User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(49)

49

4 stars

(32)

32

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Having used this 3 years now, I appreciate being able to access previous years' info and descriptions. The reporting functionality is fantastic and I love being able to see results in real time."

  • "I like the fact that it is very user-friendly. There are various webinars that are helpful, videos that are always accessible, and the GiveSmart helper is very nice. "

  • "What I like most about this software is the customization capabilities and just how easy it really is to use! "

  • Cons

  • "Some things are very customizable, and some things are not. It would be beneficial to have more flexibility and less rigidity on parts of the website design, automated forms/responses, etc. "

  • "I cannot think of anything to improve this software. It was perfect for our event - simple to use and very geared toward serving a volunteer-based event!"

  • "Cost of using the service would be the only negative, and not really a negative because their costs are actually lower than some other options that the organization looked into. "

Browse GiveSmart Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 145 results

May 2018

Kenneth from Combat Wounded Coalition (home of Wounded Wear)

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Military

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

HIGHLY satisfied customer for over 5 years now. Amazing customer support!

Nearly full event management by using this software.

Pros

Easy to use, customize and edit and update. Features offered have improved each year we have contracted with Givesmart. "One stop shopping" for event and auction management. We have utilized more features each year. What started as just utilizing auction management capability with limited effort into making the online auction site attractive has evolved to guest ticketing, table assignments, a highly customized auction site that reflects the event theme and with real time auction progress and bids scrolling on large screen ad televisions throughout the event venue to increase people's competitive bidding nature. After action information has been vital to determining what auction items had the most interests and highest profit margin. Has enabled us to better focus solicitation efforts for the next year.

Cons

Really very few cons for the software. Only limitation observed was limited printing options for auction item description for printing on card stock. There needs to be several options for the size and information/photo of the descriptive card tents.

August 2019

Brian from Sacred Heart Valley Park

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

The best campaign based fundraising tool on the market!

Overall, we were very happy with our decision to move forward with GiveSmart. We recently renewed and extended our initial agreement for an extra two years.

Pros

The flexibility and detail that is offered with in the GiveSmart interface to admins is truly custom. We were able to set up our auction event and run multiple raffles, instant buys, and silent auctions along with our oral auction. The seating/reservations module was an amazing addition to the transparency and planning of our event. In the end, the team support from Givesmart made this transition and the overall event set up so easy.

Cons

The donor receipts are one per item and are not very custom or adaptive. This created additional work that should be captured in the software package.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

The service package flexibility to meet our needs and at least initially help us learn the GiveSmart platform really was the difference compared to what other platforms were willing to consider. The onsite team during the event was amazing and was the reason we extended or contract, we know even as our personnel changes for our event needs' that the customer service experience offered by GiveSmart will be there to help us through and ensures a successful event...for many years to come!

August 2019

Lillian from JANM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2019

First-time mobile bidding user

Online technical troubleshooting is minimal and mostly limited to references to existing articles. Introduction to our on-site event lead was too late, and staff/volunteer training was therefore delayed. More pre-event communication and training with our direct event lead would have been helpful. The customer service provided by GiveSmart staff at registration was poor according to guest feedback. There was little effort in trying to understand the purpose and scope of our event and our intentions in how to use GiveSmart to facilitate our vision. Many guests had trouble with mobile bidding, but did not receive adequate support from GS staff. We instructed on-site GS staff about specific check-in procedures that were ignored; GS staff had pressured guests to provide credit cards despite our instructions.

Pros

Relatively easy bidding, data readily available for auction items, ability to import registrant data with custom fields

Cons

Page customization is relatively inflexible given our organization's needs. Any changes to auction item description input and packaging is tedious given that you have to un-package items to make more extensive changes to individual items. The donor recognition is automated so it's prone to errors. Auction item restrictions are not readily visible on the mobile site for bidders. Item photos can't be saved from the platform. Item certificate and acknowledgment letter formatting is inflexible and flawed. Funds to account are not easily distinguishable between auction and donation, which does not help our accounting.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

Recommendation

August 2019

Jessica from Boys & Girls Clubs of Larimer County

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

GiveSmart Review

Boys & Girls Clubs of Larimer County uses GiveSmart frequently for events and other giving campaigns. It is super easy to set up campaigns and run them yourself. The GiveSmart staff is incredibly helpful on event days.

Pros

User friendly Clean, presentable look Unlimited events

Cons

Setting up new users with passwords tends to be difficult for us

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

We were already using the software, and for a similar price it made the most sense to keep moving forward with GiveSmart.

August 2019

Jessica from Giving Tree Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

The best product I have found in the online event fundraising market

I've worked with GiveSmart for many years -- from the time they were Auctions By Cellular, Gesture and now GiveSmart. I have also worked with competitors and GiveSmart is the best product on the market due to their easy-to-use platform, staff support throughout the event planning process, and their onsite staff teams.

Pros

GiveSmart has excellent staff support and they are always quick to respond to questions, timely with email responses, and most importantly their onsite staff is excellent.

Cons

Not a great platform for live auctions - still not good enough to substitute for an "old fashioned" paddle raise. Lack of customization (font size, spacing around images, content) opportunities for the auction displays.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

I have used the alternatives and both have poor customer service and confusing platforms in comparison to GiveSmart.

August 2019

Brandi from Boys Girls Club of Mid Central Coast

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Perfect Addition to Our Events

We looked around for awhile at a lot of different products before we settled on GiveSmart. Ultimately this one provided everything we needed with the perfect value for our money. So glad I found it!

Pros

Very user friendly, all of the features we were looking for in a software program.

Cons

There are certain things we cannot change/update ourselves. We have to contact support and have them do it.

August 2019

Bri from BISSELL Pet Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Improving their platform more and more each year!

GiveSmart makes it easy to enjoy an event/fundraiser by taking care of all customer needs and questions.

Pros

The event page was a very clear and concise hub to drive people towards our silent auction. I loved the customization that allowed you to match the design of the link to your event, in addition to the generic donate button.

Cons

The fact that the back end of the items tab didn't show a photo preview icon on each line. Also, that there isn't a comprehensive final report you can direct download all at once. Instead, you must click into each category of results you want to see one by one and download.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

We liked parts of Gesture and GiveSmart, and now that they're combined, it was very impressive to work with them this past year. They also improved their customer service in comparison to previous years.

August 2019

Amy from The Animal Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

GiveSmart is a smart choice!

Pros

GiveSmart is a great platform for events -- either DIY or staffed by their team. I've worked with them for many years in three different organizations. They are solid, professional and goal-focused.

Cons

There are some limitations with customization for displays, but that's minor, in my opinion.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

My experience with GiveSmart is that it's worth the price. We used Gesture for a couple of years, but am thrilled that they are now part of the GiveSmart group.

October 2019

Monica from Virginia Hispanic Chamber

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

It is pretty to use, but oh boy, it has gotten expensive!

I have to say I had a really good experience in general. I was able to design nice pages, sell tickets, collect data, etc. Customer service was good and responsive. I only left the software because of the price and the limitations on the amount of events per year they were offering me.

Pros

This software was very friendly and super easy to use. Design-wise you are sort of limited, but this is almost a drag and drop type of thing, so I would say you don't have to be a designer to make your page look good. The customer service was pretty good as well.

Cons

the admin section with all the automated email was kind of messy. Since it got bought by Giving Smart the price doubled

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

I would choose 501 Auction if it had a better price and unlimited events per year. It is very easy to use, but the financial part makes it difficult to buy for small non-profits.

August 2019

Anna from Mychal's Learning Place

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

First Time Admin and I am already loving it!

Pros

Everything is centrally located on the campaign dashboard and you can use it with other events as well. Allows for ease when trying to organize many events.

Cons

Because there are so many features to this software, the learning process is a little daunting. However, once you get through it you'll have all you need to make sure that each campaign is successful.

August 2019

Edna from Assistance League of St Louis

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Fun, Easy to Use Software

The first year, we did not feel the support was adequate on the night of the event. Last year, we had a dedicated GiveSmart person in our organization and we were very satisfied with the support we received. Also, the support from the beginning of the campaign until weeks after was very good. We are a nonprofit organization composed of an all volunteer workforce. We needed help and it was available. We are using GiveSmart again this year. We look forward to another successful event.

Pros

We use this software for our annual fall fundraiser. We utilize the functions for Silent Auction, Live Auction, Ring The Bell, First Choice, etc. it is extremely easy to add, delete and correct items. Downloading the reports to Excel take seconds. If mistakes are made, they are easily corrected. Our members enjoy using the product, even though many of them are not computer literate. It’s easy to use! We have had a lot of success using this software.

Cons

I wish the list of available reports had names that better defined the reports.

August 2019

Richelle from DSA Boston

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

501 Auction to GiveSmart

I have used 501 auctions for a few years until GiveSmart took over. This is our first year working with the new company since the change and so far we have had a good experience. We assigned one staff member for all of our events, so it is great to have the same person so they are able to get the feel of the organization and the population we work with. Rather than having a new GiveSmart team member every time.

Pros

A pro of GiveSmart is the flexibility of being able to have several different campaigns for all the different events you are hosting. We have 4-5 events a year with silent/live auctions for each so this is a great way to use online bidding for each event. With the online bidding we are able to widen our reach to individuals who do not attend the event . We have seen an increase in money raised from silent and live auction with this feature. This also takes away the annoying bidder sheets and having to text/email winning bidders. The system will automatically send them a text that they have won an item and provide the item number. Another great feature is you can customized tests that goes out to bidders and attendees. This is a great way to keep your guest up to date with auction information and send text to encourage them to donate.

Cons

One con is you can not batch checkout any accounts that are 1,000 or more. A good portion of our guests usually donate/bid over 1,000 at our bigger events of 300+. This is going to be time consuming to checkout all of these individuals. It would be helpful to select the amount for each event since the giving culture at each event varies.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

n/a

March 2018

Elizabeth from Portsmouth Christian Academy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

The 501 team is great! We've increased gross revenue by over 30% in three years.

Increased revenue. Having 501 here on event day allows me the ability to interact with my guests more easily. They are a a great team and they have worked with us for three years doing a phenomenal job of making our day run smoothly. No more fear that the software will crash or the credit card terminals won't work on the day of auction. Each has happened multiple times in the seven years before 501. Our auction is visible to guests in real time! We get to add items every day and update details as needed when needed. It has helped with sales. Overall, this is wonderful software to use for auction events.

Pros

Data entry is easy and it is web-based allowing me the ability to work from home or on the road. The software is very user-friendly. The financial tracking and ability to email guests from the software is a plus also!

Cons

Donation receipts are sent to donors per item - I'd rather the receipt could reflect as the bidder receipts do. One receipt with all their items in one place. Some of our donors can receive up to 40 emails from me which actually means that I have to write them letters instead of using the email function. I'd like to be able to track volunteers on the software as well. To be honest, I have been keeping a list of suggestions for some software platform enhancements. It would be nice to be able to customize the software to our specific needs.

May 2018

Allison from Christ Church Preschool and Kindergarten

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Excellent customer service and product was perfect for our 250 person fundraiser!

Streamlined auction process before, during and after event. We went "paperless" and didn't have to fuss with paper bidding forms and associated headaches. We raised more than $10,000 more than we ever raised before using an online bidding system. We look forward to using again next year!

Pros

Very easy to navigate the dashboard to build fundraising website and to upload pictures and descriptions of auction items. Bidders loved how easy it was to register for the silent auction, and we benefitted greatly from launching the website and opening the auction prior to the event. There were many easy tutorials for our volunteers to watch so that they could get comfortable with the online bidding system, and they were well equipped to handle questions from guests. We benefitted greatly from having an onsite specialist with us at the event. She was extremely professional, smart, highly capable and knowledgeable about the software, and she worked nimbly and confidently throughout the night to answer any questions and even offered suggestions that contributed significantly to the success of our auction - and on top of that, she was very enjoyable to be with! After the event, we were able to easily close our books and to process all payments (a significant improvement from many years of dealing with cash and checks and tracking down payments) and to run reports providing incredible data for us to review and learn from.

Cons

I cannot think of anything to improve this software. It was perfect for our event - simple to use and very geared toward serving a volunteer-based event!

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Amazing event support

GiveSmart provides much needed day of event support as well as an easy to use interface for auction bidding. Reporting has helped ease the closeout process and assure everyone receives their items and we receive payment. They send continuous follow-up to donors for payment post event. You also have access to crowdfunding for 6 months after your event has ended.

Pros

Easily create auction website to link to your website. Bidders receive texts when they have been outbidded. You are able to create endless silent and live auction items for your page. Event support is so responsive and you are able to customize your support needs for in state and out of state events. Their team arrive to your event with ipads to complete donor bidder profiles on site. They will come to your booth in exhibit hall and encourage people to register for bidding. They are super friendly and outgoing and are great as live auction spotters. They raise far more than their cost and double our giving. You are able to even enter in different pledge amounts as donation items on the auction site.

Cons

They are a little costly however it's worth it for a smooth, successful event. I do wish the website was a little more attractive and grouped the silent and live items together. The items appear kind of small and cramped together.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Good event fundraising and mobile bidding solution

Good overall experience, we will use them again next year. Custom service for the software is very responsive. Most of the people they send to the event are very polite and professional, but we have had a couple of people that have not been the best at representing our organization.

Pros

We have used this software for two years now for our annual charity golf outing. It's a fantastic tool for mobile bidding at auctions and overall "day-of-event" fundraising. Easy to use and navigate. In addition to the software, you get actual people that run the software the day of the event.

Cons

One challenge I have found is that the information from last year's event doesn't carry over to the next year. Since we typically get a lot of the same donors, I have to re-enter donors from scratch instead of having the system "remember" them from last year.

Response from GiveSmart

Replied December 2018

Thank you for the positive review of GiveSmart! We greatly appreciate all of your feedback. Good news is that you are able to transfer the information from your previous event to your next year. The only information that would not be available is the actual credit card information, for obvious reasons we would want to keep that secure. Please connect with your Account Manager and they will happily help you do this for the next event!

August 2019

Camellia from Brophy College Preparatory

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Auction & Reservations

GiveSmart was such a game-changer for our event. It streamlined the entire evening and provided a smooth way for our guests to interact with bidding, and our team to coordinate the winning details. The reports were a great feature, and having the details instantly was a huge win. Our account manager and the support staff in the chat feature were always very responsive and helpful.

Pros

We love the functionality of live-time updates in a program that tracks and manages the bidding at our auction. It's wonderful to streamline both bidding participation and ticket reservations all in one place. And the support team at the start and end of the night is a great feature to have day-of.

Cons

There are a few functionality pieces we wish we could have customized to our specific group. Not every component of the reservations process is editable, and that would have been helpful. The support staff was great to have on-site, but some of them seemed very confused by the program and the flow of our evening. It would be nice to have slightly more aware team members to help, or even a training with them the day before the event so everyone was on the same page. A few of the support team members gave inaccurate information to our guests.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

Responsiveness, the DIY event add-on feature, and colleague recommendations.

August 2019

Annette from UNC Asheville Athletics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

GiveSmart Review

It has been a great relationship for us. We had onsite support for our first event and she was fantastic (and kept me sane). They are usually timely with responses. The only difficult time was when we were sent the wrong cc swipers for an event. Luckily we were able to get it rectified prior to the event date but I kept getting pushback as it was something we were doing incorrectly instead of having the wrong equipment that GiveSmart gave to us directly.

Pros

+It incorporated everything we needed from ticket sales, to auction items to general donations

Cons

-The display banner that showcases the donor names isn't customizable. You can change the color of the font or other display features.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

GiveSmart had a flat pricing model as well as onsite support if needed. Also the cc option feed was easier through a University-setting.

December 2018

Kenneth from WW

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

BEST ONLINE AUCTION RESOURCE OUT THERE

Cannot sing their praises more. If you want to go with a group that honestly cares about wanting to make your event a success, use GiveSmart.

Pros

Customer service is INCREDIBLE. The organizations has utilized GiveSmart for 4 years and has never had an issue. When they assign an event representative to you, you can be assured that any question you may have in setting up the auction site or any technical problems that you may have will be resolved immediately by the assigned rep or they will ensure that they find the right person to correct the issue or answer the question if they cannot immediately help. In addition to the auction management, their pacakge allows for FULL event management; everything from

Cons

Cost of using the service would be the only negative, and not really a negative because their costs are actually lower than some other options that the organization looked into.

August 2019

Patricia from Valdez Museum & Historical Archive Association, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Affordable single use platform

We decided to try GiveSmart for a second year. We felt that we learned so much from the previous year that it would not hurt to try it one more year. We are a small organization with older donors so we are manipulating the software to work with out the online bidding. The live auction works great. Silent is a bit of work but we think we have it figured out this year.

Pros

Excellent reports. table seating. customer relations management.

Cons

Last year we were not familiar with the software an did not have enough training. We did not know that day of support was an option.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

affordability

March 2018

Leah from Operation Home

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Amazing product - really enhanced our events for staff, volunteers, and guests

Increased revenue from auctions. Great feedback from guests who love bidding on their phones. A HUGE decrease in staff hours as the software does all the tracking and reporting for you. A quick, streamlined check in process. Ability to communication with all "bidders" during the event and post event follow up (text messages). The platform is so user friendly that I save a lot of time in training volunteers and explaining to bidders how to use the program. 501 has guides/manuals for EVERYTHING really helps volunteers and guests. Basically increased money and saved time which is very important for a non-profit. I have recommended 501 to several non-profits in the Charleston SC area!

Pros

The ease of using the software for check in, auctions and event communication/followup. The online aspect where people can bid without attending event. Our event specialist Serina D'Angelo is so helpful and proactive!

Cons

Nothing! I really like all aspects of the software from running the event to reporting and the staff is great!

August 2019

Brandi from Bill Wallis Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Definitely recommended!

The company & employees are top notch, knowledgeable in their industry, and seem very eager to help. We were able to get some items/issues addressed and fixed prior to launch. Other items were 'dealt with' on our side because there was no work around. They have rolled out a couple of changes we requested as product enhancements since then. Reporting leaves a lot to be desired, but you don't realize it until you are in the thick of it. Was cost comparable to other companies we researched and worked with.

Pros

We have worked with the company for several years now on a single event and have appreciated the seamless transition from year to year on the event. We are now planning to utilize it for other events and look forward to working with their great customer support group!

Cons

Some things are very customizable, and some things are not. It would be beneficial to have more flexibility and less rigidity on parts of the website design, automated forms/responses, etc.

March 2018

Sarah from The Tewaaraton Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Excellent customer service. Great software and easy to learn and use.

Raised more money for our silent auction and appeal. Ease of ticketing and check in at our event.

Pros

It helps us maximize profits at our fundraisers by making everything so easy. We can spend more time interfacing with people and less time worrying about our website and checkin. The staff at 501 is absolutely amazing and the online instructions answer all my questions.

Cons

I use it so much that sometimes it (or I) get confused as to my password if I have more than one event site open.

March 2018

Emily from Fountain House

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great!

Each year, we have our fundraiser, Mad About Art. We raise money for Fountain House Gallery, which is a program of Fountain House. This event raises money to break the stigma surrounding mental illness. We feel as though 501 Auctions helped us in making the auction run smoothly and with the fundraising and financial processes.

Pros

We found that 501 Auctions helped us with fundraising. We love having the laptops at the event for check in. People were able to bid easily for auction items on their phones and during the paddle raise.

Cons

In handling the back page of 501 Auctions, there were a couple of things I found confusing with uploading/exporting data and reports. I also found it was tedious to upload the auction items with images to the back end- because I was unable to do it globally, but instead one by one. Our account manager, helped in the uploading process and this was extremely, extremely helpful!

August 2019

Val from Gio's Garden

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Great System

GiveSmart support is always quick and helpful. Overall GiveSmart works for us, but I wish it was a little more user friendly on the admin side for sponsorship groups and groups of tickets.

Pros

This system works very well for us for its silent auction capabilities. Easy to use and increased our revenue from a paper system. Also great for instant buys (wine pull, raffle tickets) and donations. Easy to use system for guests.

Cons

I wish there was more flexibility in the ticket purchasing side. Guests that are part of a group of tickets that have been pre-purchased are not able to go on to update their own information. This makes the check-in process longer as we try to capture the information that is needed (addresses). Did not like having to buy their specific swipers at such a high cost to use once a year.

December 2018

Brandi from Boys & Girls Clubs of SMV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Everything I've been looking for

We have been looking for a mobile auction software service for a long time and finally found a good one within our price range. Although there are things that need to be worked on, overall i am happy with it and would recommend.

Pros

Online Auctions that you can make live before the event. onsite reps from the company that are very knowledgeable about the software and product. The site is easy to maneuver through and the reports are easy to find what you need.

Cons

There are things that you have to have the company set up for you that you should be able to set up yourself such as who should be receiving alerts for donations, etc. Also, since the tablets the reps bring to events run on data you'd think there wouldn't be any lag time but at each event we've had, they've kept shutting down which made for a back up at check in with guests waiting. At our first event, we were supposed to have 2 reps show up and only 1 did. We had to wait for a refund as we'd paid for 2.

August 2019

Chris from St. James Catholic School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Great way to improve your auction

Overall, this software has helped us organize our dinner auction better, have a faster checkout and engage our guests earlier.

Pros

Easy to use. Downloadable reports. Mobile friendly

Cons

Entering items and descriptions are very time consuming. IT would be nice to figure out a faster and better way to do this

January 2019

Kaitlyn from DSA Boston

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great for Events

They have great support and assign you a contact person which is very helpful. Overall great to work with and I would recommend to anyone running and auction.

Pros

This software is great for events and if you elect to have a staff member come to the event (additional cost) to provide on-sight support it really makes the event run smoothly. The software is great because it allows you send push notifications to bidders and encourage higher bids.

Cons

The interface is a little outdated and could be made more user-friendly. Also, the information sheets for the auction items aren't very pretty or large so we usually make our own. The company just got bought out, so I am not sure what it will transform into within the next couple of years- something to keep an eye on.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Amazing account manager and service, great tools on site

Realized areas to improve, improved efficiency, and positive feedback

Pros

We could manage the event from registration, check in/out, and silent auction/raffles/games, the all in one aspect was an advantage The financials, inventory of donations, and the silent auction results really helped highlight missed opportunities Texting, basket print outs, max bids, etc were great as well. Being able to have all 30+ volunteers log in to assist with bidding, max bids, etc was wonderful

Cons

Visibility of the tickets and what was included with each ticket was important for check in to give bags, wristbands etc. We ended up printing cheat sheets for volunteers. It was difficult for in-kind sponsors to be registered for the event we had to discount off the total and record the donation separately. We did have a little difficulty with receipts before the event but it may have been user error.

April 2018

Kaitlyn from Ellie Fund

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

501 has revolutionized our event management process! We are so happy we chose 501 Auctions!

We improved the onsite and pre-event management of all event elements from guest lists to auction management. Everything is so easy to use and the support is incredible.

Pros

The support we receive on-sit eat events is incredibly helpful, as is the support leading up to the event. The software is so easy to use and manage but if you ever have any issues, their staff is quick to respond and solve any problems. The customization potential is incredible, each event is unique and the event solutions that they present are phenomenal.

Cons

There really aren't many cons to 501 that I can think of. One minor thing is the webpage editing features. It can be quirky and I have had occasional difficulty uploading images and links. However, 501's support is so helpful and anytime I have run into any issues they have been able to help almost immediately.

May 2018

Ben from About Face Theatre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Such an upgrade from doing an auction on paper. Can't believe we waited so long to make the switch.

Ease of use and real time results. Also having GiveSmart employees at the event.

Pros

Having used this 3 years now, I appreciate being able to access previous years' info and descriptions. The reporting functionality is fantastic and I love being able to see results in real time.

Cons

1. I wish we could have several screens for the same item. Silent Auction packages are sometimes made up of a few items and it would be nice to showcase those items visually on more than one available page. 2. Similarly, the automated process of creating table tents/placards for your project is not ideal. The available space for an image is too small, as is font size. You don't want people squinting at your package descriptions.

May 2018

Judi from Sunrise Association

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

The technology allows us to run great auctions and easy registration.

Pros

It makes every aspect of running the inside logistics so much easier. Auctions raise more money, texting keeps all communications flowing and ultimately drives revenue.

Cons

There's still some room to grow and some features that can be implemented that would be so helpful.

August 2019

Sophie from Denver Scholarship Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

GiveSmart for Nonprofit Events

Pros

I have used GiveSmart for three events now and each time it has been easy to set-up, use on the day of the event, and pull reports post event.

Cons

Nothing really. It is super easy to use and each time I have had a questions I have found an answer on the help page.

August 2019

Carrie from St. Joachim School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Givesmart is the best!

We have had a great experience with Givesmart! They are knowledgeable and helpful with regards to every aspect of our events!

Pros

We love the online support as well we the staff that assists at our events!

Cons

I can’t pick anything that I liked least. It was such a great solution for our team!

August 2019

Stephanie from Pediatric Therapy Network

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2019

Limited functionality and customization

I wish the people selling the product and facilitating its use had actual fundraising experience

Pros

My staff had used it before and thought it was easier to use.

Cons

Lacked basic software capabilities and extremely limited customization

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

Because my staff requested it and my price specifications were met.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Great for Events

Pros

This makes it easy to fundraise for special events like golf tournaments or galas.

Cons

There are some functionalities that cannot be changed- like being notified if a general donation (not ticket) is made and tabs/website layout.

August 2019

Amelia from Big Shoulders Fund

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

GiveSmart Review

Pros

It is very helpful to have additional staff onsite to assist guests and with check-out.

Cons

The reports and formats can be improved.

August 2019

Michelle from Montini Catholic High School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Advancing our Advancement

Pros

With the GiveSmart software we are able to provide instantaneous reports, detailed information and trends to our committees and boards. The analysis helps us plan for future events and activities while also relieving our staff of some of the tedious reporting that used to take days to complete.

Cons

Sometimes the closing of an event or checkout of guests who have paid after an event or didn't make a payment can be confusing and tricky for both our staff and the guest.

August 2019

Shannon from New City School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great Product and Results

Pros

The software allowed us in real time to see purchases and where we were compared to goal. We were able to adjust tactics during our event to ensure we reached full potential. Without the software we wouldn't have known where our efforts needed to be focused.

Cons

Having to enter in multiple items for something like our t-shirt sales, was laborious.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

Because it seemed the most user-friendly, easy interface and much more cost efficient for our organization, allowing us to direct more of the proceeds towards our financial aid support.

March 2018

Rachel from National Fragile X Foundation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

501 is invaluable and we can't imagine running a fundraiser without it!

Increased profit and ease of use at the event

Pros

My favorite part of the software is that we're able to do so much on the website prior to the event so we can actually enjoy the event more. The customer service is amazing. Bidding online has changed the way we do fundraisers and I can't imagine going back to paper bidding ever again. Our income has increased exponentially because of the ability to bid online from anywhere.

Cons

There honestly is nothing we don't like about the software. It's made our lives so much easier and I tell everyone I can about it.

August 2019

Chelsea from Rising Star Outreach

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

GiveSmart Review

So far my experience with GiveSmart has been great!

Pros

I like the fact that it is very user-friendly. There are various webinars that are helpful, videos that are always accessible, and the GiveSmart helper is very nice.

Cons

I wish that this software was easily implemented into DonorPerfect.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

We liked the professionalism of the GiveSmart team members.

August 2019

Tracy from Kindervelt

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

GiveSmart for Nonprofits

Our organization uses GiveSmart for silent auction bidding, live auction bidding, event registrations, text-to-donate, and more. It has benefited our nonprofit in many ways; ease of use, reaching more supporters, and great record keeping. It is so easy!

Pros

GiveSmart is easy to use and has increased our fundraising by thousands of dollars. The staff is very accessible and make using the product easy.

Cons

We have had a few issues with event managers and workers, but nothing that wasn't worked through successfully.

Reasons for Choosing GiveSmart

It was used by a member and we approached them and never turned back.

April 2019

Hailley from Food & Beverages

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Easy to use for the most part!

Pros

I train on-site staff with GiveSmart weekly, and the software is usually very easy for them to pick up and use, which makes my life a lot easier! There are lots of reports available for the client as well.

Cons

There are some needed features that myself and my colleagues have requested, such as: ability to check in 2 guests at once, easier way to add credit card to guests that are already checked it, etc. Hopefully these features will be rolled out soon.

March 2018

Mary Ann from Life's WORC

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I've been very pleased with the user friendly software as well as the project managers I've dealt with.

The registration process at an event is easier since we can scan people's credit card information. Prior to using this software, each time someone purchased something I would have to process their credit card again.

Pros

I like the way I can check to see what people purchased as well as the names of people at tables or golfers names. It saves me from having to contact people & ask for names.

Cons

I wish when I get a confirmation e-mail for a purchase, that the person's contact information would be in the email. Now I have to download a financial summary & look for contact information.

August 2019

Makenzie from Habitat for Humanity Northwest Harris County

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great product!

Incredible - friendly staff, beautiful and easy software

Pros

- Clean presentation and good aesthetics - Great functionality and quick to respond - Encompasses everything you need to run a successful event! - Easy for the admin to upload/use/change items

Cons

My only complaint is that the staff person we purchased with the software did not make her flight for our event so we had to make-do with our own knowledge. However, GiveSmart compensated us for this issue and has been a great in helping to prevent that from happening again

March 2018

Jenny from IYRS School of Technology & Trades

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

501 staff are always very helpful and available both leading up to and during the event.

Pros

The convenience of capturing all info in one place - both guest and auction info, as well as financial reports.

August 2019

Katie from GritCycle

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Would absolutely recommend

Great! Both customer support and the system itself has been really great to work with.

Pros

Ease of use, definitely. Reporting is easy, POS/refunds are a dream, and I really like how easy it is to set up every year.

Cons

I'd like to see more customization options! Like creating our own URL, an open API that feeds more readily into our booking software, more photos/colors/button looks. Our event is unique in that it's two parts and has a fitness component, but more customization would be great.

August 2019

Nadine from Freedom Service Dogs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

GiveSmart makes things easy!

GiveSmart is a very attentive, knowledgeable, and organized company that really has seemed to master the event registration process from start to finish. As a nonprofit event professional, it is so nice to feel completely at ease about the aspects of our events that GiveSmart is a part of.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the customization capabilities and just how easy it really is to use!

Cons

I can't think of something right off-hand that I dislike about the software.

March 2018

Julie A from Development Strategy Consultants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

501 is a service that now after using I can't imagine running an auction event without!

Pros

Userface is very simple and intuitive for guests. The auction functionality is streamlined and very easy to organize and print. The financial reporting is very valuable and makes reconciling the event a breeze.

Cons

There is room for improvement in the offline gift entry. The process could be easier for administrators to upload sponsor information. Perhaps a way to do more than one at once like in an spreadsheet upload.

May 2018

Cheri from Longhouse Council, Boy Scouts of America

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Mobile bidding is a great component to running a silent auction.

For the past two years, since utilizing the service, our revenues have increased by 20-35%.

Pros

Love the ease and user-friendly app. Also, our first year utilizing the mobile app netted us a 20 percent increase In auction revenue. Our guests love the option to bid two weeks prior to the event as well as sitting in their chairs during the event bidding on items.

Cons

There are no cons. This product is well worth the money! The system is easy to understand and operate.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 145 reviews