage my font styles for a design using Sketch it quickly grows out of control. This includes duplicate fonts styles, non-applied styles, and just chaos in general. This tool could be vastly improved. I also dislike how slow it can get when using some third party plugins. I know that isn’t neccessarily Sketch’s fault, but there is one plugin in particular that I use daily that almost grinds the app to a halt.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Great overall but still lacking some key things

I don’t think I’ll switch to a different product anytime soon, but there are competitors in the industry that are nipping at the heels of Sketch.

Pros

Sketch is specifically created for creating graphical user interface designs, and I love that it’s optimized for that use case.

Cons

There are a lot of things that you still have to go to a plug in to do. Sketch has done a good job of wrapping a lot of these things into the native app, but there are still key things that could be improved: find and replace, layer management, creating and editing paths, responsive/adaptive interface management.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Better optimized for UI design.

October 2019

Ken from colab interactive

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Almost perfect

I use Sketch hours every day, for everything from a quick wireframe or user journey map though app design spanning hundreds of artboards per document. It does everything I need.

Pros

Sketch is built exclusively for building UI. So extra feature you don't need and almost everything you do. The tools are intuitive and feature the functions you need. Some recent updates that improve symbols and shared libraries make it even better.

Cons

Integration with some plug ins is inconsistent. Craft has many problems. And the divide between design and prototyping, or whether to keep everything in Sketch or sync with Invision is a tough one. What makes Sketch good is it's singular focus on design - adding animations and prototyping could take it down the same road others have and been a disappointment.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

Photoshop was not suited for Ui design but at the time it was either that or Illustrator, which for was worse. Sketch got it right because it as design for vector-based UI design, no extra stuff. Plus the layers in PS for big app projects made PS unusable.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Perfect for App Designers Or Quick Photo Edits

Editing photos for works and creating app icons for my personal projects, Sketch provides quick work of them both. Could not ask for a better vector program.

Pros

While not produced by Apple, this is a piece of software that you could see Apple designing if they went for a vector editing piece of software. Sketch is transparent in its most used tools, all which perform excellently. Whether you're creating an icon for a website or an app, or simply editing an imported photo, Sketch is incredibly easy to understand and manipulate at will.

Cons

At its core, Sketch provides all the basic tools necessary to be a Photoshop-competitor, it is meant for more of a digital partnership. There are no print-medium settings, so you're stuck creating digital files for digital realms. In addition, you pay for yearly updates as free updates are not part of the initial cost.

March 2020

Alex from Esper Creations, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Feature-Rich, but Lacking a Robust Colloboration Integration

Pros

This software is the industry standard for digital design. It has all the necessary features that bridge the gap between design and front-end development. It allows for incredibly easy style management and exporting assets is dead simple as well. There are certainly no usability issues with Sketch and it is certainly a very mature and stable platform.

Cons

In my opinion, the core feature lacking in this software would be its collobration features. It's main web-based competitior has a flawless colloboration system that makes working on the same project along side a team incredibly simple. This software does has something similar, but it is not nearly as intuituve as it's primary competitor.

November 2019

Carlos from NV

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

A must have for anyone designing for the web

I'm in love with Sketch. I'm fairly new to UX/UI but not to web design and now my perspective changed completely about the amount of work and integration with programmers that can be achieved with such a simple program. I would recommend it.

Pros

After using Illustrator for the most part of the last 10 years, designing for the web, I felt something was missing. That's when I learnt about Sketch. This is a tool for the modern web designer, it speaks the same language as the people who will convert your drawing to code. It's super simple and makes changes through out your layouts a breeze. I love the recent smart layouts addition. It hard to explain in words, but, if you try it, you'll understand. I also love the ability to integrate with InVision, making prototype sharing very fast and efficient. It's also very light weight app with constant updates and it's fairly cheap to own.

Cons

I don't really like the way you select the tools to draw. I also find it difficult to make complex shapes and object. But I guess it's because of being used to work with Adobe's tools for so long.

Reasons for Switching to Sketch

I still use Illustrator for more tradicional print and digital work, but, for web design and UX, I only use Sketch.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Ashish from Amazon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

The ultimate tool for UI and UX Designer

Awesome tool for designers, Evolving with each release.

Pros

I loved how it's centered to user interface design. We used to use photoshop to design User Interface, though Photoshop is a very robust tool but the features are not UI Design centric, It is capable of doing a lot of things hence UI is not the focus here for Adobe. I love sketch because it is capable of doing one thing and does smartly. Though they have almost all of the basic features required for interface design, Plugins are icing on the cake. If you don't find anything you want the tool to do, 99% chances are you will find a plugin which does.

Cons

The subscription model and backward non-compatibility. You need to renew the subscription annually in order to receive an upgrade and that's okey or how the company will make money. What I don't like is you can't open Newer version of the file in Older version. If you work in a team and 6 people are working on one file, everyone needs to use the same version of the ​software.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Frank from SixPlus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Sketch has all the simplicity of Apple's Keynote with the power of Adobe's Illustrator

Overall, Sketch has been a real timesaver that I simply can't work without. Anyone looking for an easy to use tool that delivers on power user features without sacrificing UX, can't do much better than this tool. Highly recommended.

Pros

Sketch's ease of use is by far its best quality. With a low learning curve, a user can go from firing up the software for the first time to completing a high quality mockup in a really short time. It has none of the intimidation you feel when starting to use an Adobe product whether its Illustrator or Photoshop. In that regard, it's a lot more similar to Apple's Keynote, which had become my mockup tool of choice until I discovered Sketch, which can accomplish much more in a shorter period of time.

Cons

The latest 52.0 release that introduced Dark Mode, also brought slowdowns for large documents. Speed was supposed to be one of the hallmarks of the release, but I've experienced the opposite, with one of my larger documents taking quite a while before it opens on my Macbook Pro.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Best in-class design software for Product designers

Pros

It is amazingly easy to get started with Sketch. There is very little learning curve to get started. It is designed for product designers and you can produce your UX/UI work a lot more quickly than using other software, say Illustrator. The keyboard shortcuts are intuitive and easy to remember, ie R for Rectangcle , L for Line. There are also a lot of 3rd party plugins and integration you can use to do pretty much everything. You can check your color contrast, you can build flow diagrams, you name it. What I like the most of Sketch is it's keeping up to date with the modern product design process. The new Sketch 52 redesign is fantastic, offering killer features like shared styles in symbols. This immediately became the way we build design system.

Cons

The only complaint I have with Sketch is the vector tool. It's kinda cumbersome to use compare to Adobe Illustrator. It is hard to do detailed icon or illustration work in Sketch.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

I can't recommend Sketch enough

Sketch reduced the time it takes our designers to sketch a UI from days to hours, this in turn encouraging them to experiment more and come up with more creative visual solutions.

Pros

I run a startup studio, and that means we build and iterate on software products A LOT. We used to design them in Illustrator, but since we discovered Sketch, the time it takes us to sketch or design a user interface dropped significantly! Sketch makes it insanely easy for designers to quickly sketch out a UI in minutes rather than days. This means they are a lot more inclined to experiment, resulting in better implementations. When we settle on a design, Sketch is powerful enough to allow designers to build the full user interface without switching to a different software. It also integrates well with tools like Marvel to create interactive mockups and Zeplin to export the UI for developers to easily integrate the designs.

Cons

I can't think of anything - it's THAT good!

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Leonardo from Wolff Consultoria

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Best in Class for Designers

Very happy with this tool, we migrated from Adobe CC

Pros

Part of our job is design some user interface elements for our clients, and Sketch is an essential tool for this job. It provides pixel precise interface, a lot of tools to customize the design and create something really unique, and when you export, the design is crisp. It allows export in multiple formats. Get it, worth every nickel

Cons

I can't say anything negative about it, it does everything we need.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 672 reviews