Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.66

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"I like having a secure file sharing system that offers safe communication and file archiving features. I like having a dedicated system for board management."
  • icon"I love the user-friendly design and the appearance and ease of use for the end-user. Finding documents is easy; iPad app is great; building meeting books is easy; customer support is very good."
  • icon"BoardEffect has given us the ability to communicate with our board more effectively."
  • icon"Teaching old dogs new tricks and training board members how to use the program and getting board members to use the collaboration tools."
  • icon"The inability to move the order of books around."
  • icon"There is not much that we don't like about BoardEffect."

Have you used BoardEffect and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All BoardEffect Reviews

1-25 of 55 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Carey

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Don't just think about what your board is doing now, think ahead to what the future may hold

Clear, consistent communications across all membership has been achieved as well as access to mission critical documents to help members support the organization.

Pros

Ease of set up, use, some flexibility to "customize" in the manner that you use it. Security, ease of building meeting books, events, and communicating to users through the portal. The reports feature is amazingly helpful.

Cons

Third party integrations and the ability to use Microsoft products does not exist at this time. As a nonprofit, can't afford to move over the ever evolving Diligent parent platform. The knowledge base is not helpful as it leaves those seeking information with more questions.

Reasons for choosing BoardEffect

Security, ease of set up, customer service, cost.

Reasons for switching to BoardEffect

BoardMax was acquired by Diligent

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2020

BoardEffect review

BoardEffect is great a a secure file sharing system, and offers good ways to cooperate, but our board has been very reluctant in adopting it and is not really happy. For them it is another system they need to learn in their busy lives. We try to steer most board interactions involving files into Board Effect but it is slow going. They do not use the discussion forum to interact amongst each other but stick to email. For admins I wish for greater ease in creating meeting books and editing them to make them look the way we want to.

Pros

- I like having a secure file sharing system that offers safe communication and file archiving features. - I like having a dedicated system for board management - Amazing customer service! Fast and competent.

Cons

- having to build a meeting book to get a preview - meeting book design is tedious and could be more flexible - agendas become giant as soon as documents are added and there is no way to change that - saving an existing meeting book as a template would be nice - the calendar subscription takes very long to push into personal calendars, sometimes re-subscribing is necessary - zoom add-on only possible with autogenerated links, we work with a dedicated zoom link for the board - I need an option to invite guest directors to join committee meetings, currently I need to create a separate calendar invite

Response from BoardEffect

Hello! Thank you so much for your feedback. We would love to connect on the items you mentioned as there are solutions within the BoardEffect platform for these issues. Our training team is available to walk you through this functionality, please reach out to us at training@boardeffect.com. We hope to speak with you soon!

Replied October 2020

Kelly

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

Saves Time and Eases Board Service

We have used BoardEffect for over a decade. Board Members love it. Support is excellent. There are numerous webinars which remain available to assist. Helpdesk is responsive. While there are many new options that were not available when we selected Board Effect, they require much more work from the administrative side and do not have all the built in features available in BoardEffect.

Pros

BoardEffect was easy to set up and is intuitive to use. New Board Members are able to quickly orient themselves with minimal support. Handbook makes accessing essential documents easy and with administrator attention, the most current documents are at the fingertips of Board Members as needed. Meeting book is easy to organize and distribute.

Cons

emails don't look great. Can't format font, etc.

Reasons for choosing BoardEffect

Ease of set up and maintenance for administrator. Ongoing product support.

Mona

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

It's the Perfect Tool for our large, 7-Board Health System

Our individual health system began using BoardEffect in 2012. Then, last year, we became part of a large, 7-board private, non-profit health system. The decision was made to utilize one board portal across the System, which meant 5 boards had to migrate to BoardEffect. The transition has been amazingly smooth. Training of the new workrooms and top level administrators has been excellent; customer service has been very responsive. The new (and existing) users are pleased with the product! The organization of our boards is perfect and we are able to make sure only the "right" board members have access to the "right" board materials. I am not surprised by these results - the BoardEffect staff has been serving us and attentive to our needs for years!

Pros

I love the user-friendly design and the appearance and ease of use for the end-user. Finding documents is easy; iPad app is great; building meeting books is easy; customer support is very good.

Cons

There's not a lot of flexibility in what the agenda looks like after being built (but there's not a lot with other board portals, either). I would like to be able to better tailor the appearance of my agenda to my Boards' liking.

Response from BoardEffect

Thank you for your review, Mona! We're so happy to hear BoardEffect has been able to evolve with your organization as your needs have changed.

Replied November 2018

Tim

Verified reviewer

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

In our third year, with over 30 Member Colleges using the platform and it has been just great.

Secure, online Board management and communication services designed for non-profits to be successful.

Pros

Intuitive interface, very user-friendly, quick uptime for new users, a reasonable expense for a non-profit, ultra-secure data transmission and storage, and great people supporting the entire platform. Our non-profit member organization has endorsed this product (and this company) for over 3 years. We've grown from just 4 member customers of BoardEffect to well over 30 member customers - n just 3 years. I serve as a top-level administrator for a shared platform version pf BoardEffect and I find that this platform is so user-friendly to non-techies.

Cons

Every so often I would love to copy/print text from the screen but it is not always accessible as in the old days. This is probably the price for having a highly secure and intuitive interface.

Response from BoardEffect

Tim, it's wonderful to hear that BoardEffect has been able to meet your needs! We so appreciate your endorsement, and love that we can provide support to everyone involved in your organization.

Replied October 2018

Sarah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2022

Not Bad, Just Not For Us

they had always had decent support. Once I let them know we were transitioning us over to a different product, they were still very supportive, worked out the contract end and showed me how to extract all of our data

Pros

a range of features that came standard instead of having to be purchased separately

Cons

the whole thing just felt clunky. board members felt it wasn't intuitive to navigate. some management of features was hard, such as the meeting scheduler

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

We've been a very happy BoardEffect client for five+ years. A great tool for our board.

Pros

Some of our favorite things about BoardEffect include: it is available on a variety of platforms; easy to set up and use; provides an archive for historical information; everything our board needs can be found in one simple and safe location.

Cons

There is not much that we don't like about BoardEffect. One thing I'd like to have is unlimited groups without having to pay more.

Response from BoardEffect

Hi there -- we're so happy to hear you have been a happy customer for more than five years! Thank you for taking time to write your review -- we really value your opinion.

Replied October 2018

User Profile

Susan Fieldhouse

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Such a great tool

A joy to use...wish I had been able to use this in my last few EA positions. I learned about it when I moved to my current association.

Pros

Supper responsive support team at BoardEffect, fairly intuitive to use, makes the workflow for assembling Board materials so much easier and saves a lot of time. There are a steady stream of webinars to keep users up to date on the platform, and the BoardEffect team is always happy to get suggestions for improvements. For any company concerned with security of its Board materials, this is a must-have product.

Cons

I would like to download the agenda pdf with no formatting, so that I can create an annotated agenda for the chair - have not found a way to do that but I am hoping BE will come up with a solution!

Response from BoardEffect

Hi Susan, it's great to hear that BoardEffect has made workflow easier for you! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback -- please know that we are always looking to make improvements to our platform, and have taken your feedback into account.

Replied October 2018

Gwen

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Build a tool to make your board member successful

I love BoardEffect. It is the one place we can all trust to have the latest documents and tools to help guide our board governance. It has made our board feel successful individually and successful as a whole.

Pros

This software is our central point for documents for all 9 of our boards. This is easy to use and is very intuitive on where to find documents and items for upcoming board meetings along with surveys, and required annual documents like Conflict of Interest forms. We have a wide age range of board members - from the young to the very old that are not tech savvy, but this seems to be overwhelming a tool that all of them.

Cons

There are always new products/pieces/upgrades coming out. Knowing how to incorporate those takes me a bit of time.

Response from BoardEffect

Hi Gwen, it's great to hear that you're enjoying BoardEffect! Thank you for taking time to share your review. Please let our team know if you ever have any questions about new products and features, and be sure to subscribe to our email newsletter so you can stay informed about upcoming webinars and training sessions.

Replied October 2018

User Profile

Cassandra

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

You need BoardEffect's Platform!

It's a brilliant platform! And the support team is absolutely incredible! I've never experienced such wonderful people, who are patient, informative and friendly.

Pros

It's EXTREMELY user-friendly, offers a VAST number of functionalities, app now mimics browser including offline use. It's customizable depending on the org's needs. It's secure. It flows. The platform is what one makes of it.

Cons

I can't say I dislike anything about this platform. It's designed based on clients' needs. Everything works the way it should and in the 2 years I've used it, I haven't had one bad thing to say.

Response from BoardEffect

Thank you for sharing this rave review, Cassandra! We're so happy to hear you've had such a positive experience working with us. It's wonderful to hear that we've created a product that makes your life easier as a board administrator.

Replied October 2018

Mark

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Solid software for boards with room for improvement

Pros

It does what it does very well. It is easy to get board materials loaded, the user experience for trustees is excellent, it is easy to use and the customer support is outstanding. There is every feature you really need to manage a board, but there are improvements that could be made to make it even easier, but it would require partnership with other software companies and a robust API. See below for more.

Cons

The one thing that nags me about this software is entirely not the fault of BoardEffect, but the lack of vision between this software and complimentary software platforms. Take us for example, we are a national private foundation. Our main business software is a grants management platform called Fluxx. All of the proposal for trustee review happen within this portal and it takes a lot of work to get these ,materials exported and prepared for upload into BoardEffect. Having a robust API and partnerships with software companies like Fluxx could allow a seamless flow of information between systems, which would negate the need for wasting time on export and preparation of documentation for BoardEffect.

Response from BoardEffect

Hi Mark, thank you for taking time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear you've had a positive experience with our product and customer support team. BoardEffect currently supports external integration options with a range of services and technologies, but we are always looking to expand our integration offerings to support our customers. Thank you for telling us about your experience working with Fluxx -- it's invaluable for us to know about the tools and programs that are integral to the success of your organization, as we build out our product roadmap to create the best possible governance tool. If you are able, we invite you to share further feedback so we can better understand your needs.

Replied October 2018

Josephine

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Board Effect review Aug 2020

Using the Board Effect platform to house our corporation's governance and meeting documents created one location for all our users (in the US and worldwide). All our users are prepared for upcoming meetings and all users follow along together on the site when in meetings (whether in-person or virtual) - all of this is a positive.

Pros

The Board Effect product is easy to use; intuitive for all of our 30+ users. Really like the 'build an agenda' feature as it creates a clean, professional agenda each time.

Cons

If there was a way to offer "Minute Taking" feature as part of the annual cost versus an additional cost, that would be a plus! Nothing else comes to mind at this time.

Reasons for choosing BoardEffect

User-friendly platform which provided ease of use to all on our staff and our Board and Board Committee volunteers worldwide. Also, the annual cost of BoardEffect is reasonable.

Reasons for switching to BoardEffect

Boardvantage was a klunky platform that our users felt was missing the professional look for Board and Board Committee meetings. The uploading of documents to meeting books along with removing/replacing documents to meeting books was just not an easy task to complete.

Jamie

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

I am our organization's site administrator.

Pros

That the site provides one place for staff to post documents and information for our users to access.

Cons

That it takes a lot of clicks to access parts of the website. It would nice if that could be eliminated. Many of our users have a hard time finding things and it is mainly because they have to click quite a few links to find something and they get lost.

Response from BoardEffect

We appreciate your feedback, Jamie! Thanks for leaving us a thoughtful review. We're happy to hear that BoardEffect has been well received at your organization, and we value your constructive feedback about the user experience. Our team is always working to improve the user interface to deliver the best possible experience for board members and board administrators. We will certainly take your feedback into account as we continue to develop our solution to support the work of boards. Feel free to contact our team with further suggestions at any time!

Replied October 2018

Allison

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

BoardEffect is awesome!

Very positive and all issues are resolved very quickly with a phone call.

Pros

Very easy to use, I'm learning alot of new information at this conference.

Cons

Only issue board members have pains about is the app on an iPad, there is no log out option.

Response from BoardEffect

Allison, thank you so much for being a customer and for attending our BE Savvy user conference! It's great to hear that you've had such a positive customer experience! As for the iPad app, we intentionally designed the app without a login/logout option for ease-of-use, and instead ask that users authorize their accounts each time they would like to use the BoardEffect app on a tablet or mobile device. This authorization creates a connection between the app, your device and your account, and helps keep board materials secure. Please note that all users are timed out when they are no longer using the app. Please let our team know if you have any questions. Thank you for sharing this feedback!

Replied October 2018

April

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY