BrightGauge

BrightGauge Reviews

RATING:

4.65

(37)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.65

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Allow us to easily extract data from our different systems to make quick business decisions."
  • icon"BrightGauge allows us to fairly easy create gauges and dashboards that help our team be aware of any issues that need addressed. There are a impressive amount of gauges supplied out of the box."
  • icon"They truly listen to the customer community when it comes to functionality improvements. Attractive pricing structure."
  • icon"One other thing that is major annoyance is there is no way to sort reports by the company they were created for."
  • icon"It is limited to just the gauges which isn’t always what you need on a report."
  • icon"Or to charge us simply to setup a new user. Both are a bit ridiculous."

All BrightGauge Reviews

1-25 of 37 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2018

An incredibly powerful BI tool - Great for MSP's

I love it, it is incredibly powerful and has enabled me to get a much better view of what is actually happening in our business, not just what I thought was happening.

Pros

It is really simple to create reports, dashboards, and gauges using drag and drop. Support from Brightgauge is really good, always responsive and friendly. Regular new feature releases keeps the product improving

Cons

You need some SQL knowledge to set up the datasets yourself. That said, Support have always created them for me when I have asked. It is definitely aimed at SMB's, so if you are looking for an enterprise-grade BI tool, this isn't going to work in my opinion.

Elias

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Powerful Product, Concerns About Support

Overall, the product is powerful and helpful, but support could be improved. Unfortunately, all products owned by ConnectWise has seen a decrease in support effectiveness since the company was sold.

Pros

BrightGauge allows us to fairly easy create gauges and dashboards that help our team be aware of any issues that need addressed. There are a impressive amount of gauges supplied out of the box.

Cons

Since the product was acquired by ConnectWise, we have seen a decrease in the level of support that we receive. Previous to the acquisition, I was always very impressed by the level of support that I received. Now, support is less helpful and responsive.

Reasons for switching to BrightGauge

BrightGauge is a much more powerful product that works in a web browser, not a standalone installation.

Ken

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2019

Great Support

We use BG to manage our daily, weekly meeting, client reports and on demand reporting.

Pros

The software is easy to use, once its setup. Support is exceptional.

Cons

Can be hard to setup and I would like to see Wizards to get tasks done. Additional integrations are expensive.

Reasons for choosing BrightGauge

As a Connectwise Partner, we had comfort in knowing it would work well.

Alastair

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

A useful tool with room for improvement

Generally BrightGauge is a great platform. It allows us to analyse, visualise and share data on service metrics in a way that we couldn't do before. As with all products there are frustrations but we genuinely think it is a good addition to our toolbox.

Pros

Being able to analyse data from several sources but primarily our PSA in a graphical form is brilliant. The built in reporting tools in Manage are awkward and ugly. BrightGauge allows us to manipulate that data and display it to customers in a clear and meaningful way. Gauges are generally fairly easy to make and there is a lot of scope and depth built into the platform to create highly complex gauges.

Cons

The lack of a simple OR query in gauges causes no end of frustration. Having to create layers for each query followed by a calculated metric often doesn't create exactly what we're after. It is by far the biggest drawback of this product. It would be wonderful if there were more direct integrations available with out other sources - the dropbox/Onedrive solution helps get around it but it's a bit clunky. Lastly, the formatting tools for reporting are woeful. The experience of building and formatting a report is painful.

khaled

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2019

Reporting and Metrics

We run very tight metrics on our service tickets in CWmanage. time to acknowledgement of a ticket through time to resolution. We also perform weekly ticket load as well as use these metrics to award monthly bonuses

Pros

The best part of the software is it's compatibility with CW Manage and Automate. We run many reports and metrics for our services and sales team and find the ease of ouse very helpful.

Cons

It has become very annoying to see features added and then we have to pay more for them. We have to pay more to simply perform calculations? or to charge us simply to setup a new user? both are a bit ridiculous.

Reasons for switching to BrightGauge

We actually did not switch, but are using both BG and Klipfolio together

Rob

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Great platform, but still needs additional features

This software is great for pulling in data from multiple product sources. It allows you to define gauges, and put those gauges on dashboards or reports. We initially bought it for monthly client reporting, so that we could include data on their reports from multiple sources. However, we quickly found that creating dashboards for different things (service, techs, sales, opportunities) we could reduce internal emails flying around, and help drive staff towards the items that need attention.

Pros

Love the ability to create customer reports from multiple product sources! We also love the dashboards we can make. It's helped reduce errors from missed email notifications, and instead we can work the dashboards to "manage towards green". The dashboards have really transformed the way we keep track of everything in our organization.

Cons

I would like to see more information available from the different datasources. I would also like to see a greater understanding on the developer's part of the different datasources. Sometimes there are issues they just don't understand (How can a ConnectWise opportunity not have a start date?). I would also like to see better ways for mixing different types of data from the datasource. Sometimes the capabilities of the gauges can feel very rigid, and you might want to look at the data in a different way, but can't. We would love features that allow us to use the data in the way that we wish. For example, I would like to be able to look at ConnectWise activities, filter by type, and then know how long they have been in certain stages. Same thing for tickets, or opportunities. BrightGauge should give us the ability to log, and know know how long an object has been in a particular state. That would be a very powerful feature for us. One other thing that is major annoyance is there is no way to sort reports by the company they were created for. It would be such an easy thing to fix but 1.5 years later and we still can't sort on this column. This means when you are doing overhauls or audits, it's extremely difficult to know which customers have been addressed, and which haven't. Huge pain in the rear, and such an easy fix. Sometimes your PDF reports don't generate for really no reason. That is also annoying.

Jeff

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Game Changer

See the Pros section above. We have been using this for probably almost 5 years now - and keep paying to add more data sources. We currently pull in data from 8 different sources. The software has been a complete game changer for us and visualizing our data. We use it every single day across our entire organization. I cannot imagine running out business without it at this point.

Pros

This software let's use see data in ways we almost couldn't even imagine - and certainly could never get otherwise. Makes for very easy access to pulling data out without having to program, etc. Also opens up doors to mashing data from different sources together on a single gauge and dashboards. One of the very best things (and there are many) is the company and their support. Unmatched!

Cons

Honestly, I really cannot come up with even a single thing as a con.

Reasons for choosing BrightGauge

They were able to pull data from our CRM/Ticketing software - Tigerpaw - which almost nobody else could do at the time (and probably still one of the only ones)

User Profile

Jeffrey

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

The best dashboarding software I have ever worked with.

This product has helped us to bring visibility to our operations.

Pros

Exceptionally easy to use. Lots of out of the box examples. Constant improvements that add functionality without cluttering the product or forcing a trade-off of other core functionality. Support is amazing. They truly listen to the customer community when it comes to functionality improvements. Attractive pricing structure.

Cons

I would like a way to do a rotating carousel of some of the dashboards. Would love to see BrightGauge sponsor a raspberry pi distribution that specifically was meant to quickly deploy signage.

User Profile

Nathan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2018

BrightGauge has provided an easy way to design dashboards, reports and scorecards.

Pros

Ease of use - it is very simple to create dashboards, reports and scorecards. Presentation - the appearance of the dashboards and reports is modern.

Cons

There is a Filter option that allows you to create a dashboard and then filter it. For example, we have dashboards that have a filter allow us to look at the same dashboard client by client. Unfortunately, the "filter" option can only be used by users with an "Editor" license. This makes the feature almost useless since we have so many "Viewer" users.

Donna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

BrightGauge Reporting Review

Pros

BrightGauge is an easily customizable solution that provides great reporting to our clients. It has become a valuable part of our solution and delivery.

Cons

Sometimes the interface breaks and has to be reestablished otherwise your reports will be wrong

Jonathan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Analytics, Anomalies, and Access

Support on the product has been stellar. Questions and issues have been handled quickly. The software has been worth every penny spent. The visual insight into our data and applications has allowed each employee to manage their own productivity via customized gauges and dashboards. For most people, the dashboard is the starting point for most work tasks now.

Pros

It is very easy to build gauges and a customized dashboard for every employee - every employee at our company has a dashboard with individualized gauges for their job role. We have gauges built to highlight productivity metrics, to identify errors/issues, and to enable faster access to our underlying software applications. Most of our employees use brightgauge every day, and we are in the process of implementing TV's around the office to display company dashboards.

Cons

You can add color to data in a gauge, but it is really limited to two different colors. It would be nice to be able to do more. For example, you might want to do red, yellow, and green for error, warning, and good.

Jill

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

Mission Critical Tool

BrightGauge is a mission critical tool for our organization. By integrating into many of our operational and technical tools, we have centralized visibility and analytics to make more effective decisions. The staff at BG is fantastic and always will to go above and beyond to help us better leverage the tool.

Pros

The ability to integrate with multiple data sources and compile into meaningful analysis to drive visibility into our business and allow for more effective decision-making.

Cons

Organization of the gauges (into the folders) is not very helpful in terms of the level of detail (where the gauges are used, last updated, sources of integration). The ability to make mass changes, rather than gauge by gauge (e.g. in the event of having to repeat filters on multiple gauges, or change a data source).

Thomas

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Great dashboard sofware for your PSA

We use BrightGauge for daily KPI reporting and to display on dashboard TVs in our office.

Pros

BrightGauge is extremely easy to set up and use. Most MSP applications have a built-in connector, making configuration very simple.

Cons

The product is very expensive for what we use it for. I wish they had a "light" version for just doing simple reports and internal TV-dashboards.

Alternatives Considered

Klipfolio

Lolen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

Love Brightgauge!

Overall it has been a great tool that I have used for years and will most likely continue to use for a very long time.

Pros

It serves an important need that Connectwise is very weak at providing. The dashboards and alerts really keep my team focused on getting to the next ticket in a timely manner.

Cons

It's probably just because I don't do it often, but creating / editing gauges can be frustrating and not as intuitive as I'd like them to be. But... when I need help, their support is amazing.

Reasons for choosing BrightGauge

It was far better and offered features that CW just didn't have then, and still does not as of today!

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

This software allows me to have command of my business.

I love this software. Within a month, I was using this software and I had critical data at my fingertips.

Pros

This software is so easy to use and gives me the power to consolidate all of the critical data and KPI’s I need to know to make smart decisions and have command over my business.

Cons

The only thing that I wish was more powerful is the reporting engine. It is limited to just the gauges which isn’t always what you need on a report.

Carl

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE