All Shop-Ware Reviews

1-25 of 158 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

TJ

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

I like it

PROS

Customers love the presentation of pictures and recommended repairs as clean line items with totals. Get ready to increase ARO 50%

CONS

I wish there was more color for the user interface and ability to flag recommendations as “customer concern” “safety” and “maintenance”. As well as more in depth visuals for capacity in the workflow area. Like quickTrac shows how many hours are sold but waiting to be produced by individual technicians and the shop as a whole. I understand both of these are in the works.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Ability to share database across multi shop

Brandon

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Great company to team up with.

Because it is an internet based program, everything is so simplified. The parts ordering integration works really well and speeds up the process of getting the customer handled as quickly as possible.

PROS

Ease of use is incredible. After having ROWriter and then being sold Protractor, ShopWare is in a class of its own.

CONS

I haven't really experienced any cons. I can run it with my iPad from anywhere as long as I have cellular signal.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

For my decision the upfront transparency was a big thing. The company spent a lot of time with getting us to a point where we understood the product and got us training videos to watch to make sure we were making the right choice for us. Also, the rep was always available when there were questions asked prior to purchase.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Ease of use, .com based, They tried to make protractor work like old school Reynolds and Reynolds or ADP which are franchise dealer based. Swing, and a miss!

David

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2022

As a tech don't recommend

Sulfur would probably be great if you've never used any other software before. However once you've used a few other systems. For example shop 4D all data manager or auto text me you quickly learn the lack of features and organization that the system has

PROS

The system does work well in the sense it's not glitchy

CONS

The Lack of organization and features. Difficulty to use on a basic mobile device

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Company ownership change

Matt

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Game Changer

They initial switch over to Shop-Ware was the most difficult part. But once everyone was trained and use to using it on a daily basis is has made work flow easier and productivity smoother all around. We've never looked back!

PROS

The software allows for best transparency and communication between or staff and the customers. A lot of our new customer complement on how convenient the program is to use on there end, and how it makes the transaction of getting information about their vehicle to them much easier than other shops they haveused in the past.

CONS

The software is being updated with new features on a regular basis, which is also good. But the updates can sometimes cause bugs or glitches when they are released, Which cause confusion during regular use.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

The program was not able for much of any customization and did not offer web-based communication or for graphic interface between staff and customers.

Pat

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Excellent Shop Management System

Our overall experience with Shop-Ware has been wonderful. From the sales side, to the implementation and transition, to the support side - we are very happy. We fully believe that to be successful in our business we need the best people and the best tools available, and Shop-Ware has proven to be just that. It has helped us grow our business!

PROS

Customer review of work order including technician's notes, photos and videos is wonderful. Puts the customer at ease and allows full control of their decisions. Parts integration is wonderful; 6 vendors at the touch of one button rather than individual phone calls, websites and passwords. Digital Vehicle Inspections is also great.

CONS

Reporting is a little on the light side; data can be found and manipulated with a little effort.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

Best value for the money, and seamless integration of digital inspections

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Shop-Ware is part of the "next generation" of shop management systems; fully cloud based and viewable on any size platform. It brought us into the 21st century for capability and performance.

phil

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Transparency realized

Amazing company to work with and grow with. Customer service is unmatched.

PROS

Shop-Ware is easy to learn, clean, collaborative, easy for clients to interact with and improves productivity. Love it!!!!

CONS

I wish that we found it sooner. It has been very helpful for our growing business.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

The interface is very intuitive and the customer service was so awesome.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

I wanted a modern solution to software with Multi-Shop operations that was clean and easy to use.

Justin

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

We love Shop-Ware!

We love the ease and speed of it, the best part is being able to share with customers pictures and notes.

PROS

shop-ware is very easy to use and learn and is extremely up to date. Making the switch from an old platform which didn't seem like it was updated since 2005 to Shop-Ware helped with speed of service and modernizing how we do things. One of our favorite parts is the ability to take pictures and notes and the ease of being able to send it to the customer. The parts ordering process is quite nice and easy as well.

CONS

The reports could be a little easier to pull data from and it would be nice if they could make them accessible to read through the software and not to have to use Excel or Google Sheets.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

Shop-ware was much easier to use and had abilities included in it that would've been extra to add to Protractor

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Mitchell was very dated and clunky to use; shop-ware is the opposite

Mike

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Demo'ed many auto management programs, Shop-Ware is the best fit

After hours training was very helpful. Had questions after going live, Shop-ware was a phone call away.

PROS

Shop-Ware seemed overwhelming (like many management programs) at first, but after 2 hours training I was ready to go live. Creating and sharing estimates with customers is simple and fairly quick.

CONS

I am not not a paperless shop (yet). My tech and I still like to write notes on work orders. Other that printing a screen shot of the work order, there is no option to print a work order for a technician. The screen shot contains all pricing and etc the tech does not need to see.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

Ease of use. Ability to create estimates and send estimates and notes with pictures to customers easily. Saved canned jobs save time. Price.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Software was full of bugs after being sold to ?? a few years ago. Problem free for the first 8 years.

Pam

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Shop - Ware

Once the system was in use, everyday all day, the system became very easy to navigate through. Even the technicians are able to perform the functions without problems. I am very pleased that we were able to obtain this management system.

PROS

After using the system for a short while, it has proven to increase sales as we set up invoicing that parts have to be billed out and received prior to closing an invoice. No more parts going out the door without being billed.

CONS

It was confusing as first as the terminology is different then what I was used to. Also the preset canned jobs were difficult to modify.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

Was included with another package we were involved with. When that deal closed, we continued with the shop-ware management system.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Was included in with another package deal with Castrol/Bosch.

David

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

SOMETHING TO TRY...

From the day we contacted them to find out more about their product it has been an absolute joy to use! Not only the system, but the people too... SOOOO easy to work with!

PROS

- Ease of use - Flexibility of the ENTIRE program - Customer Support!!!

CONS

Sadly, the things that we did not care for have all been completely revamped and upgraded. Now we LOVE them!!! (Sorry)

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

I was astonished with how simple yet advanced the system was. It has only gotten better!

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

eMaintenance is one of the WORST work order systems we have EVER used! To go from that to this was a pleasure! Shop-Ware tracks EVERYTHING we need to track, and most importantly, has resolved 99% of the communication challenges we have had. Not only with the customers, but with the techs as well, and THAT was huge!

micah

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Awesome complete shop management system

The customer interaction with the program is great and customers love it. We even have customers who will view their repair order and authorize repairs in the evenings or mornings when we are not open.

PROS

We had different shop management system for 14 years I wanted to add the DVI but I didn't want to buy a separate program so we switched to shop-ware. It's cloud-based so it would work for a multi shop location, It has improved productivity and customer satisfaction because of the capability to share information with the customer. Service writers and the tech's love it because of its simplicity and the learning curve is very quick. Customer service is absolutely amazing. If there is an issue they will return an email or phone call quickly compared to previous experiences with other software. They will take the time to listen to an issue and explain how it works or if there needs to be an improvement, it will be addressed.

CONS

I am struggling to come up with cons. There are little things that I feel could be improved but it does not interfere with the programs capability.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

Its ability to connect with today's technology and customers.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

We wanted a program that had digital inspections built in, not one that had to be added through a third party

ONEY

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

STRUGGLING SOFTWARE USER

1ST OF ALL i AM PROBABLY 1 OF THE ONLY BUSINESSES THAT UP TO OCTOBER OF 2019, WAS STILL DOING HAND WRITTEN INVOICING........40 YEARS BASICALLY.......SO RIGHT HERE IS A MAJOR OBSTACLE (ON MY PART).. SHOPWARE IS THE ONLY SOFTWARE PROGRAM THAT I HAVE EVER USED......SINCE THE EARLY DAYS.....1980'S OF OASIS FROM FORD DEALERSHIP.... I CAN SEE THAT THIS SOFTWARE PROGRAM (IS) A PERMANENT SOLUTION FOR THIS INDUSTRY....AND OF COURSE MY BUSINESS HERE..

PROS

THE BEST FEATURE IS THE CLOUD BASED ANY-WHERE ACCESSIBILITY. NEXT WOULD BE THE REPORTS SECTION NEXT WOULD BE THE SAVED CUSTOMER / VEHICLES THOUGH LABOR INTENSIVE, PARTS INVENTORY / CONTROL IS COOL

CONS

I AM HAVING PROBLEMS IN THAT, (MAYBE I DON'T KNOW HOW), CANNED JOBS CAN NOT BE ENTERED PRIOR TO LOADING THEM INTO AN INVOICE 1ST......??? ECOMMERCE PARTS / CANNED PARTS.......HAVING AN EXTREMELY HIGH AMOUNT OF (MULTIPLE PARTS SOURCES), DIFFICULTIES ......HAVING TO LEAVE SHOPWARE TO OUTSOURCE PARTS. THEN COME BACK AND MANUALLY LOAD...OR CANNED A PART... AND THE INABILITY TO (WHEN I ENTER A WRONG PAYMENT/DATE) ERASE AND CHANGE????

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

BECAUSE OF THE GIRLS AT (ASA CONFERENCES) AND CONVINCING ME TO GIVE IT A TRY.....[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] IS VERY CONVINCING......

Regina

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

A shout out to Shop-Ware!

I am still getting used to the analytic and report functions.

PROS

Shop-Ware is one of the best automotive shop management software, if not THE best!! It is very intuitive and easy to use. The program is all seamless with all aspects of it, service, inventory, inspection, reports, etc.

CONS

There is no core built in with the receiving function. Also, no disposal fee associated with engine oil and oil filter. We have to manually enter it in the Haz Mat Fee. Not able to get a summary report of inventory at month end in print.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

I felt very good with the sales team and the support Shop-Ware offered. I also noticed that Shop-Ware keeps developing their program by adding several features over time. It tells me that Shop-Ware is making progress and keeping up with customers' requests. That is a good thing in a company that cares!

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

The previous program is very clunky and not easy to use.

Tras

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Shop ware is a great shop-management tool!

Shop Ware is excellent. It helps me increase the productivity in the shop

PROS

Very happy with this software and how effective it is at allowing us to manage our jobs and client database. Love how it integrates with my parts supplier, making it easy to generate estimates and work orders. Love that I can post photos and that the client and I can communicate in real time through the ongoing work order.

CONS

Don't like that I can't add multiple numbers and emails to a customer account.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Auto Repair Bill was clunky and never made promised updates. Too many glitches.

Erin

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Northtown Auto Clinic Review

Customer service and IT training has been spot on great - when we happen to meet [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] at events, she is amazing about remembering our interactions and listening to what shop needs are

PROS

Really love the availability to communicate with the customer through the system in multiple avenues. The log is a fantastic tool to refer back to as well.

CONS

Inventory/parts return/core management.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

Cloud Based. Parts intigration

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Cost, updated customer communications, cloud based

Lori

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Very Thorough Automotive Software Tool

We currently struggle with some of the inventory processes of SW because we don't keep inventory stocked. We also have intermittent issues with the connection to Worldpac, which is our main supplier. We do not currently use PartTech because the WP link is so much more user friendly and faster and they are our primary vendor.

PROS

It has thoroughly considered every aspect of use for the customer and made it as all-encompassing as possible to include any customer scenario, parts ordering sync and customer communication.

CONS

There are so many extensive features, some that are fairly involved, a more extensive and thorough standard training would be welcomed to be more familiar with all the different processes and scenarios involved before using the program.

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

We liked SW because of its extensive capabilities with workflow, customer communication and organization.

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

Just needed a more extensive and specific shop management tool

Matthew

Automotive, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

Great product that gets better on a regular basis.

Easy to learn and excellent customer service

PROS

Cloud based and simple. The ability to use it from any device.

CONS

Lost some features like two way texting appointment reminders

Reason for choosing Shop-Ware

Had more knowledge of Shop-Ware and it is required by the Bosch Car Service program

Reasons for switching to Shop-Ware

To simplify and go to a cloud based system

Nathan

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: