What are Microsoft Power BI users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Microsoft Power BI software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.53

1,027 Reviews

5
608
4
361
3
48
2
7
1
2
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Perfect integration with Microsoft solutions. Ease to share with other partners."
  • icon"In my opinion, it helps its users create very professional-looking and most importantly dynamic reports with stunning visuals."
  • icon"The brightest part of Power BI for us has been the ability to create rich data driven dashboards without having to invest in an entire new platform."
  • icon"I have trouble connecting it to an analysis cube and making a website version."
  • icon"Some find it too complicated to use and are intimidated by the format. I have not been able to find training for management on how to use a report that someone else with PowerBI skills created."
  • icon"It has lot of learning curve and has very limited support available on internet. Configuration is a hell."

Jump to:

Browse all Microsoft Power BI Reviews

  • Have you used Microsoft Power BI and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 1,026 reviews

User Profile

Marlyn

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

A comprehensive data visualization platform

With Microsoft Power BI we can create more profound and useful insights, enhance the publishing efficacy and precision of BI content, and it has a powerful in-stream real-time analytics

Pros

Microsoft Power BI is one of the most comprehensive data visualization platforms you've ever used. Power BI allows me to collect data from various sources, such as azure and SharePoint databases, it is a platform with enormous potential since it can transform data and give a better perspective, what I like about Power Bi is that it has an easy-to-use user interface without long learning curves, which makes it easy to use for new users, you can see the tables in an orderly way this facilitates data analysis, in Power BI it is safe to use, since it allows only authorized users can access, this is vital since the information that is stored is very sensitive.

Cons

What I don't like is that the desktop version consumes a lot of RAM and is sometimes slow, a computer with good specifications is required for it to run smoothly.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft power BI provides more data

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Can be a good BI tool for companies already using Microsoft apps

We used it for some time. The data visualizations and reports we were able to create were crisp and great looking. It was challenging to share to our audience though due to accessibility challenges.

Pros

It has good integration with Microsoft apps.

Cons

Microsoft PowerBI is quite expensive to roll out to a large organization. I like the pricing model the least.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

We needed a proper BI tool to create reports.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

A pretty reporting tool for some (!) Microsoft Products, but pretty much useless outside of the Microsoft Landscape

In light of the hype around this "Tableau destroyer" in recent months, I want to highlight some fundamental flaws in data connectivity and reports maintenance of Power BI, which the Product Team so far has turned down as "not in scope". In practice, though, this renders Power BI pretty useless for getting dara from any 3rd party products, in the cloud in particular. This review reflects Power BI as of mid March 2017. I have gathered my knowledge from testing, community interaction and a dozen tickets with Power BI Pro Support. The focus lies on getting data via Web Services, much aligned with Microsoft’s «Cloud First» Strategy. 1) Power BI Online is in the cloud, but does not allow for HTTP calls. Power BI Desktop allows for HTTP calls, but only with static authentication parameters. First of all, a distinction needs to be made between Power BI Online and Power BI Desktop. While Power BI Online is the "master" that ultimately allows you to share and publish your reports, user experience in design is diminished by HTML limitations (you may know from Word or Excel Online) and more importantly, data connectivity (Get Data) is limited to SQL Servers on Azure and about 20 to 30 plugins from 3rd party solutions at present. Take note that on Power BI Online, you cannot select or manage your Gateways, either. This brings the attention to the Power BI Desktop client. Updated every one to two months, the Desktop client brings data connectors necessary to connect to a larger number of data sources. With the Web connector, HTTP calls been configured, although with just static headers and parameters and Basic and Windows authentication only. Importantly, though, Power BI Desktop includes Microsoft Power Query, which you may know from Excel 2016 already. With M Scripts, you can script and customise in many ways and most interestingly, convert it into table form quickly. This is where Power Query shines. However, Power Query does not seem to call on methods for nonces and timestamps required in token based authentication (OAuth for example). (Should this be incorrect, please please let me know. I have been browsing the fora and nagging Support too long already.) What’s really amusing here is that Microsoft Azure uses OAuth 2.0 themselves. So, you cannot run any reporting on Microsoft’s Azure AD or Resource Manager database for example, a notorious blackbox. Back to Powershell. (Power BI does not accept Powershell feeds.) In short, while Power BI Online does not allow to get any data out of the web (except for those 20 to 30 plugins, mostly Microsoft Products), Power BI Desktop allows for Web calls, but only with static parameters and thus, basically with your user credentials. That’s a big limitation in Data Connectivity. 2) With Power BI Online being the master, the HTTP calls cannot be scheduled or refreshed in the cloud. Now that you have configured your HTTP call (with risky user credentials), you want to publish your report and have it refreshed on a scheduled basis, say every day. Tough luck. While you can publish your Report to Power BI Online and subsequently a broader audience, it’s a static image of your Desktop data. You cannot schedule a data refresh in Power BI Online (because there is no Web feature anyway) and you cannot even refresh the data manually as this requires republishing the Report anew. You risk your management looking at outdated data whenever you forgot to republish your report and sneak the new URL into your dashboards and iframes. 3) The On-Premises Data Gateway is pretty useless for Web Services. Yes, there is the On-Premises Data Gateway. Yes, you can configure Web Services in the gateway, although it’s pretty ironic to route web calls via on-premises infrastructure. But did you ever try it? That is, you cannot specify any HTTP headers fort he calls at all, lest writing a Power Query script. And thus, we are back at authentication via Basic and Windows only and writing REST scripts in the data source for every single HTTP call because with no Headers and Body, all parameters need to be coded in the URI. Will you do that? At the end of the day, Power BI is Microsoft's long overdue acknowledgement that Excel and some Dynamics Reports do not cut it for Reporting purposes. Indeed, for reporting on SQL Server, Dynamics 365 (if you want to afford it), and Excel and Access databases stored in your OneDrive, Microsoft Power BI does a neat job. However, as soon as you want to integrate with 3rd party systems or via web services in particular, Power BI presents so many limitations in authentication, Header and Body configuration, scripting, and scheduling that you need to configure an entire SQL Server environment (on Azure or On-Premises via feature poor Gateway) and write a SQL CRL interface or buy Azure Data Factory to get that data in. For some pretty reports, do you really want to buy and customise all that BI infrastructure on Azure? My advice to Microsoft: Work on Data Connectivity, especially in Power BI Online, rather than more visuals for those limited data sources. Your Microsoft clients will consider Power BI a given for the utter lack of reporting in Office 365, Azure, or Dynamics 365 (yes, pushing it there). My advice to Users: If the connectors are not listed, look somewhere else. (And make sure it’s your use case that is listed. Power BI announced an Azure AD connector, but rather than reporting on Users, Groups, or Enterprise Apps, you can only see on a nice map where the last logins happened.) Is it a Tableau destroyer? No. It’s a long overdue acknowledgement for necessary reporting with the potential of being a solid Business Intelligence solution ONCE focus comes to lie more on data.

Pros

pretty visuals Power Query On-premises Data Gateway responsible Pro Support

Cons

lack of data sources pretty useless for 3rd Party Web Sources

Ck

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Powerful BI tool

Pros

If you have worked with Office tools, you would grasp the basic functionality very quickly. It's very user-friendly. The power comes from a plethora of data source connectors that it provides out of the box. I am also impressed by its data visualization capabilities. It also integrates well with other Microsoft products. Best of all - it's free for most use cases. The cloud version offers a lot more options for storage and collaboration at a modest price. It's also easy to switch between the desktop and cloud versions.

Cons

The desktop app can be sluggish at times, especially if you are dealing with large and varied data sets. Also, to utilize its more powerful features, you need to have a greater learning curve than competing products. Cloud integrations are also not very easy to configure and connections to on-prem and SaaS data sources can be challenging.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

It's free and came bundled with our enterprise Office license.

User Profile

Andrei

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Power BI is the best way to upgrade from the spreadsheets.

Microsoft Power BI is very visual, as a result is one of the best Data Analysis softwares for beginners. A lot of data analysis can be done without serious codding.

Pros

Power BI is extremely visual, as a result is really easy to use it without being programmer.

Cons

It is not heavily focused on the computations that senior data scientists needs.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Julia appears to be still in development.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

Power BI looks more modern.

User Profile

Rodrigo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Simply the Best

Power BI is the best BI tool for your company, as it provides with tons of insights, examples and ideas to convert raw data into incredible storytelling graphs.

Pros

It is somewhat ease to use Power BI if you are familiar with Excel, Pivot Tables and Power Pivot.

Cons

DAX features will require some study on you side if you want to use them.

User Profile

Dhrumil

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Good software for integration with Teams, but alternatives can be found

It's easy to be onboarded, blends in to your work well, but eventually it's not so scalable.

Pros

I like how easy it is to integrate it with Teams and other MS products

Cons

They can improve a lot more when it comes to features, they lack a lot of the fundamental features.

User Profile

Oscar

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Great tool to create your dashboards

Pros

It has has a lot of flexibility to customize your dashboard with many available plugins. A lot of possibilities to filter and deep dive on the data with easy visualization. It is integrated with other solutions from the Microsoft Office suite such as Excel and it can manage different data resources.

Cons

Big learning curve to take the most of the solutions, it can become complicated with the different views. It has limited functionalities on the Web browser version and compatibility issued on a Mac. License can be costly for organizations with a lot of users.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Great integration and relevant project summary

Great experience with the app and when the performance is design for your need is very useful

Pros

Very friendly app with a lot of potential showing relevant data in a executive presentation and also help to manage project.

Cons

It was needed programing knowledge in order to link with other software such has excel, Microsoft 365.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Real Estate in Power Bi

Pros

Power Bi is very easy to get started and gives novice users the confidence of working with Data.

Cons

Pulling a few data fields on the screen makes user feels they know analytics. That sometimes causes difficulty for the organization and really messes up data accuracy.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Power BI ; Affordable Data Visualization Tool

It is an affordable software that enables us to consolidate our data, generate reports while keeping track of all the key performance indicators.

Pros

It is a good data analytics and visualization software and its ability to import data from multiples sources is a great feature. What I like about Power BI is that from the dashboard, we are able to get a great overview of the organization including the market analysis, the status of our current deals, track the performance of each team member, view the gross income and company financials. The ability to filter to the specific metric we are interested in is an amazing feature. It enables us to review our marketing expenses and also see how each team member's activities contribute to the bottom line. It is also easy to forecast cash inflows and outflows. Power BI makes it possible to customize the visualizations and it also has the option to upload and view data from Excel. Frequent upgrades from Microsoft keep Power BI functioning well. It has both freemium and premium versions. You can try it out and have a feel of the software before you choose to purchase it.

Cons

It can be a bit complex due to the fact that it is a collection of various tools and you have to learn what each component does and how it relates to the rest of the structure. Working with large data sets causes lags especially when on the free version. The free version has very limited features and doesn't give you the true performance capability of the software. This can however be solved by upgrading to Pro or Premium. The user interface is a bit crowded with too many icons which hinders a clear view of the dashboard.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is easy and simple to use even for inexperienced users while Tableau is ideal for analysts and experienced users. Whereas Tableau has access to numerous databases and can handle larger volumes of data than Power BI can, it is more costly than Power BI. I can say that the choice of which product to go with between the two really depends on your business needs.

Virgil

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Moderate cost for a moderate experience for medium sized enterprises

So so. The dashboards and reports are limited in visual design, so they all look the same and quite ugly. Because of the difficulty sharing reports/dashboards to external individuals and the lack of a Google sheets connector I couldn't use PowerBI for most of the solutions we need, but will use it for some since it integrates well with the rest of the MS office ecosystem.

Pros

The thing that most sets PowerBI apart from comparable business intelligence solutions is the lower cost of multi-user deployment within an organization. PowerBI is part of a Microsoft Office 365 subscription package for businesses and you only need to pay an additional 15USD/month for each additional admin/analyst account you add. This is a stark contrast to similar solutions like Tableau, which charge a monthly fee for each user and has a minimum user count that equates to roughly a 15,000USD/year license cost as minimum. If your organisation is already invested in the Microsoft Office ecosystem this could be the ideal solution for you if you need to keep costs down.

Cons

It can't connect to google sheets and every other business intelligence platform can. This can be really limiting if your business uses a variety of SaaS solutions since many offer the simplest data integration options via Google sheets. PowerBI also has real issues with external sharing of dashboards/reports. You only have the option of publishing internally (visible to your organization's users) or publishing publically (indexed in search engines). There is no option of sharing dashboards and reports to individuals outside your organization via a login, like what is done with Google Data Studio. PowerBI also has a steep learning curve and uses 3 coding languages (DAX, M, and SQL). It's more complicated than it needs to be but it's relational database modeling has proven a good one and competitors have copied PowerBI's approach in recent years (Tableau).

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

For the unique cases where I will use it, I'm chosing it because it is part of the MS office ecosystem which my organization uses and it will be easier to deploy and share products with colleagues who all build in PowerBI also. I won't use PowerBI exclusively though since it can't do everything I need.

Robert

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Enterprise Analytics - with some gotchas

We're using this as our enterprise analytics platform to supplement paginated reports in SSRS/PBIRS. Aside from the wrinkles mentioned, it's been a solid performer. If there was a little more "admin" capabilities around subscriptions and permissions, it'd be a home run.

Pros

Near-constant updates and feature additions. It's exceptionally easy to throw together a Power BI Report across a bunch of different data sources and then share it with 1 or 100 people. Tons of connectivity support - if you have data somewhere it can *probably* read it into a model for consumption. The "front end" development is pretty straightforward with the ability to get very fancy with custom visuals - although you need to be a real developer to build those yourself.

Cons

It feels like there are some (currently) missing enterprise features. We still haven't really figured out a holistic way of managing both the enterprise stuff, as well as the "power user" self service stuff that gets published around the org. To Microsoft's credit, there are pretty much monthly releases that add ne functionality and features. Some things I'd like to see include more API support and additional sources like Box, perhaps.

Prabhu

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Simple and highly customizable

1. Dax query is highly reliable when comes to slice and dice the granular level data based on time trend. 2. Embedded report and dashboard in any kind of business applications easily and it becomes part of it.

Pros

1. Free desktop tool for development(Power BI Desktop) and simple installation process. 2. Almost, we can connect many source to fetch the data. Ex csv,web,excel,sql,odbc etc.., 3. Specialized ETL(Extract,transform,load) to clean the raw unstructured data into structured data with help of Power Query. 4. Powerful DAX query to customized measure and calculated column to get desirable business metrics and KPIs. 5. Top standard visuals, Custom visuals(visual market) and also we can create our own visuals using reactjs. 6. Publish in cloud(azure) to view report anywhere in the world with help Power BI service. 7. High availability and low latency to view report and dashboard with help of xVelocity engine. 8. Anyone can easily create basic charts with structured data.

Cons

1. Power BI Desktop consumes a huge amount of resource in system. 2. Service monitoring increases for larger report consumers. 3. While dealing with an enormous volume of data, constant optimization takes place.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

I have also worked in tableau and Qlik sense even though they are in the market for longer time and provide more feature than Power BI . But still they are very costly and difficult for newbies to access the software.,

Deepak

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

The visualization and analytics product that is constantly evolving - for the better

With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations, supply chain, people management and finance data. The ways to look at the data and the drilling capabilities make this a wonderful tool

Pros

1. Improves with new releases every two weeks 2. Powerful insight management 3. Integration with MS products 4. Online forums and learning zones

Cons

1. Not as intuitive as packaged applications, but getting there 2. Not a good IDE for Python / R 3. Connectors to social media need to be improved

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Deeper integration with Microsoft tools online and offline.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is evolving faster and with better options and integration

Jerry

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Very robust, though a little overwhelming

We're moving from having staff creating Excel reports or Access database reports to having Power BI do it all for us. We spend some time cleaning up the user's data, streamlining how they enter it (and where - we still use Access, some SQL, some Sharepoint), and Power BI does the rest after that. Our staff loves that they no longer have to manually create reports, and they love the way Power BI looks for them. We are enjoying it overall.

Pros

The dashboard creation is amazing. Give it a data source, design how you want to see your data, and it shows it to you. I enjoy creating dashboards for our different departments. And once our staff sees the reports and dashboards they get from this, vs how they used to get it in an Excel spreadsheet or an Access Report, they are hooked.

Cons

Overwhelming in the back end. Sometimes you just cannot get the data to display the way you want. There are so many options, features, methods. It gets overwhelming. My biggest gripe is that the back end is not as user friendly as other programs. And, comparing it to something that one of my users would create in Excel, it's difficult for me to get the exact data reported that they want. I have to figure out how to display it, and because the Power Bi is just so robust, it's a little overwhelming in that respect.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

User data was all over the place. Excel files everywhere. And only the users who created them knew how to create their reports from them. Same with Access databases. Some "power" users would use Access to create a database and some reports, and then leave, and remaining employees wouldn't know how to create new reports, or change what data was collected. Creating standards for where and how we collect data, and then using Power BI to report on it all was our goal. We are getting there.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

It brings the power of BI down to non-tech users

My job is to collect and process all sorts of data in my organization and present them to the highest management committee for policy level decision making. We are heavily dependent on MS Excel for this. I handle excel worksheets with thousands of entries every day. A year ago, I tried Power BI to see whether it can help me in my job or not. And i am hooked till now. I am most impressed with the processing power of Power BI. Huge worksheets can be processed very fast using Power BI. It also updates the reports automatically which improves my productivity significantly.

Pros

1. Ease of Use: Unlike other BI software’s, Power BI's interface is friendlier especially to MS Excel users. You will not feel overwhelmed rather it will look familiar. 2. Powerful engine: Users who need to tackle very large datasets with thousands of entries know that MS excel gets horribly slow processing such a large file. Power BI is a God sent for these users. Its processing engine is super-fast and the speed is more noticeable when you let it handle such large datasets. 3. Excellent data presentation tools: For regular MS Excel users Power BI is a PowerPivot on steroid but a lot smarter one. Even those users who are not familiar with the complexities of PowerPivot feels less intimidated by its simple and user friendly design. 4. User friendly but powerful DAX language: To write formulas you have to use DAX language in Power BI which in my opinion is a fancy name of just natural language formula writing. However, DAX is super easy to learn and pretty much intuitive but at the same time very much powerful. 5. Schedule refresh option: Power BI has an option to auto update the report at fixed interval of time which is very helpful if you need to prepare and submit reports weekly or monthly. 6. Option to control users of the report: In Power BI you can share your reports with other users and also control how much of the report can they see. If you want you can allow only a part of the report to be seen by some user which is super convenient.

Cons

Honestly, in my opinion, Power BI is by far the best software made by Microsoft. But considering I am a heavy user of MS Excel, it is easier to me. I think learning curve of Power BI for a beginner with no prior skill in MS Excel will be a bit steep. Then again, BI is a complex thing itself. So master any kind of BI software will be tricky by its own merit.

rajiv

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Power BI is one of the most user friendly BI software for adding visual representation and analytics to your existing reports

Overall good software for beginners and can be explored to get the best efficiency from the software

Pros

below are a few pros • Sharing dashboard in a group a. Sharing can be done once you have the Pro version of Power BI. Dashboard can be shared with the respective department members or your own team members. b. Since you have prepared the dashboard you will be the owner and you can decide whether you want to give the other members only viewing rights or editing rights as well. c. With this feature reports will always be on the cloud server and can be viewed as and when required d. Reports can be downloaded as and when required. • Viewing dashboard in Mobile/ tab and preparing phone layout a. Once a dashboard has been prepared and saved, the same can be accessed on Power BI App with the same login. b. Since the screen is small compared to laptop, all the dashboard elements can be redesigned to suit the phone screen. c. The other features remain the same and the dashboard is interactive on the phone as well however it cannot be edited on phone. • Export dashboard to PowerPoint, PDF a. This is one of the most important features of Power BI. Reports or dashboards prepared can be exported on PowerPoint or PDF with a click of a button. b. Hence Management reports and department reports can be automated on Power BI and once you refresh the data, the report will be ready to share. c. One problem is that few images which are not compatible with PowerPoint don’t show post downloading. • Narratives for dashboard a. This is one of the recent features offered by Power BI. With the help of narratives you can get the insight of the dashboard in a story form. b. Narrative uses its intelligence to study the data and give output in pointers, paragraphs etc which can be customised. • Importing visuals to suit your need a. Apart from the general visualizations available in Power BI, there are additional visualizations released by Power BI from time to time. These visualizations enhance the visual appearance as well as the adds to further analytics in different ways. b. Visualizations which have downloaded and used in the dashboard are Infographic designer, Narratives for Business Intelligence, KPI Column chart, and Timeline. • Edit interactions in dashboard a. It is important to understand the interactions and groupings in power BI since with the help of these you can control which graphs you want to automatically change by clicking on the other. b. With the help of grouping you can define groups and sub group which can be viewed together as a group if required. • KPI Column Chart a. This is a recent custom visual developed by Power BI. With the help of this visual you can put the KPI target against the actual on a monthly basis. b. Forecasted revenue/ cost can also be put in this visual which will be shown in different colour. c. Individual monthly targets can also be put which can be interchanged by putting variance. d. Data can also been viewed in a table form along with graphical.

Cons

• One of the important features of exporting report in PowerPoint does not allow custom visual to be exported. Hence if there are custom visuals in your report then the same will show error once exported. • Arranging dashboard is a bit tedious and takes a lot of time • To share reports, we need to publish to MS Cloud. We cannot share report from Power BI Desktop • For sharing a report even members to who report needs to be shared have to get Power BI Pro. Since the department to whom report is shared is just to view giving them a Pro license might not be useful.

Sri

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Really good for aggregating data from multiple sources

Power BI has helped us go from random spreadsheet reports to consolidated dashboards that are pleasing to look at and easy to interpret.

Pros

The interface is beautiful and easy to navigate. Once data sources are all connected, it's pretty easy to create a new dashboard/layout if you know how to analyze your own data. Nearly every integration that we needed was already included.

Cons

It's hard to build some more complex reports. If you want to combine two different data sources into one view/metric, you will need some advanced skills.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

We are fairly well integrated into the Microsoft ecosystem and Power BI integrates well with the other tools we use. It offered the best balance of features, maturity, and value for our needs.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

We switched from our basic Excel reports because they weren't very good, they were hard to update, and they didn't include a lot of useful information on each screen.

Utkarsh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

How Powerful is Power BI ?

I am a Power BI Developer and have delivered many dashboards to the client in Power BI. Its Better than other Products. Its Save my lot of time by using Power BI various features. From Importing the Data to Publishing ,Its a easier platform I would suggest you to use. It contains the most trending Visuals in the market that a every developer wants.

Pros

1)Its Easy to use, Provides a Reliable user interface . 2)Its Time efficient as most of the work Power BI does it even before you know. 3)Integration to the third party visuals and creating its own market place have already took it way further than other products. 4)A User can customize its design and can easily give the dashboard access to the public. 5)It contains the most trending Visuals in the market.

Cons

1)Software is reliable on Latest Machines. 2)Old machines then need to be upgraded(OS, RAM) to use this software smoothly. 3) Multiple Dashboards can hang the entire system.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Its Integration among other Microsoft Products . Easier to Clean the Data and create beautiful Visuals in matter of time. Gets Published and can also export to website without throwing any error. Its a great Platform!

Mohammed

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

A really useful tool for us in our quest for the best analysis to find the best solutions.

When you use Microsoft Power BI, you can automate most periodic reports and reduce the amount of time it takes to prepare those reports. As a result, we have been able to rely on it at all times and use it for a variety of different analysis procedures and duties. It's a great aid in our search for the most accurate solutions.

Pros

Because of its multiple options and tools for analyzing and organizing data, Microsoft Power BI is software that empowers businesses. Business teams may use it to produce all aspects of business intelligence projects, from the initial concept to the final representation. The platform is user-friendly and can import and export data from a wide range of other apps, making it ideal for people of all skill levels. Data exploration, discovery, and visualization are made easier for non-technical managers with Microsoft Power BI, which allows them to access reports and dashboards without any training. To acquire the best outcomes, everyone involved can work together more closely because the data is saved on the cloud. All Microsoft Office programs, including Excel, can be used to build an interactive data dashboard. Microsoft Power BI may be used to turn an Excel spreadsheet into a database, and PowerPoint can be used to display, store, and share the data.

Cons

Power BI requires extensive training for all members of the team, but if you have the appropriate skills, it is a superb tool for extracting the most accurate data.

bilal

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Simple et très personnalisable

1.Intégrez facilement un rapport et un tableau de bord dans tout type d'application commerciale et il en fait partie. 2. La requête Dax est très fiable lorsqu'il s'agit de découper en tranches les données de niveau granulaire en fonction de la tendance temporelle. 3. les fichiers fusionnés a l'aide de power Query

Pros

Avantages 1. Outil de bureau gratuit pour le développement (Power BI Desktop) et processus d'installation simple. 2. Presque, nous pouvons connecter plusieurs sources pour récupérer les données. csv,web,excel,sql,odbc etc.. 3. Spécialisé en (Extraction, transformation, chargement) pour nettoyer les données brutes non structurées en données structurées à l'aide de Power Query. 4. Puissante requête DAX pour une mesure personnalisée et une colonne calculée pour obtenir les mesures commerciales souhaités. 5. Publier dans le nuage (azur) pour voir le rapport partout dans le monde avec l'aide du service Power BI. 6. Tout le monde peut facilement créer des graphiques de base avec des données structurées. 7. La gestion de stock a l'aide de power pivot et indescriptible

Cons

Inconvénients 1. Power BI Desktop consomme une énorme quantité de ressources dans le système. 2. La surveillance des services augmente pour les grands consommateurs de rapports. 3. Tout en traitant un énorme volume de données, une optimisation constante a lieu. 4. la traduction des formules DAX en Français pour les francophones

Dan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

The best gets better

It's easily the most feature rich overall. Other products like Tableau and Qlik have their advantages, but I'm hard pressed to find much fault with Power BI, other than the premium licenses being ridiculously expensive. The word is Microsoft is addressing that issue later in 2020/2021.

Pros

The features and ease of creating visualizations are top notch. Also integration with all other Microsoft products as well as pre-built connectors to many of the most popular software is hard to beat.

Cons

There are many features not available unless you pay for expensive premium capacity.

Reasons for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Features, pricing, community support.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

We needed more advanced analytic solution.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

One of the best BI softwares out there

I have created dashboards on project progress, business cases and at times, a personal dashboard of my own assets and savings just to keep track of certain things. I love that PowerBI is easy to use, and has been designed with the end user in mind. However, I would like to have a wider variety of templates to choose from, especially if I am a beginner to the whole business intelligence idea.

Pros

Having been a user of the full range of Microsoft Office, it was only natural that PowerBI comes to mind when trying to create a live update dashboard. It is extremely easy to use - a plug and play approach comes to mind - and if you had worked with Microsoft Office before, some of the features are very intuitive to use. If the organisation that you are working with uses Microsoft Office, access issues are sorted and it becomes incredibly easy to drive adoption of this dashboard on a day to day basis

Cons

The design of the dashboard created with PowerBI can be found to be lacking at points, compared to some of the other BI softwares. The templates available seem great, but there aren't as many options as I would like when I am creating a specific type of dashboard.

Trey

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Microsoft Power BI has changed the way we report - and it's been great!

We have begun to use this for all business reporting - from the Executive team all the way to the daily front-line workers. It has replaced outdated Excel files and labor intensive reporting methods of the past. It has become invaluable as a daily tool for the entire team and saves an extensive amount of hours from redundant report generation.

Pros

It is so easy to use once you understand the premise of it. We have super users that create functional dashboards so that anyone can go in and get real-time updates without having to rewrite queries. We use this for our daily sales reporting and it lets you drill down and really understand the numbers.

Cons

It was a little intimidating to use at the start as there is so much functionality. Once you get the hang of it, it makes perfect sense. Just take your time to learn and focus on one aspect at a time and it will all make perfect sense.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

They were manual, this is automated.

Showing 1 - 25 of 1,026 reviews
Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI

4.53/5 out of 1,027 reviews