All Altaro VM Backup Reviews

1-25 of 188 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

The best VM backup

PROS

We have been using Altaro VM backup for about 4 years now and our experience has been exemplary. The compression and deduplication feature is phenomenal, I never imagined I would be able to keep 3+ weeks history retention and still have my backups take up less space than my VMs themselves. The offsite server is also a huge bonus, absolutely free, just pay 3rd-party hosting and storage fees and put the server wherever you like. Their support is top-notch.

CONS

Cost can get a little high if you have a lot of hosts, but still worth it and still less than most other options

Matthew

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Astoundingly Good; Very Affordable

Veeam is the Cadillac of backups, and there are lots of Chevys that will get the job done but really make you work at it, but Altaro sits in the sweet spot of a great value with lots of features. I have deployed it at every client that runs VMs on Windows, and it has saved the day several times. Setup takes about five minutes, especially if you are using an attached target. Even complicated NAS-based backups with off-site copies (another great feature) can be set up in less than 30 minutes for every VM on a server.

PROS

The ability to schedule sandbox restores drew me to Altaro, but honestly, the few times that I have needed Tech Support (including one time on a holiday) it was outstanding. The quality of the support, the speed with which I can reach someone, and the genuine politeness of the staff make getting support painless. I also like the ability to do off-site copies of the backups. This work s great when I use a direct-attached targets like ioSafe drives and then replicate the backups to portable USB drives to go off site.

CONS

The software is amazingly full featured, but I would like to see the sandbox restore take a snapshot of the services snap-in on the restore once started, shut down the sandbox, delete the restored machine, and send me the image so that I know it worked. The first time you put in the license code it is a bit convoluted. This is nit picking.

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Features versus price. Once I tested it the ease of use sealed the deal.

Ricardo

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2019

Poor Support and issues with disk space

We use Altaro to backup our hosts with hundreds of VMs. We are now migrating to a different plataform, due to the lack of support to ReFS and the other limitations stated above.

PROS

Easy of use. It take some time to learn the software schema, but after that, it is very easy to use on the day to day experience.

CONS

Support is almos informal. There is a ticket number, but the follow up is poor. Chat is almost always offline. About disk space, the backups keep groing indefenitely, even if the VM has not much updates. The optimization tool to recover space does not work properly, takes too long to execute, while it runs, it blocks ALL backups funcionality and at the end there is almost no space freed. There is no limit for backup space per VM or per storage. You need to always keep following up the disk usage. There is no support for ReFS, what is a shame for a software that runs on Windows Servers and ReFS has been around for a while already.

Vendor Response

We are sorry that your experience with our support team has not met our usual high standards. Our support team prides itself on the great feedback it receives from customers, so feedback like this really does stand out. We answer support calls within 22 seconds on average and follow up email tickets within 2 hours on average. Our customers have the option to use chat or phone for quicker responses, our chat is online 24 hours a day. Do email support@altaro.com with more information about when you were dissatisfied, and we'll be glad to investigate further. Your backup repository will grow only if the VM has new data - our deduplication and CBT make sure of that. Re the optimization tool, we are working on a better backup format that uses the freed-up space more efficiently. We're sharing your feedback about no limit for backup space as a feature request - thanks. Our recently launched `Mount Virtual Disk' option allows users to grab their backed up files from ReFS partitions.

Replied March 2019

Warren

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Altaro - Reliable and great suppot

Altaro is a very reliable backup solution. If and when we have required support, the webchat function within the software is fantastic and the support guys are incredibly helpful

PROS

What I like most, is the wizard driven selections. Setting it up is super easy because of this. Even if you haven't used Altaro before, you will be up and running in no time.

CONS

we have fund previously that if a new version of Altaro is released, it creates a new folder for backups, which takes up more room on the media, as it keeps the previous backups as well as the new.

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Altaro offered a much more competitive pricing option.

Reasons for switching to Altaro VM Backup

We felt that Veem was quite cumbersome to use, and Altaro was more straight forward.

Si

Computer Networking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

It really does what it says on the Tin!

The whole experience wrapped up is just - Good!! We had a situation causing us to move away from another backup vendor due to issues (not being able to depend on a backup to simply do its job causes sleepless nights after a while). We installed Altaro VM Backup, configured it - all in 15 minutes, including set-up of the email alerts and left it for the evening. Next day - Emails are usually our first encounter as to what occurred overnight - They were all Green! Seriously - a big wow from us! 7 Virtual Machines all backed up successfully and in a time window that seriously made me look twice. The compression and the speed of backups - wow!

PROS

I have a few things I like - but the most nicest thing: The user interface on Altaro product always seems so simple, and logical. Being in IT support, I dread those times when it takes 20 minutes to work out the GUI or interface to try and restore a file or check a backup log.

CONS

OK - Not being funny - I'll have to come back to this question, because I struggle to think of something I really don't like right now.

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

The decision really came down to being able to install and trial Altaro software at that moment. No sales calls, no hassles, just download and go! It was so easy to do this at 21:00hrs in the evening, and to find in the morning - everything worked - Decision was then made. Naturally, we checked features and other "stuff" techs need to check - but all in all - this product rocks others in many ways.

Reasons for switching to Altaro VM Backup

1) Fed up with the amount of time spent on support work 2) The Interface was not lets say "the easiest to use" 3) from memory I think the renewal costs were just ramping up.

Rudi

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

No fuss VM backup software

This software allows us to back up our customers VM's easily and gives us peace of mind with a daily recap of the previous day's backups.

PROS

Implementation is a breeze and it doesn't need a tertiary degree to get it deployed.

CONS

I would love to be able to back up endpoints directly to cloud storage without needing an additional Windows server.

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Cost-effectiveness and ease of setup.

Reasons for switching to Altaro VM Backup

Cost savings for both ourselves and our customers.

B├╝nyamin

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Altaro - Best Choice for me

PROS

very easy to use. Nice Dashboard with a lot of first sight information.

CONS

German Language! Not everyone can understand it.

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Veeam was too expensive for use and our IT is not so big to use Veeam. We didn`t need a big-Size product.

Reasons for switching to Altaro VM Backup

It was a selection from my Department.

Vendor Response

Many thanks indeed for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We have taken note of your request to have a version of the product in German, but cannot make any commitments about this at this point.

Replied November 2020

David

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

VM Backup

Overall a very good backup solution for a great price.

PROS

- Easy to deploy as an MSP - Support is more than excellent. Direct response and highly skilled technicians. - Easy of use

CONS

- More detailed error messaging - Endpoint backup to the VM Backup location. (This was promised in the early days of Altaro)

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Pricing + MSP Model

Reasons for switching to Altaro VM Backup

- At the time the MSP Model for Veeam was to expensive

Ben

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Simple User Interface, powerful features and robust monitoring

Has been overwhelmingly positive overall!

PROS

- Easy to deploy and manage, the CMC (Cloud Management Console) is really fantastic and hard to beat. - Can initiate backups and restores from cloud, and get robust and detailed history/info on usage metrics as well as standard history logs for daily backup activity (ability to filter down on specific clients is another big plus). - Boot from backup is also amazing, cant imagine going without it now, makes testing backups fast and easy. - Really impressive compression and deduplication Fair per-VM pricing is what sold us - easy flat model for our customers to understand

CONS

Occasional errors in backups (these generally correct on their own though, self healing backup chain), not FIPS compliant unfortunately

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Best features and price, central management for MSPs at no extra cost

Reasons for switching to Altaro VM Backup

Ever increasing costs from old provider

User Profile

Gustavo

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Excelente VM Backup Software

We backup 6 hosts we over 40 VMs Onsite and offsite, and it works really well, no complains, also it is a very goood way to test new environments by restoring backups from any server.

PROS

What I most like about it, is the pricing model per Host instead of VM, it is very similar to the competitor, but has better pricing, its easy to try before buying, it is super intuitive to set it up, you don't even need to read the how to documentation, because is is really easy to use.

CONS

Some times the Altaro Services drops or Backups stops working (don't understand exactly why) SO You have to contact support (that is excellent and immediate) to solve it. This is the only reason we have been paying for the continuous support.

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Pricing, direct internet purchase, free alternative for one host so it is very easy to test it before buying.

Alan

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Great Product

PROS

Great simple to use interface and the ability to link up to many clod providers including our own space at datacentre. Also the Tech Support are great!

CONS

Granular file recovery a bit painful but fine of restoring a few files / folders

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

For the pricing model great fit with our MSP business services

Dale

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Altaro VM Backup

We have reduced the average time of recovery for a failed server. Clients appreciate that we can recover their business servers within a few hours instead of a few days. We have been using Altaro VM Backup since v. 4 I think. I was impressed with the early version and have specified Altaro VM Backup as our standard for Virtual Machine environments. The addition of the Cloud Management Console and integration with ConnectWise is a big plus.

PROS

Setup and configuration is fairly quick. Restore options allow for a granular file level from a VM image backup. Ability to restore to different host. Ability to copy an Offsite backup to remote location. Support for Cloud storage sites for off site backup storage. Speed of recovery time on a failed host. Able to restore a VM to new host within a couple hours. Compression and de-duplication saves storage space on backup media. Product support is excellent. Usually able to solve errors within the Support Chat. Support is always ready to answer even the simplest question to help us out.

CONS

The local management console is not password protected. Limited explanation of error messages in the software. Setting up network connections to NAS storage can sometimes fail with cryptic error message.

Vendor Response

Thank you for reviewing Altaro VM Backup. We appreciate it! We do understand where you are coming from here, however, efforts should be made to tighten the OS security layers in this case. If a hacker gains admin access to the server, this means that they have access to the backup data with or without the Altaro console. We agree that having restricted access to the console would be a great feature; in fact, we have discussed having granular access for different users but we cannot offer an ETA for this just yet. Currently, our primary recommendation here is to strengthen password policies for accounts that have server logon access, and restrict access through the OS layer itself.

Replied February 2019

Petr

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Best backup tool for that amount of money

I use altaro backup for few years now, started with the free licenses for 2VM environments and with every new version there is bunch of new features (like CDP, replication for example).

PROS

The biggest reason for use of Altaro VM Backup is the price. For reasonable money you can get full package of virtual machine backup tools. Now it is even cheaper (for small environment with 2-3 virtual machines) with Altaro MSP program, for like 5 bucks a month per VM you get unlimited plus license - such a great deal!

CONS

The only cons in some cases is no option for Hyper-V host backup. I know, it is necessary in like 3% of cases, but still, if you are part of the 3%, you have no chance with Altaro and you have to use another app for host backup. I was a bit disappointed with new limitations of free license - no retention policy available, no immediate backup notification to email in V8. But anyway - you can now always jump to MSP program for really small money.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review of Altaro VM Backup. We actually do have plans to release a backup solution for physical servers, which will give the option to restore that physical server to a VM. That said, it will not handle hypervisors, the Hyper-V Host should not have anything aside from VMs running on it, so normally a one-off or periodic backup using Windows Server Backup should be enough to cover your needs, as the data that is changing is inside the VMs themselves, which Altaro VM Backup is backing up regularly. We have a more detailed blog article about this here if you're interested in further reading: http://www.altaro.com/hyper-v/hyper-v-backup-strategies-dont-worry-management-os/

Replied March 2019

David

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Been using it for years and each new version does bring extra features

The backup of customer servers to our own premises was the ultimate goal and this has been achieved at an affordable rate to use and our customers - other solutions were just not user friend at all.

PROS

The MSP pricing is excellent compared to all others and very simple to get my head around. Simply buying a license per server backed up is much easier than worry about cost per GB and cost per CPU core that some others think is normal.

CONS

On the MSP dashboard managing hosts regards licencing is a little tedious and confusing. Simply converting an existing installation from the 2 guest to MSP version is a hassle and not obvious how to do without a lot of trial and error to work it out.

Reason for choosing Altaro VM Backup

Affordability and ease of use and licencing.

Reasons for switching to Altaro VM Backup

Affordability and ease of setup.

Dirk

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY